Household Mattress, which brand to go for?

MeToo
post Dec 6 2013, 03:37 AM

9,333 posts

Just gotta chip in on this subject.

I have been using Dunlopillo Belvoir mattress (queen) for the last 2 years... great mattress suited to my needs. The only con is the edge is abit rounded, hence you actually have slightly less usable area, and its an 18" mattress, so buying bedsheets can be a hassle.

Infact I liked it so much, yesterday I went and bought another Belvoir, this time King size... solved the size issues tongue.gif

Actually I was eyeing the Cashmerian as well, but heard the gel might be a little too soft for some, so didn't wanna risk it and decided to stick to my Belvoir.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Dec 6 2013, 03:41 AM
MeToo
post Feb 14 2014, 04:26 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Feb 13 2014, 07:05 PM)
is those budget mattress <2k good enuf (ie wont cause backache,good sleeping guaranteed, bed wont feel too hard, etc) ?cos i'm looking to place it into other common room...would want to splurge too much on common rooms..
Below 2k? Dunlopillo's Nottingham/Belvior series. Their cashmerian is abit more maybe 2.5k.

Buy during their warehouse sales.
MeToo
post Apr 1 2015, 01:01 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(laicheng @ Apr 1 2015, 11:45 AM)
Anyone can give comment on Dunlopillo mattress? is it worth buying? Am looking at adora, alegro and armour series. Budget not much but need a king size bed. Appreciate your comment smile.gif
My house all using Belvior... my favourite.. highly recommended
MeToo
post Apr 1 2015, 02:26 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(laicheng @ Apr 1 2015, 01:56 PM)
Good to hear that. hehe. roughly how much does it cost for a king size, do you know? dunlopillo's mattress are all latex and no spring right?
Retail?

I think about 18~20k, buy during discount la

Belviour is a triple layered mattress..

https://www.buenito.com.my/bueni.to/faceboo...cts/belvoir.php

MeToo
post Apr 17 2015, 11:36 AM

9,333 posts

Wow... I dont understand why everyone is paying so much for mattress...

I always buy mattress during Dunlopillo's yearly warehouse sale...

I got all my matteress at nearly 90% discount... those model retailing at their Pyramid showroom for 25k... I bought under 3k... and we are talkign king size, top of the line mattress that is spring+latex, 19" thickness, etc etc
MeToo
post Apr 17 2015, 12:09 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Apr 17 2015, 12:07 PM)
it has no warranty and worth the price as long as no issue happens.
Huh... U can see it, touch it, what kinda warranty u wan?

If you pay 25k in the store u get 10 yrs warranty.. u buy 3k... u think it will spoil within a year? Even if u use it for 5 yrs its more then worth.
MeToo
post Apr 17 2015, 12:34 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Apr 17 2015, 12:26 PM)
25k or 35k is the normal retail price.

not sure which model you bought. i bought 2pcs Katalia Luxe king size each at RM3000 for my relatives punya kids during the warehouse sales. flawless and brand new in plastic.
I dont see what you are getting at....

I was advocating ppl buying from warehouse sales instead of these 7~8k i kept reading here...

Anyway my whole house using Belvoir, cannot even buy new ones at the current sales since all belum rosak
MeToo
post Apr 18 2015, 10:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Apr 17 2015, 10:25 PM)
When is dunlopillo sale usually? Thanks!
Currently 16th to 19th April in Subang.. U can google up the exact location. But usually if u dont go first day... stocks/model will be very limited alrdy cause those furniture shop ppl first day morning alrdy go sapu..
MeToo
post Sep 23 2016, 11:09 AM

9,333 posts

Currently there is a DUnlopillo warehouse sale going at PJ.

Yesterday I went and bought THIS Super Single mattress for my 2.5 yr old daughter.

After discount was RM1050, liked their FB page so additional 10% discount, and we get to buy 2 pillow at RM1 each.. totaly bill below RM950 for a mattress and 2 pillow

This post has been edited by MeToo: Sep 23 2016, 11:10 AM
MeToo
post Sep 23 2016, 11:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Sep 23 2016, 11:44 AM)
Royal exec?got ask queen how muchie?lol
Sorry no... my whole house using Belvoir, even the guest room, (47cm mattress but discontinued) we bougth from such sales a few years ago.. but still in perfect condition so I only check the SS size for my daughter.

But form my experience the price would be below 3k... probably aroudn the region of 2200-2500 for King
MeToo
post Jun 19 2019, 03:34 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kasheng @ Jun 19 2019, 03:31 PM)
Hi all sifus, I'm looking for Queen size mattress, budget is between 2-3k. Any recommendation? I'm a side sleeper, prefer something not too soft, not too firm
Many reputable brands have their own range of firm/mmedium/soft mattress etc.

Go look for warehouse sales, no point paying full price.

My entire house using mattress that retails for 20k+ each... but bought them for a fraction of the price.
MeToo
post Jun 26 2019, 10:57 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 25 2019, 09:49 PM)
If Full price 20k, how much will they go for during warehouse sale?
Interested in maybe a Sealy or Serta
THis is what i bought for my whole house.

We paid ~3500 for it I think.

MeToo
post Jul 12 2019, 04:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 3 2019, 10:19 AM)
guys which is better latex or pocket spring?
Usually bed comes with both.

You cannot sleep on pocket spring alone.
MeToo
post Jul 24 2019, 02:15 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 24 2019, 10:53 AM)
Robinsons
isetan
parkson
mattress size over 40cm is not an issue to get from above departments.

another place is akemuchi.
Parkson cannot, doesnt really fit mine. Akemuchi also not really.

I'm running 19" thick mattress, most of the time the bottom 2~3" is not covered... sweat.gif
MeToo
post Jul 25 2019, 05:05 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Jul 25 2019, 05:04 PM)
There is a shop at Viva Home (near to Korean BBQ) that sells bedsheets for thick mattress. Theirs are for 16" to 19" matress
Thanks for the heads up, any idea on the name of shop?
MeToo
post Jul 25 2019, 05:13 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Jul 25 2019, 05:11 PM)
Sorry, I didn't notice the name of the shop. I was going to the Korean BBQ when I spot the shop and went in to take a look as I was looking for bedsheet that can fit thick mattress too. Didn't buy any as the color selection did not match my requirement.
Ah ok, will go look around.

19" is a pain in the neck to handle. Didnt want to go custom made due to the cost sweat.gif
MeToo
post Jul 26 2019, 10:50 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 26 2019, 08:30 AM)
Serta sealy simmons these luxury brands max also reach 16". I donno why local brand makes 19" thick mattress.
its a Dunlopillo, bought that time see 3 layer 19" looks super luxurious and awesome...

Didnt think that the fitted bedsheet would be non-standard sigh...

Problem is we even have more then 1 of these 19"s at home... luckily my daughter's bed is only 17", slightly more manageable
MeToo
post Jul 26 2019, 11:45 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Jul 25 2019, 10:32 PM)
Yup, I understand how u feel. I was lucky, I found some "sale" bedsheet while I was in Singapore that fits 42cm. Only paid S$39. But these are not suitable for 19 inch mattress.

Wish u luck in finding nice bedsheets for your mattress
Actually I do find alot of bedsheets overseas... like CK brand, even Ralph Lauren at very affordable prices... almost at par with our brandless OEM stuff here...

But the problem is the weight/size factor.. I only get 2 bags/60kg allowance for my flight.. if i start stuffing in bed sheets it would fill up real fast..
MeToo
post Jul 29 2019, 10:16 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(zachozoi @ Jul 29 2019, 02:16 AM)
Hello sifu, i know i have less options but trying my luck here,
Can i find any king mattress with  frame for 1.5k?
Yes.

Try the Harvey Norman outlet in Citta Mall. I seen a few going around that price.

Edit : Wait.. you mean Frame WITH Mattress? Then I doubt sorry. HN was only the frame. If on a budget I suggest just go with Queen unless you have a specific reason you must need a king..

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jul 29 2019, 10:18 AM
MeToo
post Jul 29 2019, 11:31 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(zachozoi @ Jul 29 2019, 11:18 AM)
My wife just delivered baby and we looking to uograde to king size from queen,  i was on a furniture fair last week in ipoh and i saw vono king size mattress with frame for 1.6k.
It was hard mattress and seem ok to me.. U think vono is a good brand?
you plan to let the baby sleep inbetween you guys?

Cause I have been using King for years, and I find its big, I can sleep the entire night without coming into contact with the wife.

The baby I place her in her crib when younger, and as she grows older, I put a super single mattress next to my bed and let her sleep there.

Also I place my mattress directly on the floor, skip the frame..

Also I dont know about Vono, I have only used Dunlopillo in the last 20 yrs or so...

0.0298sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:04 AM