NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

Reventon
post Jul 2 2009, 02:34 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Jul 2 2009, 12:31 AM)
If you guys bother to go to the NCCs, they already have the new firmware. One girl from a NCC called me today during lunchtime to say that they have the new firmware already and that I can bring my phone in to flash it. Dun ask me why they called me cos' its a long story.

Went to the NCC to update the firmware in the evening at about 6:30pm. Done by 8:00 pm. Version 11! Yippeee!

[Oooppss.. when i mentioned "today", I meant Wednesday, 1st July, 2009. I just realised as I was typing this it was already past midnight and already Thursday, 2nd July, 2009.]
So how is the overall experience after the firmware update ? Hm.. did the update reset anything like sms , contacts or anything else? or just a update without touching anything else?
Reventon
post Jul 6 2009, 07:32 PM

2,921 posts

I have one problem here, its like the incoming sms shows the sender number instead of the saved sender name. However this not occur on every contact in my list, only a few, i double checked the contact and no cloning in the list, anybody has encountered this ? rclxub.gif
Reventon
post Jul 6 2009, 07:57 PM

2,921 posts

okay, so confirmed its the free bugs that bundled with N97 package. Thanks for the clarification ! brows.gif
Reventon
post Jul 6 2009, 09:45 PM

2,921 posts

huh ? the sim contact will have this problem also ? AFAIK , only duplicate contact in the phone memory will have this problem. The problem is not every contact have this problem, only some but it's not a few , around 20% of my 800++ contact. When the person called in , will appear their name , but when sms in, it will only shows their number, quite frustrating as i have to press the call button to check who is the sender !
Reventon
post Jul 6 2009, 09:52 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(BabyMilo_85 @ Jul 6 2009, 08:56 PM)
mine oso like tis!!....i oledi checked frm Taiwan forum website....
it's caused by we transfer our contact lists frm sony ericsson to Nokia n97....
and the format not same between it......
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
For your info , my contact was moved from N96 using the " transfer " software. I dont think the compatibility will be the issue here.
Reventon
post Jul 13 2009, 01:51 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(mrunicron @ Jul 13 2009, 01:29 AM)
how do i save like sms directly into mass memory rather than phone storage?
it seems phone storage is pretty small with only 70mb compared to mass memory...

anyone can help? thanks
Go to Messaging > Option > Setting > Others > Memory in use > Mass Memory

0.0200sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:03 AM