Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

TSb00n
post Dec 9 2008, 02:21 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Dec 9 2008, 02:19 PM)
I would like to change my mailing address for my HSBC & Maybankard credit cards.

May I know what is the simplest method to do it?

If you have the internet banking account, you can change it online.
If not, the simplest method is to pick up the phone and call. Simple....ain't it?! rclxub.gif

TSb00n
post Dec 11 2008, 10:58 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Case @ Dec 11 2008, 10:49 PM)
There are these questions that have been bugging me for some time, i wonder if someone can shed some light on it?

It's regarding Easy Payment Scheme (0% interest) available at a lot of the electronic stores etc:

1. Is it correct to think that paying the price separately in 6/9/12/18months is cheaper than paying the full amount in a single payment?
-It is 0% interest, and with inflation looking at 4 or 5%, the value of the monthly payment will actually decrease in time.
-IF keeping the full amount in saving account, drawing interest (although not much), while paying off the monthly payment will further offset it.

2. Is the bank issuing the credit card providing 0% interest Easy Payment Scheme earning any profit from these transactions? from who?
-I guess the bank has to earn profit from somewhere, probably from the store selling the product.

hmm.gif Ladies and Gentlemen, please tell me what you think  icon_idea.gif

Cheers,
Case.
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 11 2008, 10:55 PM)
^You have to take note on the processing fee, hidden fees...

Even it's stated 0% interest... they still can charge you with hidden fees such as processing fee, admin fee, etc etc...
If it's stated 0% it's 0%.
However, the bank as well as Visa and Master still profits from the merchant fees imposed on the transactions.
If we're talking about profit lost here, it is the stores.
TSb00n
post Dec 11 2008, 11:18 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Scopio @ Dec 11 2008, 11:06 PM)
mostly which CC can use to get 0% interest to buy things using installment??

If you ask me, I would say Maybank as they have a lot of merchants.

Added on December 11, 2008, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 11 2008, 11:17 PM)
I was told most banks charge the store 5% for the facility for 0% installment vs the 1-2% service charge for normal transactions. This is how they make their money.

Serious?....wow! That's new. Thanks for the info

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 11 2008, 11:19 PM
TSb00n
post Dec 12 2008, 08:03 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(awaynoway @ Dec 12 2008, 07:51 PM)
No, not all bank requires 12 months old/existing card. Example:
Citibank - at least 6 months cc holder of another bank
UOB - they did not mention how many months is required t/b eligible to apply. 

You can call to check their requirement but Citibank mention in their website -- 6 months.

Or if you want fast.. just fixed deposit RM5K to any bank to get a credit card smile.gif

If you like CL increament with Citibank, try to apply for Gold credit card because their Gold credit card as per their site, auto-increase the CL every 6 months.  I don't have Citibank gold card.  Hopefully anyone who has one can double-check this.

Can provide the link for Citibank's requirement?
IIRC, they required not only 12 months but usually the sales would advise on 18 months.
TSb00n
post Dec 14 2008, 02:20 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Norns @ Dec 14 2008, 01:54 PM)
for mbb card, can i know what is the pin code for atm use ?

What do you need ATM for?
Anyway, the pin usually comes seperate from the card.

TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 10:56 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 15 2008, 10:52 AM)
J'daniel>>

MBB is hardly to gives out cc users unless you has loan with MBB then MBB will automatically gives you.....if you want easier, go for citibank

I think that is the wrong statement to make.
IMO, Citibank card is even harder to apply than MBB or other banks.

TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 11:38 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 15 2008, 11:23 AM)
@b00n,
If a person's credit rating is good and have no debts, I don't see why applying for a CC is such a problem.

That's true; thus the wrong statement made saying that MBB is harder and Citi is easier.
Anyway, Citi has more "overlay policy" that rejects an applicant where normally some other banks would have approved.

One easier example is on the vintage of "other" cards which stated if other cards have limit >6k than only requires 12 months on that card; if not, requires 18 months of card history.

TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 11:44 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Anyway, a little trade secret to disclose.
Lots of banks are being more stringent comes next year.

Good luck.
TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 01:10 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Dec 15 2008, 01:06 PM)
HI!

Im still new to CC biggrin.gif

if i use a credit card,full payment after a week,kene interest tak ?
thx !
A simple answer....if you always pay before the due date; no interest charged.
TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 04:52 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 15 2008, 04:25 PM)
hmm..Its jsut my previous observation. Citibank has been more eager to search for CC users compare to local bank cc users because of their limited restriction by the local government.Hmm..i can say during my time,  citibank was offering everywhere, setting up boot begging for ppl using their cc including myself....& hence automatically increase my credit limits. Eventhough a friend citibank cc agent also mainly target the fresh grad ppl & just approved like that...I terminated citibank because limited branches eventhough they open at puchong branch...IN MBB, i tends to ask for increase 2 times for credit limits due for overseas purposes also got rejected.... mad.gif ....Had been though terminated MBB CC but reluctantly because due to im using the AMEX (has 2x points)....
I also experience use RHB bank, being also request for increase CL also rejected. I frustrated clear all the debt at once & terminate the CC, they call up & will increase the CL for you. I said sorry & thanks for your offer...

The most recently i apply for S.Chartered CC, i really doubts the CL they offering & indeed is a gold card. I was thinking i has some amount in their FD but yet they offering me a disatisfy CL.

In short, i really dont understand how bank evaluate their CC users. Why some CC users can have up to few CC & debt, but we like just oni 2 CC also not entitle to have higher CL.... rclxub.gif

Yes, from my observation Citi tend to increase their customer's limit automatically unlike other banks.
Reality is if one have more cards it's easier for them to get even more cards provided their payment history is good lar...
It's just an unfair world we're living in... wink.gif

TSb00n
post Dec 15 2008, 10:04 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

now wondering whether they are involved.... brows.gif
TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 04:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(jooniez @ Jan 6 2009, 03:13 PM)
i planned to use my credit card to make oversea transaction...purchase item online..but sked of fraud cases...wat should i do ?

In the older days, banks does give a separate account for internet banking known as virtual card where the limit is set to xxxx amount in control of fraud.
But situation now is no one is longer using those. You may ask your specific bank to see whether or not they still have that sort of facility.

If not, that's the risk you need to take while purchasing online.
So far, I haven't encountered any fraud cases on my online transactions.

For that I prefer HSBC card as after entering, it would redirect to another HSBC internet portal to reverify the information keyed in.
Not that it's of any use if fraudsters managed to get your details and account details, just another level of comfort I guess.

TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 06:47 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2009, 06:09 PM)
This is widely used in overseas like Europe and China.

haha...but how many of us here keep our pin?...
The first thing I always do is to tear up and throw the piece of pin slip away.... sweat.gif

TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 10:23 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 6 2009, 10:05 PM)
My friend told me that Citibank is going to change the delivery method from courier to normal pos.

Don't think so.
Confidentiality and fraud prevention is still a priority. Don't think BNM would approve that method..... sweat.gif

TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 10:30 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

oh..if that's so than I guess they would need the card's to be activated than by phoning in.

btw, mail interception is one of the fraud method.
TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 10:38 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Jan 6 2009, 10:36 PM)
i think most of the card need phone activation,but for cimb,i am suprised that the officer say no need to do phone activation.

so any other card that doesnt need phone activation after u receive it?

I recall Citibank and HSBC no need...
RHB needs to.

Anyway, I only have this 3....... wink.gif

TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 10:57 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Jan 6 2009, 10:51 PM)
may i know the phone number for rhb card center

i dial 03-92068118,03-92068228,1800-88-8742 all will be direct to voice mail or automatic hang up after 3 min if nobody pick up the phone
did you call at night? If not mistaken, their call center no night shift.
TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 11:01 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

isit?
Because recently when they send me my renewed card, the letter mentioned call between (I forgot the time); but remember that night time no.... hmm.gif
TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 11:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

yes.... wink.gif
Am in the banking industry.....
TSb00n
post Jan 6 2009, 11:19 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

haha..for my renewed card they sent me 2 confirmation SMS for half a month before they actually mailed it out to me... sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0432sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:02 PM