can help to get the baiting box for me?
jimmylim
post Dec 23 2009, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(seow227 @ Dec 10 2009, 10:02 PM)
jimmy,
how to use the baiting box actually?
can help to get the baiting box for me?
Sorry for late reply, is very easy to use, as i follow the step by step from the website.
you can get from the website your self, they send to me using poslaju after i make order. reach the next day.

This post has been edited by jimmylim: Dec 23 2009, 04:57 PM
adamleekh
post Dec 23 2009, 05:12 PM

HI all, I highly recommend you all about this DIY system, go ahead wont regret.
seow227
post Dec 23 2009, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(jimmylim @ Dec 23 2009, 04:55 PM)
Sorry for late reply, is very easy to use, as i follow the step by step from the website.
you can get from the website your self, they send to me using poslaju after i make order. reach the next day.
i received the items. The seller respond very fast smile.gif
wenyeelim
post Dec 30 2009, 04:09 PM

2nite is my unstick date, hope i have a happy new year 2010, please wish me luck, hope my termite problem fix.

nando
post Jan 2 2010, 09:47 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

its not about just putting a bait. Its knowing how to put it at right place so that the termites can feed on it. You disturb the termites too much and they refuse to eat, they can move and attack some other place.

did the instruction tell you how to check carefully if termites are still feeding? feed how long? how to check if its effective?

But if you manage to get the termites to feed, then your problem will be solved. All the best!

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 2 2010, 09:51 AM
lucerne
post Jan 3 2010, 12:01 PM

1,946 posts

i m in wood industry, i think consumer need to increase their awareness in wood protection. to most effective is to insist our contractor, developers etc to chemicals treat their wood products before use (prevention is better than cure, and i dun believe in DIY, pest control etc). there are many ways to treat the wood but the most effectively is pressure treatment (Tanalised) during saw mill. chemicals will penetrate deep into wood cell (100% and not surface only) and prevent all kind of insects , decay fungus, rot etc. nowaday the delveloper/contractor want to maximize their profit and built house with untreated sawn timbers. Price only 10-20% cheaper but they can earn big $$ with big project. they like to save here and there to make more $ and we consumers will suffer later (termites after 18mths warranty??). note: oversea developers do not behave like this. Actually we consumer do not mind to pay extra 10% extra on timber products eg frame, roof, flooring, cabinets etc) afterall it is only small portion of total house cost. (near negligible but to the contractors are big $). Many contractors argued Msia wood is very durable but no longer today as tree are cut very young. (lesser termite resistant). It is proven in oversea, chemicals treated timbers can last more than 100yrs. (eg electric/lamp posts etc). So in future, if u want to renovate your house, pls insist treated wood (kayu masak). usually it is slight green in color. (not too artificially green coz they may paint /dipped with green dye), Best is to request certificate to confirm it is 100% treated. (not under treat).
if the above is not possible, coz u bought a built house (usually timbers without treatment) :
1. buy suitable DIY wood preservatives (waterbased or solvent based, need to dilute further) and spray/brush yourself. usually this insecticides is very toxic. (some can cause cancer eg chloropyrifos) remember to coat them with a layer of coating to prevent toxication after human touch. coating must be UV resistant/antioxonant coz direct UV/Ozone from air can deactivate the chemicals (shorter shelflife).
the problem is this type of chemicals is very smelly (coz producers always add very smelly diluent to trick consumer it is more powerful) - in fact chemicals have very little smell.
2. Ready to use light organic solvent preservative (LOSP) -no need to dilute anymore. this type of solvent is less smell (depend on the solvent, low odor is more expensive)- need topcoat for longer shelflife. (>10yrs)
most LOSP are added with water repellant and fungicides to prevent decay.
note: i dun trust the expensive pest control companies. they are totally un professional. the effectiveness is short life. also the chemicals injected under ground will wash by water or degraded overtime.
wenyeelim
post Jan 4 2010, 09:57 AM

Hi nando.

I got ask the seller, they ask me don't disturb the termite, if not they will move around and attack more place. so i wait for the bait reach my home
then start bait them, really not sure how to check, so i just follow the instruction paper and stick on the termite mud-tunnel and wait for 3 week, so far as how the website say, bait is feed by the termite, many hold and part been eaten and not see any termite there, should be all die in the nest. not sure how to check the effectiveness, so i only can wait and see, will let you guys know if termite come back again.

Hi lucerne,

Now i think my termite problem is fix, but for future i maybe need your help on wood protection, my i know
how much it cost if i want to spray all my wood in my house? and also where can i get the chemical? and the chemical name?.
thanks a lot.
FerrariST
post Jan 4 2010, 04:48 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 3 2010, 12:01 PM)
i m in wood industry, i think consumer need to increase their awareness in wood protection. to most effective is to insist our contractor, developers etc to chemicals treat their wood products before use (prevention is better than cure, and i dun believe in DIY, pest control etc). there are many ways to treat the wood but the most effectively is pressure treatment (Tanalised) during saw mill. chemicals will penetrate deep into wood cell (100% and not surface only) and prevent all kind of insects , decay fungus, rot  etc. nowaday the delveloper/contractor want to maximize their profit and built house with untreated sawn timbers. Price only 10-20% cheaper but they can earn big $$ with big project. they like to save here and there to make more $ and we consumers will suffer later (termites after 18mths warranty??). note: oversea developers do not behave like this. Actually we consumer do not mind to pay extra 10% extra on timber products eg frame, roof, flooring, cabinets etc) afterall it is only small portion of total house cost.  (near negligible but to the contractors are big $).  Many contractors argued Msia wood is very durable but no longer today as tree are cut very young. (lesser termite resistant). It is proven in oversea, chemicals treated timbers can last more than 100yrs. (eg electric/lamp posts etc). So in future, if u want to renovate your house, pls insist treated wood (kayu masak).  usually it is slight green in color. (not too artificially green coz they may paint /dipped with green dye), Best is to request certificate to confirm it is 100% treated. (not under treat).
if the above is not possible, coz u bought a built house (usually timbers without treatment) :
1. buy suitable DIY wood preservatives (waterbased or solvent based, need to dilute further) and spray/brush yourself. usually this insecticides is very toxic. (some can cause cancer eg chloropyrifos) remember to coat them with a layer of coating to prevent toxication after human touch. coating must be UV resistant/antioxonant coz direct UV/Ozone from air can deactivate the chemicals (shorter shelflife).
the problem is this type of chemicals is very smelly (coz producers always add very smelly diluent to trick consumer it is more powerful) - in fact chemicals have very little smell.
2. Ready to use light organic solvent preservative (LOSP) -no need to dilute anymore. this type of solvent is less smell (depend on the solvent, low odor is more expensive)- need topcoat for longer shelflife. (>10yrs)
most LOSP are added with water repellant and fungicides to prevent decay.
note: i dun trust the expensive pest control companies. they are totally un professional.  the effectiveness is short life. also the chemicals injected under ground will wash by water or degraded overtime.
Good write up bro

However, most of the houses construct these day are either using un-treated timber or worst still lousy wood with no chemical treatment. Unless, people who are rich and is capable of contstruct a house from a bare land, then i believe is possible.
abubin
post Jan 4 2010, 05:25 PM

10,429 posts

those who know a reliable and good termite contractor, please PM me or post it here. I have had experience with these companies and all the warranty and maintenance they say never get fulfilled. I am tired of calling them already. Now. I only want to pay installation fee. Maintenance, only when they come, I will pay.

My termite treatment already going to 5 years already. Time to redo the treatment. I think, I wanna try the box bait method.
lucerne
post Jan 4 2010, 11:27 PM

1,946 posts

Chemicals to prevent termites
1. pressure treatment eg CCA (copper chrome arsenate), boron (eg boric acid, borax pentahydrate),
2. spray /brush/dipping eg cypermethrin, permethrin, copper napthenate, TBTN (tributyl tin napthenate), Azoles etc. (usual in combination)
don't buy Chloropyrifos - banned in many countries. (carcinogen/cancer causing) -still selling at M'sia hardware shops!!

note: option 1 is most cost effective, pls buy sawn timbers after pressure treatment (100% penetration); option 2 can only protect surface--not lasting (less than 1 yr if decomposed /high termite hazard area. careful treatment process is necessary for longer protection effect. (5-10yrs)

estimate option 1 is RM1-2/m3, 2 is about RM10-20/m3

abubin
post Jan 5 2010, 09:48 AM

10,429 posts

option 2, you mean buy those and self spray it around the house?
lucerne
post Jan 5 2010, 06:03 PM

1,946 posts

option 2 is a ready to use preservatives, all chamicals (depend on what protection needed) are added into organic solvents (stronger smell but cheaper than using low odor solvents). this product is called LOSP , light organic solvent preservatives. they are available in most DIY shops.
for more info, pls visit;

http://www.osmose.com.au/pdf's/timberc...rochure_web.pdf
http://www.archchemicals.com/Fed/WOODAU/Do...ear_English.pdf

Added on January 6, 2010, 10:32 pmpls remember to put a layer of coating on the sprayed/brushed chamicals, otherwise it will disappear overtime. the best using coating/paint with UV resistant

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jan 6 2010, 10:32 PM
lucerne
post Jan 8 2010, 10:54 AM

1,946 posts

another DIY website to refer:

http://www.protim.ie/index.htm

mbokoto2
post Mar 12 2010, 04:43 PM

21 posts

Termite infestation falls into those category of problem whereby it always happen to the other house or the other and not to yours.

Until of course you finally realize you have one. Then you will have stood up and frantically look up in the internet, yellow pages and papers for the solution to this pesky problem.

The problem is there are so many solutions to this problem; ranging from services by pest control companies and even DIY products. In my humble opinion when it comes to termite, it is best to hand it to the pest control professionals because termite because they have the tools and experience to monitor and control termite activity.

How do you ensure you are getting dollarized returns for your hard earned money and ensure that you get the best deal and solution?

Here, I will attempt to tackle this question and give you some guidelines on how to choose a the best service providers to tackle your termite problem.

I will list down several important criteria to look for in before you eventually sign up for any of their package offered in the market by various pest control companies.

a. The technicians

Imagine going to a Dr that is not qualified when you are sick? It is the same with pest controllers. You need to have service technicians who are qualified and trained to carry out a termite job at your place.

Everyone can spray and parade as a pest control technician, but not everyone who handles the sprayer is a pest control professional. Keep that in mind.

Handing your house to a pest control technician that has no knowledge is very much like serving your house on a platter to the termites.

The very least a technician should have is the PAL or APAL license issued by the government.

The PAL license is an acronym for Pesticide Applicators License while the APAL stands for Assistant Pesticide Applicators License.

At least with the license, you can be guaranteed that the technician had gone through a few hours of class training and have sat for the exam.

Technicians also need to know about the basics in termite control.

An experienced technician will explain how the treatment is done and know the specs of the treatment.

At the very least, the pest control technician should know;
i. the type of termite
ii. hotspots for termite activity
iii. how long will it take to control the termite colony
iv. What type of termite treatment is being administered to your house.

Many masquerading pest controllers I had encountered just blindly go around the house knocking blindly on wooden structures during inspection.

Feel free to pm me if you have any queries on this matter biggrin.gif

Next I will talk about the pest control companies .
shadow111
post Apr 29 2010, 09:25 AM

3,140 posts

is there any recommendation for new house in order to prevent termite infestation?
cyanide
post Apr 29 2010, 09:35 AM

193 posts

signed S&P in May 2008.
I think house start build a few months later.

collected keys 2 weeks ago. Given a warranty card of termites treatment, but the expiry date is May 2011.
Shall i do anything on termite treatment before moving in?
shadow111
post Apr 29 2010, 10:01 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Apr 29 2010, 09:35 AM)
signed S&P in May 2008.
I think house start build a few months later.

collected keys 2 weeks ago. Given a warranty card of termites treatment, but the expiry date is May 2011.
Shall i do anything on termite treatment before moving in?
there is free termite treatment for yr new hse? is this something standard for all new hse?
Tohsan
post Apr 29 2010, 11:34 AM

1,133 posts

so which local company have the professional people to do the termite treatment?
bbjslee
post Apr 29 2010, 05:32 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Apr 29 2010, 11:34 AM)
so which local company have the professional people to do the termite treatment?
Try Ridpest or NLC

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:35 AM