Toys Shop Compliment & Complaint, Toys Shop C&C

madmoz
post Nov 20 2008, 12:00 PM

4,250 posts

then we would have a hundred and one 'beware of xxx' threads. You already know we appreciate your heads up, but we would like things streamlined into a single thread k? Otherwise, when the aggrieved parties start replying in these rant threads, the resulting flame wars will push all the other more relevant postings down. Lost, forgotten.
madmoz
post Jan 19 2011, 09:37 AM

4,250 posts

sometimes he has crazy markdowns for hot items - if your timing is right you can get real bargains from him - his 'loss leader' marketing strategy a bit terlampau one laugh.gif
madmoz
post May 3 2011, 03:44 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Apr 18 2011, 02:06 PM)
Yes TM having storewide discounts indeed but the Nendoroids are like rm200++ each. Even with 10% you are still paying higher than usual.

In fact, most of the stuff in TM already marked up so high that even after 10% discount, you are still a fool for buying there.

It is insulting that they actually think collectors are stupid.
It's a case of supply and demand really. As high as their markup is, people still do buy from them.

Them four might not be the friendliest of shop owners but to be honest, once you get to know them, they really aren't that bad.
madmoz
post May 3 2011, 09:46 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 3 2011, 05:32 PM)
^ I guess you are 1 of the few that are supportive of TM.

Maybe you are regular enough that the boss can recognize you already, hence the "better" treatment, compared to prospects that walked into the shop. smile.gif
On the contrary I hardly ever get anything from them! I think I've only ever gotten 1 PVC, a few SD kits and the odd bottle of thinner and some paint from them over the years. Usually I drop by, say hi, ask how has their day been (if the uncle and aunty are running the shop) and browse around. They are civil enough when I ask them to show me stuff.

I do recall that when I was new to the scene they were much less friendly. Like someone else has mentioned one probably needs to know them a bit before they warm up to you.
madmoz
post May 4 2011, 12:16 PM

4,250 posts

It works both ways really, behave like an arse, get treated like an arse.
I find that most people are friendly or will be more accomodating if you yourself put in some effort.

The real problem with TM for me is that their prices are at times very steep.
madmoz
post May 4 2011, 07:41 PM

4,250 posts

I would say that paying over the odds to someone I know is still better than paying over the odds to some scalper from eBay.

And since TM has a number of sold out items and rarer limited editions I'd prefer to keep my options open. It costs me nothing to be civil, polite and nice to them. Their shop, their rules - so when I masuk I try to keep my hands to myself anyways.

This post has been edited by madmoz: May 4 2011, 07:42 PM
madmoz
post May 4 2011, 11:37 PM

4,250 posts

No you misunderstand me. I am not wary of making purchases over ebay or the internet. Never have been.
It is just more comforting for me to be 'fleeced' by someone I know instead of a faceless ID on the other end. Trivial yes.
madmoz
post Sep 7 2011, 11:08 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(snakees @ Jul 28 2011, 03:47 AM)
yes, you should try to make more informed purchases. but human do make mistake. I guess you are confuse between a chainsaw, a toy and a display box sign0006.gif . How badly damage can a display box be after opening it to have a look . you don't and can't play with a DISPLAY BOX. If the box have scratches then the customer is not eligible  to an exchange

Define  "new" and "haven't been used before" :
So you walk in a shop, wanna buy a medium size display box. ask shop assistant to open it to check for scratches . everything is in  perfect condition. then you decide to get a bigger display box instead of the medium size. you bought the big display box. so shop assistant nicely put back medium size display box on shelf for sale. I guess that the medium display box now is old and no longer is new.  doh.gif . so a next customer come in and want to buy the medium display box, the retailer should tell the customer that this display box is used before since it is open before for inspection? Is it true that display box opened by shop assistant in shop and nicely pack back, without scratches consider still new while if a customer purchase it, bring it home, opened it and pack it back nicely without scratches consider used and old? Or is it before purchase everything is new, once sold consider old?

you make a mistake buying leader class bumble bee today, keeping it sealed and untouched, and exchanging it the day after just because you likes Leader Class Ironhide better now. yes, you make a mistake buying something you don't really like, so you bring back to the shop to exchange and exchange it. after all the bumble bee is still new, sealed and untouched. unless you are being mischievous , you open it, play with it and return it. If a retailer think that it is too much hassle to do a simple customer service , key in computer,notify supplier etc, then don't do retail la. don't try to push away your responsibility as it is the retailer job to do it. we customer already pay. forcing us to keep something we purchase wrongly is a total  moneyflies.gif and leader bumble bee will end up in the dustbin . That will lead to wastage. Go green.  The leader bumble bee is better off to someone that really like it
Would you buy a display box whose packaging has been opened? I'd personally rather not. Look at it from the seller's end too - if he does open the box to let you check the contents, then he is taking a risk here that no one might want to buy it. Same goes with an opened box that has been returned by a customer!

There is a clear difference between the smaller specialist shops and the big boys like Toys r Us. Toys r Us can afford to have one or two boxes that won't ever be sold - it would hardly affect their profits. The same cannot be said of the small retailers, can it?

However, I do agree that everyone deserves a certain level of customer service.

But isn't it also reasonable to say that if you want Toys r Us or even Jusco's level of service, then you must be prepared to pay their prices! MGs at RRP anyone?
madmoz
post Oct 6 2011, 11:39 PM

4,250 posts

Instead of answering my question - 'Are you willing to pay regular retail price for an item?' you chose to be a smug arse and hide behind some article.

You want to pay the lowest $, and expect the highest level of service. Not very reasonable, no?

I repeat, Juscos and other large retailers (or even IKEA and their return policy) can afford to give refunds etc, most of the smaller hobby shops probably cannot. Me, I'm happy enough if the shop assistant/owner/guy at counter is polite and helpful, isn't blatantly out to fleece me and is willing to refund/exchange my purchase if the said item is indeed faulty. It isn't always about consumer rights imho - semua orang pun cari makan lor. If it makes me a pushover and an ignorant consumer, then so be it.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Oct 6 2011, 11:49 PM
madmoz
post Sep 9 2012, 12:00 PM

4,250 posts

Haven't really been to Time Machine for a while, especially since they shifted to berjaya mall.

The old auntie and uncle aren't there anymore, but at least the old couple and son plus daughter in law were actually civil (nice even) to me.

The young chap running the shop now on the other hand is a certified snob and arse. Sigh.

PS. Inflated priced I don't really mind, by entering I've honestly made the decision to be scalped if there's something I really fancy but the attitude, dude that's plain unacceptable!

This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 9 2012, 12:05 PM
madmoz
post Sep 10 2012, 12:57 PM

4,250 posts

either he was having a bad day or me face problem laugh.gif

0.0263sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:25 AM