Lagging when gaming in Vista?

dulux78
post Nov 19 2008, 01:34 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(insane77 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:19 PM)
I've tried to play DMC 4, NFS MW, NFS Carbon, and NFS ProStraeet in Vista. But I'm experiencing lagging when playing these games. However, out of 10 times, there's only one time I am not experiencing lagging problem in DMC 4. Also, I've defrag and run virus scan also on my comp,close most of the background application when playing the games, and even use lowest setting to play yet I still experienced lagging problem. Anything wrong with my comp spec? or? Also, I heard some say that is because Vista causing the games to run slow..hmm

My current comp spec are:
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz
4Gb of RAM
GeForce 9800GTX+
Wind Vista 64bit
500GB SATA HDD

Please help!

ADd on: I've tried those games in my machine but was in Wind XP Pro and there's no lagging problem though I adjust all setting to High. (still wondering y there's lagging problem in Vista 64bit)
I play Company of Heroes, SBK08, NFS Prostreet with my Vista 64 bit pc powered by AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (2.6GHz), Asus M2A-VM mobo, 4GB of Kingston DDR800 RAM, Sapphire ATI HD3650 512 MB DDR2 graphic & 160GB Maxtor SATA HD. Have no problem to play the game except graphic option have to be set to medium level since my graphic is not quite powerful enough to render in the highest mode. Do you update your Vista? Are your hardware component installed correctly or does your pc suffer from overheating? Sometime overheating can cause your pc to run slow.

This post has been edited by dulux78: Nov 19 2008, 01:40 PM
khairuls
post Nov 19 2008, 03:24 PM

118 posts

maybe u should improve your cooling system.

how about leave your casing open.
FarCry3r
post Nov 19 2008, 03:34 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(khairuls @ Nov 19 2008, 03:24 PM)
maybe u should improve your cooling system.

how about leave your casing open.
Leaving the casing open will make fans and components inside collecting dust, thus resulting overheating problem too...
XiuKeong
post Nov 20 2008, 01:06 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 19 2008, 03:34 PM)
Leaving the casing open will make fans and components inside collecting dust, thus resulting overheating problem too...
Either change casing or mod the current casing to be able to put more fan =)
freddy manson
post Nov 20 2008, 08:57 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

how about maximizing resources?
if u're using AMD then try out AMD Fusion?
it closes/terminates the unnessecary programmes and exe..
TSinsane77
post Nov 20 2008, 10:03 PM

31 posts

i haf no problem when playing in wind xp...
andrekua
post Nov 20 2008, 11:56 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I would suggest:-

1. Turn off superfetch in Services to free all the memory
2. Limit virtual memory to 3GB
3. Check if memory remapping is enabled in bios
4. Apply SP1 if still havent update.
5. Install latest Nvidia WQHL drivers

If all done still same, reformat I would suggest.
alpha_company
post Nov 22 2008, 12:23 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

i have c2d e8400, 2x2GB Ocz ram, 4850, 320gb 7200.11 HDD

what i want to ask all, is should i get Vista or XP Pro?
I heard that the gaming performance on vista is much much better now. Really?

I'm doing graphic designs in Photoshop, Illustrator, CorelDraw and things of that kind, not 3d though.

I'm also quite a hardcore gamer and is XP REALLY better than Vista???
What is the diff between 64 and 32 bit version? compatibility issues?
matmoto5125
post Nov 23 2008, 08:16 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Nov 22 2008, 12:23 PM)
i have c2d e8400, 2x2GB Ocz ram, 4850, 320gb 7200.11 HDD

what i want to ask all, is should i get Vista or XP Pro?
I heard that the gaming performance on vista is much much better now. Really?

I'm doing graphic designs in Photoshop, Illustrator, CorelDraw and things of that kind, not 3d though.

I'm also quite a hardcore gamer and is XP REALLY better than Vista???
What is the diff between 64 and 32 bit version? compatibility issues?
yup, gaming on vista is really much more improved since its release. u'll even get access to DX10 for more eye-candy effects.LOL. u have a good comp spec there, vista should run flawlessly.. smile.gif

blindbox
post Nov 23 2008, 12:13 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(insane77 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:19 PM)
I've tried to play DMC 4, NFS MW, NFS Carbon, and NFS ProStraeet in Vista. But I'm experiencing lagging when playing these games. However, out of 10 times, there's only one time I am not experiencing lagging problem in DMC 4. Also, I've defrag and run virus scan also on my comp,close most of the background application when playing the games, and even use lowest setting to play yet I still experienced lagging problem. Anything wrong with my comp spec? or? Also, I heard some say that is because Vista causing the games to run slow..hmm

My current comp spec are:
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz
4Gb of RAM
GeForce 9800GTX+
Wind Vista 64bit
500GB SATA HDD

Please help!

ADd on: I've tried those games in my machine but was in Wind XP Pro and there's no lagging problem though I adjust all setting to High. (still wondering y there's lagging problem in Vista 64bit)
Most probably due to you running crapload of programs. Now top it up with the bloat Vista is(sorry fanboys, the truth). My brother's PC takes 3 minutes to 5 minutes to just boot due to the insane amount of programs. Games like O2Mania(O2Jam emulator, don't ask where, sorry mods, I don't have a better example. Stepmania might be another, but I've never tried) is a GREAT indicator to see if you're lagging or not. 400 fps(gc nowadays should do 1.5k fps on that game anyway) with stutters can tell you a lot about lag.

One thing I do know, Kaspersky lags me sad.gif(and is also the cause of why I experience keyboard input lag on O2Mania on my brother's PC). Try NOD32(though they aren't cheap in Malaysia so you have to use the "other" way) Antivirus (their firewall sucks, so don't bother).

Try RUN>type msconfig and press enter.

There you can disable a LOT of unneeded start up items etc. Many programs like to have their programs run at windows startup even if they are not important at all, so are the services(why the hell can't they just ON the services when their programs are actually RUN!? Try not to touch any Microsoft services).

One stop solution would be of course, reformat.

Aero Glass might affect the performance as well(it might be turned off during gaming but the services won't, see?)

This post has been edited by blindbox: Nov 23 2008, 12:18 PM
FarCry3r
post Nov 23 2008, 12:28 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Nov 23 2008, 12:13 PM)
Most probably due to you running crapload of programs. Now top it up with the bloat Vista is(sorry fanboys, the truth). My brother's PC takes 3 minutes to 5 minutes to just boot due to the insane amount of programs. Games like O2Mania(O2Jam emulator, don't ask where, sorry mods, I don't have a better example. Stepmania might be another, but I've never tried) is a GREAT indicator to see if you're lagging or not. 400 fps(gc nowadays should do 1.5k fps on that game anyway) with stutters can tell you a lot about lag.

One thing I do know, Kaspersky lags me sad.gif(and is also the cause of why I experience keyboard input lag on O2Mania on my brother's PC). Try NOD32(though they aren't cheap in Malaysia so you have to use the "other" way) Antivirus (their firewall sucks, so don't bother).

Try RUN>type msconfig and press enter.

There you can disable a LOT of unneeded start up items etc. Many programs like to have their programs run at windows startup even if they are not important at all, so are the services(why the hell can't they just ON the services when their programs are actually RUN!? Try not to touch any Microsoft services).

One stop solution would be of course, reformat.

Aero Glass might affect the performance as well(it might be turned off during gaming but the services won't, see?)
maybe you never heard of vLite? Your brother's PC sucks to boot in 3 to 5 minutes. I have loads of startup programs and doesn't reach 2 minutes booting time...
-Torrz
post Nov 23 2008, 01:27 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

Hmm.. With 5.5 and still lag? Something is not right here. I have 3.9 and my games are running river smooth.
TSinsane77
post Nov 23 2008, 01:28 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Nov 23 2008, 01:27 PM)
Hmm.. With 5.5 and still lag? Something is not right here. I have 3.9 and my games are running river smooth.
Thats wat i dont understand..lol
alpha_company
post Nov 24 2008, 02:42 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

reformat maybe...fresh install..
yuhshengc
post Nov 25 2008, 04:07 PM

13 posts

graphic driver all install?...latest?..^^..

zubai
post Nov 26 2008, 11:14 AM

347 posts

Uninstall the display driver, then use driversweeper to remove any remaining files, reinstall the display driver. This works for me when i experience lagging in crysis dx10.
AlexLee277
post Nov 26 2008, 03:31 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

Your current comp spec are:
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz
4Gb of RAM
GeForce 9800GTX+
Wind Vista 64bit
500GB SATA HDD

Mine..
Intel C2D e6550 2.33ghz
2Gb 800mhz
Ati eah3650
Win Vista Ulti 32bit
250GB sata

Wont lag when playing
*Brother in arms hells highways
*NFS undercover
*Red Alert 3
with a i think optimum setting la...

i dont know y u must play in max setting...
medium and high dint hv any different
just the quality of something...like "a wooden box"..

Added on November 26, 2008, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(insane77 @ Nov 23 2008, 02:28 PM)
Thats wat i dont understand..lol
dont belif what the vista say...
last time i got 5.3 on that gaming rig..
but after i format it 'fresh install' i got
4.6.. vmad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Nov 26 2008, 03:33 PM
TSinsane77
post Dec 3 2008, 12:57 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 26 2008, 03:31 PM)
Your current comp spec are:
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz
4Gb of RAM
GeForce 9800GTX+
Wind Vista 64bit
500GB SATA HDD

Mine..
Intel C2D e6550 2.33ghz
2Gb 800mhz
Ati eah3650
Win Vista Ulti 32bit
250GB sata

Wont lag when playing
*Brother in arms hells highways
*NFS undercover
*Red Alert 3
with a i think optimum setting la...

i dont know y u must play in max setting...
medium and high dint hv any different
just the quality of something...like "a wooden box"..

Added on November 26, 2008, 3:33 pm

dont belif what the vista say...
last time i got 5.3 on that gaming rig..
but after i format it 'fresh install' i got
4.6.. vmad.gif  mad.gif
i've tried to set all in low, but still experienced the same thing..btw, y mz play in max sett? coz i PAY FOR IT!!n i am being very particular in visual and audio
TechnoDude94
post Dec 3 2008, 01:34 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

I agree that you must play in "MAX" settings because you paid for it and it's your right to enjoy it! Please update your graphics card drivers and maybe update the games if there's patches available...
TSinsane77
post Dec 3 2008, 01:37 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 3 2008, 01:34 AM)
I agree that you must play in "MAX" settings because you paid for it and it's your right to enjoy it! Please update your graphics card drivers and maybe update the games if there's patches available...
Oh well, I've done tat too..hmm..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0196sec    1.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:00 PM