Technical Help... Xbox 360 can't display 1080i/1080p

TSChecked_Mate
post Nov 30 2008, 08:57 PM, updated 18y ago

Ran a search but couldn't find a similar post/thread, so any help would be appreciated.

I recently received an Xbox 360 (Pro) as a birthday present and have been happily playing away at it using the bundled component cables. Now, my TV is a Samsung Series 5 (LA32A550P1R) model, which has full HD 1080p capabilities... so I decided to get a HDMI cable for the Xbox 360 and switch the display resolution from 720p to 1080p.

Now, the weird thing is, since I plugged the HDMI in, I can detect no difference whatsover between a 720p or 1080i/1080p display from the Xbox 360 (yes, I know that the Xbox 360 can only technically display up to 1080i, but come on... no difference?!?). My Samsung home theatre system (HTZ-210) upscales DVDs beautifully through HDMI, so I doubt it's a TV issue.... so how come the problem? Even though the Dashboard states the system is displaying at 1080p/1080i, I'm seeing jaggies galore and some truly horrible 16-bit colour dithering (on character shadows in Blue Dragon, for example).

Anyone able to shed a light on this? This isn't a sign of an impending RROD, is it?

FYI, my 360 Dashboard is pretty up to date... not NXE (haven't downloaded the damn thing), but is version 2.0.6717.0, which includes the 1080p update released in 2007
Jcsy
post Nov 30 2008, 09:02 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

are you a 100% sure that your Samsung 32 inch can scale 1080P ?

how about 720i / 720p?
marauderz
post Nov 30 2008, 09:05 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

errr.. what do you mean but no difference? you set the display setting to 1080p in the system, and then you compared to what you saw in 720P?

Also.. I think there was something about 1080P not supported via the HDMI interface somewhere?
TSChecked_Mate
post Nov 30 2008, 09:06 PM

The Samsung model is labeled as "Full HD 1080p" which would mean it's capable of displaying 1080p outputs, right?

720p is fine... but the 1080i/1080p look almost identical to the 720p one! The jaggies are driving me nuts.... sad.gif
gundamalpha
post Nov 30 2008, 09:10 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Set your XBox to 720p, TV scales it to 1080p (TV's native). Set your XBox to 1080p, your games are scaled from 720p (normally) to 1080p.
TSChecked_Mate
post Nov 30 2008, 09:16 PM

As far as I'm aware, the Xbox 360 is technically not capable of outputing a 1080p signal... but simply upscales the games (at the native 720p) to 1080p.

I've tried mucking about with all sorts of setting combinations (including using a different HDMI cable), but I still can't see a difference between 720p and 1080p. I'm not sure if I'm having different expectations of what a 1080p display on a 360 is...... is the text and icons on the dashboard supposed to have blurry edges at 1080p? It sure looks a damn sight worse than 1080p from a PS3... sad.gif
Mr. Alby
post Nov 30 2008, 09:28 PM

128 posts

Generally, you can only tell between 720p/1080i and 1080p if you have a 40" lcd tv and above...

This post has been edited by Mr. Alby: Nov 30 2008, 09:30 PM
TSChecked_Mate
post Nov 30 2008, 09:31 PM

Hmm... that could be it. Silly me for not investing in the 40" version.... oh well... thanks for the help so far smile.gif
gnome
post Nov 30 2008, 09:31 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Nov 30 2008, 09:28 PM)
Generally, you can only tell between 720p/1080i and 1080p if you have a 40" lcd tv and above...
Ditto.

Plus there's only a handful of games which are 1080p native, most are 600-720p.
tskhor
post Nov 30 2008, 09:40 PM

1,708 posts

As I know only Elite version support full HD.
naruto_kun
post Nov 30 2008, 10:07 PM

818 posts

between 720p and 1080i what are the differences? I couldn't see any....which one is better? Also, can the component cable display 1080p? or do I need a hdmi cable? Sorry yah a bit OT. Feel like dun actually need to open a new thread just for this questions since it is somehow related notworthy.gif
5zal06
post Nov 30 2008, 10:42 PM

195 posts

just wnt to ask here
50 inch tv usually use how many P???my tv can use all the cable that xbox360 give(red,white,yellow,blue,green,i think its another red again)im using panasonic dunno what model
now im using 480p and i think looks ok

i try using 720p and see a bit difference from the dashboard,looks smaller if im not mistaken
try playing fifa09,and the main menu writing looks bigger than 480p and when playing in tele camera,looks a bit far which i don't like
playing cod4..erm i think the main menu looks bigger but when playing i din't notice any difference

wanted to try 1080p,and 1080i..but a bit lazy

xxboxx
post Nov 30 2008, 11:13 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Checked_Mate @ Nov 30 2008, 09:16 PM)
As far as I'm aware, the Xbox 360 is technically not capable of outputing a 1080p signal... but simply upscales the games (at the native 720p) to 1080p.

I've tried mucking about with all sorts of setting combinations (including using a different HDMI cable), but I still can't see a difference between 720p and 1080p. I'm not sure if I'm having different expectations of what a 1080p display on a 360 is...... is the text and icons on the dashboard supposed to have blurry edges at 1080p? It sure looks a damn sight worse than 1080p from a PS3... sad.gif

does the wording looks smaller in 1080p than 720p?

QUOTE(naruto_kun @ Nov 30 2008, 10:07 PM)
between 720p and 1080i what are the differences? I couldn't see any....which one is better? Also, can the component cable display 1080p? or do I need a hdmi cable? Sorry yah a bit OT. Feel like dun actually need to open a new thread just for this questions since it is somehow related notworthy.gif

technically 720p should be better than 1080i. and IINM component cable can also displayed 1080p, for dashboard and games only tho, dvd playback cannot.

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Nov 30 2008, 10:42 PM)
just wnt to ask here
50 inch tv  usually use how many P???my tv can use all the cable that xbox360 give(red,white,yellow,blue,green,i think its another red again)im using panasonic dunno what model
now im using 480p and i think looks ok

i try using 720p and see a bit difference from the dashboard,looks smaller if im not mistaken
try playing fifa09,and the main menu writing looks bigger than 480p and when playing in tele camera,looks a bit far which i don't like
playing cod4..erm i think the main menu looks bigger but when playing i din't notice any difference

wanted to try 1080p,and 1080i..but a bit lazy

depends, some still is 1360x768 while newer one usually is 1920x1080.

you using 50" but only running it on 480p?? such waste man.. sweat.gif
5zal06
post Nov 30 2008, 11:35 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 30 2008, 11:13 PM)
does the wording looks smaller in 1080p than 720p?
technically 720p should be better than 1080i. and IINM component cable can also displayed 1080p, for dashboard and games only tho, dvd playback cannot.
depends, some still is 1360x768 while newer one usually is 1920x1080.

you using 50" but only running it on 480p?? such waste man.. sweat.gif
so u think i should use how many P?
S4PH
post Nov 30 2008, 11:35 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

just use vga cable and set the resolution to the tv's native resolution sure picture sharp.
redbull_y2k
post Dec 1 2008, 12:08 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

This is simple, as long as the game is not rendered in native 1080p then u wont see the benefit of 1080p even if you're using a bigger FullHD lcdtv. icon_rolleyes.gif
Jcsy
post Dec 1 2008, 01:35 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

use HDMI cable for crying out loud if u have such a big TV

lol
cannavaro
post Dec 1 2008, 02:57 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Quick question, VGA or HDMI for xbox360? I've read an article or two that says these 2 are pretty similar as far as PQ goes (when it comes to the xbox360 that is).
5zal06
post Dec 1 2008, 09:48 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Dec 1 2008, 01:35 AM)
use HDMI cable for crying out loud if u have such a big TV

lol
is it make any diffrence on the graphic?

my friend has samsung plasma tv and i think already hdmi built in(not sure)
but he don't need the red,yelloe white,he just put the tv cable to the xbox360(i think its hdmi or maybe other thing)
technophile
post Dec 1 2008, 10:24 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Dec 1 2008, 09:48 AM)
is it make any diffrence on the graphic?

my friend has samsung plasma tv and i think already hdmi built in(not sure)
but he don't need the red,yelloe white,he just put the tv cable to the xbox360(i think its hdmi or maybe other thing)
start a game on pc.. whatever pc game u have..
go to options, look for video options, change the resolution to 640 X 480 (or anything lowest)
look at that graphic...

then change back to 1280 x 800 (if you got a widescreen monitor, or what ever the highest your graphic card can support)
look at the graphics now..

that's the difference.

0.0190sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:43 AM