12,019 posts

Get Rainbow vacuum cleaner will solve your bed and sofa mite
weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 10:06 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 02:00 AM)
Today I get a termine control consultant to check on my new house, and he advise to me was doing nothing since all my tiles are new, except I want to make hole on each feet . And he indicated that I should do before tiles in place lol.

Hence for those people who mid doing renovation which involve hack they Grd Floor tiles, you may want to consider implement termine control before new tiles in place, which at least worry free for next 5 years.
Just do the roof.
weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 04:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 10:42 AM)
The roof could DIY, because can't drill holes and pull those chemical on it.
If a Grd floor, they will drill a 1.5 feets deep hole and put chemical on it for each 1 feets.
Get the oil based for roof. So far can only find @ Ace hardware. you need 3 to 4 tin for one standard roof. I am thinking to get another tin do add more on the corner. Maybe next week.
weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 11:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 6 2011, 10:38 PM)
The Sentricon is just another type of challenge,the termine may bypass it as well, as it just like a station if the bus (termine) decide not to stop at the station...
WeiKee,
The oil base for roof, is that similar to car black oil??? Because my existing house roof wood (protect break in from roof and heat) have lay a layer of black oil on it as recommendated by the contractor.
Nope, is not for car use. Is made for wood and roof trust.

I have a friend when renovate his house, he ask the contractor use the car undercoat + diesel. But the smell was there for few months.
weikee
post Nov 6 2011, 11:55 PM

12,019 posts

Depend how thick you apply. Also this method is bit fire hazard.
weikee
post Nov 7 2011, 11:42 PM

12,019 posts

Termite will eat whatever is soft first. A professional will know how to place it. They detect the present of termite using termite detection device.

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 7 2011, 11:43 PM
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 09:45 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 9 2011, 09:16 AM)
Hi Sifus

So what is the best DIY way to prevent termite during renovation?
When your contractor dig the soil up for beam / pillar just ask them pour the termite poison in. Is very concentrated, can buy like 1 Gallon and ask them pour around. I actually use about 5 Liters. It actually mix of 1:10 Poison:plain water

weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 10:08 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 9 2011, 09:49 AM)
Hi weikee,

Can you let me know what kind of termite poison that you used? I may need to get it quick before my contractor cement up the ground. Besides, is this termite poison harmful to human health?
Is always harmful. That is why is put in the soil. Not expose.

You go any hardware shop, ask for Termite poison they will know. Is actually for mixing with water. But if you want concentrated just buy more and pour on the soil direct and add some water.
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 12:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 9 2011, 11:37 AM)
it only could last not more than a year or less...not forever.
If the soil are expose yes it won't last long. But if is cover under cement it can be few years before is gone.
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 01:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 9 2011, 01:08 PM)
Sure boh???
Anywhere, we only could find out after few years... thumbup.gif
On/Off maybe good to spray external / roof with the termine chemical, as for internal may want to use Fendona for other insect...
If underneath the house have lots of water movement i think the house will collapse very fast.
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 02:45 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 9 2011, 02:42 PM)
Well I plan to spray on the ground before the tiling. Is there any issue?
If the ground already cement no point spraying. Is effective only on soil or wood.
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 03:07 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 9 2011, 03:05 PM)
Sorry, i mean spray on the soil before putting up the cement smile.gif
Spray, i will just pour over biggrin.gif get a big bottle mix 1:1 or 1:2 of water pour it so is very thick (Standard mixing is 1:10 or was it 1:20)
weikee
post Nov 9 2011, 03:11 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 9 2011, 03:09 PM)
haha... okay, I will keep that in mind. But Im just curious, will that be too poisoning for human to stay after doing that  blink.gif
Cement will not leak out anything right, if it leak, you worry about water stain first la.
weikee
post Nov 14 2011, 10:59 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mbokoto2 @ Nov 14 2011, 10:47 AM)
Hi there, been in the pest control industry for the past 5 years, this is my take;

The mixing of chemical and pouring it into the soil is called soil treatment, it is not 100% termite proof because usual the chemical spread in the soil will not be even if this is not done correctly.

Also termite treatment is an ongoing proces; let me illustrate;

Ur house is very much like your body, when it is sick (infested by termite) you get the pest control operator to treat it. Once the termite is eliminated your house will be "cured". However given time, there is a possibility that new termite colonies might reinfest your house.

Thus it is very imperative to have regular inspections (Health check) in your house by a reputable pest controller to ensure that your house is not reinfested.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Its as simple as that. 

PM me if u need further advice.
I know, but is still best things todo when the soil is expose.
weikee
post Nov 21 2011, 12:02 PM

12,019 posts

This is the one i use for roof

So far the contractor use 4 gallons, i added one 1 gallons myself last week on the roof trust.
weikee
post Nov 21 2011, 10:21 PM

12,019 posts

Wooden door frame , i use teak hard wood, and also applied the normal poison termite. I won't use this because i need to lacquer it.
weikee
post Nov 22 2011, 12:15 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 22 2011, 12:13 AM)
How you do it? Using brush or can use Spray?
Spray, with the hand pump to pressurized the bottle.
weikee
post Mar 23 2013, 12:37 AM

12,019 posts

Just found out my house got termite problem... saw small colony on the side table (build-in together with the bed frame).

Sigh, now got to find specialist to check.
weikee
post Mar 23 2013, 03:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Mar 23 2013, 01:19 PM)
u just reno your house last year right ? so fast termite attack ? or u didnt do termite treatment before this
Done end 2011. Treatment on the ground floor.

Call 3 expert check, look like it can come from anywhere. Especially when neighbor do renovation the termite very likely will migrate. Mine are just started, need to wait the termite come out again only can call them to put bait system. That is the best option.
weikee
post Apr 16 2013, 08:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Apr 16 2013, 03:10 AM)
ok, i've got more info..

for those who likes to play with poison...  biggrin.gif forget ace hw
get if from specialist like this...
not sure they sell to consumer/home user, call to find out...

http://www.spms.com.my/chemicals.htm

under the listing...
yes got fipronil powder.... Ceptiva by basf

also  Alpha-Cypermethrin under termites,
Fendona is  Alpha-Cypermethrin as well, also by basf,
and the % is almost the same.

Bayer's premise also got..

remember, odourless poison for termites.....  rclxms.gif
If you find out they sell to home users do let me know.

0.0326sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:52 AM