Why the Wii dominates!, Nintendo's Wii has soaring profits

neogeocdz
post Dec 5 2008, 12:38 PM

698 posts

I am just waiting for self-profess "hardcore gamers" to come in to preach to innocents gamers that were conned by Nintendo's fad, gimmicky Wii console.

"Wii is a fad!!!"
"Wii is for sissy / kiddie / girls / housewives / grandma / fat ppl..."
they will proclaimed.

"Wii is not for hardcore gamers!"
"Wii destroyed the gaming community!"
"Wii has no hardcore games!"
they will cry.

Oh the hardcore gamers are so predictable.
neogeocdz
post Dec 5 2008, 04:34 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Dec 5 2008, 02:52 PM)
where?  laugh.gif
U did see meh? Come liao la, soon soon....
patience la, sure got.

Hardcore or HD gamers sure come out in hordes to defend Gameland from Wii invasion,
like Delta Team defending Jacinto from Locusts.

Added on December 5, 2008, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 5 2008, 03:24 PM)
Wii Fap will be perfected by then sleep.gif
Haha, agree.
The biggest voodoo spell ever cast by Shiggy on people,
Turn them into waggling Zombie, invading Gameland at night.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 5 2008, 04:35 PM
neogeocdz
post Dec 5 2008, 05:37 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Dec 5 2008, 05:13 PM)
so far I dont see any people like that, not on this tread at least. Those arguments are kinda old. Maybe those 'gamers' are busy playing 'games'.

Sometimes you gotta have faith in people.
Correct also, nod.gif
Gotta learned to have some faith.

neogeocdz
post Dec 6 2008, 12:42 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Dec 5 2008, 08:32 PM)
yer laaa
aku mana ada psn id untuk ko nampak
tongue.gif

Added on December 5, 2008, 8:34 pm

sadly...
we cant save jacinto from sinking by locust
coz we were the one who sink it
lol
Come on dude, it is the exploding Brumak & the Big Big worm that sink it la,
we just shot some silly laser only. LOL!

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 6 2008, 12:42 AM
neogeocdz
post Dec 6 2008, 08:21 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Dec 6 2008, 07:21 PM)
why wii dominates? cuz of ppl like me laugh.gif
i buy wii just for the coming monster hunter tri~ nod.gif
(n cuz of wii fit) doh.gif
U serious? Cuz of Wii-Fit???

I bought it for Zelda & Mario,
Mario Galaxy is epic,
but i am still waiting for Zelda.
(Twilight Princess is a GameCube game damn it!)

I guess this add to the Wii domination power.

neogeocdz
post Dec 9 2008, 09:01 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 9 2008, 12:38 AM)
"We are not competing against Sony or Microsoft. We are battling the indifference of people who have no interest in video games. And while a $250 sticker makes the Wii more of an impulse buy than even an iPod" - Nintendo CEO Satoru Iwata

Nintendo Wii do make first good impression to the general public 1st time... its cheap, simple. fun, family-oriented console....spread word of mouth saying wii is next gen fun gaming...  no wonder they sold a lot n making profits due to innovative wiimote....

six years ago, nintendo was in trouble... now they are back on top...n prove the experts wrong...
Yep,
it surprised me also.
I thought Nintendo will go SEGA way end of this generation,
Wii will be like DreamCast.

But well.... i should not have listened to experts.
neogeocdz
post Dec 9 2008, 02:39 PM

698 posts

Yes, there are many ppl that is disappointed with Wii,
But majority of the Game-consumers this generation, are just like me - love the Wii, and no, Wii is not JUST a party machines to us.
There are already 40 Million people bought Wii,
and Wii continue to sell like MAD, 800,000 Wiis was sold on Black Friday week alone!

Don't tell me there 40 million party-animals, I don't see so many party goes on,
and don't tell me with all the millions SMG, Smash Bro, Mario Kart, Zelda.... that was sold,
and people STILL argued that Wii are collecting dusk, maybe the Wii that those complaining people owned are collecting dusk,
MOST Wii DON'T!
Look at the amount of games sold, look at the games chart, look at new games that comes,
It is obvious that most Wii don't collect dusk.
That Wii-collect-dusk argument just doesn't add up to me.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 9 2008, 11:17 PM
neogeocdz
post Dec 9 2008, 11:13 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Dec 9 2008, 05:20 PM)
i feel sorry for my dad when he buy the what we call weeee! weeee! for my little bro.. he play it for one year and now he keeps bugging me to play my ps3. Nvm.. i can understand that.. he already 8 this year.. like the story said.. weeeeeeeeeee! just for kids age between 3 ~ 7 years old. KINDER GARDEN to be precise..
You could use some reasons in your argument.

Added on December 9, 2008, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 9 2008, 07:10 PM)
if u wanna play next gen console go for PS3 or XBOX360..
PS3, 360 and Wii are now "this gen".

Why is it so?
Why Wii is not this gen?
It is the "graphic argument" you dwell on?

Added on December 9, 2008, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Dec 5 2008, 05:13 PM)
so far I dont see any people like that, not on this tread at least. Those arguments are kinda old. Maybe those 'gamers' are busy playing 'games'.

Sometimes you gotta have faith in people.
I told you so Sniper, here they comes.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 9 2008, 11:20 PM
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 09:14 AM

698 posts

@jenniferjen

Yes... smile.gif I admit that i stress out a bit. Looking at some uneducated posts makes me stress out. Ok ok, i relax... relax... relax... peace.... shalom... shanti....

Yes u r right. It all depend on personal taste, and i really don't see the point when ppl started to ridicules other's choices, using rude and mean words.

@snipersnake

I agree with u on Monster Hunter 3.
I don't agree with the "not shallow" agreement. I don't think someone that used words like "Wee Wee" (means penis in Australia & NZ), "kindergarden" or "ur console last gen", have any serious depth and reasons in them. Besides trying to --- Ridicule.

Give me a break.

neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 11:08 AM

698 posts

Nintendo is not only a soft spot to me, it is an important part of my childhood. So many fun and happy moment with friends and family were spent around the jumping plumber called Mario, or the green hero Link.

Mario is an icon for many gamers childhood, so I don't think it is wrong to demand some respect for an important cultural icon. To see someone labeling your childhood hero as "Wee Wee", "Kindergarden", "oh so last gen", is an insults.

Nintendo as a company I must say not only survived on innovation, but the loyalty of Nintendo fans that they've created along the years. Nintendo fans are not some fanatics fanboys, but people that remember their childhood fondly, and that continue to have fun with DS & Wii.

I think people that enter gaming in PS1 era will not have a soft spot for Nintendo. During PS1 era, even Sonic is not speeding on Saturn. Did we not respect their Ace Combat, Rayman, Snake? Did we said their games are utter bullshit? No we didn't, in fact I enjoy these games as well.

So personally think this Wii bashing should stop, for goodness sake.

Edited for Grammar & Spelling

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 10 2008, 11:10 AM
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 12:00 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Dec 10 2008, 11:39 AM)
Just ignore him, this thread is making good progress and lets not it be derailed.

Glad that we have have a good sales thread without it being closed few days later.
Yes. When I read that entry I was like --- blink.gif huh?

Added on December 10, 2008, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 10 2008, 11:51 AM)
Agrees with Corez and Gundam. Don't make wild accusations out of people without proper confirmation.

Neogeo fanboys FTW! Horrible OT. tongue.gif

I'm still waiting for Zelda Wii to really come out. The ported one feels cramped in a SDTV. And didn't draw me in completely.
Yeehah! SNK FTW! NeoGeo FTW!!

I am still waiting for Zelda Wii as well. Twilight Princess is great on GameCube,
because it is made for GameCube, it felt sort of lacking when it came to Wii.

Oh yes, Kyo I bet u have played the Phantom Hourglass on DS? Nice eh?

Added on December 10, 2008, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 10 2008, 11:03 AM)
First Person Zelda? shakehead.gif
Yes yes, on Link cross bow training,
it is indeed kind of FP Zelda.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 10 2008, 12:14 PM
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 01:04 PM

698 posts

Some people argue that Gamers are too emotionally engaged to their consoles. I would think it is rather natural, because Gaming is such a powerful hobby that get u involved emotionally.

Allow me to further my reasoning. Lets say you owned SNES during childhood, grown up on Mario Zelda & Street Fighters 2. These games not only engaged u for hours and hours, they also are something that u shares with cousins and classmates. It is a source of joy, when u scored an A on English, your daddy get u a Super Mario 3 as a rewards. Perhaps you have take it for granted when your grandma let you played your Mario 3 on TV, while she sacrifice her favourite TV shows.

Years passed. You graduated, left your childhood classmates, cousins got married, neighbors migrated, your daddy mommy grew old, perhaps your grandma has since passed away. What is left of your childhood? Yes, that friend named Mario. Mario is still kicking Bowser's butt and saving princess Peach, continue to entertain perhaps your very own kid on Wii & DS.

You know, when u see that Italian plumber jumping on Wii, you felt nostalgic, happy and entertained. It is very obvious that Mario games have always been beacon of video game entertainment, but besides being a good videogame, do u know why u love Mario?

Because you are grateful, when u r still a little boy, ur daddy used the little money he earned and get u a SNES & Mario. Just to make u happy and entertained. He is now old, and he always wants the best for u, u felt grateful.
Because you miss your grandma that have since passed away. Your grandma rather see you happy playing Mario, than let herself indulge in that TV show. She is now not around, and u always felt awkward during festive season without her.
Because you remember your childhood classmates, the neighbour that has since migrated. You guys shared your SNES cartridges, and discuss ways to beat that Rockman final boss. They are bunch of fun guys, compare to the horrible colleagues you have now.

So everytime u see Mario, Nintendo, Zelda.... u felt nostalgic and grateful, and u r glad coz your childhood hero is still kicking butt.

When these bunch of people that called themselves "HD hardcore gamers", "Next Gen Gamers", "Defenders of TRUE games" came in and insults Nintendo, it is rather natural that people like me felt outrage.

So for goodness sake, Stop all the insults.
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 01:47 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Dec 10 2008, 01:30 PM)
Do note, Loyalty and Fanboyism are two different words with different meanings. So I, as a gamer, a player, enjoy what is made, given, and produced. smile.gif

@corez, kekekeke. tongue.gif
Kyo, I agree with u.

Let me explain further.

Fanboyism is like when you fell in love with a HK Singer for example Vivian Chow (Zhou-Hui-Min), those olden days she is sweet, cute and her smiles can kill you. You fell in love and u bought all her music, and watched all her movies. Then she grew old, she is no longer sweet, so u forgot about her and u moves on. You are in a state call "Fanboyism".

Loyalty is like u and your wife. She was once pretty, but she married u, have your kids, and perhaps not as hot as before. Still you love her in health in sickness, in rich or poor. wub.gif There is not one thought in you that you would abandon her, because of all the things you two went through.

I agree that everyone is entitle to their opinion, and of course they could argue it in a civilised way - like jenniferjen, u r a gentlemen! notworthy.gif
But the moment someone cross the line and start insulting, he should be loathe of his barbaric behaviour. wink.gif
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 02:03 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 10 2008, 01:54 PM)
since its cheaper, make perfect sense... a perfect gift...
Perhaps you doesn't mean that majority of Wii's was bought for gift?

If that argument hold true,
there are 40 millions of people bought 40 millions of Wii for another 40 millions of people.
And every single days, there are thousands of people bought thousands of Wii for thousands of people.
Because it is Cheap.

Since when human being becomes so charitable? US$249 is not a small amount of money.

Also, if the argument holds true,
PS2 or XBOX 360 Arcade should be the perfect gift, why it hasn't?

Also, if your argument holds true,
why Wii games were sold in tonnes after tonnes?
Have u look at Wii 2009 games catalogue yet? Noticed the amount of so called "core games" coming?

Wii sold these well, because Nintendo has made a great entertainment device,
that is fun and accessible, and affordable,
and the King - Consumers have spoken with FULL FORCE:"We loves the Wii."
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 02:35 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Dec 10 2008, 02:31 PM)
Honestly, MS and Sony lost hand-down for this christmas to wii, although MS still doing pretty good for the second choice of console acting as gift for this christmas, Sony is just too expensive and complicated to manipulate for those un-tapped audiences which started to actually play games now.

A really great strategy by nintendo, kinda thumb up to them, but for this generation, i will stick with my ps3, till they release the HD wii in future. smile.gif
Yes. MS is stick to getting the most out of their resources, and basically give up fighting for number 1.
There is now no way anyone could challenge Wii's momentum.
And i gotta admit MS did a great job.

Hey Jenniferjen u already have a Wii right? U will be glad next year, and next year is less than 1 month.
We could be exchanging Wii friend code soon.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Dec 10 2008, 02:36 PM
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 03:05 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Dec 10 2008, 02:50 PM)
Ahh.. yah... one games i might want for my wii, but the US release already announced? Next year?
Mmmm.... surely they would release that for US right?

Besides the one you've mentioned, Madworld would be nice,
Dragon Quest 10 is going to Wii.
Deadly Creatures, Punch Out, Final Fantasy Echos of Time & Crystal Bearers,
Tenchu, Cursed Mountain..... don't remember all.

Also it is likely that there will be a new Mario or Zelda announced,
as hinted by Shigeru.

Hard time for me, cause i owned a 360 as well,
not rich enough to get all of them.
Also all the retro consoles i targeted to buy....
my goodness, i gotta go to Genting to try my luck,
if not hard to pay for all the games.

neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 03:17 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Dec 10 2008, 03:15 PM)
We're just hardcore gamers inside. A lot of Wii owners feel the same way, and we feel like we're getting ditched for crappy shovelware.. But when a triple-A quality title like Galaxy, or Brawl, or even better, Zelda comes out, we shut out yaps and keep praising Nintendo all over again laugh.gif

Yes, Wii lacks more mature themed games, but those games mentioned above certainly makes up for the rest of it nod.gif
Agree.

All hail the Overseer. notworthy.gif
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 03:25 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Dec 10 2008, 03:19 PM)
That is one of the main reason Wii is selling like hotcakes, piracy.

Just like PS & PS2 the main reason for these console are selling well is because of piracy. However due to their large user base, developers still make games for them.

Even if we say 10% of PS/PS2 userbase buys ori, thats is 10 million potential Ori Customer Base. That goes the same for Wii eventhough the number does not matched PS/PS2 numbers yet.
Given the income level that people in ASEAN have,
a consoles that can be hacked will continue to enjoy popularity like PS2.
Example, Wii.

However, when u go to a country that have few times of income the ASEAN level,
the desire to pirate a game become lower, and original games are actually quite affordable
for people earning Australia, Japan or US income.
Of course there are still pirates, but at a much lower number than ASEAN.

So, Piracy is a contributing factor in the popularity,
perhaps not the MAIN factor for Wii's worldwide success, imo.

neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 03:51 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 10 2008, 03:48 PM)
Anyway how define hardcore and non hardcore (again?)?

I hardly play my Wii, 360 nor PS3, am I not hardcore?
Look at your consoles collection,
your are the hardcorest of the hardcore,
mother of all gamers, King of the Game Kingdom.
neogeocdz
post Dec 10 2008, 04:33 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 10 2008, 04:16 PM)
Yes yes everyone knows you are the richest and the only one who can afford a PS3. Bye!
LOL!
Sigh.... I wish i am as rich as him, sigh (Very loud)........

@jenniferjen

Besides the games that I told you that is available on Wii,
Me also looking forward to FF13, RE5, Halo Wars, SF 4.... on 360 as well.
I just finished Gears of War 2, and playing Fallout 3 & Animal Crossing Wii.

At the same time i am playing Samurai Spirit RPG, guess what, on Neo Geo CDZ now,
that game that Gumdamalpha reluctantly sold to me.

It seems, i have a much broader taste.

I am sorry that u found Wii uninteresting.

Oh, I don't have a single ahem games, although i am not rich.

0.0253sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:59 AM