mannequion
post Jan 9 2009, 12:05 PM

57 posts

h71y6, big thanks to you for sharing.
Cheers

Added on January 9, 2009, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(Candy&Vincent @ Jan 9 2009, 11:37 AM)
Hi brothers and sisters,

I confuse on the heartworming prevention. Is the heartworming do before six months or after? Injection or getting tablet? Must do every month? after 1 year, is it necessary?
I would like to learn more about heartworm prevention too.
When should we stop the heartworm "medication"?
How's the portion for puppy / adult dog ?

This post has been edited by mannequion: Jan 9 2009, 12:07 PM
iluv2zzz
post Jan 9 2009, 01:30 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Candy&Vincent @ Jan 9 2009, 11:37 AM)
Hi brothers and sisters,

I confuse on the heartworming prevention. Is the heartworming do before six months or after? Injection or getting tablet? Must do every month? after 1 year, is it necessary?
Start before 6 month. Best before 5 month. After that, monthly take one tablet. After one year old can take one year injection (usually ProHeart) for heartworm prevention. But most owner just continue with the monthly prevention.

Got a few different type for heartworm prevention. The most popular here is HeartGard, a beef flavour cube. This prevents heartworm and 2 kind of other worms. This cannot be taken if the dog allergy to beef. Some owner says after take HeartGard no need take deworming (the one we do every 3 months). But I would still advice the deworming to be taken, since the deworming tablet in the market deworms at least on 4 types of worms, which means includes 2 kinds that HeartGard does not have. Since this one is beef flavour, easier to feed like treat. But some dog also don't like it.

The one I using is ProHeart. Jason also use this. A product from Australia. Also the company that makes the yearly prevention injection. This ProHeart only protects against Heartworm. So deworming is a MUST. This one is safe for allergy dog since no flavour is included. This is in tablet form (little pill smaller then panadol), so must force them to eat.

There are other brands out there but not so popular here. Whatever brand of heartworm prevention you choose, also must take monthly. You can opt for injection when your dog taking the yearly vaccins. THe reason why must after one year old only take injection, because by then the dog weight is stable already. The dosage given for injection is base on dog weight.

Added on January 9, 2009, 1:31 pmabout portion, just buy the one for small dog will do. Usually for small dog the dosage is for dog under 10kg.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Jan 9 2009, 01:31 PM
Candy&Vincent
post Jan 9 2009, 01:33 PM

May I know does anybody know some knowledge about raw meat? Is it good we feed our MS with raw meat?
iluv2zzz
post Jan 9 2009, 02:12 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

There is a yes and no answer regarding raw, BARF. Pls proceed to BARF thread, as I don't hope to see arguement regarding feeding BARF or not.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=856663&hl=barf
h71y6
post Jan 9 2009, 02:42 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Winnie_sia87 @ Jan 9 2009, 11:36 AM)
h71y6, Thanks for your information. My ms is already almost 9 months old but he doesnt really know the correct way to pee and poo. Huh!!!
You're most welcome smile.gif

Well don't give up! Kimi took about 10 mths to be 100% compliance. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 2:44 pm
QUOTE(mannequion @ Jan 9 2009, 12:05 PM)
h71y6, big thanks to you for sharing.
Cheers
You're most welcome biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by h71y6: Jan 9 2009, 02:44 PM
mannequion
post Jan 9 2009, 03:10 PM

57 posts

hi h71y6,

Regarding the rewards concept. When should we just praise our dog (without giving it a treat) ?

and when should we reward it with a treat ?
h71y6
post Jan 9 2009, 03:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mannequion @ Jan 9 2009, 03:10 PM)
hi h71y6,

Regarding the rewards concept. When should we just praise our dog (without giving it a treat) ?

and when should we reward it with a treat ?
well try to give a praise with a treat (small piece). The key is to not let her know you have the treats or make them visible to her aka in your hands, etc. Keep them in your pocket or something, in a zip-lock bag.
So next time, she will always listen to you thinking you might have a treat for her! biggrin.gif

Also keep the praise consistent. Tone especially.

For the first few weeks, give praise with treat. After that you can vary the frequency or do as you like with the treats.

This post has been edited by h71y6: Jan 9 2009, 03:28 PM
Frenly
post Jan 9 2009, 03:33 PM

381 posts

this is how cash look after grooming

limgp1976
post Jan 9 2009, 03:37 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Jan 9 2009, 03:33 PM)

wah .. cash is nice .. Male / Female ?

Ask you ah .. white easy to take care ah ?
iluv2zzz
post Jan 9 2009, 03:38 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

haha.. you leave cash ears to be long tongue.gif
Frenly
post Jan 9 2009, 03:41 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(limgp1976 @ Jan 9 2009, 03:37 PM)
wah .. cash is nice .. Male / Female ?

Ask you ah .. white easy to take care ah ?
Cash is male and extremly playful...
Err..not really ....

Added on January 9, 2009, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Jan 9 2009, 03:38 PM)
haha.. you leave cash ears to be long tongue.gif
what can i do with his ear if i dont want it to be like that?

This post has been edited by Frenly: Jan 9 2009, 03:43 PM
iluv2zzz
post Jan 9 2009, 03:45 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

trim it off.. botak like standard schnauzer cut. You did not tell the groomer you want a MS cut?
mannequion
post Jan 9 2009, 03:48 PM

57 posts

will u guys' MS timid ?
not really dare to explore new things ? meeting new person ?
Candy&Vincent
post Jan 9 2009, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(mannequion @ Jan 9 2009, 03:48 PM)
will u guys' MS timid ?
my MS will bark when see strangers, bark when see himself in front of the mirror....hahaha, so stupid
h71y6
post Jan 9 2009, 04:00 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mannequion @ Jan 9 2009, 03:48 PM)
will u guys' MS timid ?
Not really. She's just cautious but not afraid. People, she is not shy but not rude.

Socializing training is necessary throughout the life of the dog, not just the start.
mannequion
post Jan 9 2009, 04:43 PM

57 posts

my MS seems like get confused with my commands.
last time he can understand and obey when i say "sit"
now he just looking at me doing nothing ...
waichee86
post Jan 9 2009, 04:44 PM

595 posts

lol..wilbur very cute lar..bark at himself...last time daisy oso like dat wan...she tot she saw another dog in da mirror...hahah...im havin final soon..so din play wif them dat often d..then these few days daisy will look at herself at da mirror...so funny...haha
lilyhaw
post Jan 9 2009, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(Frenly @ Jan 9 2009, 03:33 PM)

Cash so cute..look very guai..
Candy&Vincent
post Jan 9 2009, 04:57 PM

wilbur know how to sit oledi...but he sit not sit in front of us, after he listen to command "sit", he turn around and and sit with his ass pointed me, then looking at me for treats...alamak....kei sei... doh.gif
mannequion
post Jan 9 2009, 05:13 PM

57 posts

Hi Candy&Vincent,
planning send Wilbur for training ?

130 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:33 AM