Scam or Not? Prestige Dairy Farm, they collect money for dairy farm invest

getsmart
post Nov 22 2008, 06:22 PM

326 posts

Business JV among friends/family/relatives also can go sour, some more this is some stranger you meet for 2 hrs biggrin.gif

Even when buying house, we should look for good developers with good history. It all boils down to trust. Unfortunately, many Malaysians tend to trust strangers, even those sms and email scams.

getsmart
post Nov 24 2008, 07:06 PM

326 posts

keikun, you got sign any contract document or not? what does the contract say about selling back your cows to them?

one should have an "exit strategy" for any investment or business ventures.

getsmart
post Nov 25 2008, 12:17 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 24 2008, 07:13 PM)
first investment for me, they say sign here and there...in the end no contract for me yet until finalising everything, i paid 30% only using credit card and the rest not paid yet

anyway to stop the credit card payment, i tried to call the banks and they say they can't stop it even though its not claimed by the company yet...only the company can stop it
If there is a cooling off period usually it's 7 days, you can cancel the deal.

You bought 3 cows for RM26K each and paid RM23,400 (30%) for your first investment? For an investment which no one heard of or ever successfully invested in before? That's taking a big risk.
getsmart
post May 29 2009, 03:49 PM

326 posts

@firdaus
All these information should be in a prospectus given by PDF if they do have a prospectus.

BTW, their website http://www.prestigedairyfarm.com projects 12.5% (not guaranteed) return for 8 yrs.

Personally, with 26k, i rather invest in some big listed companies with proven profitable history. What's with all these agro businesses like growing agarwood, leeches, earthworms, milk cows, etc nowadays? Government got subsidise money or give grant ?
getsmart
post Jun 2 2009, 10:53 AM

326 posts

@firdaus
What guarantee they will buy back the cow when you want to sell?
If they so rich, why need your investment?
If banks won't lend them money (let's say at 6% only) why should you?

Big listed companies has been making money year after year even in bad economy smile.gif. How can you compare with a SDN BHD that has never made profit?

getsmart
post Jun 4 2009, 09:54 AM

326 posts

@firdaus
Your arguments are quite fair and reasonable ... you're welcome to 'kay-poh'.

If you want GUARANTEE returns like Tsukasa say Amanah saham and bonds (Sukuk) are guaranteed by government. Not forgetting SSPN if you have kids.

But that's not the GUARANTEE i'm asking from PDF. The GUARANTEE i'm asking is that i know how the company is handling it's finance. By law, SDN BHD says it's none of your business. So how can you know the facts?

Can they GUARANTEE that investors will know:
- how many cows were bought
- how many investors (you can audit the number of cows, but how to audit the number of investors?)
- how many litres of milk produced and sold for how much
- how much the cost of rearing the cows.
- PDF is lossing money or gaining money
- ALL the FACTS above verified by reputable 3rd party auditors.

This is not 'dig a bone from the egg'. Just happen too often. Company like Swishcash paying earlier investor with money from later investors.... a 'money game' call-it-want-you-like (business/investment/scam). The fact is many investor money is burned and you can still can this BUSINESS. Here's a saying "Malaysians are so gullible (senang kena tipu)". Therefore need external auditors ... we are too busy to check on them ourselves.

Lastly, let me emphasis this proven profitable history.

This post has been edited by getsmart: Jun 4 2009, 10:43 AM
getsmart
post Jun 9 2009, 12:09 AM

326 posts

@firdaus
You guess correctly, I haven't been to any of their seminars.

I'm not jumping to conclusion that it's a scam. My conclusion is that it's not that easy to make money even by milking cow. Why would i think malaysia can be good at producing milk? Palm oil maybe lar. Like that Country Heights Grower Scheme, selling plots of land... there's a thread here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/545351. But even if looks good, like you say "don't go into it blindly without knowing".

Most Malaysian will know the name "Dutch Lady" http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=3026.KL . Now, IF i really believe in milk business, that's a company i will gladly invest my money with.

This post has been edited by getsmart: Jun 9 2009, 09:44 AM

0.0171sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:58 PM