14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fish oil brand

jchong
post Nov 28 2008, 09:59 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 28 2008, 09:20 PM)
I bought Pristine 30 caps few days back. It cost me almost RM50/-. It uses some sort of distillation proces called OATECH which produces 660mg (396EPA/264DHA) per 1200mg fishgel.
Thanks for the info. That's a very good concentration of EPA/DHA per softgel.
jchong
post Nov 28 2008, 10:13 PM

5,989 posts

Say, apart from fish oil anybody heard about krill oil?
shinjo
post Nov 29 2008, 12:01 PM

138 posts

Pls.. always consider ur body absorbtion rate......

u always take ngam-ngam of those nutrient and think enough is not the right thinking...
Dannyl
post Nov 29 2008, 08:23 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 28 2008, 08:25 PM)
Rather than going by cost per cap you should go by cost per mg of EPA/DHA (combined).

In this case the GNC has 180 caps x 300mg = 54,000mg. Price = RM69.93. Cost per mg = 0.1295 sen.
For the Pristin: 150 caps x 660mg = 99,000mg. Price = RM159. Cost per mg = 0.1606 sen.

So although the Pristin is more expensive, the difference is not as big as if you compared using cost per caps. Anyway, you sure each caps of Pristin has 396mg EPA, 264mg DHA?

I agree that molecularly distilled fish oil is a must to ensure no contaminants.
Yes you are right. I calculated the cost for each cap and how many I would have to take each day and compared the cost. I was actually looking for Watson's discounts for Pristin... but so far couldn't see any. BTW, they don't have a proper website too, so couldn't find out much about them.
TScelion
post Nov 29 2008, 09:16 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 28 2008, 10:13 PM)
Say, apart from fish oil anybody heard about krill oil?
Is it any better than fish oil?
Anyway, I don't think it is available in Malaysia and most probably more expensive than fish oil?
Ngto
post Nov 29 2008, 09:26 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 29 2008, 08:23 PM)
Yes you are right.  I calculated the cost for each cap and how many I would have to take each day and compared the cost.  I was actually looking for Watson's discounts for Pristin... but so far couldn't see any.  BTW, they don't have a proper website too, so couldn't find out much about them.
I don't think they got a website, but from the info on the box :-

Manufactured by Legosan AB (Kumla, Sweden)
Repacked by :- Seutic Pack Sdn Bhd
Imported & Marketed by :- Total Health Concept Sdn Bhd
Distributed by :- Zuellig Pharma Sdn Bhd

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 29 2008, 09:28 PM
Hamilton
post Nov 29 2008, 09:53 PM

158 posts

So, which one is better ? carlson's or jarrow?
jchong
post Nov 29 2008, 10:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(celion @ Nov 29 2008, 09:16 PM)
Is it any better than fish oil?
Anyway, I don't think it is available in Malaysia and most probably more expensive than fish oil?
Some people say it is better because in addition to EPA/DHA it also contains antioxidants. But krill oil has not been as extensively studied as fish oil.

Yes, definitely more expensive than fish oil.

Added on November 29, 2008, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(Hamilton @ Nov 29 2008, 09:53 PM)
So, which one is better ? carlson's or jarrow?
In terms of quality both are similar. So you would choose based on value and form.

For value Jarrow is better. But Jarrow is in softgel form only. If you want in oil form then choose Carlson.

This post has been edited by jchong: Nov 29 2008, 10:10 PM
Hamilton
post Nov 29 2008, 10:23 PM

158 posts

By quality do u mean EPA/DHA amount?
jchong
post Nov 29 2008, 11:09 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Hamilton @ Nov 29 2008, 10:23 PM)
By quality do u mean EPA/DHA amount?
No, EPA/DHA amount is just a number - it is related to the potency and value (i.e. how much EPA/DHA you get for what you pay for).

When I say quality I refer to:
1. Where is the oil sourced from (Carlson is obtained from Norway, Jarrow from Canada).
2. How is the oil purified - the best method is molecular distillation (which both Jarrow and Carlson use).
3. Is the oil tested for purity and potency - Carlson is tested using AOAC International protocols, Jarrow's oil is USP verified
4. Is it manufactured to GMP standards - yes for Jarrow, not sure about Carlson.
5. Are the fish sources non-GMO - yes for Jarrow (from wild fish), also probably also yes for Carlson.
Dannyl
post Dec 1 2008, 10:58 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

BTW, GNC has a type of fish oil which carries 380mg EPA, 254mg DHA per cap. Pretty good, though expensive at RM145.90 per 90 caps.

How much is Jarrow, and what's the DHA/EPA content? I haven't heard of them but sounds good smile.gif
EDIT: Never mind, saw the bulk sales thread, RM120 for 240 caps sounds good. I'll be getting some after I finish my GNC Salmon Oil smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 1 2008, 11:02 AM
jchong
post Dec 1 2008, 11:36 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Dec 1 2008, 10:58 AM)
BTW, GNC has a type of fish oil which carries 380mg EPA, 254mg DHA per cap.  Pretty good, though expensive at RM145.90 per 90 caps.

How much is Jarrow, and what's the DHA/EPA content?  I haven't heard of them but sounds good smile.gif
EDIT:  Never mind, saw the bulk sales thread, RM120 for 240 caps sounds good.  I'll be getting some after I finish my GNC Salmon Oil smile.gif
Yup, that's pretty high for the GNC too but pricey.

Sure, let me know when you are ready to order.
intrinsic
post Dec 3 2008, 05:31 PM

68 posts

try seven seas concentrated ones..
u dun hv to swallow many pills at one go.. biggrin.gif
alip5225
post Dec 6 2008, 01:36 PM

SUBHANALLAH
1,016 posts

does the fish oil contain HDL also? the lipoprotein that can help us to reduce cholesterol..
jchong
post Dec 6 2008, 06:33 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(alip5225 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:36 PM)
does the fish oil contain HDL also? the lipoprotein that can help us to reduce cholesterol..
See here: http://cholesterol.emedtv.com/hdl/fish-oil...crease-hdl.html and here http://www.healthcentral.com/cholesterol/c...fish-oil-raise/
Trac4ever
post Feb 4 2009, 05:44 PM

Hi Do you take Carlson's products?
mofonyx
post Feb 4 2009, 08:39 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

The more important part about fish oil purchasing is not the concentration of EPA/DHA but the level of PCBs and dioxins. Mercury content isn't much of a worry as it concentrates in the liver. You're taking cold press fish fats as supplementation, so it's unlikely that mercury would cause reason for worry. Better safe than sorry I'd say.

I found a brand in the UK that has 2ng WHO-TEQ/kg PCB,dioxins and less than 2ppm mercury which measures quite well by my quality standards. Get something molecularly filtered. Even NOW Nutrition, which boasts molecular filtration only supplied partial evidence for their low pollutant claims and purity to government food administrations.

Choose your oil wisely because you want to be taking about 3 - 4g of combined EPA/DHA for fat loss effects (some even recommend up to 10g, but that is the excessive mindset of a bodybuilder - more is better, which isn't always true). So if your oil has a lot of pollutants, you'd be gobbling them down pretty quick.

pizzaboy
post Feb 5 2009, 12:36 AM

9,495 posts

1 question.
AM I the only one getting tummy aches when eating this?
Gargh
mofonyx
post Feb 5 2009, 12:42 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

I don't think you are. My friend gets the shits taking them also.

I'm taking about 6 - 8 a day without problems at 1,000mg 180/120 EPA/DHA per cap.

Are your caps softgels?
Lurker
post Feb 5 2009, 12:44 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

fat loss effect? how to measure the effectiveness?

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:29 AM