Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

janeration7
post Mar 18 2009, 05:02 AM

43 posts

hi guys..contemplating on which digital camera to buy..looking for compact digital camera, of course preferably with good specs, must be small and SLIM and preferably light as well as DURABLE (very important)

brands that i have short listed : panasonic, olympus, canon (not so, coz they're super heavy, but would consider if the specs are good)

any suggestions? my friends all suggest panasonic because of the leica dicomar lens..but panasonic is quite new in the market compared to the other two, so i'm not really sure..anyone has used panasonic for more than a year?

thanks for the help, appreciate it!!
janeration7
post Mar 19 2009, 03:03 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Mar 18 2009, 08:50 AM)
Panasonic are not "NEW" to the compact industry at all.
It has been years since they joined, although they are much younger compared to the likes of Canon. But that is not the point....

Panasonic digicams are gaining ground and are having a greater share of the digicam market now. That goes to say a lot about how good it is right?

Unless u r aiming for really low budget cams (which I m personally not familiar with), I don't think you will find fault in getting Panasonic or Canon. Olympus I'll only vote for it if you need a waterproof or all weather camera. The IQ for Olympus compacts isn't what I can accept... sweat.gif
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Mar 18 2009, 11:05 AM)
How much exactly is your budget first?

Anyway, most of the Panasonic PnS cameras are slim, but Canon does have a few slim ones too like the Ixus 85, Ixus 860, Ixus 980... Olympus' IQ isn't really THAT good compared to these two, but it still sells because of the shockproof waterproof crap.
No problems mate. If you want, you can get a 1000D and the 55-250 together and see what the boss can discount for you lah, since you buy together.
Yeah.  whistling.gif can sniper without showing people the power.  brows.gif
Thanks PCHo and TheWandererX,

My budget is below RM1000, but if the camera is worth buyin, i don mind paying a bit more..so between canon and panasonic, which is more durable or with better specs? mind suggesting any models? i saw that day panasonic came out with a new model with 10 mp and cheaper than its previous models, dunno wuts the catch.. low end users maybe?? thanks for being so patient! anyone else is free to comment as well..
janeration7
post Mar 23 2009, 12:38 PM

43 posts

hi again, thx for the suggestion, how much does the canon ixus 85 cost? i see from the websites that many ppl think its overpriced..

by the way, any suggestion of a panasonic model?

not interested in Fuji, haven heard good review about them other than a very competitive price
janeration7
post Mar 24 2009, 05:11 AM

43 posts

haven't heard good reviews about fuji until now..by the way i checked out the canon ixus 85, no wide lens, so still contemplatin..
janeration7
post Mar 30 2009, 04:07 AM

43 posts

i went to panasonic's fair today and saw that they had a discount of rm100 on all their cameras..just want to noe, whether i shud go for FS only, or shud i go for LX series..also, is the IA feature worth it?i think im definitely gettin a panasonic, jus not sure wut series..i think for normal use, 8-10 mp is sufficient rite?which model has better optical zoom? n wut shud i look for?

Added on March 30, 2009, 4:14 amalso, should i buy it during panasonic's promotion or wait for pc fair?i heard from some of my frens that its not advisable to buy cameras durin pc fair...how bout the promotions?any difference?

This post has been edited by janeration7: Mar 30 2009, 04:14 AM
janeration7
post Mar 30 2009, 12:39 PM

43 posts

so for the fx 38, how many mp digital zoom is it? im guessin its 5x optical zoom rite?

the fair was at sunway pyramid..when i asked, they said probably nx fair will be at midvalley
janeration7
post Mar 30 2009, 05:36 PM

43 posts

thanks!!jus dat so many choices..dunno wut to pick...lolzzz
janeration7
post Apr 9 2009, 03:36 PM

43 posts

hi, has anybody used the panasonic fs7? any opinions on that?

0.0680sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:46 AM