Which one harder?, STPM or Matriks or A level??
IamjustME
Nov 27 2008, 08:14 PM
STPM: wider scope, wider information, slightly easier than A-level questions A-level: narrower scope, less information, picky and "very-hard-to-guess" and "think-a-lot" questions matriculation: wider scope, less information, much easier questions
This post has been edited by IamjustME: Nov 27 2008, 08:27 PM
IamjustME
Nov 29 2008, 04:55 PM
Nobody gives description of A-level?
Cambridge A-level breaks down into 2 components, AS and A2.
AS level is slightly harder than SPM, but easy to grasp (since there is no more BM-English transition these days). There is not much pressure on this level if you maintain your pace during SPM. AS level lasts 1-year, and there is an exam at the end of this course.
A2, on the other hand, is on par with STPM, though topics are less. Now, things get wired up here: the gap between AS and A2 is huge. Pressure is huge. Adding on, most local institutions allocate A2 for only 5-6 months. An exam will also be held at the end of A2.
In short, 50%AS + 50%A2 = A-level result.
Subject descriptions: Maths (AS) I would say its difficulty is less than SPM level. (A2) It may seem normal (relatively easier than STPM), but you are easily caught off-guard by questions.
Biology (AS) More topics introduced, more depths than SPM. Straightforward questions. (A2) As mentioned, less topics and depths than STPM. Tricky questions (evaluate new situations set by questions).
Chemistry (AS) HELL. Straightforward subjective questions though. (A2) Easier than AS but more topics to cover (still, less than STPM). Questions are somewhere out of the blue, i.e. unseen materials (even sometimes 3-4 topics combine into a question), but expected answers are simple. I rarely catch them.
Physics (AS) Topics are the same as SPM. Questions are tougher than SPM (proving formulae) (A2) Adrenaline rush! Normal-to-hard topics, MUCH harder questions, i.e. giving new situations, thinking of physical relationships, set up a ratio/formula for that situation (or graph analysis)
Thinking skills (AS) ZOMG I has a E for mai pey-par! (A2) Beyond comprehension. Divide yourself by zero now.
Pros: - may have time to slack - spoonfeeding tiem! - higher chance to pass
Cons: - end up knowing less than STPM students - local public universities = out of bounds - you are still a kid