My Nightmare Has Turn Into Reality~!, what a tragedy...what to do.. >_<

TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 12:58 AM, updated 18y ago

293 posts

cry.gif

finally the day has come, for those who have yet talked to me before should know i got some problem regarding having a music instrument in my house so here goes.. sweat.gif

Today after finishing my routine college class, went straight to home and guess what? my grandparent come for a visit with some cousin,first i was happy they came but later on they asked me to sit in the living area for a moment and i thought this could be a bad omen since their face shows some serious expression ohmy.gif

first they asked me bout hows college going etc ( all the nice stuff b4 they bring the worst question ) and then BAM!.. my grandma goes to my room and take out my musical instrument with the help of the cousin. And they start nagging bout why you play music? and many other (pedas question) i can barely hold my anger at that point but heck.. if i talk it will make thing worse, my opinion doesn't seems to mean anything to them and they come up with a collusion so that i would get the instrument out of the house before they thrash them to pieces cry.gif

my parent dint help much in this matter, they also join forces with my grandparents while lecturing me non stop for like.. 1 1/2 hours!

i really need some opinion in this guys, shud i just leave my instrument at a friend house? there's the second problem.. i dun have ANY friend that lived near me.. cry.gif

or the second option.. sell THEM! shocking.gif
its a very hard option since the instrument that i own barely reach 2 months! ( STILL NEW!! cry.gif )

help me guys, I WANT to keep the instrument but at the same time.. i dun want to disappoint my family for not taking the issue seriously.. and they wont stop nagging me everyday since the day grandparent visit (>_<)

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Nov 19 2008, 01:08 AM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 01:09 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

The original point of music was a form of self expression. I'm sorry that your parents don't have the same views, but if you can, try to convince them.

I would suggest taking them out for dinner at a club like Alexis. Say that you are sorry for all the trouble you caused and want to make it up to them by taking them out for a nice dinner. Now, what they DON'T know is that alot of great jazz musicians and artists jam and play at restaurants like these. Just have casual talk and when the band comes on and play through a view of their set, just tell them you would aspire to play like these people. Then tell them that music really makes you happy and in a way, releases the stress from your daily grind at college. If you don't have a release, you might just break from the pressure and that music is your ticket out of a mental institution.....

2 pluses with this is that,
a) It's a public place so they can't raise their voices.
b) it's a great way to show them how wonderful music can be

Again, this is how "I" would handle a situation like this. Basically, you need to explain why music is important to you and why it isn't so bad as they might think it would be.

Of course, there is the extreme way of running away from home with your instruments and trying to make a career as a gigging musician (lots of great rock & rollers, blues players and metal heads start of EXACTLY like that), but again..... that's the EXTREME way tongue.gif

Ryuuga
post Nov 19 2008, 01:13 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

its sad to know malaysian parents are unsupportive of their child's creativity and the creative industry in malaysia.
being in the industry myself, i've seen a fair amount of people who, i could say, are not as fortunate as myself to have parents that supports me to study music. but i've also seen a fair amount of people, despite being unable to pursue a career they dream of are extremely skilled, but are unable to exercise their creativity and skills due to parents restrictions. This is a HUGE let down and a dissapointment at the mentality of malaysian parents.

what i can suggest is, state your location and your instrument here, perhaps if you're as fortunate to have a fellow forumer living nearby they might be able to help you "adopt" your instrument. that way you could still jam at their house without your parents knowing. even if your parents know you could just tell them you sold it to your "friend" and occasionally goes to his house to have some fun.

if you're daring enough, you could ask your parents don't they listen to the radio? don't they have music CDs? don't they watch movies that have famous theme songs? don't they watch advertistments with catchy jingle tunes? what are all those? all those are music of course!!
what is wrong with learning music? what is wrong with expressing yourself and having fun? the definition of fun differs to everyone. if having fun is a crime, everyone should be sentenced to jail.

There is nothing more fun than playing music. Period.
post Nov 19 2008, 01:14 AM

lost soul
866 posts

chill~
bring it out and keep it in your friend's house.
i mean your band....
no big deal.

just don't let your music soul die because of this.

This post has been edited by 9876789: Nov 19 2008, 01:15 AM
beastwars
post Nov 19 2008, 01:14 AM

253 posts

pity u la bro..
got family members dont understand ur passion in music..
well maybe u can store them for awhile in ur car trunk..
if u haf a car.

thats what so far i can think of..

sorry
soul_star
post Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM

541 posts

how bout u rent them?
just an opinion from a 14 years old male
ah_heng
post Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM

505 posts

what musical intruments u got and why they dun like u playing it? I thought parents nowadays like to send their kids to study musics wink.gif
evalshtog
post Nov 19 2008, 01:20 AM

209 posts

run away man .get ur guitar and head straight out =)
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 01:20 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

yes, Ryuuga.. thats Malaysian...
If I were you... I would NOT give up my guitar, convince them with all the way u have, show them you can score good grades on your study even you are playing music,

As i can see, the main problem is - They afraid that music would affect your study, so am i right? For your information, this is WAS my problem too, What your could do is out ur study at first, Get a good Grades, show it to your family, tell them " i can still scores and (may be) with metter marks with Music" . Ur may be wanna put music at 1st place in ur live, but however, if ur parents dun like it, just tell them u are putting ur studies at 1st.
saru88
post Nov 19 2008, 01:21 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

aiyo...
how old are you?
i assume u r 20...

u think urself still young?

u r matured enuff to make ur own decision...
whether to stop playing music just because u got scolded by grandparents...
or just dun gv a fuk about them...

can't believe ur grandparents so conservative...
feel bad for u...
Why^Me
post Nov 19 2008, 01:25 AM

551 posts

haha... last time i bring my guitar home, i said that i borrow it from my fren...
then they stop asking.
beastwars

253 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Nov 19 2008, 01:17 AM)
what musical intruments u got and why they dun like u playing it? I thought parents nowadays like to send their kids to study musics wink.gif
yeah i kinda thought this too..hmmm
dont be down..
music is life man..u play music
so it means u give life!!
u must keep on rockin..

always remember the movie " the pick of destiny"
if u watch it before..
blacktrix

13,063 posts

Where do you live bro? Like Ryuuga says, maybe one of the forumers can "adopt" your guitars while the situation cools down.
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 01:31 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Nov 19 2008, 01:21 AM)
u r matured enuff to make ur own decision...
whether to stop playing music just because u got scolded by grandparents...
or just dun gv a fuk about them...

Thats not a good thing to say, U may wanna act like that (true that even point towards me too sometimes..)
, but in the matter of fact, u shoudNT, they are your grandparents anyway, without them u wont be here.

Added on November 19, 2008, 1:34 am
True, same are, but they will mostly send them to classical music lesson , some more if the parents are music lovers themself (that'll be cool blink.gif )

This post has been edited by sarcast: Nov 19 2008, 01:34 AM
echobrainproject
post Nov 19 2008, 01:50 AM

4,765 posts

bro, can relate to you. first few month of me picking up the guitar i didnt really get approval from my parents too. in fact they were against it when i wanted to pick up electric and was against my purchase.

you said u're in college so i guess u're old enough to get your parents to sit down and have a serious talk with them. explain to them you just want to play music and u'll still do your studies and your duties. dont be too emotional and react based on your emotion. i know its hard to keep it back, but try to keep the discussion as formal as possible. hear what your parents' points on why they want you to stop. decisions dont have to be made then. you can take some days off just to think of whats been discussed, then plan what you're gona do. u're old enough to make decisions, just make sure its a smart decision you'll be making.

i paid the price to get to play guitar. at least now my parents arent against it (but theyre not that supportive either). if its really what you want, you can go for it, just be concious that with challenges, therell be a price to pay to overcome them.
gapnap
post Nov 19 2008, 01:56 AM

1,782 posts

aiya..put your guitar at music master only lah ...will be well taken care off..

there's always room for another guitar smile.gif
Dead Eye
post Nov 19 2008, 01:59 AM

Where Musician Get Their Gears
677 posts

wahh this one ganas wei, i tink its best u put the guitar elsewhere. i mean, are the stories behind y they hate musical instruments?

gapnap damn cun la, put at music master. thats the best idea biggrin.gif
Lefty
post Nov 19 2008, 02:02 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

just discuss with ur parent nicely, say u will still focus on ur study and do house work . just play music because it is fun and better than go watching TV. it 's just like another sport.if they still cant accept mayb need to put ur thing in ur fren place first. remember never forget and give up the love for music. maintain and hold on to the root of reason why u are into mussic. in the mean time dun hurt ur parents, no them means no you remember. no them no u, no u means u got no chance to love in music. take them slowly.
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 02:04 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

i wanted to help, but i cant think of any solution for u. =(

but yea, put at music master is good idea too, if gapnap doesn't mind.
Plus ! u can also learn guitar from him. haha.
ken0777
post Nov 19 2008, 02:12 AM

536 posts

Don't fret bro... Keep the passion... put your guitar somewhere safe and keep it at a fren's place... Well no choice you have to obey your parents will also... But slowly convince them that you are mature enough to balance music and study... Earn their trust and more importantly... Just listen to them first...
ianho
post Nov 19 2008, 02:17 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Drum set kar? Mebe ur parents kepala pening oredi lar everyday booom boom boom
[vogue]angel
post Nov 19 2008, 06:53 AM

107 posts

chill man. I think its best you put the guitar in ur frens placelar.
I understand how you feel. When i bought myself a guitar, my dad told me: you plenty of money ar? ur duty is to study in college, not play guitar, or you want to be guitar hero then oklar.
This is where you can assure him that its only leisure and relaxing. I did thatlar. and also assure i will finish college n get a job

bout the grandparents, they kinda hard to please 1lar. They are ur elders, so need to repect them.
Mayb ur granparents n parents think ur wasting too much time on playing guitars, so they mengamuklar.
Only time will tell.............
fantasycts
post Nov 19 2008, 08:37 AM

15 posts

i think the major reason why they oppose you of having your guitar is that it will affect your studies and future, and you turned into a head-shaking, loud playing punk. That's what parents are worried about most of the time.

i think u just need to show them that after you get the guitar, put time on your study also and don't like it become worse. I think they'll hate seeing you playing the guitar all the time rather than study.
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 08:50 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lol?
1.get insurrance for your instruments...
2.make a pact with your neighbour to store your guitar there or lie that it is ur nieghbours instrument,they borrowed you
3.live on your own,move out...
these are the 3 ways that drifts thru my mind for now...ill post more if i could think up of some...
mind you...i tried method 2 and 3 before...the 1st one,havent gotten THAT desperate before...
freakfingers12
post Nov 19 2008, 09:30 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

From what I can tell, they're just afraid that playing guitar will drop your grades. Tell them you can divide your time of playing guitar and studying.In fact, picking up a musical instrument actually helps you in your studies(According to Ibanez la).

If you're into metal and they hate it, make them watch Metal:A Headbanger's Journey and Global Metal.Tell them it's a way to release your stress.

If everything else fails, take a break for awhile. Stash all your gear with Gapnap or a friend's house. Take all your gear back when your parents have cooled down. I take breaks sometimes cuz of the 'wall' I always bump into.

Must kinda suck that this shit happened rite? I think if you're serious and really wanna dedicate yourself to this instrument, your parents wont mind.
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 09:35 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

yeah...musician do use their brain more than an average normal person
show you parents this link juz in case they dont believe you
http://www.physorg.com/news142185056.html
if they dont,tell the:you dont want me to be a genius?
mingdynasty
post Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM

656 posts

well... y u so scared of ur parents / grand parents.. its not unethical or breaking the law.. =,=... cannot reason.. ??? fight fire with fire BABY !!!!

This post has been edited by mingdynasty: Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM
quarantined
post Nov 19 2008, 10:27 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I used to watch Tool's video, with my mom on the side. My mom can stand SOAD but not this xD

Anyway I wouldn't say to go against them is the best way to resolve your situation. Find some ways that'll work with your parents, either by talking, spending more time with them, studying hard, helping them with chores... anything. Slowly convincing them that playing music is a good thing. Maybe chat with your siblings about your situation too, I think they should be able to help more. Good luck!
nicholaskong
post Nov 19 2008, 11:42 AM

35 posts

Get some good results on exam n show them playing music wont affect your studies.y not jus talk to them??music is just like a hobby..y they r so against this hobby?mayb jus try to convince them..playing music is a positive hobby..better den wasting time be like a mat rempit?
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

if they really wanna thrash ur guitar, make sure u thrash it on their baby, like hifi set or wat. haha tongue.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 01:54 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM)
if they really wanna thrash ur guitar, make sure u thrash it on their baby, like hifi set or wat. haha tongue.gif
an eye for an eye...it never fails...
try on your own risk dude... laugh.gif
Namqul
post Nov 19 2008, 02:13 PM

790 posts

hmm, 1stly what instrument and how much is it? u think my parents approved all my items? well the 1st few weeks is damn hard, but they manage to accept it. lol. and now my room is a mess. and im not kidding! im quite sure you can always talk your way out of this. try to negotiate. good luck!
razorzx66
post Nov 19 2008, 02:35 PM

343 posts

emm last time my parent offer me a music instrument..

Parent: you wanna guitar?
Me: Ok
Parent: Which one
Me: Stratocaster and marshall?
Parent: So expensive..you think i print money?
Me: Squire and peavey will do
Parent: Ok

my parent from kampung summore
x-crusader
post Nov 19 2008, 03:02 PM

472 posts

i felt tat im so lucky after reading ur story..
as they brought me to a piano teacher when i was 5
i think u should have a talk wif ur parents first..
tell them ur thoughts..
if they really dont accept..
DEBATE LA...lol

SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 03:15 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lolz...if parent could be that easy on debate i would have taken that option long time ago...
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 19 2008, 03:33 PM

728 posts

wow...i didnt know that u were having this problem..
i thought most parents will support their child in having a hobby in music..
well...i think at the moment u shud put ur guitars in ur friend's place first... if not more shyt happen to the guitar then u more sad leh..

and how about a heart to heart discussion with ur parents?show them ur progreess in college..and also .. play some blues or classic pieces for them to listen..so that they know that u bukan main rock mya..
show them that u cna balance both sides..

well...i know its easier said than done ..so all da best bro!
if im in that situation then my house will kelam kabut LOL
Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 03:42 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 19 2008, 09:30 AM)
From what I can tell, they're just afraid that playing guitar will drop your grades. Tell them you can divide your time of playing guitar and studying.In fact, picking up a musical instrument actually helps you in your studies(According to Ibanez la).

If you're into metal and they hate it, make them watch Metal:A Headbanger's Journey and Global Metal.Tell them it's a way to release your stress.

If everything else fails, take a break for awhile. Stash all your gear with Gapnap or a friend's house. Take all your gear back when your parents have cooled down. I take breaks sometimes cuz of the 'wall' I always bump into.

Must kinda suck that this shit happened rite? I think if you're serious and really wanna dedicate yourself to this instrument, your parents wont mind.
lol.

show them a pic of iron maiden.

then tell them, 'ma, u know these group of losers right? they all got university degrees. one of them is even a pilot earning at least a 6-figure salary'.

then u watch them faint tongue.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 19 2008, 03:43 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lolz...that sound reasonable enough
ej91
post Nov 19 2008, 04:30 PM

64 posts

my fren's situation real best
his parents got him soundproof room for his drums shocking.gif
my parents were ok but kinda hated it when i got effects for my guitar smile.gif
do u hav to practice alot?

Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 04:33 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ej91 @ Nov 19 2008, 04:30 PM)
my fren's situation real best
his parents got him soundproof room for his drums shocking.gif
my parents were ok but kinda hated it when i got effects for my guitar smile.gif
do u hav to practice alot?
is your friend by any chance called donald? tongue.gif
skindred
post Nov 19 2008, 04:52 PM

283 posts

^ Hhahahahaa!!

Added on November 19, 2008, 4:53 pmWas laughing at Everdying's comment before mine .. NOT at thread starter.

I hope everything works out for the TS .. Alot of supportive ppl here

This post has been edited by skindred: Nov 19 2008, 04:53 PM
Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 04:57 PM

30,735 posts

also since u say got no friends living nearby...
this would be a good opportunity to go talk to that cute girl next door and see if shes willing to help tongue.gif
ej91
post Nov 19 2008, 05:07 PM

64 posts

donald?
guess my fren's not d only lucky fella smile.gif my band drummer
really hope it works out for dis guy, u dun hav to sell ur stuff! sad.gif

Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 05:18 PM

30,735 posts

oh yea, wat am i saying.
donald doesnt have any friends.
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 06:43 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 01:09 AM)
The original point of music was a form of self expression. I'm sorry that your parents don't have the same views, but if you can, try to convince them.

I would suggest taking them out for dinner at a club like Alexis. Say that you are sorry for all the trouble you caused and want to make it up to them by taking them out for a nice dinner. Now, what they DON'T know is that alot of great jazz musicians and artists jam and play at restaurants like these. Just have casual talk and when the band comes on and play through a view of their set, just tell them you would aspire to play like these people. Then tell them that music really makes you happy and in a way, releases the stress from your daily grind at college. If you don't have a release, you might just break from the pressure and that music is your ticket out of a mental institution.....

2 pluses with this is that,
a) It's a public place so they can't raise their voices.
b) it's a great way to show them how wonderful music can be

Again, this is how "I" would handle a situation like this. Basically, you need to explain why music is important to you and why it isn't so bad as they might think it would be.

Of course, there is the extreme way of running away from home with your instruments and trying to make a career as a gigging musician (lots of great rock & rollers, blues players and metal heads start of EXACTLY like that), but again..... that's the EXTREME way
darn.. nice move blacktrix but that doesn't simply works for me, student like me hardly cant afford to enter Alexis

what musical intruments u got and why they dun like u playing it? I thought parents nowadays like to send their kids to study musics
its guitar ( got electric+acoustic and classical ) actually i got 4 guitar with me 2 acoustic 1 classical and 1 electric

QUOTE(Why^Me @ Nov 19 2008, 01:25 AM)
haha... last time i bring my guitar home, i said that i borrow it from my fren...
then they stop asking.
i told them earlier back then when i purchase the guitar, cant simply resist to tell them i started playing guitar.. but it turn out to be the opposite reaction, they hate it but i still stick with the guitar until i stumble on this BIG wall atm! cry.gif

QUOTE(ken0777 @ Nov 19 2008, 02:12 AM)
Don't fret bro... Keep the passion... put your guitar somewhere safe and keep it at a fren's place... Well no choice you have to obey your parents will also... But slowly convince them that you are mature enough to balance music and study... Earn their trust and more importantly... Just listen to them first...
listen to them is the only option now..

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 19 2008, 04:57 PM)
also since u say got no friends living nearby...
this would be a good opportunity to go talk to that cute girl next door and see if shes willing to help

Haha! my neighbor family originated from India and pretty hard to talk with them since they not too cater to have a chat!

QUOTE(mingdynasty @ Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM)
well... y u so scared of ur parents / grand parents.. its not unethical or breaking the law.. =,=... cannot reason.. ??? fight fire with fire BABY !!!!
QUOTE(x-crusader @ Nov 19 2008, 03:02 PM)
i felt tat im so lucky after reading ur story..
as they brought me to a piano teacher when i was 5
i think u should have a talk wif ur parents first..
tell them ur thoughts..
if they really dont accept..
DEBATE LA...lol
QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Nov 19 2008, 01:54 PM)
an eye for an eye...it never fails...
try on your own risk dude... laugh.gif

taking your advise, I did it! and this is the result..

user posted imageuser posted image

1 of my acoustic guitar got whacked by my dad using his knee, this happen after the debate* went pretty hot.. luckily my dad randomly pick a santa cruz acoustic among those 4 guitar.. still.. its my loss cry.gif ( this picture taken while me cleaning up the mess my dad done, gotta removes the strings before somebody get hurt! )

the debate resulting by 1 of my guitar got Whacked! and a new serious demand, i had to sell all my guitar and and show them the money, any cheating like sending to a friend, lending to a friend or anything equals to it shall not be tolerated.. i might be thrown out of the house if i were caught telling lies shocking.gif cry.gif

usually my dad would not go this far but.. my grandparent insist my parent needs to be more tougher on me, u spoil your son too much something like that la

i had to do what i had to do, sell 1 or 2 of the guitar and hide the other one at my college.
I'll take and upload some pictures in the garage sale section later on this weekend cry.gif

lastly all i want to say is Thank You for all your support and advise, seeing so many respond and how positive u guys can be make me cry in my heart. i`ll not stop my desire and passion for music yet! but still... life must go on,just like a wheel, sometimes you are up and some time you are down

Thanks For Your All Support Guys, i love u all! wub.gif
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 06:54 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

sell the most expensive 1 lah, then show 'em the cash.
so u can keep another 2 guitars.
pmmonkey
post Nov 19 2008, 07:06 PM

485 posts

It's really sad to have parents who aren't supportive of what their children wanna do. Sometimes, their children are not trying to be rebellious, just wanna try something, enjoy abit of their lives. Turns out that their parents think that their child are turning bad.

It seems like you really have a hard time with your parents and grandparents. I can only feel sorry for you.
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 07:46 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

I will say is a stupid act to spoilt the guitar, unless ur parent are RICH, He is doing stuff in a "Ganas" way.

Remember, they cant keep u away from music for long, you'll soon grow up, work your self, stayung in rented house , they wont be able to stop you anymore
+3kk!
post Nov 19 2008, 08:24 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Nov 19 2008, 07:55 PM)
Well they can disown him.
Some conservative families hate all forms of non-money making knowledge.

Musicians are severely looked down upon by the traditional chinese family because it correlates with the blind erhu beggar or the songstress.
Musicians = Beggars

In the eyes of such families.
It is no different from being a garbage collector working for DBKL.
But mushi you also one kind lah wtf you buy so many guitars for?!

If I am the parent also I will start worrying about your obsession with guitars at the expense of your studies.
disowning can go both ways, once you are that indie hell they'd better be well prepared to have retirement funds on call.

key is just to be indie first, then show all the families a middle finger at times well you have to get out of the family to get a better life.

bad call on both sides id take it, but given the extreme TS parents go id live out asap!

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Nov 19 2008, 08:26 PM
fantasycts
post Nov 19 2008, 08:25 PM

15 posts

wow ... ts, u got so many guitars? i tot the f310, from ur other thread is ur 1st guitar.
Since you know ur parents dun like it, shudn't have bought so many lar... shakehead.gif

but kinda pity you lar, even when my guitar got the 1st dent i also heart pain so much,
i saw ur pic lagi cham~~~

so sad.... sweat.gif
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 08:31 PM

293 posts

the one i bought using my own money were 2 only, the other 2 given by my uncle and friend as a gift =)
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 19 2008, 08:32 PM

728 posts

what the...
walao...if i sure cannot tolerate loh..break guitar wehh...
i dunno how u can tolerate them ...
seeing u kena like that is really sad leh..we just wanna make our lifes more fun n express ourself...

is thre really no way but to submit to their demands?
=\ hope things will take a turn for the better..
freakfingers12
post Nov 19 2008, 08:33 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Wtf...breaking one of your guitars was seriously...wow...

If it ever happens to me, I think I would probably go mad...

Do any of your parents friends play music?If they do, try to ask them to advise your parents. If not,then sell off your gear FIRST. Perhaps for now, learn some music theory? I don't think they can do anything because of that...
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 19 2008, 08:34 PM

728 posts

i think u shud sell the 1 u bought...or somehow hide it...and keep the ones given by ur uncle and friend...mayb like that they cant do anything..
hmm..ur uncle...mayb he will help...;p in convincing them///
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 08:44 PM

293 posts

my uncle wont wont nego in this matter, he will ask to stay move along on watever happen, yeah he will be sad but i wont involve my uncle in my family matter
it just not good to give bad impression about your family to other family members

they are still my meatblood so like it or not of coz i would submit to them nod.gif

sell all of them.. quite interesting idea.. just might work! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Nov 19 2008, 08:53 PM
SUSParamore
post Nov 19 2008, 09:10 PM

626 posts

mushimushi88, may I visit you?
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 09:20 PM

293 posts

for what purpose? have a duel with my dad? xD
SUSParamore
post Nov 19 2008, 09:20 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 09:20 PM)
for what purpose? have a duel with my dad? xD
No, but a talk with him.
TSmushimushi88
post Nov 19 2008, 09:31 PM

293 posts

thanks for your concern paramore, i really appreciate that! =) but sorry if i must say this, things had gone pretty bad but surely i know my dad would compensate for what he had done to me

well.. he wont apologize and wont take back what he said but yeah.. wait till me birthday~ =)

geez.. u such a nice guy arent u Paramore? =)

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Nov 19 2008, 09:32 PM
SUSParamore
post Nov 19 2008, 09:42 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 09:31 PM)
thanks for your concern paramore, i really appreciate that! =) but sorry if i must say this, things had gone pretty bad but surely i know my dad would compensate for what he had done to me

well.. he wont apologize and wont take back what he said but yeah.. wait till me birthday~ =)

geez.. u such a nice guy arent u Paramore? =)
Well I can visit you like later in a month.

No, I am not nice. I am doing this because I am a musician.
Ryuuga
post Nov 19 2008, 10:04 PM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM)
His parents don't like music how to have hifi set??

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 06:43 PM)
darn.. nice move blacktrix but that doesn't simply works for me,  student like me hardly cant afford to enter Alexis 
its guitar ( got electric+acoustic and classical ) actually i got 4 guitar with me 2 acoustic 1 classical and 1 electric 
i told them earlier back then when i purchase the guitar, cant simply resist to tell them i started playing guitar..   but it turn out to be the opposite reaction, they hate it but i still stick with the guitar until i stumble on this BIG wall atm!  cry.gif
listen to them is the only option now..

1 of my acoustic guitar got whacked by my dad using his knee, this happen after the debate* went pretty hot.. luckily my dad randomly pick a santa cruz acoustic among those 4 guitar.. still.. its my loss  cry.gif [color=blue]( this picture taken while me cleaning up the mess my dad done, gotta removes the strings before somebody get hurt! )

the debate resulting by 1 of my guitar got Whacked! and a new serious demand, i had to sell all my guitar and and show them the money, any cheating like sending to a friend, lending to a friend or anything equals to it shall not be tolerated.. i might be thrown out of the house if i were caught telling lies shocking.gif  cry.gif

usually my dad would not go this far but.. my grandparent insist my parent needs to be more tougher on me, u spoil your son too much something like that la

i had to do what i had to do, sell 1 or 2 of the guitar and hide the other one at my college.
I'll take and upload some pictures in the garage sale section later on this weekend  cry.gif
how old are you man? if u say can afford to enter alexis i assume you're in your teens probably below 18?
and where are you staying if you don't mind me asking?

You have the exact same amount and types of guitars as me. 2 acoustics, 1 classical, and 1 electric.
Looking back, i actually overheard my grandparents disagreeing my going to a music college as well. but my parents dont give a shyt what my grandparents say. my grandparents say a million other stuff my parents just turn a deaf ear to.
frankly, grandparents can be annoying. and im not being disrespectful, they are at least 2 generations earlier and older by less than a century. imagine what will the world become in a centuries time! what im saying is grandparents are sticking to traditions and beliefs that no longer apply in this day and time. Those who actually follow those beliefs will only suffer for themselves.
Be thankful you are phasing out from the "old tradition"

You can sell off all your guitars. And if you stay anywhere nearby sunway pjs9, you are free to drop by my house anytime i will give you theory lessons and we can jam anytime. i pity you in the name of music, but that is life. All you can do now is stay optimistic. Don't let shyt like this put you down because you're never gonna give in to it. You're still young, perhaps this is a challenge for you to be a great musician in the future.
I think everyone in this forum feels for you and your guitar. Just don't give up no matter what!!!

EDIT: i'm surprised your dad could actually break the guitar so easily..

MAY THE MUSIC STAY WITH YOU!!

This post has been edited by Ryuuga: Nov 19 2008, 10:07 PM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM

13,063 posts

We should organize mass musician stake out in front of his house....... for sure will get scared already!
SUSParamore
post Nov 19 2008, 10:16 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM)
We should organize mass musician stake out in front of his house....... for sure will get scared already!
I am serious about that. We will do it. Hopefully mushimushi88 are okay with that and be strong.
sarcast
post Nov 19 2008, 10:21 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Nov 19 2008, 07:55 PM)
Well they can disown him.
Some conservative families hate all forms of non-money making knowledge.

Musicians are severely looked down upon by the traditional chinese family because it correlates with the blind erhu beggar or the songstress.
Musicians = Beggars

In the eyes of such families.
It is no different from being a garbage collector working for DBKL.
But mushi you also one kind lah wtf you buy so many guitars for?!

If I am the parent also I will start worrying about your obsession with guitars at the expense of your studies.
They could disown him or now, but not at the future.

"traditional chinese family because it correlates with the blind erhu beggar or the songstress."
Now is not the Dynasty era d.... i will be surprise that there are still ppl thinking like like, they need to catch up with the new generations

QUOTE(Paramore @ Nov 19 2008, 09:42 PM)
Well I can visit you like later in a month.

No, I am not nice. I am doing this because I am a musician.
He is a teacher too, may be this could help...

wodenus
post Nov 19 2008, 10:30 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Actually I don't blame them. The thing is, can your survive by playing music ? if you can survive then your parents won't worry so much. What they're worried about is what happens after they're gone. They don't want to see you starving on the street with your guitars smile.gif

You could have taken them to wherever you play your gigs, let the owner there talk to them, there's no generation gap then. All they need to know is whether it can be a respectable occupation smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 20 2008, 12:03 AM
blacktrix
post Nov 19 2008, 10:46 PM

13,063 posts

It's not a question of "if you can earn money"...... it's the fact that they completely don't allow him to play music.
Playing music is no different from playing video games or watching television...... it's something to keep your mind occupied (for lack of a better term).......
Andy0625
post Nov 19 2008, 10:57 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Without you guys(musicians) , life will be dull.
enteryourusername
post Nov 19 2008, 11:25 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:46 PM)
It's not a question of "if you can earn money"...... it's the fact that they completely don't allow him to play music.
Playing music is no different from playing video games or watching television...... it's something to keep your mind occupied (for lack of a better term).......
heck, i'd rather my youngest bro practicing his bass than playing video games.
Everdying
post Nov 19 2008, 11:41 PM

30,735 posts

imagine before u were bringing ur guy friends to ur room to play guitar.

now that the guitars arent there, and ur guy friend is still coming...that will make them wonder wat ur really up to...

then perhaps the guitars will come back tongue.gif
ChipZ
post Nov 20 2008, 12:10 AM

1,330 posts

Tell ur parents to choose 1 of this 2 "

1)I will have myself locked with the guitar for the whole day
2)I will bring a girl back and have ourselves locked in the room for the whole night
BelowAverage
post Nov 20 2008, 12:22 AM

1,274 posts

omg? i cant belive what i read.
Is not like TS play dota 24/7 and the father wack the desktop.
Is a guitar! i dont get it? What is TS father problem??
is there something wrong with the guitar?

I started learning piano at 4 years old.
So far i never seen a parent who would go so far to preventing their children to play music.
even if the parent tak suka their children to play guitar, they just close 1 eye and just let the son do what they like cause they are not doing anything wrong but something beneficial.

Ts, so far u never really reply why ur parents and grandparents are so angry at u playing guitar, cause all the reply i read are theories from lyn members.

can u share with us the story behind this story?
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 12:25 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(mushimushi88 @ Nov 19 2008, 12:58 AM)

first they asked me bout hows college going etc ( all the nice stuff b4 they bring the worst question ) and then BAM!.. my grandma goes to my room and take out my musical instrument with the help of the cousin. And they start nagging bout why you play music? and many other (pedas question)
see la, he already said they started by asking on college...then some pedas questions...
makes one wonder wat tongue.gif
beastwars
post Nov 20 2008, 12:39 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM)
i second to that..!
yOuNg$tEr
post Nov 20 2008, 12:43 AM

728 posts

if mushi really neglect studies because of music then is a different story..but i guess he wont?

count me in if there's any thing i can help to help mushi.
Ryuuga
post Nov 20 2008, 12:43 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

^ yeah count me in anytime
+3kk!
post Nov 20 2008, 12:48 AM

8,275 posts

despite all teh buzz on the parents being wrong (which i do agree to )

i have to ask something, TS are your grades falling badly or bad happenings between you and your family members on music and so on?

cause i really find it very strange, say your parents hated music playing junkies but you managed to get 4 pieces of planks into your room WITH their knowledge. a gift from your uncle again with their knowledge.

and i do assumre that you do have an amp, and a few years of guitar playing experience to boot.

now this is where it gets fishy, why now?

based on my understanding of the situation your parents were against but relatively content on you having music instruments and well grandparents advise are normally taken into second consideration (if they are you wont have a computer) in most families.

and if they were in that extreme case, the question of how they manage to allow years of guitar playing and well 4 planks to go uncontested would baffle me. if i didnt want my son to be in music, i would asy no and whack the daylights out of him after the first guitar (thats assuming super conservertive thinking)

so yea? i think something is missing somewhere. cause even from a family background where musicians had a bad name, my parents still managed to let me go ahead (despite constant teasing) with my music. my gf comes from an extreme conservertive family and she acn play piano, my friend similar extreme conservertive but his parents support him. so conservertive thinking doesnt seem to add up here again.

of course this is based on my own understanding on the subject

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Nov 20 2008, 12:51 AM
beastwars
post Nov 20 2008, 01:12 AM

253 posts

actually ur parents are allrite at first right ?
but ur atok and nenek rite?
the ones that arent agreeing abt u playing music?
let us know if u need help
Xannava
post Nov 20 2008, 08:20 AM

765 posts

Playing paino in my opinion are the fav among parents because of well.... I guess it does not relate to musician = beggar (as if beggar can afford piano). Piano is mostly related to rich people (last time la, now very common d... although some would disagree).

When I started guitar on my own, my parents dun mind. But when I brought out the question of an electric guitar, their eyes pop out.... after a bit of explaining and constant "this has electric guitar in it!" at their fav songs on radio, they stopped the eye popping look already.

I dun think playing guitar will effect ur studies. This was how I learned my Bio during my last final exams.
Memorize one page (ok i noe I'm better off understanding than memorizing but hey, that's how my brain works), play guitar, memorize another page, play again... and I got an A.

Btw, why four guitars? When I wanted to upgrade from my classical guitar to acoustic, parents already had the impression that one was way enough.
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 08:33 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 20 2008, 08:20 AM)
Btw, why four guitars? When I wanted to upgrade from my classical guitar to acoustic, parents already had the impression that one was way enough.
one word - GAS! tongue.gif

i got more than 4...tho not as crazy as some ppl like one datuk who has 20+ mostly strats and bought just cos he likes to look at it...
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 20 2008, 08:48 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

whoa...he broke a guitar... shocking.gif
dude...save it...send them all to your friends 1st till your dad cools down....man...breaking an instrument is really a crazy thing to do...well thank god he choose the cheapest one...
i didnt say debating is a good option...i did say try at your own risk...darn...i guess you juz gotta face it...your dad is a mommys boy...so when your granma said no...its the end of story...
Ryuuga
post Nov 20 2008, 09:46 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 20 2008, 08:33 AM)

i got more than 4...tho not as crazy as some ppl like one datuk who has 20+ mostly strats and bought just cos he likes to look at it...
lol whered you get that info? the salesman in bentley damansara told me the same thing i thought he was bullshytting haha
freakfingers12
post Nov 20 2008, 11:25 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 20 2008, 08:20 AM)
Playing paino in my opinion are the fav among parents because of well.... I guess it does not relate to musician = beggar (as if beggar can afford piano). Piano is mostly related to rich people (last time la, now very common d... although some would disagree).

When I started guitar on my own, my parents dun mind. But when I brought out the question of an electric guitar, their eyes pop out.... after a bit of explaining and constant "this has electric guitar in it!" at their fav songs on radio, they stopped the eye popping look already.

I dun think playing guitar will effect ur studies. This was how I learned my Bio during my last final exams.
Memorize one page (ok i noe I'm better off understanding than memorizing but hey, that's how my brain works), play guitar, memorize another page, play again... and I got an A.

One is never enough! tongue.gif

I think it's kinda reasonable for TS to have 4 guitars especially when they're all different types.(Except for the 2 acoustics). Versatility mah.
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 11:49 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 20 2008, 09:46 AM)
lol whered you get that info? the salesman in bentley damansara told me the same thing i thought he was bullshytting haha
cos i met one datuk like that about 7-8yrs ago tongue.gif
there are a few more just like him out there, u be surprised.
Sky.Live
post Nov 20 2008, 03:59 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

When i pay my friend's house

His parents yelling at his little brother : You didn't practice your piano again!! now go practise!!

now TS's parents: You are playing your guitar again!!! now stop practising.

It's pity that nowadays people always do things they dont like..

I wasn't very happy before when i said i wanna play keyboard and ask them to buy me one. I said i wanted the model which cost RM7k+ but they only agree on buy me a second hand unit of RM2000.

Well know i should glad that at least they are supporting me, dispite i am not taking any lesson and playing the same few song i know everynight before i sleep, felt more relax lol.. tho my playing sucks
enteryourusername
post Nov 20 2008, 04:01 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 20 2008, 03:59 PM)
When i pay my friend's house

His parents yelling at his little brother : You didn't practice your piano again!! now go practise!!

now TS's parents: You are playing your guitar again!!! now stop practising.

It's pity that nowadays people always do things they dont like..

I wasn't very happy before when i said i wanna play keyboard and ask them to buy me one. I said i wanted the model which cost RM7k+ but they only agree on buy me a second hand unit of RM2000.

Well know i should glad that at least they are supporting me, dispite i am not taking any lesson and playing the same few song i know everynight before i sleep, felt more relax lol.. tho my playing sucks
i totally feel that pain =(
nicholaskong
post Nov 20 2008, 04:05 PM

35 posts

in parents eyes guitar is for bad guys but piano is good..lol
m3er
post Nov 20 2008, 05:00 PM

298 posts

@TS

REBEL A BIT LAH!!!
say to them you're an adult now (are you?) you can do what u want.
what's wrong with playing music anyhow.
it's for creativity to.
SweetTooth
post Nov 20 2008, 05:21 PM

2,650 posts

ok first of all, if someone broke my guitar in front of me, my fist will meet his jaw in less than 2 seconds. and if your parents threaten to disown you, run away. most of the time they'll want you back and even reward you out of guilt. but you have to be prepared yourself, whether you want to take the slim risk or not nod.gif
ChipZ
post Nov 20 2008, 06:52 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 20 2008, 05:21 PM)
ok first of all, if someone broke my guitar in front of me, my fist will meet his jaw in less than 2 seconds. and if your parents threaten to disown you, run away. most of the time they'll want you back and even reward you out of guilt. but you have to be prepared yourself, whether you want to take the slim risk or not nod.gif
Wah, teaching TS to run away because of this? In my opinion, parents are still parents no matter what. There is surely a reason why they do not like u playing guitars. Try to talk to them, nego, and set up an agreement. Until now u didnt not reveal the reasons behind all this objection? They afraid u might neglecting ur studies or they have some kind of bad impression of guitars? Try talking to them in a calm and chill situation..just my suggestion tho
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 20 2008, 07:05 PM

1,100 posts

You wildchild! Bad! Bad! What if his father gives him a triple six pounder then?! whistling.gif

TS still hasn't come back on whether it was affecting his studies? Seriously, if you're grades are dropping coz you've been thwacking the olde 6-string, it's understandable if mom-and-pop open a can of whoop@ss on you... icon_rolleyes.gif

But if that's not the case, stick it to man! \m/ sweat.gif
Xannava
post Nov 20 2008, 11:26 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 20 2008, 08:33 AM)

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:25 AM)
One is never enough! tongue.gif

I think it's kinda reasonable for TS to have 4 guitars especially when they're all different types.(Except for the 2 acoustics). Versatility mah.
Haha, in parents point of view la. So now I want a new electric (my first) they said they will only talk about it next year, and I'll have to start saving....

Yeah, I felt the pain of the "go practice piano" phrase. I used to learn piano, and no offense but I find the classical pieces to be not my kinda style. So naturally, I tend to hate practicing. But then after I stopped a few years ago, I started playing pop songs ie. Avril and Linkin Park, and they've stopped bugging me about it XD So, like I said, piano is somehow associated with good and rich, while guitar...err you can draw your own conclusions. Disappointing right?
Everdying
post Nov 20 2008, 11:38 PM

30,735 posts

if u sell off ur 450d...u will definitely get enough to buy a pretty decent guitar tongue.gif
ghoster
post Nov 21 2008, 12:07 AM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

i feel sorry for u TS, i cant believe this kinda stuff still happen, remind me a lil bit one of Allahyarham P.Ramlee's movie smile.gif

anyway, what's the main reason they want u to get rid of ur instrument? if because they're too loud for em, maybe u should think of getting a headphone.

otherwise, maybe its time for u to get ur own space smile.gif

This post has been edited by ghoster: Nov 21 2008, 12:10 AM
thahirah
post Nov 21 2008, 12:17 AM

276 posts

Hmm sleep.gif different parents different attitude
I guess TS its better u buat bodo but make sure u lock urr door with yale lock or somehting
u know mothers
they like to senyap senyap buang barang kesayangan kita yang diorang tak suka
Eg My Hamster,My Rabbit TT__TT
Xannava
post Nov 21 2008, 12:23 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 20 2008, 11:38 PM)
if u sell off ur 450d...u will definitely get enough to buy a pretty decent guitar tongue.gif
Super no way! tongue.gif

Added on November 21, 2008, 12:24 am
QUOTE(thahirah @ Nov 21 2008, 12:17 AM)
I guess TS its better u buat bodo but make sure u lock urr door with yale lock or somehting
u know mothers

Hamster and Rabbit blink.gif blink.gif Walauwei shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Xannava: Nov 21 2008, 12:24 AM
SUSParamore
post Nov 21 2008, 12:48 AM

626 posts

mushi, may I visit you? How is your plan?
SweetTooth
post Nov 21 2008, 02:58 AM

2,650 posts

paramore why keep wanting to visit mushi? wanna "adopt" his guitars? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Nov 21 2008, 02:59 AM
x-crusader
post Nov 21 2008, 05:54 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(thahirah @ Nov 21 2008, 12:17 AM)
u know mothers
tats madness..
do they knw wats a life??
aaron5829
post Nov 21 2008, 12:28 PM

135 posts

Hmm, isnt music about hobby, self expression and love ?

I dont get why some parents do not encourage that... It's better than going out every night.. have drinks, come home drunk... etc etc... Or even worse, take drugs and stuff.

I guess i'm lucky that my parents encouraged me in music last time.

I guess they are happy that i'm making an income out of it now.

So i can buy as many instruments as i want... biggrin.gif

Sky.Live
post Nov 21 2008, 01:42 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 20 2008, 11:26 PM)
Haha, in parents point of view la. So now I want a new electric (my first) they said they will only talk about it next year, and I'll have to start saving....

Yeah, I felt the pain of the "go practice piano" phrase. I used to learn piano, and no offense but I find the classical pieces to be not my kinda style. So naturally, I tend to hate practicing. But then after I stopped a few years ago, I started playing pop songs ie. Avril and Linkin Park, and they've stopped bugging me about it XD So, like I said, piano is somehow associated with good and rich, while guitar...err you can draw your own conclusions. Disappointing right?
TS did state he has classical guitar right, i guess it's not whether the problem of instrument's image, it's happens more frequent if your parents were salary earner or even hardworking self employed. They do realised money is hard to come by if you dont have a main stream degree such as medicine, engineering etc... Most parents give their children music education for the sake of sending them, not for them to get good or what ever, mostly because their neighbour or relative went also to prevent from getting "outdated".

You cant blame them for being afraid that you might step into the music carrier because it's really not an easy path. The worst is the image of metal music with image which i think MOST parents cannot even accept it, often associate with electrical instrument.

Well, the "go practise piano" phrase, my friend told me he will be locked in a room with his piano an hour everyday when he was small, his teacher use a ruler to knock his knuckle when he played a wrong note, he hated the piano so much that he find every excuse to stop learning it, apparently he stopped before SPM and never continued. However what his parents never realised is that the piano in the room is an electric one, he just play once and record it, play it over and over for an hour, some recording even contains wrong note lol, repeating same wrong note for an hour xD

Why TS dont state properly what's his intention of leearning guitar, for musical carrier or just as a hobby. I hardly think of any parents which would prohibit his children from having a music hobby, rather than gaming addicts, alcoholic or what ever..
Weldon29
post Nov 21 2008, 06:48 PM

152 posts

Thats not very mature....

evoangel
post Nov 21 2008, 10:29 PM

440 posts

lol.. its a sad case to u mushi.. how's ur av3?? i tot u just purchase it.. im not sure wat kind if problem u with ur family.. but 1 thing for sure.. NOBODY can smack my things.. even MY PARENTS!

im lucky i didnt have a dad..LOL.. or will end up thrashing him if he whacks my guitars.. =) yes i might be hot headed/ not respect thing my parents.. but i HATE ppl vandalise THINGS! especially my lovely guitar.. haha..

my case, i got my piercings and tattoos without perm.. just show them after i did.. =)

iii'm not asking TS to follow wat i did.. I just hope for the best for You.. musician lives forever!
e30
post Nov 22 2008, 02:59 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

has it anything to do with money? perhaps they think you've spent too much on guitars? since you do have 4 rite... did they buy it for you or are you using your own cash?
o.d
post Nov 22 2008, 08:43 PM

208 posts

mushi,

can put at my house tongue.gif
i promise to take care of it carefully biggrin.gif
o.d
post Nov 23 2008, 12:58 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Nov 22 2008, 09:16 PM)
And scrape fret dusts on the board with rusty strings.  tongue.gif
i can play it if u want to tongue.gif
skindred
post Nov 23 2008, 02:53 AM

283 posts

Lazy to read the pages.. So when are we going to musician "mogok/riot" outside mushi88's house?

Remember to bring all your instruments, we'll set a time, and everybody start strumming and whatever with their instruments.
ghettopunk
post Nov 23 2008, 07:20 PM

17 posts

some story to share to you guys.

one of my fren just bought kapok guitar and he play at his room at 7 ish P.M(maghrib pray time).his mother heard the guitar sound and forced him to open the door.his mother scolded him why playing guitar on Azan time then his mother got carried away She "baling" his guitar out to the windows .

the next day he show to me his new guitar splitting 2.

word of advice to malay musicians.don't play your instruments on "azan" time.
sarcast
post Nov 23 2008, 08:25 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(ghettopunk @ Nov 23 2008, 07:20 PM)

one of my fren just bought kapok guitar and he play at his room at 7 ish P.M(maghrib pray time).his mother heard the guitar sound and forced him to open the door.his mother scolded him why playing guitar on Azan time then his mother got carried away She "baling" his guitar out to the windows .

that'll be his own fault... disturbing other ppl at azan time
SUSicyfawkes
post Nov 24 2008, 08:43 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ghettopunk @ Nov 23 2008, 07:20 PM)

lol...hes got steel balls man...
TSmushimushi88
post Dec 3 2008, 09:56 PM

293 posts

Phew! finally i can get online! tongue.gif
Wow! there a lot of response! thanks guys notworthy.gif

oh! my grades are good, not excellent like most of u guys but above average biggrin.gif

back to the story continuation, a week after the incident that my dad broke the guitar, he bought be a new phone, i dun understand at first but i think it is the way he shows that he sorry for what he had done to my guitar. And he also said that for this time please just follow what he asked me to do. soon enough i figure i should listen to what my parents requested and respect their decision. nod.gif

and yeah, i put my guitar back at my uncle house for the meantime, after i told all my dad did to me bout the new phone and stuff to my uncle, he concluded that i should sell my guitar, if i cant bear to lose all of them drastically, he told me to sell them 1 by 1. ohmy.gif

so for the start, i wish to sell my Yamaha F310 and later so on with the electric. i already post it in Garage Sales section.
for anyone who interested, please visit this link :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=864584

p/s: mod, im sorry if i linked this thread to garage section, forgive me cry.gif

And thanks guys for the support! haha about the mogok1, dun do it! if not my family will get a bad reputation with this already not so friendly community rclxub.gif

ajay67
post Dec 5 2008, 02:05 PM

2,960 posts

sorry to hear yr family problem..
i wish you get good grade, later good job & buy yourself something better. by then i'm sure yr family wouldn't mind
sarcast
post Dec 5 2008, 08:29 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

sigh,, so ull have to give up.?
dilin
post Dec 7 2008, 09:53 AM

348 posts

Tell your parents, mushi, grades amount to nothing once you're working or pursuing postgraduate qualifications. I'm one good example. It's amazing I'm not fired yet.
o.d
post Dec 7 2008, 09:56 AM

208 posts

agree with dilin. i'm one good example too. i earn much lesser than MANY of my friends who repeats paper, graduate much later than me and CGPA less than me. why? because they work smart smile.gif
TSmushimushi88
post Dec 10 2008, 12:40 AM

293 posts

oh thanks guys for giving more option bout this, i hope this thread could be any help to other who might as well having difficulties regard with music and their parents

until the end of our day come, please let us enjoy the music of this world!

=)

This post has been edited by mushimushi88: Dec 10 2008, 12:40 AM

0.0487sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:40 PM