Counterfeit Nintendo DS and DS Lites Consoles

TAGreptiles
post Dec 17 2008, 06:40 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

fake or not fake the grade sure looks the same. and for US$40? I WANT!!!!!!
ClosetCase
post Dec 17 2008, 07:34 PM

137 posts

ok..i got freaked out for a bit cz mine has a barcode as well.

Added on December 17, 2008, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 11 2008, 03:29 PM)
why censor your serial number?
i don't really understand what is the serial number for?
unless it's an id?
what is RSA encrypted?
i was wondering about that when i saw the "RSA secured" on my ds lite's back..
u can use serial number to register at nintendo.
and you can only register it once.

This post has been edited by ClosetCase: Dec 17 2008, 07:44 PM
RAMChYLD
post Dec 18 2008, 06:31 PM

1,715 posts

Maybe their definition of "fake" is "AP unit". the "fake" has all the markings of a US DSLite. Or maybe it's "water unit" like handphone.

As for adapter going Pop, well, that fake adapter looks alot like the one I was given by the game shop that went pop a few months ago. Thank goodness shop didn't take out ori charger, I now using that with stepdown.

Or is Nintendo trying to pull off a milder form of "Sony PS3 scare" in the UK by calling parallel import units "fake" and making up stories about it catching fire? Because Sony lagi teruk, ban US PS3 outright from going into UK. But catching fire, I was lucky my fake adapter only went pop and split into two and got smoke, no spark getting caught on paper and starting fire.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Dec 18 2008, 06:35 PM
yellowpika
post Dec 18 2008, 07:07 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(ClosetCase @ Dec 17 2008, 07:34 PM)
ok..i got freaked out for a bit cz mine has a barcode as well.

Added on December 17, 2008, 7:44 pm

u can use serial number to register at nintendo.
and you can only register it once.
what u mean by to register at nintendo?

teach me how to do it if it's possible..
ClosetCase
post Dec 18 2008, 09:41 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Dec 18 2008, 07:07 PM)
what u mean by to register at nintendo?

teach me how to do it if it's possible..
i just went 2 nintendo.com n registered.
u need a u.s address tho.
gundamalpha
post Jan 29 2010, 05:07 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Sorry to bring up this old topic.. but I think it's relevant unsure.gif

Is there really "unlicensed" NDSL in the market? Or just recon?
greyshadow
post Jan 29 2010, 05:17 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

i srsly doubt the china apek can manufacture a 1 to 1 fake NDS with same functionality

have you guys seen any china made fake gameboy that looks like a gameboy, plays like a gameboy, sounds like a gameboy, but it's a fake?

even the so called fake iphone or fake nokia still doesn't have the real functionality

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jan 29 2010, 05:18 PM
Kyoyagami
post Jan 29 2010, 05:27 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

fake iphone has VGA Camera. The whole phone costs RM 250. laugh.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 29 2010, 07:01 PM

347 posts

Many of them had been bought for around £40 instead of the usual price of about £100.

But Nintendo checked them and confirmed they were fakes, and said they could be dangerous because they hadn't been tested properly.
so it is true that some fake ndsl laying around somewhere?
LYNsucks
post Jan 31 2010, 04:33 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 29 2010, 05:17 PM)
i srsly doubt the china apek can manufacture a 1 to 1 fake NDS with same functionality

have you guys seen any china made fake gameboy that looks like a gameboy, plays like a gameboy, sounds like a gameboy, but it's a fake?

even the so called fake iphone or fake nokia still doesn't have the real functionality
How about those gba sp with built-in games? It looks like a gameboy, plays like a gameboy, sounds like a gameboy, just that it's a fake with lower quality.
dvinez
post Feb 2 2010, 01:52 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

oh mai..mine have barcode but i think its real unit..
Kellyyhx
post Feb 6 2010, 03:21 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 29 2010, 05:27 PM)
fake iphone has VGA Camera. The whole phone costs RM 250. laugh.gif
FYI, its only rm199. yet buy 1 free 1.
saw it at handphone fair

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Jan 31 2010, 04:33 PM)
How about those gba sp with built-in games? It looks like a gameboy, plays like a gameboy, sounds like a gameboy, just that it's a fake with lower quality.
You can get it at rm30 or so.
Alot stores selling it.
Even psp and iphone has such imitation.
China is very good in this.

I'm facing this problem.
Which is bought a fake console from LYN member. Top Games
Wonder what action should i take and LYN are suppose to take action on this seller.
Instead of allowing him to continue operate his business here.

viledante
post Feb 6 2010, 04:08 PM

414 posts

^
u still haven't report to tribunal ? doh.gif
LYNsucks
post Feb 13 2010, 09:20 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Kellyyhx @ Feb 6 2010, 03:21 PM)
I'm facing this problem.
Which is bought a fake console from LYN member. Top Games
Wonder what action should i take and LYN are suppose to take action on this seller.
Instead of allowing him to continue operate his business here.
I don't think that's a fake. Most likely is a second hand set or refurbished unit that had its shell changed. It's changed maybe due to the broken hinge.
Compelica
post Feb 14 2010, 04:36 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

There were a few cases where some DSes were sent to Nintendo for warranty and they had their consoles returned - with a small letter stating that their product is not authentic. Those consoles were probably grey imports, or DSes with replacement shells from a different region.

Some of the fakes were opened up, and guess what, the Japanese mainboards were found inside. As for the 'adaptors catching fire' case, Japanese adaptors use 110v AC as input, compared to the UK which uses 220v. Obviously the quality of those non-official adaptors are definitely questionable.

As for the manuals, it wouldn't make much sense to put a Japanese manual with a DS which is going to be sold in UK. That would also give it away that it's not for the UK market.

ifer
post Feb 14 2010, 12:34 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 29 2010, 05:17 PM)

greyshadow is making sense.
if a company has the technology to manufacturer a fake NDSL that is 95% like the real deal, nintendo can close shop edi
spacelion
post Feb 16 2010, 01:56 AM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

we dont even have a complete working emulator yet. Once we do, then Nintendo will release a new console.
GenericMav
post Jul 9 2010, 07:08 PM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

well.. if i'm not mistaken, a game shop owner once told me that NDS made in Korean (which has Korean flag of something on the box) is considered original, and also for the 'fake' NDS, the box is made up with recycled paper..
PhoenixByte
post Jul 10 2010, 06:53 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 14 2010, 12:34 PM)
greyshadow is making sense.
if a company has the technology to manufacturer a fake NDSL that is 95% like the real deal, nintendo can close shop edi
that happened oredi during the NES - Microgenius era..but nintendo is strong on its feet nod.gif
even got tv advertisement somemore laugh.gif

0.0188sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:59 PM