47 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

CIMB Management Trainee

meadow87
post May 27 2009, 12:32 PM

40 posts

hey, anyone going for the third interview (presentation round) next week?
koht04
post May 27 2009, 05:38 PM

290 posts

what is the topic for presentation ?
geo
post May 27 2009, 06:28 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

i thgt today got interview?
qhw
post May 27 2009, 07:06 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ May 27 2009, 09:23 AM)
cimb hires all year round so no worries. they are active with a moderate turn over as well.

alot of MTs do not end up doing what they want even after graduation and just drop out. when you drop out of a MT program, u generally don't specialize in any dept. unless u really shine in your rotation, giving your boss more reason to push for you to be in that dept.

on hiring processes, it is DEFINITELY alright to go through the interviews with not much BANKING specific knowledge because even so, what do the interviewers know? they are just HR. but your general knowledge must be good and know how banks function.

at the end of the day, even if u qualify for all, if at the last round, director tak suka, u don't get it. the last one is more on a background talk, and another round of a general interview.
second that rclxms.gif
meadow87
post May 27 2009, 10:53 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(koht04 @ May 27 2009, 05:38 PM)
what is the topic for presentation ?
Usually the topic would be given 1 or 2 days beforehand, therefore NO IDEA for now. ohmy.gif
fee-oh-na
post May 27 2009, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(ckwei @ May 27 2009, 07:02 AM)
Doesn't necessarily have to have a 3.0, but the grades are used to screen potential candidates, so as long as you're able to get a first interview, your results shouldn't matter too much thereafter. I was told that plenty of gpa 4.0 people have been rejected in after the first interview because they can't even speak proper english or carry themselves well, so don't worry too much about your results and just be yourself smile.gif
but i've visited their website and it is stated that the ones who should apply are high achievers with a minimum of 3.3 cgpa. mine's only 3.02. no hope i guess? still contemplating if i should write in.
koht04
post May 27 2009, 11:29 PM

290 posts

damn it ... i screwed the interview..............
xenander
post May 28 2009, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(fee-oh-na @ May 27 2009, 10:59 PM)
but i've visited their website and it is stated that the ones who should apply are high achievers with a minimum of 3.3 cgpa. mine's only 3.02. no hope i guess? still contemplating if i should write in.
fee-oh-na, don't worry about the CGPA biggrin.gif my CGPA was also less than 3.3 when i applied, but well here i am waiting for the 3rd stage.

Send only the resume, you've got nothing to lose right? The worse that can happen is that you lose 5 minutes of your life sending one email:)

On another note, although they took one week to tell me that i made it to the second round, but it took them one month to inform me that i passed the second stage. LOL. Now when got finals, they call me asking if i free or not.

sweat.gif
epiphany01
post Jun 2 2009, 01:55 AM

hey all,

was wondering if there are anyone in the management trainee programme? i have just been offered this programme and is in a dilemma now regarding the 10 months rotation.
what are the chances of me getting a department that I want?
and what happens if I get a department that I do not like? is there anyway to change?
how will the trainees be judged on where they will be placed?

erictham
post Jun 2 2009, 08:54 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(epiphany01 @ Jun 2 2009, 01:55 AM)
hey all,

was wondering if there are anyone in the management trainee programme? i have just been offered this programme and is in a dilemma now regarding the 10 months rotation.
what are the chances of me getting a department that I want?
and what happens if I get a department that I do not like? is there anyway to change?
how will the trainees be judged on where they will be placed?
I was an CIMB ex-mgmt trainee (back in 2002), but for their life insurance arm (not the bank itself).
Back then the bank was known as BCB, and their life insurance arm was known as Commerce Life.
I would say that these sort of programmes are excellent for fresh grads who intend to be in the financial industry, you get exposure to the entire operations of the company (via rotation) which otherwise will not be available to you if you were straight away hired as a permanent exec. So go for it! laugh.gif

You may or may not get into the department you want, but I am sure you will get into the 'suitable' department according to your qualifications, education background, & personality. A mismatch in these areas will be bad for you in the long run.
If you get into a dept you don't like, you can always ask for a transfer. You can always request, these things are negotiable. (especially if you are good at what you do)

Trainees are often judged by their interpersonal, communication, writing, & presentation skills. Behavioral assesment may also contribute. So, you will need to appear consistent in your efforts to catch the attention of the supervisor.
All the best to you! biggrin.gif
koht04
post Jun 3 2009, 11:12 AM

290 posts

Hey .... i went to the interview last wednesday
now i got job offer from somewhere else
HOW................
now i in the middle wait for this or take that offer ler

TarePanda
post Jun 7 2009, 04:04 PM

989 posts

I wonder the interview is conducted on English or BM?

Will they test your BM?
ckwei
post Jun 8 2009, 07:50 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

interview is conducted in english. don't think they will test your bm so don't worry about it.
wchui22061985
post Jun 30 2009, 10:18 AM

166 posts

Hi, i would like to ask how much is the pay for management trainee for the complete banker programme?
cspang86
post Jul 7 2009, 01:25 PM

I have just received a call from CIMB to attend my first interview for the MT program. However i can't really remember the venue for interview. The only thing i can remember is jalan semantan, damansara heights. But i could not remember the name of the building and which floor it is. Can anybody who have attended the first interview helps?

I tried calling back the number but nobody answers
ckwei
post Jul 8 2009, 11:35 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

level 9, commerce square if i'm not mistaken.
if you come down from pusat bandar damansara, it's the 3rd building along the cimb stretch, right next to institut bank-bank malaysia.
confused88
post Jul 9 2009, 12:25 AM

Been wondering what is the age limitation for CIMB Management Trainee Program, is it under 30?

Have been thinking to switch job after some serious consideration but worry that I couldn't get in what the field that I am very interested in, particularly Equity Investment field.
cspang86
post Jul 9 2009, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(ckwei @ Jul 8 2009, 11:35 PM)
level 9, commerce square if i'm not mistaken.
if you come down from pusat bandar damansara, it's the 3rd building along the cimb stretch, right next to institut bank-bank malaysia.
Thanks so much. I think that is the one.
vavavrooom
post Jul 10 2009, 03:26 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(cspang86 @ Jul 7 2009, 01:25 PM)
I have just received a call from CIMB to attend my first interview for the MT program. However i can't really remember the venue for interview. The only thing i can remember is jalan semantan, damansara heights. But i could not remember the name of the building and which floor it is. Can anybody who have attended the first interview helps?

I tried calling back the number but nobody answers
hey when's yr first interview? how was it? mind sharing the questions asked, who's the interviewer, etc.?
my interview is on next monday...
thanks in advance!
ckwei
post Jul 12 2009, 10:42 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

confused : check the website to learn more. but it will be unwise to go for an mgmt trainee position in cimb because you are not guaranteed a place in whichever dept your preference is(for you its equity trading), as the trading positions are in high demand and the respective depts are very selective over the ppl they take in.

vroom : just read up a bit about cimb and it's respective line of businesses. and remember who the few key personnel are.

47 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:03 AM