Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900 V2, Official Rom=DZIA5, Leaked ROM=DZIA2

mmmbop
post Nov 26 2008, 05:55 PM

753 posts

Hello y'all, my first posting in this forum. I'm an omnian as well since about a month. 8Gb + 4Gb in H3. have several issues to ironed out. especially the poor ROM and Ram available in my phone currently as well as looking for new and better ROM update. battery lasts for a day and a half for normal use.

Should have some more to ask but am leaving home now. Have read the locked thread omnia but just can't get all through (126 pages woo..I managed up to 50 pges only already tired) as such I'll get back to all of you soon tomorrow.

QUOTE(keeekeee @ Nov 26 2008, 03:25 PM)
anyone know where got capcase case for omnia?
just a brief one. i bought the piece along with my precious omnie at digital mall PJ. not sure whether i really bought it, since after a hard negotiate, I think i managed to buy it at just RM 1 thumbup.gif ..seriously..the salesman put the capdase at 80 so in total it's 2780..but then i push him till he give me 2.7k only.. rclxms.gif ..not the cheapest but at least I got 2 pouch now biggrin.gif

Again..hello everyone!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Nov 26 2008, 05:57 PM
mmmbop
post Nov 27 2008, 03:30 PM

753 posts

Ok..since a lot has flashed their ROM, 2 main q's to those who have done it:

1. any improvement on the battery life?
2. more storage memory?

my storage memory now left at 1.31 Mb and 50.89 Mb for the program memory..my understanding the first one refers to ROM memory while the latter for RAM isn't?

other than installing SKTools or MemMaid, will the K1 release more space for this? I'm fed up to clear up the cache after surfing since it lowered my storage memory a lot.

hence, a lot of notifications saying memory low.

these 2 are my main concern now..battery drainage and very low memory..I guess if anyone realise, the samsung omnia's phamplet stating that omnia supposed to come up with 512Mb and 256 Ram!

though i know they say spec can be changed without notice don't u think that's a deep misleading? some might say great marketing but I say, don't bluff ur customer..

another thing, how exactly you guys check the name of the latest FW available at the samsung website..I tried but can't find any?

and what's the official one from samsung website? H3 or K1? as i prefer to have it done officially at samsung's.

Edited: Oh i know some of you may say refer to the first page for the new update of ROM but can someone please point me where to check the version at the website?

Another thing..may i point out that the picture for this omnia thread is actually F480 and not omnia? smile.gif

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Nov 27 2008, 04:10 PM
mmmbop
post Nov 27 2008, 04:16 PM

753 posts

one more thing..has anyone tried microsoft voice command on omnia?
mmmbop
post Nov 28 2008, 09:16 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Nov 27 2008, 04:46 PM)
didn't notice that it wasn't an omnia, actually i just copied the one from the old thread. I'll find a new one soon tongue.gif

regarding the latest ROM, u can't actually check the FW, u'll only see it from the download link itself. and as far as i know the official ROM was DXHJ1 but suddenly it is back to DXHH3. the latest leaked ROM is DXHK1, for the link u have to scroll a few pages back smile.gif
Thanks..mine currently XHH3/ZHH3 but it seems that every single latest ROM comes up with bugs. So exactly how the latest K1 fares?will it resolved the ill battery life?

I believe with H3, the battery life is quite erratic..one day you'll get a marvellous performance with almost 2 days gone to deplete..not to mention it requires almost 12 hours for the battery bar to reduce to 90%

and then another day, you stop charging at midnight to the fullest..next morning you know the has already phone auto switched off..so weird rclxub.gif

I must add that different users use differrently in terms of type of application and frequency though..not to mention types of FW used and modification like spb..

plus, i realize to those who use mapking which must come with port splitter, as someone said they should close the apps when not in used. which I had suspected as the battery scoop as well..but please be alert, to close the apps..you HAVE to click STOP then click OK at the top..only then it will really STOP..if any of you click STOP then exit, it will turn on again later on..unless you uncheck the autostart..but that means you have to manually enter the port name for the gps later.

just sharing

p/s: karl, you should rename the FW of the links to the samsung site since it's no longer J1 but only H3

Added on November 28, 2008, 9:36 am
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 27 2008, 10:41 PM)
Make sure your internal memory have at least 5mb and above left.

If you still encounter it when you have >5mb memory, go to Task Manager and end all programs.
Strange..mine notably has 1.3 MB storage left, (must be because of my preference to use mp3 as the ringtone - 8 songs and they ate 40MB of my ROM blush.gif ) but camera works flawlessly..i must admit such error does happen initially when i buy the phone but now no such thing happens anymore

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Nov 28 2008, 09:44 AM
mmmbop
post Jan 5 2009, 04:50 PM

753 posts

I'm not sure whether this has been discussed or not..read the previous thread half thru..can't make it to the last..too long..pheww..

but can someone actually make the geotag really functioning? I have read some post in other forum, they have the same problem as well..anyone knows whether the new ROM solve this prob?
mmmbop
post Jan 6 2009, 12:08 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jan 5 2009, 09:54 PM)
it works for me~ using HK1~
check out that the location are correct and same as my location in gps garmin
That's good to hear. I'm still using the dinosaur ROM..will update soon. Thanks

Added on January 6, 2009, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(lynxs @ Jan 6 2009, 12:13 AM)
works for me. its just that sometimes it takes time to get a fix. Even worked on the earlier ROM i had on before i upgraded. just go to a clear area and wait awhile till the satellite dish logo turns green
Done that. I'm still on H3..guess that's the main reason

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 6 2009, 12:12 PM
mmmbop
post Jan 7 2009, 09:08 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(tercupee @ Jan 7 2009, 12:42 AM)
installation part i guess no problem la,
but then we need to modified abit the file rite?
and then load the map,
change settings all i dont know la...
hahahaha...
damn it...

Added on January 7, 2009, 1:23 amah...
damn boring la...
working til 3am...  yawn.gif
well u must start somewhere right? everyone start from the scratch..once you have mastered, u can do wonders with the gps..

Added on January 7, 2009, 10:03 am
(lhongwuh @ Jan 6 2009, 02:44 PM)
i just changed from HG2 to HK3...
time for u to change bro!!
come and join us!!!

Love to.. but too risky to do it at work..office server has been bengong this few days
Added on January 7, 2009, 9:18 am
(lynxs @ Jan 6 2009, 09:13 PM)
dude....im only using J1 now and before this i was using G3. Dont think its your rom problem, but you could try and upgrade and see. btw, does your garmin/mapking work well?

Well yeah i'll check on whether the update will solve the mess. been using mapking since day one. works marvellously

anyway, the geotag has nothing to do with the type of navigation software that we use right?

how exactly you switch on the gps when using the camera? mine, the gps icon on the camera is there. but does not turns to green
Added on January 7, 2009, 9:21 am
(lhongwuh @ Jan 6 2009, 09:37 PM)
HG2 to HK3 my gps improves like a lot...
with xtra disabled,can lock within 5min...gud enuf for me!!
bro,try upgrade rom,nothg to lose,evrythg to gain!!

err..that doesn't seems to be an improvement ..with my current H3, 3 minutes lock is normal
Added on January 7, 2009, 9:28 am
(tercupee @ Jan 6 2009, 10:35 PM)
i've been using my phone since it got released out
but i've never got my gps functioned
cuz i dont know how...
heheheh... 

man..that's a real wastage..it's the new hottest madness hobby mind you..once tried..you'll get addicted

i'm even using it to go to mamak that's only 500m from my house ..

it's either a hobby or addiction (therapy not included)
Added on January 7, 2009, 9:33 am
(natzakaria @ Jan 6 2009, 10:58 PM)
Something odd
I used to set my gmail using the auto setting methods.
It connects and downloads the folders etc but messages are not showing.
Anyone encounter this?
Whats the fix?

same here..push email works..but apparently will show those messages that you have in inbox..but messages that you move to any customize folder will not show up..I have yet to find a solution to this..i guess maybe need to fine tune the setting..

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 7 2009, 10:03 AM
mmmbop
post Jan 9 2009, 08:44 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jan 8 2009, 11:21 PM)
sent to u oso...hehe laugh.gif
ehem..can i have it as well? rclxms.gif

been using mapking previously..now have installed gmxt..don't know which port is the best..tolong plez icon_question.gif
mmmbop
post Jan 9 2009, 09:29 AM

753 posts

anyone knows whether apps in java can be back up? I have yet to update fw and willing to..but afraid lose all precious data. others I have use the PIM Backup
mmmbop
post Jan 9 2009, 12:32 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Jan 9 2009, 12:18 PM)
In theory Sprite Backup or Spb Backup could backup all data including system files and registry. Do a complete backup and hard reset and restore from backup, you will have all data intact like before your hard reset.
Thanx..seems that I have to install another aps for the back-up..anyway, I have downloaded gmxt 4.20.50 yesterday..keeps on hanging cry.gif ..anyone has a solution..previously used mapking works extra fine..

mmmbop
post Jan 14 2009, 10:13 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(kyleng @ Jan 9 2009, 02:27 PM)
PM u the link for latest 5.00.20w GMXT d (wf step by step guide), please check. you can refer the 1st post in this topic too.
Hi there. Have installed Garmin but it also keeps on hanging. can open but after few seconds will hang. shakehead.gif ..

can someone confirm whether both garmin and mapking can sit side by side harmoniously in omnia? bcos i haven't uninstall mapking..and not willing to bcos it works great with mapking..could this be the problem? two nav apps in a device. I heard someone does have both in omnia and got no prob..or is it the port splitter?

another apps that i installed is microsoft voice command..could this be the culprit? because i dont see anyone using this apps

Ohh..headache!! rclxub.gif
mmmbop
post Jan 14 2009, 11:28 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Jan 14 2009, 11:05 AM)
I can confirm that there is no problem with Omnia installed with Garmin and Mapking together.

What is your device Storage capacity? It should be at least 10MB to prevent hanging.
With Garmin installed i still have 25MB left..which supposed to be sufficient..previously i installed the 4.20.20 also hang..

I'm on H3 and maybe later go for K3..FW got anything to do with this?
mmmbop
post Jan 14 2009, 12:21 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(DrWho @ Jan 14 2009, 11:58 AM)
I don't think firmware is the cause. Did you use Task Manager to exit all Programs rather than just close?
I can assure you that's my routine every time after running any application..now i suspect something amiss during the installation..but i have followed every step as in the link given by kyleng
mmmbop
post Jan 15 2009, 12:12 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(kyleng @ Jan 14 2009, 01:08 PM)
but i'm using it fine worr..
might it b port setting? or....???
anyone experience this before?
don't think it's the port thingy..If the garmin doesn't work then probably I have to fine tune the setting..problem is, the garmin itself hang after several seconds opening it..I have to mention that I did not click the map or any setting on the garmin..simply open the garmin and leave it at the main screen it will then hang..

weird.. rclxub.gif

Added on January 15, 2009, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jan 14 2009, 01:47 PM)
garmin + mapking should be no problem leh...
i think the problem is with ur garmin installatiion process...
u must have missed out sumthg thr..

Added on January 14, 2009, 1:47 pmbtw,i'm using garmin xt 5th edition
Don't know..could be..but I think I have diligently follow all the steps..but once I put the..ahem .unl file into the garmin storage card folder, the hang starts

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 15 2009, 12:43 PM
mmmbop
post Jan 19 2009, 04:58 PM

753 posts

I think not..unless you browse..the charge comes in when you ARE receiving the bytes
mmmbop
post Feb 3 2009, 11:13 AM

753 posts

Mine works fine transferring file with nokia. but failed when with a laptop. i guess the setting must play some part.

Added on February 3, 2009, 11:15 amHi, I realized that mine can't open GPS using Gmaps.it will crash after few seconds.the same thing happens when I try using Garmin.but with mapking it's works fine. what kind of problem I'm having here?

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Feb 3 2009, 11:15 AM
mmmbop
post Feb 3 2009, 11:21 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Feb 2 2009, 11:11 AM)
@tplcaik
HK3 is okay. But battery usage really sucky... now on DXIA2. Still waiting for the battery to deplete. Then I know if the battery usage is heavy or not. wink.gif

@refugeez86
Hahaha... baca from Modaco jer... wink.gif
HK3 battery sucks? how bad is it compared to H3? I'm lazy to update if the battery problem still persists
mmmbop
post Feb 13 2009, 09:44 AM

753 posts

hey guys, currently updating the official fw..yeah i know..very slow only now wants to upgrade..

but a got a problem..after image verified nothing happens..no download activity, no percentage progress..nothing..it simply a blank white empty space there..

so waht should i do?

should i unplug the cable now? is it safe?

I'm planning to go the centre anyway..

anyone? pleasee
mmmbop
post Feb 13 2009, 10:11 AM

753 posts

antivirus must be close also?

damn it..

almost half an hour now..still nothing happens

then what next?

Added on February 13, 2009, 10:16 amanyone please?

I'm so itchy to unplug the cable n right away give it to the pro to do it..

been waiting but doesn't seems to be anything happens..

if i simply close the apps then remove the cable ok ar?

Added on February 13, 2009, 10:21 amnvm already close everything n unplugged..thank god nothing happens because i guess because indeed nothing has been downloaded as well

mayb i was not born for winmo..simple thing still can't do it by myself..sigh..

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Feb 13 2009, 10:21 AM
mmmbop
post Feb 13 2009, 12:08 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Feb 13 2009, 11:51 AM)
eh no need to connect internet ke? i tot need internet connection..
so if i run leaked rom also no need to connect internet?

btw diz is my 666 post haha..and the post is in diz thread..
same wif my hp num for celcom and maxis..and today is friday 13th hohohoho laugh.gif
and diz page is 86 same wif my birth year hehe..
sorry off topic here tongue.gif
No la.. it means that you still have to connect to internet to download and save the application into your PC.later on you runs it as usual la from PC like any other apps..that's where you don't have to connect..

BTW thanks to all that reply..I'm fed up and already at the samsung centre right now..let them do the job blush.gif

0.0252sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:52 PM