Studying Overseas, Is it better or local.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 01:22 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

I live in Nebraska.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 01:33 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Its gonna be f***ing cold!!!
P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 09:23 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Vegas will be good. Are you 21? If not, don't bother.

Your parents gotta make sure they have more than sufficient money to cover you abroad. Not only tuition, you must take into consideration other misc expenses that might pop up like medical expenses & travel expenses.

Practice law in UK. That's what people do. Nvr heard of Msian taking law in U.S.

Work on campus as front desk assistant. You can find lotsa on campus jobs. Just gotta look around.

You should compare the purchasing power in every country instead of the price of things. How much stuff you can buy with a dollar. That's what matter most.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 09:32 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yeah, textbooks are so darn expensive!!!! Ridiculously priced!!
P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 11:47 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Also, US law & UK law is different. M'sia is based on UK law. So why study US law. If you wanna study law, better go to Australia / UK.

Added on November 19, 2008, 11:48 pm

Really world renowned? Didn't know that. blink.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 19 2008, 11:48 PM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 20 2008, 02:13 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Wonder how those Ivy's select candidates?
P.I.M.P
post Nov 20 2008, 03:52 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Aite thats cool rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I just wanna clarify. Because 99% of the people I know always think of earning foreign currency and convert to spend in M'sia. YES, that is great to know that you're earning much more. But one have to consider the living expenses abroad. For example, they have to understand if they earn USD, they will have to spend USD. Therefore, one have to talk in terms of purchasing power.

Not like "our leaders", always compare petrol prices in S'pore & M'sia. So frustrating to listen to those comments vmad.gif mad.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 20 2008, 01:41 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Wow. The fees are do darn exp. Unless you're "well funded", then can think of Ivy. I myself dare not think of those.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 04:00 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

So for all of you who's studying abroad now, I assume you guys don't plan to go home in future right?
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 04:52 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

AGREED icon_rolleyes.gif . With those special rights issue, there is no equality in M'sia. Although we are taught to think that M'sia have equality, but in reality no no wink.gif wink.gif . In terms of girls, not gonna comment further on that.

Why is there culture shock? Just change of environment only. Of course, there are a lot of differences between U.S & M'sia. BTW, you're in U.S now?

Why wouldn't you have a family in KL? Your parents?

Well, parents you only got 1, but boyfriend you still can choose in time to come.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 10:23 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Oh gotcha.
Wow, you're a visionary. You look WAY ahead in time. thumbup.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 12:40 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

What you do during weekends depends on your lifestyle. How & where you grew up in.

As for me, I used to party like 3-4 nights a week. Non-stop back to back in my Sophomore & Junior year. Even if I have class the next morning, I never fail to show up to drinking parties & clubs rclxms.gif rclxms.gif . But as you enter your Senior year, you'll set all these "activities" aside & focus more on serious stuff like building your career. Now, during my weekends, I usually stay at home & watch movie or TV series. I dunno why but I kinda not in the mood for all these "things" already. Of course, once in a while I'll go & hang out & enjoy myself. But not as often as before. I spent A LOT on booze last time. Uncountable icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif . As for the sex part, sometimes got la wub.gif .

How you wanna mix & who you wanna is again up to yourself. No harm making more friends. As the Chinese proverb goes, "its better to have 1 more friend than 1 more enemy" icon_rolleyes.gif . I'm cool hanging out with everybody, be it blacks, whites, browns, yellows, greens, purples, pinky. Always remember, you're in a foreign land and respect people's culture. In return, people will respect you as a M'sian notworthy.gif.

Yes, no doubt U.S is the land of freedom & change. But some things are beyond our control like the "special rights" thing. Can't really do anything about it but just to live with it. Things are different every, just gotta adapt to the surroundings lo whistling.gif. What to do? Close one eyes

Added on November 21, 2008, 12:45 pmHey when you guys go back to M'sia, we can have a gathering perhaps. What say you guys?

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 21 2008, 12:45 PM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 01:25 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Haha. I was super wild last time. Last time la k. Thurs, Fri, Sat night confirm I'll be "there" icon_idea.gif . No absentism for me in this matter. Last time in college was also wild with friends.

But now gone are the days. More stable & know how to prioritize things already. Please enjoy your time while you can. Especially your time here in America. After this, you won't know what you will turn into. Hehe.

What girls part?
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 01:38 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Ya lor. Why not you share your thoughts here rather than "spamming".
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 01:46 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yeah. Like I said, depends on individuals' lifestyle. Everyone has different interest & likes.

Any thoughts on the gathering session some time in future? All U.S LYN-ers
P.I.M.P
post Nov 21 2008, 03:42 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Sounds like a good plan man!!! During the gathering, each of us gotta stand up & give speech. Like sekolah menengah, hahaha.

Wah you think I pimp meh? Bring white chicks. Got also reserve for maself la. The more the merrier. Me like!! smile.gif

Oh I won't be back so soon. Gonna travel to NY in from Dec 23 - Jan 9. Then I'm off to Europe for 32 days. Hehe.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 22 2008, 02:33 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

I'll be there from Dec 23 to Jan 1. Then off to DC & Boston.

Just travel around lo since graduate already.

Added on November 22, 2008, 2:35 amEh recommend some nice M'sia restaurants in NY.

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 22 2008, 02:35 AM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 22 2008, 05:56 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Too darn long nvr eat M'sia food already. Well maybe I'll get to eat next week when I go to Chicago for Thankgiving sale. Shopping spree time!!!

XO in Chinatown got it. Cool cool. I'm not going to Jersey tho. sad.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 22 2008, 04:44 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Thats true. Study abroad will make you a strong person & ready to take on challenges. IMO icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah you'll meet all kind of people from every corner of the world. Great experience. Especially for those who are eager to meet girls from around the world wub.gif doh.gif .

Yeah ate there before. Those waiter ain't friendly tho. Their face like muka masam. Bad customer service. Damn tulan.

Food ok la. whistling.gif whistling.gif . Wow got hygiene issue ka. Need to find other places to eat d.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 23 2008, 04:12 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

When you live on campus, you will be stuck with nothing but those American food. Trust me on this, you be sick & bored with those dorm food by the end of your 1st week eating in the dorm. Depends on which U you're going. Every U has its own meal-plan policy. Like in my U, we can choose to have 5 days or 7 days meal plan. Unlimited access to the cafeteria, just enter & eat as & when you like.

Stuff I brought: LOTSA CASH, credit card, clothing, some maggi me, bkt spices, toiletries. That's about it. Don't pack liquid stuff into your carry on luggage. If not, when you go thru security screening in the airport, very mafan. To avoid hassle & speed up the process, better not bring any liquid unless you have liquid form of medication.

Wow New York after SPM. I'm jealous oh!!!! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

I think those electronics not necessary to bring. Mp3 players are dirt cheap here. So better buy here if you like iPods. thumbup.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0309sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:31 PM