My Xbox360 Hang, Can't play any game...!

TSStar_knight79
post Dec 8 2008, 02:31 PM, updated 18y ago

596 posts

Hi, there. My Xbox 360 started to hang after loading the game for 3 minutes since last Thursday.
However, it became total black out with red LED signal flashing around the power button.
Can anyone tell me what's wrong with my xbox 360? What can I do to make it works again?
How much is the cost? Suggestion of the location to repair it please.
Xaphier
post Dec 8 2008, 02:34 PM

495 posts

It's called Red Rings Of Death
TSStar_knight79
post Dec 8 2008, 02:53 PM

596 posts

Another Question:
Can I play XBox 360 games with Keyboard and Mouse
gnome
post Dec 8 2008, 03:11 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Dec 8 2008, 02:53 PM)
Another Question:
Can I play XBox 360 games with Keyboard and Mouse
No.

filler 123
ImSIEBEL
post Dec 8 2008, 03:41 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

i think ps3 can only play with mouse and keyboard, 360 cannot.. laugh.gif
steventanz
post Dec 8 2008, 05:01 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Dec 8 2008, 03:41 PM)
i think ps3 can only play with mouse and keyboard, 360 cannot.. laugh.gif
well..u can actually by using the XCM..but the responsive is not really that good

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/gadgets/xcm-bri...-360-217332.php

and to TS..ur having a rrod disease..send it for warranty purpose or u can also send for reballing
lksing78
post Dec 8 2008, 06:14 PM

91 posts

After u fix or warranty them sell them off and buy a new one Jasper unit more flex.gif
trust me, it won't cure the ROD after fixing it..But it all depend on luck though.. smile.gif

defaultname365
post Dec 10 2008, 12:38 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Dec 8 2008, 02:31 PM)
Hi, there. My Xbox 360 started to hang after loading the game for 3 minutes since last Thursday.
However, it became total black out with red LED signal flashing around the power button.
Can anyone tell me what's wrong with my xbox 360? What can I do to make it works again?
How much is the cost? Suggestion of the location to repair it please.
TS, don't pack ur console just yet >>

A large percentage of Xbox 360 failures (3 red rings included as well as game hangs/freezes that result in 3 red lights) are caused by...

power brick. [which affects the GPU heat largely... but most blaim GPU... not the case ! smile.gif ]

Yes. Power brick is the cause of all the problems including the GPU overheating which causes 3rod.

How to solve ?
Simply plug the power brick connector to a different outlet. Or use a voltage regulator. I 'was' in the 3 red rings list thread but turns it is NOT the case. Yes, I get those lights. But no more. I was THIS close to sending it for repairs. 6 weeks - - no way !

At first I blasted my air-conditioner. It worked. Yes. In the beginning, it struggled. Games froze. But after 30 mins... things was perfect again. I was like WTH... everytime play must wait 30 minutes to cool ?

Then I did it... moved it to a different power outlet. OMGWTFBBQ ! flex.gif It worked. 7 hours straight until I decided to sleep.

BTW, the power brick MUST be well ventilated. Notice how tiny those holes on the power brick are... too limited.

And yes, Jasper will solve the issue of RROD. It will folks. (Less wattage + 45nm GPU = no more RROD ! )
See... Microsoft ARE doing something to the power brick + GPU size. This will absolutely eliminate RROD.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 10 2008, 12:43 AM
technophile
post Dec 10 2008, 12:44 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

my power brick is hidden behind the tv rack since day one (january)...
and my xenon's also before that (about a year before i sell it off)

touch wood: no 3RROD.
defaultname365
post Dec 10 2008, 12:48 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Dec 10 2008, 12:44 AM)
my power brick is hidden behind the tv rack since day one (january)...
and my xenon's also before that (about a year before i sell it off)

touch wood: no 3RROD.
Yes. Your power outlet has good voltage regulation. The outlet in my room IS NOT regulating voltage well... even after connecting to a Belkin surge protector which supposedly helps regulate voltage... does not work. I had to drag an extension from my sister's room... and voila ! rclxms.gif

The more well ventilated + voltage regulation = less chance of 3RROD.

I could have just cracked the RROD issue ! Maybe not... the official site also say "power brick must be well ventilated" doh.gif

Edit :
OMG! Now I know why there are some who get their Xbox back after repair... some just hours later... the 3RROD appears again ! biggrin.gif
Its the freakin power brick + power outlet ! After reading forum sites after forum sites and issues after issues... its so clear to me !

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 10 2008, 01:31 AM
navigator
post Dec 10 2008, 09:27 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 10 2008, 12:38 AM)
TS, don't pack ur console just yet >>

A large percentage of Xbox 360 failures (3 red rings included as well as game hangs/freezes that result in 3 red lights) are caused by...

power brick. [which affects the GPU heat largely... but most blaim GPU... not the case !  smile.gif  ]

Yes. Power brick is the cause of all the problems including the GPU overheating which causes 3rod.

How to solve ?
Simply plug the power brick connector to a different outlet. Or use a voltage regulator. I 'was' in the 3 red rings list thread but turns it is NOT the case. Yes, I get those lights. But no more. I was THIS close to sending it for repairs. 6 weeks - - no way !

At first I blasted my air-conditioner. It worked. Yes. In the beginning, it struggled. Games froze. But after 30 mins... things was perfect again. I was like WTH... everytime play must wait 30 minutes to cool ?

Then I did it... moved it to a different power outlet. OMGWTFBBQ !  flex.gif  It worked. 7 hours straight until I decided to sleep.

BTW, the power brick MUST be well ventilated. Notice how tiny those holes on the power brick are... too limited.

And yes, Jasper will solve the issue of RROD. It will folks. (Less wattage + 45nm GPU = no more RROD ! )
See... Microsoft ARE doing something to the power brick + GPU size. This will absolutely eliminate RROD.
More hint for you all though.

The power issue will indeed causing 3RRoD and you still have a way to pinpoint it's caused by a faulty internal component or power by retrieving the secondary error code. you may initiate the coder by following the guide shown below:-
http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=484726

happy trying wink.gif

S4PH
post Dec 10 2008, 11:43 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

my powerbrick is on my table and well ventilated but still 3rod bro.
cannavaro
post Dec 10 2008, 11:51 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 10 2008, 12:38 AM)

Then I did it... moved it to a different power outlet. OMGWTFBBQ !  flex.gif  It worked. 7 hours straight until I decided to sleep.

In your case, you plugged it into a different power outlet, and then it worked straightaway?

If it's really the power outlet.. then it means the 360's power brick has a very low tolerance to... how shall i say it, voltage spikes or whatever the term is? btw my powerbrick was always well ventilated.

Hmm... too early to call this. Let me try on my dead 360.
defaultname365
post Dec 10 2008, 02:39 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Dec 10 2008, 11:43 AM)
my powerbrick is on my table and well ventilated but still 3rod bro.
My investigation has lead me from...

3RRoD -> GPU overheating -> Power brick issue -> Power outlet

So what about those with 3RRoD ?
OK, the 'change to a different power outlet' I'd say only for those that get 3RRoD first few times... preferably initial. What I'm saying is that, as soon as got 3RRoD -> change to a different power outlet immediately and ventilate the power brick. Immediately. Wait for long, and the GPU could just get toasted for real. The console will be dead, for real.

OK, I changed power outlet, but still, 3RRoD
Too bad, the console's GPU probably has overheated beyond point of reaching back to its original working condition. I daresay, if get 3RRoD the first times... changing power outlet WILL solve the issue. Worse come to worse -> Get a voltage regulator !

What about air-conditioner ?
Turns out it DOES help. Even after 3RRoD (initial ones), placing air-cond air directly pointed towards the console (left-side, vertical position) at 22'c for about 20-30 minutes works. Put the power brick at that same place as well. This is so that Power Brick + GPU = cooled down. It takes time.

So, the whole 3RRoD issue is simply power brick issue ?
No. Its irregularities of power outlet voltage supply. 'Every' home has at least an outlet that does this. Yes. You can't expect a very good voltage flow. The power brick of the Xbox 360 is sensitive. Jasper seem to have done something to it.

... what is 3RRod / hardware failure again?
1. Power outlet voltage irregularities (at home, or wherever) - - >
2. Power brick has 'small' voltage fluctuations - - >
3. GPU overheats overtime at intervals of the fluctuations (it heats up real quick, but when voltage fluctuates - - bam! The GPU goes to a temp it DOES NOT LIKE - game crash!). - - >
4. Turning off and on the console once game crash - - >
5. 3RRoD (because the console thinks the GPU is toast !) - - >
6. Keep on playing like this for maybe a week or more (turn on / turn off ) - - >
7. Permanent 3RRoD.

Yes, a brand new refurbished / repaired console after sending for repair... gets 3RRoD again !!
Guess what - - using the same power outlet. This was the one thing that baffled me. Something was odd. Yes, it is the power outlet. Same outlet used for previous 3RRoD console.

Jasper solves the issue ?
Yes. Power brick + GPU has been.... corrected. Expect an incredibly low failure rate. Very low. Using a voltage regulator + Jasper = anti-3RRoD !! .... perhaps biggrin.gif

Who is to blame ?
Well. You know who. But it comes down to -> Power brick not being able to tolerate voltage fluctuations. From this, it goes all the way to... 3RRoD.

How the heck can I make such a claim ?
Well - - I have had history of things overheating. And I also got the 3 magical lights. So... pretty. And I knew the source of it all. The power outlet. Yet, I smartly chose to ignore it when I got my Xbox 360. I even ditched my old voltage regulator. doh.gif Now using extension from another room. Will get a voltage regulator. Now... playing for half a day non-stop - - touch wood no issues ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 10 2008, 02:59 PM
msn83235502
post Dec 10 2008, 03:02 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

RROD from power failure is not a big deal. u can check on the RROD code, then u know it's from power or not. mine also kena few times.. but just change to a different socket.. deal. it's nothing to do with the GPU, CPU overheat problem..

irregularities of power outlet voltage supply > is one of the system failure. RROD are light to indicate system failure. and of course inconsistent power supply might lead to system failure.. but it is not leading to CPU/GPU overheat problem.

RROD is just an indicator any of system failure. it doesnt mean CPU/GPU failure only.

This post has been edited by msn83235502: Dec 10 2008, 03:06 PM
defaultname365
post Dec 10 2008, 03:11 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Dec 10 2008, 03:02 PM)
RROD from power failure is not a big deal. u can check on the RROD code, then u know it's from power or not. mine also kena few times.. but just change to a different socket.. deal. it's nothing to do with the GPU, CPU overheat problem..

irregularities of power outlet voltage supply > is one of the system failure. RROD are light to indicate system failure. and of course inconsistent power supply might lead to system failure.. but it is not leading to CPU/GPU overheat problem.

RROD is just an indicator any of system failure. it doesnt mean CPU/GPU failure only.
Brotha... I was talking 3RRoD. I used this word more than I could have ever imagined.

navigator
post Dec 10 2008, 07:37 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 10 2008, 11:51 AM)
In your case, you plugged it into a different power outlet, and then it worked straightaway?

If it's really the power outlet.. then it means the 360's power brick has a very low tolerance to... how shall i say it, voltage spikes or whatever the term is? btw my powerbrick was always well ventilated.

Hmm... too early to call this. Let me try on my dead 360.
all electronic devices have relatively low tolerance to power fluctuations.....

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 10 2008, 02:39 PM)
My investigation has lead me from...

3RRoD -> GPU overheating -> Power brick issue -> Power outlet

So what about those with 3RRoD ?
OK, the 'change to a different power outlet' I'd say only for those that get 3RRoD first few times... preferably initial. What I'm saying is that, as soon as got 3RRoD -> change to a different power outlet immediately and ventilate the power brick. Immediately. Wait for long, and the GPU could just get toasted for real. The console will be dead, for real.

OK, I changed power outlet, but still, 3RRoD
Too bad, the console's GPU probably has overheated beyond point of reaching back to its original working condition. I daresay, if get 3RRoD the first times... changing power outlet WILL solve the issue. Worse come to worse -> Get a voltage regulator !

What about air-conditioner ?
Turns out it DOES help. Even after 3RRoD (initial ones), placing air-cond air directly pointed towards the console (left-side, vertical position) at 22'c for about 20-30 minutes works. Put the power brick at that same place as well. This is so that Power Brick + GPU = cooled down. It takes time.

So, the whole 3RRoD issue is simply power brick issue ?
No. Its irregularities of power outlet voltage supply. 'Every' home has at least an outlet that does this. Yes. You can't expect a very good voltage flow. The power brick of the Xbox 360 is sensitive. Jasper seem to have done something to it.

... what is 3RRod / hardware failure again?
1. Power outlet voltage irregularities (at home, or wherever) - - >
2. Power brick has 'small' voltage fluctuations - - >
3. GPU overheats overtime at intervals of the fluctuations (it heats up real quick, but when voltage fluctuates - - bam! The GPU goes to a temp it DOES NOT LIKE - game crash!). - - >
4. Turning off and on the console once game crash - - >
5. 3RRoD (because the console thinks the GPU is toast !) - - >
6. Keep on playing like this for maybe a week or more (turn on / turn off ) - - >
7. Permanent 3RRoD.

Yes, a brand new refurbished / repaired console after sending for repair... gets 3RRoD again !!
Guess what - - using the same power outlet. This was the one thing that baffled me. Something was odd. Yes, it is the power outlet. Same outlet used for previous 3RRoD console.

Jasper solves the issue ?
Yes. Power brick + GPU has been.... corrected. Expect an incredibly low failure rate. Very low. Using a voltage regulator + Jasper = anti-3RRoD !! .... perhaps  biggrin.gif

Who is to blame ?
Well. You know who. But it comes down to -> Power brick not being able to tolerate voltage fluctuations. From this, it goes all the way to... 3RRoD.

How the heck can I make such a claim ?
Well - - I have had history of things overheating. And I also got the 3 magical lights. So... pretty. And I knew the source of it all. The power outlet. Yet, I smartly chose to ignore it when I got my Xbox 360. I even ditched my old voltage regulator.  doh.gif  Now using extension from another room. Will get a voltage regulator. Now... playing for half a day non-stop - - touch wood no issues !  rclxms.gif
As I said, poor GPU soldering and a lot of other issues including weak digital backbone architechture such as faulty RAM lead to 3RRoD....Simply blame on bad power source is not a good idea....

You HAVE to refer it here: http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=484726
munky
post Dec 10 2008, 07:58 PM

1,971 posts

what the hell wei ? There's an easy solution to ur problem. Sell xbox and buy a PS3 or Wii. Better games, better graphics, better online play, and it's free too.

And u get to play MGS4, Gran Turismo, and err...errr...and HOME !
navigator
post Dec 10 2008, 08:02 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 10 2008, 07:58 PM)
what the hell wei ? There's an easy solution to ur problem. Sell xbox and buy a PS3 or Wii. Better games, better graphics, better online play, and it's free too.

And u get to play MGS4, Gran Turismo, and err...errr...and HOME !
Please....stop your fanboy quote in xbox thread. doh.gif

and I disagree with you that PS3 got better games & graphic compared to xbox360.

xbox360 got more game & best online solution. while comparable, if not better.

Wii got better graphic? please la~! doh.gif

and I know you're kidding~! doh.gif

This post has been edited by navigator: Dec 10 2008, 08:43 PM
CrossFirE
post Dec 10 2008, 08:30 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

jasper unit can cure the RROD? really or not?

0.0234sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:05 PM