Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat

sharesa
post Nov 27 2008, 09:59 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 27 2008, 09:33 PM)
Seems like Genting acquisition on UK casinos might be a repeating story of Resort on Star Cruise.  sweat.gif

Added on November 27, 2008, 9:35 pm

IOI doesn't spare from controversial decision lately, from firing CFO because of forex loss to now abandon acquisition resulted loss of RM73 million.

Interest to know the actual reason of abandoning the acquisition.
maybe , either one of these reasons causing them to drop the deal:
1) property mart already soften, value deccelerate faster than expected? (800 million as agreed for Menara Citibank)
2) difficult to obtain loan financing as banks turn cautious
3) IOI CEOs concern cannot finance debt with falling palm oil prices, falling revenue.

all I can guess of.

This post has been edited by sharesa: Nov 27 2008, 10:00 PM
sharesa
post Nov 27 2008, 10:46 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 27 2008, 10:31 PM)
Some news on Resorts.

27/11/08
Resorts World to buy Digital Tree, Bromet
Resorts World’s indirectly owned unit Resorts World Ltd is buying Bromet Ltd and Digital Tree (USA) Inc from KH Digital Ltd for RM249.8m to tap into the potential of Digital Tree and Walker Digital Gaming LLC. Walker Digital develops, protects and commercialises gaming industry ops, protects and commercialises gaming industry patents for casino table games like Guaranteed Play Blackjack and Elite Baccarat and electronic gaming consoles. The exercise would allow it to strategically invest in Walker Digital’s business. (Malaysian Reserve)
=======================
Check out OSK research on REsort at 29/07/08 ....
and read its 27/11/08 research paper.

Looks like me & KMARC bought Resort at one of its strong support lvl which is at 2.43 as stated in the 29/7/08 research paper.
Hope it will stay strong there before go up again.

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
thanks for the articles, from 2.44 onward up, up and away.... smile.gif
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 09:42 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Nov 28 2008, 09:40 AM)
kena sai kena tipu already, i though 2.4 was ok ... went straight through it w/o even blinking ...

feeling like de ja vu repeating yesterday's action?
you can say that again
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 09:52 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Nov 28 2008, 09:51 AM)
i would seriously feel my guts being ripped out, put through a shredder machine and put in a can for processing
what a gory description rclxub.gif
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 07:40 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 07:00 PM)
Dang.. been bz with work today n no time to follow up with Resort news. i just set queue buy at 2.28 but no match.
After came beck, chk my email got warning news about resorts from my remiser.
RED Alert!!!!!!

=====================
From my view, by looking at the RSI chart, the price could be down some more and maybe could breach RM2.00. The right time to buy if the RSI break 30, but you also need to look at the market sentiment.

=====================
0651 GMT [Dow Jones] STOCK CALL: Credit Suisse downgrades Resorts World (4715.KU) to Underperform from Outperform, cuts target price to MYR1.80 from MYR3.55. Notes Resorts plans to acquire 10% equity interest in US-based Walker Digital but "we fail to see the merits of its related party proposal and, hence, remain wary of how Resorts will invest its sizable cash pile." Adds management unable to provide assurance cash would not be spent on any more related party transactions. Although Resorts outperformed market by 18% in past 3 months, reckons corporate governance concerns could weigh down future performance. Warns foreign shareholdings relatively high, 37% as of end-September; "we think the stock could overshoot on the downside." Shares down 4.5% at MYR2.33. (PVA)
======================

Dun shoot now... very dangerous.... foreign shareholders 37% maybe dumping their shares.
Not sure whether this Credit Suisse trying to scares off normal shareholder to sell off their shares at a low price..
Be careful.

v_viper88
this piece of news made me pening .
If there's any EGM or AGM coming, you guys should try to attend if your time permits you. The people's voice is usually great. Should voice out if we think something is not right.
But if you guys managed to sell-off with profit then its another matter.
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 07:49 PM

5,587 posts

[quote=kmarc,Nov 28 2008, 06:22 PM]Wah! You really have lots of bullets.... for this month, my ammo already half gone...

Looking at resort's trend, I think Genting will follow suit - drop another 1-2 days then stabilize at a new price......
Noob question - How to check how much dividend a company was giving previously?  hmm.gif

If Resorts giving peanuts dividend, then I want to sell when the price goes up!  smile.gif

[/quot

-----

Added on November 28, 2008, 7:51 pm[quote=cherroy,Nov 28 2008, 03:56 PM]
Resort is cash rich while casino and hotelier business in Genting Highland are still profitable, just may suffer some minor drop in the near future due to economy slowdown. It is still a highly profitable business.

But for Genting, it is different scenario, UK casinos are bleeding businesses until now, Singapore casino profitable issue still unknown, while need massive capital injection for the construction of it and Genting needs to raise significant amount of borrowing for it.
But in distance future, if Singapore casino indeed a very profitable business, then Genting might be better than resort.
Genting is considered a growth and high risk stock currently compared to Resort.

But Resorts has its own issue as well, cash rich but doesn't want to reward their shareholders, if the company keep on holding the cash forever, while give peanut dividend to shareholders, then those cash rich is meaningless to shareholders as well.
At the mean time,recent acquistion doesn't well received by the shareholders and market.

[/quote]

That LKThay tak guna and kiam-siap,
he should pass the baton to someone else!

This post has been edited by sharesa: Nov 28 2008, 07:51 PM
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 09:24 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 09:19 PM)
I chk with my remiser just now, he told me the oversea company Resort want to acquire have direct interest with their director, one of th the company is only about 2 year in operation. This
creates doubt n fear of mismanagement of the company $$$$$. Alot shareholders especially foreign shareholder sell off their share after this news out. REsort share will still volatile in the coming weeks and its next strong support level about rm2.

My remiser doubt Resort will go down too much due to its big cash. Its only a matter of time Resort will go up back.

v_viper88
yeah....but today and yesterday's drop enough to put me in fears and tears.....
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 10:01 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 28 2008, 09:45 PM)
Just a comparison.

When people buy 4D with ten of ringgit or hundred of ringgit per week, they are not in fear at all.
But how come people invest in stock market, so fear about the market?

You invest 5K, it doesn't mean you will lose 5K, lose 30-50% already is seems very severe on those good fundamental stock which generally happens once to twice in a decade only. But as long as one doesn't sell, then those loss is not realised. So if you holding stock is a well managed and fundamental sound, then 98% of chance, it will rise back afterwards, may be not now, or next months, but could be 3-4 years down the road.

But those buy 4D, loss 100% and realised every week, also no fear. Those buying constantly buying 4D every week, a lot of them over a year will accumulate as much as a few K.
So losses might equivalent to those loss in stock market (which is not yet realised). But the later party (stock market) full with fear, while the earlier party (4D) with no fear at all, but full of hope. How ironic and bizzare the human behaviour is.  laugh.gif

Just my 2 cents, nothing to do with any specific stock discussion.
what an enlightening moment...... smile.gif
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 11:22 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Nov 28 2008, 11:18 PM)
You bought alot at high price?

I think the credit suisse report is too much .... the TP 1.86 is only after minus off all the 35% Foreign shareholders. Its the worst case scenario which i feel hard to achieve if
Resort n local fund manager start buying in back its shares at low price.  Compare to Resort own big  capital.. the Foreign shareholders are still far behind.

Only this Credit Suisse report paint Resort -ve with lowest TP  vmad.gif , as compare to other research paper report from local invesment house like CIMB or OSK which just reduce their TP to about 3.50.

I chk today Resort closing report. Resort have initiate start buying back their shares to support it.  thumbup.gif 

===========================
4715    RESORTS    RESORTS WORLD BHD 
Notice of Shares Buy Back - Immediate Announcement

Date of Buy Back : 28/11/2008
Description of Shares Purchased : Ordinary Shares of RM0.10 each
No. of Shares Purchased : 9,105,100 shares
Minimum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.330
Maximum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 2.350
Total Consideration Paid : RM 21,355,771.98
No. of Shares Purchased Retained in Treasury : 9,105,100 shares
No. of Shares Which Are Proposed To Be Cancelled :  shares
Cumulative Net Outstanding Treasury Shares As At To-Date : 156,033,600 shares
Adjusted Issued Capital After Cancellation : 0
Date Lodged With Registrar of Company : 
Lodged By : 

Remarks:
N/A

Submitted By:
MS LOH BEE HONG

28/11/2008  06:28 PM 

==========================

Hope this updates can give u some relief.
I also have some Resort shares. unsure.gif

v_viper88
Thanks Viper for the info blush.gif

Yes, recently bought @ 2.54, the rest average price @ 3.01
sharesa
post Nov 28 2008, 11:37 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(Mika @ Nov 28 2008, 11:25 PM)
zelan let go at 0.82 at 4:50pm..... 10min later become 0.87 cry.gif

earn peanut.....before sharkfin served in 10min. sad.gif
same here....at least have some peanuts. After sell Zelan, next day shoot up before closing, what luck.
sharesa
post Nov 29 2008, 12:00 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(tsarena @ Nov 28 2008, 11:43 PM)
Congrats to those managed to sell Zelan last mins  thumbup.gif

Just want to share my trading for past 2 days...
I still consider myself new...  so bare wit me & mistake that I made laugh.gif

Nov 27 - DJ close green
Bought KNM 10,000 @ 0.545 the day b4, target to sell 0.575 (high hopes  tongue.gif )
See the price didn't really move that much, around 10.30am revised sell price to 0.565  then revised again to 0.56 -> sold
although there are possibility to get match @ 0.565 but thinking better lock gains the one already hv…

Bought Sapcres-WA  10,000 @0.17 the day b4, target to sell 0.185 (high hopes again…)
Same, see the price stuck at 0.18, revised sell price to 0.18 -> sold

Lucky already sold those shares in the morning, cause the afternoon session, price start droping…  sweat.gif

Nov 28
Bought Zelan 10,000 @ 0.81 (high price for yesterday), target to sell 0.84
In the afternoon, see the price getting weaker, going below 0.80, revised to 0.825 (minimum price b4 making losses) -> sold  doh.gif

I know I may not be able to sell at highest price but if I didn’t gatal tangan change my sell Q frm 0.840 -> 0.825,
I may get extra money instead of making only rm60 for today...

As Adam told me before, transaction already done, cannot regret anymore…

After finish cursing and banging my head, I just thought if the reverse things happened…
For example..
Highest price for Zelan today is 0.825, managed to sold my share then it drop back to 0.80
I know myself would definitely feel grateful with my rm60 instead of making paper loss…

Lesson learned (I think...  ) : Stick to the plan.
but sometime the plan need to revised according to situation... but how to know when to revise the plan...  hmm.gif
Tsarena, I'm too experiencing these. I reckon at this period, market is bearish and uncertain, so our guts get shaken, then we try to sell-off fast with some gains as we feel that it will drop again.
But, if market is bullish, I think most people will hold a bit more longer for more gains.
Could be the reason why many of us are experiencing this these days.
About when to revise the plan according to situation,for my case is when I " feel" market is gonna be bullish for next few days but that is also not guaranteed.
sharesa
post Nov 29 2008, 08:20 PM

5,587 posts

Not only am addicted to weekdays with KLSE, am addicted to LYN too.
Weekends or Public holidays turned a no-no since I began online trading 2003.(during remisier times back in 1990s, never felt that way) I think many of us are feeling this way rolleyes.gif
sharesa
post Nov 29 2008, 08:26 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 07:21 PM)
Have you guys read this? http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/

Read the Friday and Saturday postings on AirAsia.

After reading that, I'm not sure I want to buy AirAsia for long term, having a debt of 6.3 billion!!!  rclxub.gif

AirAsia's stock price would probably drop come Monday. What do you guys think? Play this stock? Grab when low and cabut when rally?  biggrin.gif
with such a massive 6.3b debt, I wonder what is the effect towards the emotion of the major shareholders like Tony Fernandez?
As a public limited company, if company goes down, their shares as well as personal assets have to go and repay that debt isn't it? hmm.gif Big pressure...
sharesa
post Nov 29 2008, 09:36 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 29 2008, 09:28 PM)
So you guys gonna trade AirAsia shares? Very risky wor....  hmm.gif
nope, just curious about them... tongue.gif
sharesa
post Dec 1 2008, 09:52 AM

5,587 posts

malaysian market very demoralizing, will be back @ 700 or 900
sharesa
post Dec 4 2008, 10:26 PM

5,587 posts

2008/12/04

Valuecap will not be used to bail out politically connected individuals or GLCs, says Najib

KUALA LUMPUR, Thurs:

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Tun Razak has given the assurance that the RM5 billion increase in allocation for Valuecap Sdn Bhd will not be used to bail out politically connected individuals or government-linked companies.

“I wish to give a categorical assurance that Valuecap will be used for value investing and will not be used to bail out anyone,” Najib, who is also Finance Minister, said at the 13th Malaysian Capital Market summit here.

He said Valuecap would be professionally and ethically managed with no political interference in its investment decisions.

Najib also said the creation of an Asia Monetary Fund could help the region deal with the current global financial crisis as it would help out countries with short term balance of payments and liquidity problems.

“I would just like to float the idea once again (and) let’s see the response from the other countries on it.”

Asked on the funding of the proposed monetary fund, he said the details would have to be worked out later, but it needs to be discussed in greater depth by leaders and Asian Finance Ministers.

Najib also proposed that the Securites Commission proactively look into how Malaysia can attract more portfolio investments from the Asian region, mainly China, India and Asean countries to invest into the Malaysian stock market.

“We can deepen our bilateral relationship with these countries by attracting more companies to list on Bursa Malaysia,” he said.

He said China, for instance, has enormous foreign exchange reserves which amount to larger that the combined reserves of all the Group of Seven (G-7) countries added together, which is over US$2 trillion.

“The Chinese government has encouraged Chinese companies to go abroad, hence there is potential in attracting more Chinese investments including Chinese portfolio investments into Malaysia,” he said.

Asked on the government’s growth projection of 3.5 percent for next year, Najib said that although there were lower forecasts made by others, “let us see of the development for the next one or two quarters.” “Right now it is 3.5 per cent, but it is not an embarrassment to review it,” he said.

He said that even Singapore reviewed its growth forecast four times. “Nobody really knows the problem out there or how deep the problem is, it is anybody’s guess.” He said there were no indications that Malaysia would slip into recession next year or even into a technical recession.

“But the government will monitor the situation very closely,” he said.

Asked whether the RM7 billion stimulus package was enough to achieve growth next year, Najib said” "Let us see developments because there are all kinds of views and forecasts.

“Let us not get excited about the forecast,” he said when commenting on statements made by the Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) that the government needed to spend more than RM7 billion to avoid slipping into recession.

MIER claimed that the RM7 billion stimulus package would only help to soften the blow of a global economic crisis as the magnitude of the impending crisis was too big to be contained by a stimulus package of this size. — BERNAMA

sharesa
post Dec 5 2008, 08:39 AM

5,587 posts

DJ M ARKET TALK: AirAsia May Slip; Privatization Unlikely - Report

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0018 GMT [Dow Jones] AirAsia (5099.KU) shares may face mild selling pressure on The Edge Daily report major shareholder Tune Air may not be taking low cost carrier private; cites limited financing options. Adds, investors who were initially interested in venture decided not to proceed with it. Separately, AirAsia's CEO Tony Fernandes says bookings in December, January soared after company removed fuel surcharge, according to The Malaysian Reserve; no details were provided but he expects company to perform better following move to unwind hedging positions (primarily on fuel costs) in 3Q. "Sentiment is likely to be mixed towards AirAsia. On the one hand, some investors may be disappointed that the privatization plan is off the table. On the other hand, the improved bookings may trigger some buying interest. The stock may trade within a wide range of 92.5 sen to MYR1.0 based on this newsflow," says dealer. Shares ended down 2% at 96.5 sen.(VGB)

Contact us in Kuala Lumpur. 603 2692 5254;
MarketTalk@dowjones.com

(END) Dow Jones Newswires

December 04, 2008 19:18 ET (00:18 GMT)

Copyright © 2008 Dow Jones & Company, Inc.

This post has been edited by sharesa: Dec 5 2008, 08:39 AM
sharesa
post Dec 5 2008, 09:50 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(stryfox @ Dec 5 2008, 09:48 AM)
anyone has any info on Karambunai? PM me pls. TQ
Karambunai says Sabah mart still hot
By Sharen KaurPublished: 2008/11/24

Property developer and resorts operator Karambunai Corp Bhd (KCB) will launch three new projects next year worth RM1.1 billion collectively in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.

The Sabah firm is unfazed by the global financial crisis, expecting the property market in the state to remain buoyant, chief executive officer Datuk Robin Loh Hoon Loi said.

"We are fortunate the property market is still hot and active in the state, which is busy with palm oil, petroleum and tourism activities. Because of this, there is demand for new products," Loh said.

Loh told Business Times in an interview recently that foreigners are still looking for exotic products under the Malaysia My Second Home programme and for investment purposes.

KCB has over 766ha of prime land in Kota Kinabalu with two active big developments - Nexus Karambunai in the Karambunai peninsula and Bandar Sierra township - where the new launches are scheduled to take place.

In the Karambunai peninsula, KCB will launch Amabilis, a RM400 million upscale project in Nexus Residence Karambunai, featuring 100 luxury villas; and a 26.5ha Korean Village Resort, comprising villas and condominiums with recreational facilities worth over RM400 million.

Amabilis is expected to be launched in the first quarter of 2009, in conjunction with the opening of Dillenia, a new hotel under the Nexus resort brand, encompassing 80 units of semi-detached villas and 163 units of low-rise condominiums, some of which have been sold to investors under a leaseback option.

KCB has leased back some 90 per cent of the units to complement its existing five-star, 500-room Nexus Resort Karambunai, operating since 1997.

The launch of the Korean Village Resort, which is a 30:70 joint venture between KCB and Landlovers Korea Co Ltd, is still being finalised.

In Bandar Sierra, it will launch by mid-2009 200 units of terrace and semi-detached houses and cluster homes; 416 units of walk-up apartments; and 80 units of three- and four-storey shoplots worth RM180 million, utilising 16ha.

Loh is confident that sales will be vibrant, boosted by the location and demand.

While Nexus Karambunai is world renowned, Bandar Sierra, which is about 15 minutes' drive from the city centre, has become a landmark project for Kota Kinabalu with natural demand as government offices are relocating close by, he said.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0436sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:48 AM