NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

booooster
post Dec 26 2008, 05:40 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 26 2008, 05:32 PM)
Yeah I have heard about it too. It will be a single core ARM11 with higher processing speed and more than the standard 128MB of RAM.
any source guys? unsure.gif
SUSFeeD
post Dec 26 2008, 07:09 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 26 2008, 04:40 PM)
normally not that much lor... unless the ori one damn expensive
but ap n96 is selling at 1999 compare to the ori 2999

lol, hope n97 is the same too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by FeeD: Dec 26 2008, 07:09 PM
davidmak
post Dec 26 2008, 07:19 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 26 2008, 05:40 PM)
any source guys?  unsure.gif
HERE you go! biggrin.gif
lek_e30
post Dec 26 2008, 09:09 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

i think n96 has begun to fail, thats why the price drop so much, as for n97, its diff story oledi
davidmak
post Dec 26 2008, 09:22 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 26 2008, 09:09 PM)
i think n96 has begun to fail, thats why the price drop so much, as for  n97, its diff story oledi
Yeah, N96 is a bad try by Nokia. Like we've discussed previously, Nokia thought DVB-M would be cool feature but not many countries in the world have digital broadcast. Then because of this, it has to reduce the battery pack size. Also because of this, it had to reduce the CPU speed to conserve battery. Like it didn't learn anything at all from the original N95.

The original N95's battery performance was mediocre and it did not have enough RAM. With the introduction of N95 8GB, Nokia got it right then with the best of all features (except price) and good battery performance. Then now, it slap itself again by going backwards with the N96. Anyway N96 is popular in other regions like Europe where DVB is widespread. It is just now doing any good in South East Asia.
HiT-AbLe
post Dec 26 2008, 09:49 PM

866 posts

Assuming the launching price for N97 won't be cheap(around RM3K), how long do u think the high price of N97 can hold? I'm aiming at this phone but it's still a long way to wait and expensive too, if the price won't drop too quick might consider to get.
booooster
post Dec 26 2008, 09:58 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 26 2008, 07:19 PM)
HERE you go!  biggrin.gif
thx bro
aruja_69
post Dec 26 2008, 10:04 PM

3,786 posts

But that kind of phone Nokia will always launched above 3k and above. Maybe retail price will be 3399 like N96.
booooster
post Dec 26 2008, 10:07 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:04 PM)
But that kind of phone Nokia will always launched above 3k and above. Maybe retail price will be 3399 like N96.
especially since its N9X series lol
HiT-AbLe
post Dec 26 2008, 10:09 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:04 PM)
I thought the official retail price of N97 is 550 Euro, which's about RM2500, I don't understand why the price can mark up so much. Maybe AP set can get much cheaper, RM3399 is too much for a phone, I rather use that money to get laptop instead.
davidmak
post Dec 26 2008, 10:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 26 2008, 10:09 PM)
I thought the official retail price of N97 is 550 Euro, which's about RM2500, I don't understand why the price can mark up so much. Maybe AP set can get much cheaper, RM3399 is too much for a phone, I rather use that money to get laptop instead.
I believe the optimum pricing would be RM2899 during introductory stage and then slowly settle down at RM2499. Don't think it is worth RM3399 which is overpriced. This price range can only be held by a PDA phone which S60 devices aren't even though they are touch capable. So we need to thank HTC for spoiling the market. Hehehe!
booooster
post Dec 26 2008, 10:27 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 26 2008, 10:24 PM)
I believe the optimum pricing would be RM2899 during introductory stage and then slowly settle down at RM2499. Don't think it is worth RM3399 which is overpriced. This price range can only be held by a PDA phone which S60 devices aren't even though they are touch capable. So we need to thank HTC for spoiling the market. Hehehe!
lol funny bro HTC are winmo devices damn cool to use u kno

I own a symbian I find its too simple can't do stuff like remote desktop connection
HiT-AbLe
post Dec 26 2008, 10:37 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 26 2008, 10:24 PM)
For RM3399 I don't think it can stay long when N97 is launched, it might last few days. Good example is 5800, last 2 weeks ago(if I'm not mistaken) I went to Sungai Wang and look for the price of this phone, and got one shop in front of the SW's entrance got the phone at that day, they offered RM2k. And compare with the price now, RM1.5 can get already. To settle down to RM2499 how long will it take? Wait until Xmas next year? whistling.gif
aruja_69
post Dec 27 2008, 12:20 AM

3,786 posts

Usually Nokia high end price will drop quite fast....like N96
jameslee_84
post Dec 27 2008, 01:37 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 26 2008, 10:09 PM)
normally, ppl in EU can get it with a new line so they don just buy the phone unlike here. So, if they sell it high price there, y would people get it from them if u can get it so much cheaper if u jus extend your phone line contract for another 2 years rite? I have a fren in Aussie who change phone every 1 yr, crazy cos he's got 2 line( the max amount ) and its registered at a gap of 1 yr apart, so every year renew got new phone, darn, he just sold a new Iphone 3G 16Gb to another fren of mine cos he's using it di.

In Malaysia, its different, we don have such deal, so at the end of the day we have no choice but to get it at that price. Thats where AP set comes in to help those who don want to pay so much. And in my opinion, retail price shud be RM3599-3799, since its as high end as Nokia E90 altho it is not a communicator. And I do hope this time around, their ram load limit is good as my E71 can't really take it when I din clear my cache and history.

Added on December 27, 2008, 1:40 am
QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 26 2008, 10:27 PM)

I own a symbian I find its too simple can't do stuff like remote desktop connection
winmo is a hang-prone os.... really crappy wan. everyone who have tried both all give me the same advantage of symbian os, it hangs less than winmo.

Added on December 27, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 26 2008, 10:37 PM)
For RM3399 I don't think it can stay long when N97 is launched, it might last few days. Good example is 5800, last 2 weeks ago(if I'm not mistaken) I went to Sungai Wang and look for the price of this phone, and got one shop in front of the SW's entrance got the phone at that day, they offered RM2k. And compare with the price now, RM1.5 can get already. To settle down to RM2499 how long will it take? Wait until Xmas next year? whistling.gif
if its available in M'sia in mid-2009, then Christmas will be the rite time to get it. give it 5-6 months and I'm sure price will drop 10%-20% depending on the market here. Just like E71, tho powerful but it drops about 20% in less than 5 months.

This post has been edited by jameslee_84: Dec 27 2008, 01:42 AM
aruja_69
post Dec 27 2008, 01:45 AM

3,786 posts

Teleco company here suka makan darah of consumer....bukan macam di luar negeri...
ZaRnX
post Dec 27 2008, 02:47 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Dec 26 2008, 04:15 PM)
how much you think is the price difference between ap and ori for the n97 ?  blink.gif
should be at least rm500
davidmak
post Dec 27 2008, 09:20 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 26 2008, 10:27 PM)

Which is why I said, these exorbitant price can only be held by a PDA phone (WinMo devices). You know you know?

Symbians are still smartphones, doesn't matter it has a touchscreen. It will never be a PDA phone. It may try to be one but just look at Windows Mobile platform. Anyone can easily write a program and install in it. It has all the killer applications and most important of all, it has your important PC programs. Symbians are on the other hand controlled and in someway locked.

The N97 is can be considered as a multimedia phone like its predecessors. Nothing serious.
jameslee_84
post Dec 28 2008, 03:46 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 27 2008, 01:45 AM)
Teleco company here suka makan darah of consumer....bukan macam di luar negeri...
can't agree more.... look at the price for u to get a Blackberry Bold here with Maxis. But my uncle working in US with Intel got it for free with his telco..... vmad.gif
mrhenree
post Dec 28 2008, 05:24 PM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Dec 28 2008, 03:46 PM)
can't agree more.... look at the price for u to get a Blackberry Bold here with Maxis. But my uncle working in US with Intel got it for free with his telco.....  vmad.gif
if they get me blackberry for free. i will stay loyal. nod.gif

127 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:38 PM