Accenture Malaysia, For those who applied/ currently working

xplodingbomb
post Feb 10 2012, 11:21 PM

215 posts

ACN is a good firm to start your career in and I think they do some good mgmt consulting work in the region. However, by the firm's very nature, expect to be involved in technology related work even if you enter management consulting. Choosing the right team to join is most important. But unfortunately a lot of people join because of company brand while they don't really know what their job scope is and end up complaining non-stop.

A strong positive point is their clientele. Expect to work with leading oil & gas, telcos and fortune 500 companies. Something the audit big 4 can rarely achieve and something which a lot of people take for granted.

Accenture definitely ranks up there in terms of operational consulting and I think they're on par or better than ATK in this sense. But in terms of strategy consulting they're still second tier like Booz and ADL. Quite a way to go to compete with the MBBs.
xplodingbomb
post Feb 11 2012, 05:39 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(chickenfied @ Feb 11 2012, 04:43 AM)
couldn't agree more with what you said. btw, you seem to be very familiar with consulting names: booz, ADL, MBBs. are u in the the MC industry?
Yep..I'm in MC
xplodingbomb
post Feb 12 2012, 06:53 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ Feb 12 2012, 02:36 PM)
Majority of the firms listed above are tech consulting. The rest are either HR consulting or management consulting, with a few doing market research.

Bain & co is not in the list.  blink.gif
FYI. Arthur D Little has closed down in MY. I hear they've not been doing well regionally. Most of their guys have joined Roland Berger, a german strategy firm.
Another local boutique consulting company that is rapidly growing is Ethos. They have some good talent in there (ex-McK guys)
Bain isn't here yet but they're on their way.

Added on February 12, 2012, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(Charlescoffeelife @ Feb 12 2012, 05:39 PM)
Ok, I guess it fine then , I will just registered and apply. Hopefully can work. biggrin.gif
ACN is still hiring selectively (I know cos I'm there but on my way out of the firm). Just a word of advice for the freshies, make sure you know what you're getting yoursleves into and make sure you know what the role you're applying for entails. For e.g. if you're applying for a HR consulting role, research more and find out what the career progression opportunities are. Don't expect to join HR consulting and then be disappointed you're not doing strategy consulting. There are quite a number of different teams in ACN's mgmt consulting wing and transferring internally between them is not usually an easy process.

This post has been edited by xplodingbomb: Feb 12 2012, 07:09 PM
xplodingbomb
post Feb 21 2012, 03:01 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Feb 20 2012, 11:30 PM)
It's not a question of starters or seasoned professionals. The point here is same work then logically same level of compensation or at least same localised domestic purchasing power within perhaps a band of variance. RM3k gross will give you the same domestic purchasing power as US$5k domestic purchasing power?

For professionals who sell their brain juices, that should be the case. The only companies who seem to adhere to this principle are multi-national partnership firms.

While macroeconomics tells us that supply and demand of labour determines the wage level equilibrium brought up earlier, that doesn't seem to be necessarily true. For a shortage of labour would mean an increase in wage levels. However, I don't think many here would dispute the fact that Singapore probably has a more skilled workforce and is in no shortage of supply since the immigration is quite flexible when it comes to skilled labour. That said, their wage levels, after appropriate adjustments should be lower than Malaysia. 

Conversely, we in Malaysia should see an increase in wage levels since we do not have an abundance of supply of skilled labour. How do we reconcile this?

The problem I believe is structural and because of that companies in Malaysia take advantage of that. We kena screwed at the end.
You're obviously still fresh off the boat and you have to realise that what you read in the textbooks is obviously different to reality.
You are right that Malaysia has a structural problem and this is primarily because of the fact that we continue to suppress the real price of goods and services through subsidies and dependence on foreign labour.
The reason why MNC firms pay what they do in Malaysia is because it is reflective of the margins they can earn. Even though they are termed 'multinationals', most local offices have their own org structures, KPIs and financial metrics to achieve. You'd rarely see the Singapore office of a company subsidising that of another country. MNC partnerships can afford to do this, but how many are there left in the world.

In terms of supply of skilled labour, I'd actually say that Malaysia has sufficient supply, but too few jobs. Count how many Malaysian professionals are working in Singapore, London and HK. Bear in mind that when working overseas, there are glass barriers if you're Malaysian which is why many eventually return. At that point, everyone is forced to take a paycut. Good luck getting a job outside of Malaysia, but don't think the generations before you haven't already thought of your simple logic. The only ones who have it easy are the select few who transfer from top ibanks or MBBs. Based on what I've read I don't think you're ready for any.

Back to the thread, if you join ACN as a mgmt consultant, try get on the international assignments cos that is where the allowances (ie. $$) come into play.

0.0161sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:08 AM