126 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Stock Market V18, Stock Market Chit Chat

feralee
post Nov 22 2008, 10:05 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 05:02 AM)
Thank you Mr Obama for a wonderful week. Special thanks goes to Paulson, Kashkari, Pandit.....you guys the best!! biggrin.gif

Rally to 8000? Yup, i called it.
indeed
time to kaaboom tongue.gif

once 8K

cherroy
post Nov 22 2008, 10:08 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 22 2008, 09:46 AM)
Got a question to ask the Forex players here.

What do you think of Australia currency now.. further downside or
upside against US dollars in the next 6-12 months.. say if global economy still weak & hasn't recover.

Currently, Australia interest rate is still high compared to US and Japan who have slashed theirs like crazy.
It depends on the time frame of the recovery. Aussie movement is positive correlated to commodities and stock market currently. Once economy recover, the demand for commodities will pick up as Aussie is seen as commodities based currency, generally it will follow suit.

RBA will be going to slash another 0.5-1.0% interest rate as well in the near future, which market expects it will go as low as 4% and may be 3.5% as well if global economy condition deteoriate further.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 22 2008, 10:08 AM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 10:08 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Nov 22 2008, 10:01 AM)
Sometime penny stock doesn't means fragile business, you have to check the fundamental of the company before making your decision. Any company can go insolvent, but those with high short term liabilities and little cash especially dangerous. Just me 2 cents. smile.gif
Yes, I do agree with you.

Big banks in US also failed badly.

There are risks that you have to take. Whether you can bear the risks.

Being penny, the sum involved is smaller unless you buy 1000 lots. Not all penny stocks are without fundamental, though not so solid as blue chips.

Let say a share e.g A costs only 24sen . There are many stocks that not so blue chips, also lose about 20sen this or last week.

Practically you are writing off this share A almost completely with 20sen loss ( e.g buying Zelan at rm one ).

It is easier to do Dollar Cost Averaging on penny stocks.

Not comparing apple with apple.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 10:43 AM
sharesa
post Nov 22 2008, 10:13 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 08:58 AM)
Congratulation to you.

Holding 1000 lots ?  drool.gif
thanks....1000 lots how I wish brows.gif

altogether 80 lots bought last week one maybe can sell next week.
How about you, Sky, any shares you plan to sell next week?
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 10:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Nov 22 2008, 10:13 AM)
thanks....1000 lots how I wish brows.gif

altogether 80 lots bought last week one maybe can sell next week.
How about you, Sky, any shares you plan to sell next week?
Selling Kinsteel bought at 40sen 100 lots, hold if it falls.

Huaan, need to release some from stockpile, 800 lots.

kmarc
post Nov 22 2008, 10:49 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 10:17 AM)

Wonder whether KINSTEL can fall further.... monday would probably be green?

Say, how do we buy HSBC stocks? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 22 2008, 10:49 AM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 11:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 22 2008, 10:49 AM)
Wonder whether KINSTEL can fall further.... monday would probably be green?

Say, how do we buy HSBC stocks?  hmm.gif
Nowaday , I buy stocks, I have to constantly ask what if it falls. What should i do.

I do not have any data on HSBC, so i cannot help you either.

But Pound is still dropping, could have some currency risk in investing in HSBC.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 11:22 AM
danmooncake
post Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 22 2008, 10:08 AM)
It depends on the time frame of the recovery. Aussie movement is positive correlated to commodities and stock market currently. Once economy recover, the demand for commodities will pick up as Aussie is seen as commodities based currency, generally it will follow suit.

RBA will be going to slash another 0.5-1.0% interest rate as well in the near future, which market expects it will go as low as 4% and may be 3.5% as well if global economy condition deteoriate further.
RBA scheduled another rate cut? That's means Aussie dollars have further downside. tongue.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 11:36 am
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 11:17 AM)
Nowaday , I buy stocks, I have to constantly ask what if it falls. What should i do.

But Pound is still dropping, could have some currency risk in investing in HSBC.
I'm sure I understand the correlation there.

You're not buying the HSBC in UK pounds right?

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 22 2008, 11:36 AM
khlee72
post Nov 22 2008, 12:37 PM

21 posts

Which website has the following information for all the listed companies in Malaysia?
1. ROE
2. EPS Growth Rate
3. P/E
4. Average P/E (for past 5 or 10 years)
5. D/E
6. Dividend Payout
kmarc
post Nov 22 2008, 12:41 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 11:17 AM)

I see.... thx for the input...

My friend told me that I can't buy HSBC using normal trading account.... not too sure how to go about it....
tsarena
post Nov 22 2008, 12:50 PM

357 posts

800 lots x 100?
Quite a lots..

I also hv Huaan, bought at higher price so need to keep it for awhile..
Do you think the price can go up to 0.30++?

See last night DJ close at 8000, what do you guys think about next week...
will be better.. or go down to 7000? hmm.gif

Next week also last week of November... Friday will be window dressing day? nod.gif
htt
post Nov 22 2008, 01:22 PM

4,305 posts

Our friend perm. promoter for Hua An, too bad unable to get hold of some when it down, kedekut 0.5 sen. blush.gif
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 02:54 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM)
RBA scheduled another rate cut? That's means Aussie dollars have further downside.   tongue.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 11:36 am

I'm sure I understand the correlation there.

You're not buying the HSBC  in UK pounds right?
Well, EEC banks are on the way to retrench thousands of staff.

Any investments not quoted on Bursa are in foreign currencies, including unit trusts.

Pounds can be the currency where accounts are kept.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Added on November 22, 2008, 3:00 pmHSBC Holdings plc is a public limited company incorporated in England and Wales, headquartered in London.[2] As of 2008, it is both the world's largest banking group and the world's largest company according to a composite measure by Forbes magazine.[3][4] "HSBC" is an abbreviation for The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation. Today, while Hong Kong continues to be a significant source of income for the group, no single geographical area dominates earnings. Recent acquisitions and expansion in China are returning HSBC to part of its roots.[5] HSBC is Europe's biggest bank and has an enormous operational base in Asia and significant lending, investment, and insurance activities around the world. The company has a global reach and financial fundamentals matched by few other banking or financial multinationals.[6]
HSBC is listed on the London, New York, and Hong Kong Stock Exchanges, and is a constituent of the FTSE 100 Index and the Hang Seng Index.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 03:00 PM
AdamG1981
post Nov 22 2008, 03:04 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 21 2008, 03:54 PM)
Goodness.. celebrating already?  tongue.gif

Yeah.. Obama chosen new Treasury guy.. good news on that part.

But.. watch out next week. fundalmentals and confidence are still weak.
Could be going for another dip.. this time.. maybe reaching below 7000.    tongue.gif
laugh.gif Dow is bipolar, one day he is sad, one day he is happy..

Celebratation is a must, a job well done after a long week. smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 21 2008, 07:17 PM)

Woohoo, make sure you make a lot of money on Monday. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AdamG1981: Nov 22 2008, 03:05 PM
SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:11 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:04 PM)
laugh.gif Dow is bipolar, one day he is sad, one day he is happy..

Celebratation is a must, a job well done after a long week. smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 3:05 pm

Woohoo, make sure you make a lot of money on Monday.  thumbup.gif
Thank you, Sifu.

Certainly have to offload some on Monday.

Dow is in the "mood" of catching short sellers at the bottom, am I right ?

There seems to be a link in Asia for that purpose.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 06:15 PM
AdamG1981
post Nov 22 2008, 03:14 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 12:11 AM)
Thank you, Sifu.

Certainly  have to offload some on Monday.

Dow is the "mood"  of catching short sellers at the bottom, am I right ?

There seems to be a link in Asia for that purpose.
The volatility and fX movements are showing signs of bottoming for Dow, but Dow has more room to drop before reaches "fair value". I think we are close. Now its better to be on the long side rather than the short side.

SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:17 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:14 PM)
The volatility and fX movements are showing signs of bottoming for Dow, but Dow has more room to drop before reaches "fair value". I think we are close. Now its better to be on the long side rather than the short side.
Ok noted. notworthy.gif
AdamG1981
post Nov 22 2008, 03:23 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 22 2008, 12:17 AM)
Ok noted. notworthy.gif
I am waiting for Citigroup to hit below 1, and then i will buy shares. Another wachovia in the making...

1000 shares for less than 1000 usd, if Citi bks, i lose 1000, but if Citi does it indeed got sold off, 5-6 usd per share...lol....

SKY 1809
post Nov 22 2008, 03:36 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Nov 22 2008, 03:23 PM)
I am waiting for Citigroup to hit below 1, and then i will buy shares. Another wachovia in the making...

1000 shares for less than 1000 usd, if Citi bks, i lose 1000, but if Citi does it indeed got sold off, 5-6 usd per share...lol....
Good venture. Lose a bit but win big in time to come.

Afterall, Singapore Government odeli poured Billions of US $ into Citibank last year.

Share price could shoot up once they change the CEO of Citi.

Gold is everywhere in US for investors like you to pick.

Best of luck to you.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 22 2008, 03:42 PM
alivecmh
post Nov 22 2008, 04:17 PM

1,404 posts

tsarena, i also bought a lot of huaan. holding 2k(x100units) lots all bought in different price. I'll wait for about 6-12 months. My target price by the time is rm0.40 above.

126 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:33 PM