termite treatment, anybody ?
Nov 29 2008, 09:57 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
315 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
anybody can advise on termite treatment ? I got a old terrace house, going to renovate soon, I think i will definitely need to do the termite treatment, any idea to do it before/during/after renovation ? what type of treatment to do ? just want to seek some advise before i call up these termite treatment company. |
Nov 29 2008, 12:53 PM
2,548 posts Joined: May 2005 |
For the usual termite treatment , best to do it before reno..esp if you are changing the floor tiles. Chemicals are sprayed (if flooring is intact, then they will do drilling and pump in chemicals at intervals) on the ground.
There's a new techniqued where no drilling is required. The concept is to 'build' some sort of trap outside the building usually in the garden area, so that the termites will leave the house alone. But this method cost a lot more. Suggest you call up a few pest control Co. and ask them to quote and assess. grill them as to why you should go with them rather than another co. |
Dec 2 2008, 09:41 AM
315 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
any recommended company to call ? from what i read, some of these companies really bad. my area is in Cheras
Dec 2 2008, 07:55 PM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
ask your contractor.. i think he should know how 2 do it... for preventive measure u can do it urself.. only when there's a termite problem u needa pest control
Jan 21 2009, 11:33 AM
43 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Is it advisable to do termite treatment before the problem bugged us? It's like 'pre-emptive strike' against termite
Jan 21 2009, 11:44 AM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
usually all houses is laced with termite powder when it is build.. after building it is very hard to put it as u need to put it below the foundation
Jan 21 2009, 11:51 AM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
the contractor will pump 6liter of dilute termitox to floor every 1 feet. then the ceiling will be spray too as the roof is using wood as support.
If for dyi basic prevention, you can buy termitox from hardware shop and spary yourself. but for new house, better get contractor. if you have pregnant wife or friend or going to start family, make sure they stay away from the compound as termitox is very bad for fetus. better you do before renovate then leave the area for 1-2 months for the expose chemical wear off. |
Jan 21 2009, 06:05 PM
so does that mean it is advisable to do preventive termite treatment? It might cost a few k and if it is ok not to do the treatment now then I can channel those few k to other renovation needs.
Jan 21 2009, 11:44 PM
25 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Hi Ajie,
Check with your developer before doing anything. If there were anti termite treatment during the construction stage ( since yours in new house ), then you can save some money there. |
Jan 22 2009, 01:44 PM
Thanks DarkChocolate
appreciate the advice |
Oct 6 2009, 08:13 PM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(ajie @ Jan 22 2009, 01:44 PM) just to share my experience, you guys can try termites baiting box, i have termites problem last month, then my friend ask me to DIY, but i dun like the smell and chemical spray around my kitchen and middle room. after bait my self with the diy box, now no more termites in my house. good luck to you all too.This post has been edited by tkleong79: Oct 9 2009, 10:07 AM |
Oct 7 2009, 02:10 AM
1,450 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(DarkChocolate @ Jan 21 2009, 11:44 PM) Hi Ajie, those chemical spray use for pre construction only can last for 2-3 year from the date they sprayed.Check with your developer before doing anything. If there were anti termite treatment during the construction stage ( since yours in new house ), then you can save some money there. |
Oct 7 2009, 10:13 AM
61 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(tkleong79 @ Oct 6 2009, 08:13 PM) just to share my experience, you guys can try termitesDIY baiting box, i have termites problem last month, then my friend ask me to DIY, but i dun like the smell and chemical spray around my kitchen and middle room. after bait my self with the diy box, now no more termites in my house. good luck to you all too. May I know where do u buy the baiting box ? |
Oct 7 2009, 08:30 PM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
...sigh
This post has been edited by tkleong79: Oct 9 2009, 10:10 AM |
Oct 15 2009, 02:35 PM
3 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(ykltpm @ Oct 7 2009, 10:13 AM) hi, ykltpmwe plan to buy in bulk, so that we can get cheaper price, do you want to join? if you want please check our forum http://forum.bandarkinrara.com/index.php?topic=266.15 the list all in there. or you can add you list here, i will help you at there. we will buy online, try to make it to 30 box, then the price is really low. Bulk list 1) aeiou 5 boxes ( may buy more if proven effective, will buy from any one here joining the bulk who have extra ) 2) jimmylimwk 3 boxes ( because i only see 2 palce got termite, one is under my book box and one is termite road both also in store room) 3)kokkk 5 boxes 4) 5) |
Oct 29 2009, 02:50 PM
hi jimmy, can i know where to get the baiting box? i stay in cheras. thanks
This post has been edited by adamleekh: Oct 29 2009, 02:50 PM |
Oct 29 2009, 09:58 PM
76 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I was advised by a reliable contractor that the baiting system don't work well. Those pest control company cannot guarantee no termite after the treatment, and charge yearly for maintaince checkup. Ridiculous, he claims.
Oct 30 2009, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(imtrobin @ Oct 29 2009, 09:58 PM) I was advised by a reliable contractor that the baiting system don't work well. Those pest control company cannot guarantee no termite after the treatment, and charge yearly for maintaince checkup. Ridiculous, he claims. ya and it is very expensive, my house double storey not a big house and they quote me rm3000, yearly maintanance rm550, too much. i read a lot forum, some say effective some say no, but this is not the main proble, main problem is the price, end up i plan to get the diy product to do my self, effective or not i not sure, now i am asking the jimmylim about the DIY box, but he no reply. i think most the baiting system is the same, problem is why the price so expensive.Added on November 16, 2009, 2:06 pmThanks jimmy for the sharing, actually i am using now, hope it work as what you told me. 10 more day to done the baiting, can see they seal up the box now, should be buffet - ing now. This post has been edited by adamleekh: Nov 16 2009, 02:06 PM |
Dec 2 2009, 10:21 AM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Hi Adam lee,
Can you share your experience on termitesDIY baiting, i just found my house toilet got termite road last night, hope to hear from you soon, wait for your reply before make my decision. thanks a lot. |
Dec 3 2009, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(wenyeelim @ Dec 2 2009, 10:21 AM) Hi Adam lee, hi wenyee,Can you share your experience on termitesDIY baiting, i just found my house toilet got termite road last night, hope to hear from you soon, wait for your reply before make my decision. thanks a lot. So far is as what the website told, around 30% with lots whole bait eat by termite, and not see any termites in it, should be success i think, i am still monitor it. so i think i recommend you give it a try, you can call me if you need any help on how to bait. i PM you my hp number already. good luck. |
| Change to: | 0.0275sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:03 PM |