12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V5, The Journey Countinues..

pikacu
post Nov 28 2008, 08:36 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

congrats on new V5 ! smile.gif

i reposta the news : http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...10675&Itemid=34

Radeon 4870 price to sink $20
First adjustment since launch

Since Nvidia has the 180 series driver and is actually winning with Geforce GTX 260 with 216 Shaders in many popular games, ATI is readying to slightly adjust its price in order to put more pressure before the final Xmas shopping spree.

We’ve learned that ATI will drop its price by about $20 to channel which should result that these cards will get around $20 cheaper for customers around the world. European customers should see prices down by about 15 euro, which will give ATI a better fighting chance.

At the same time, ATI knows that they don’t have PhysX and there is a big rumour that the upcoming game called Mirror’s Edge might really push PhysX like never before. This is the first price reduction of RV770 based cards since launch which definitely proves that ATI did a good job and managed to sustain its launch price since it launched the card months ago.

As of this morning the European prices have started to drop from €200+ to €180+, and you can get Sapphire's HD4870 for €184 here.
Radeon HD4830 drops under €100 : http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...10686&Itemid=34

Finally starts making sense

The lovechild of ATI engineers and AMD accountants, dubbed Radeon HD4830, has finally dropped under the €100 mark and started to make sense.

We tested it a month ago here. Sanjin was impressed by its performance, but not thrilled about the ridiculous pricing. Back then it was priced at €125, on par with HD4850 cards and obviously it didn't make any sense. We kept our eyes open for the price drop and told you to wait a bit in case you wanted one and this morning the new price started popping up on price search engines.

So there you have it, if you're in the market for sub-€100 graphics, the HD4830 is the way to go. You can a HIS HD4830 with non-reference cooling for €99, here.

For comparison, the cheapest HD4850 retails at €124, while the HD4870, following the price drop we talked about here, now costs €184.

the price similar to 9800GT price

This post has been edited by pikacu: Nov 28 2008, 08:38 PM
pikacu
post Nov 28 2008, 08:41 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

seems to be true, and 4830 should drop price anytime soon..
pikacu
post Nov 29 2008, 02:51 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(tks068 @ Nov 28 2008, 10:27 PM)
new thread smile.gif

back to my question , i have bought power color ati radeon HD 4670 few weeks back and im not very happy with it cos i have been unable to play old games such as cs 1.6 and knight online ( if anyone know it ....) the fps just not stable ,

whenever i play cs 1.6 zombie mod the fps can be as high as 100 and drop till 10 or so when players around my screen , and same goes to knight online when the fps im getting is around 40 or so when no players is around and when the map is packed with other players my fps goes down till less than 10 .... hmm what could be the problem ?

both these 2 games areat least 4- 5 years old ++  my laptop with nvidia 8600 gt can have around 80 fps when playing knight online undersame condition .
i hope if any1 faced this problem before can help me out .... i have actually post my question before back in V4 buy reader seems to ignore or missed my question... hope this time will get u guys attention smile.gif

pc specification :

pentium D930
3.44 GB( 4GB) ddr2 667 SD RAM
p4ld2-se asus mobo
ati radeon HD 4670 (CCC version 8.11)
oh one more thing ... i heard ati dosnt work well with opengl is that true? if is that so  , how to solve it ? i dont suppose ati raeon user dont play opengl game ? whistling.gif  whistling.gif

thanks for helping in advance smile.gif
i think ati card works well with openGL. furmark use openGL iianm.

there is some user experience the same thing as you before, i forget who is that user...

Added on November 29, 2008, 2:53 am
QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 28 2008, 10:59 PM)
hmmphh..undercover graphics aint look so nice on 4850...set all to max...seems laggy and not really nice graphic compared to pro street or grid...
have you tried a HD patch for NFS:UG ? : http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,668706/...etter_graphics/

This post has been edited by pikacu: Nov 29 2008, 02:53 AM
pikacu
post Nov 29 2008, 03:11 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 29 2008, 03:06 AM)
patch =.=...the game is buggy sad.gif...suddenly car can teleport and the world goes missing xD...
did EA fuse Hiro Nakamura inside their car? laugh.gif tongue.gif

from what i read, the HD patch fix the buggy graphic performance....unofficial patch btw

This post has been edited by pikacu: Nov 29 2008, 03:11 AM
pikacu
post Nov 29 2008, 07:06 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Nov 29 2008, 06:12 PM)
guys,how much better is the HD4850 compared to the 9600GT..got into an arguement with my brother who seemes really unhappy with me buying the 4850..he said its only SLIGHTLY better then the 9600gt and with the price i should have bought a 9600gt..bullcrap right?
yep, bullcrap.

4850 way better than 9800GT,

and 9800GT way better than 9600GT

ask ur brother to check 4850 review ._.
pikacu
post Nov 29 2008, 10:23 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

Guys, does furmark stability test (with 8x MSAA) reflect gaming stability ? No artifact etc.

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Nov 29 2008, 09:45 PM)
juz get a Asus Ati 4670 at cycom juz now ... Rm325 ...
nice price you got there.

I am not sure about Crysis performance on 4000+ with 4670.

pikacu
post Nov 29 2008, 11:09 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 29 2008, 10:57 PM)
4000+ sure la , even my 6000+ i change le to e8400 improve a lot ... but now bc.. -.-
sorry for my ignorance, but wut is bc?
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 01:41 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

have u tried 75Hz r.rate?

pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 10:38 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Nov 30 2008, 08:54 AM)
guys , my 4670 idle temperature is around 45-47c , is it normal ?

i hav alredi take out my chassis panel , and the temperature still the same ...dust alredi cleaned ....
quite normal temp for 4670
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 11:44 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 30 2008, 11:09 AM)
Does all 4650 with Hdmi comes with Hdcp with audio? Thanks. Did 4650 drop till 200myr range? Thanks. By the way, isn't 4830 price drop?
4650 price is around RM250

about HDCP, quoted from ati website

ATI Radeonâ„¢ HD graphics chips have numerous features integrated into the processor itself (e.g., HDCP, HDMI, etc.). Third parties manufacturing products based on, or incorporating ATI Radeon HD graphics chips, may choose to enable some or all of these features. If a particular feature is important to you, please inquire of the manufacturer if a particular product supports this feature. In addition, some features or technologies may require you to purchase additional components in order to make full use of them (e.g. a Blu-Ray or HD-DVD drive, HDCP-ready monitor, etc.).
http://ati.amd.com/products/Radeonhd4600/index.html

hope it helps icon_rolleyes.gif
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 12:23 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 30 2008, 12:15 PM)
ah! still crash !
blue screen said
attempt to reset grafic driver failed
cry.gif
Have u tried on Vista 32bit?
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 01:30 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 30 2008, 01:06 PM)
thanks, any manufacturer suggestion? thanks
iianm, reference hd4670 follows this specs

http://ati.amd.com/products/Radeonhd4600/specs.html

Added on November 30, 2008, 1:30 pm
QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 30 2008, 12:30 PM)
wah , wan 4mat again meh -.- any chances is crysis that game? my old rig 6000+ on HIS 4850 , no crash but will blink screen
create new partition tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pikacu: Nov 30 2008, 01:30 PM
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 03:25 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(chiakm @ Nov 30 2008, 03:22 PM)
Guys, I'm using a stock 4870 card and was thinking of getting a third party VGA cooler.
Can anyone recommend me one that's cheap, good, reliable and compatible with my 4870?
Getting tired of the LOUD fan noise from turning the fan speed above 35% already.
Accelero Twin Turbo?
Heard it perform quite well.

This post has been edited by pikacu: Nov 30 2008, 03:26 PM
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 06:49 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 30 2008, 03:45 PM)
any way to cool it down besides turning fan to 100%??

Sry for noob questions ya...I m kinda new in this area  wink.gif
you can try to add 120mm fan that blows directly to ur gpu.

i forgot which thread got picture of it...

QUOTE(bernardryan @ Nov 30 2008, 05:29 PM)
My temperature for my 4870 Sapphire 512gb is around 51-57, idle-load. My speed of fan is set to 35%.

Is that alright?

Added on November 30, 2008, 5:30 pmambient temp is around 30-32
the idle temp sound right for 4850, no worries smile.gif
pikacu
post Nov 30 2008, 11:10 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Nov 30 2008, 11:08 PM)
hmm previously thinking  of buying 4850 matrix.

Now they release 4870 matrix with dam cool design. But the price kinda on the high side.

if 1k-1.2k still okie. 1.2-1.4k is a bit too much don't you think.
Asus with premium price tongue.gif

i think the 1.2k~1.4k is the DK series price?
pikacu
post Dec 1 2008, 12:03 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Nov 30 2008, 11:43 PM)
big difference?
30~40% different,
try to imagine the performance 3870 vs 9800GTX or 8800GT vs 9800GTX,

4850 is above 9800gtx
pikacu
post Dec 1 2008, 01:10 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 1 2008, 12:47 AM)

try do this...
take 120mm fan(any brand), and then attach(use tape) it at where the fan is. inhale or exhaust depends on you.
pikacu
post Dec 1 2008, 01:15 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Scanart @ Dec 1 2008, 01:12 AM)
That's why Gainward can produce cards like 4870X2 Golden Sample Goes Like Hell which Palit doesn't have.
Errrrr, sorry to crash the party here but, Gainward announce HD4870x2 golden sample right after Palit announce HD4870x2 R700 Revolution.

they shares really the same design, just a different sticker...
pikacu
post Dec 1 2008, 02:05 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Scanart @ Dec 1 2008, 01:52 AM)
Yes true, but Gainward 4870X2 Golden Sample Goes Like Hell is faster than Palit HD4870x2 R700 Revolution because it's core speed is 790+ Mhz. I was just trying to point out this difference here. Btw, does Palit 4870X2 R700 Revolution have DVI-I+DisplayPort+HDMI+VGA ports as well? What I normally received are Gainward slides and updates, not Palit ones.
Humm, Palit core clock is 750Mhz, while Gainward's is 790Mhz, i guess they are different at core clock imo.

and yes, Palit have those, check here : http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/R...ion_R700/3.html
pikacu
post Dec 1 2008, 11:09 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

460 extreme power is around 345w~360 true power output.

for me...yeah, not enough jus

4850 need atleast 450w true power for whole system

This post has been edited by pikacu: Dec 1 2008, 11:10 AM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:46 AM