[FAQ] Which Distro?, Fedora, Mandrake, Gentoo, SUSE, etc.

mfa333
post Nov 4 2008, 01:07 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

Guys, what distro is the best for my needs?

my daily task:
*microsoft office (openoffice's powerpoint can be opened on microsoft powerpoint? openoffice can open ms office 2007's filetype?)
*firefox
*foobar2000 for mp3 (or other player that is light and similar to foobar)
*a player that can run mkv files (high definition video 720p and 1080p)
*can support usb hsdpa huawei e220 modem
*can read ntfs partition
*kde 4

ubuntu 8.10? linux mint?

This post has been edited by mfa333: Nov 5 2008, 07:17 PM
mfa333
post Nov 5 2008, 07:16 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(sc4bbk @ Nov 5 2008, 04:17 PM)
Firefox has great support for Linux, but I use opera anyway.  biggrin.gif
Personally i think Amarok is good enough for my music needs, so i don't use foobar.
The ability to play multimedia files (mkv, avi, wma etc) depends on the multimedia backend and the codec available in your system, so not really an issue with player.
I'm using kaffein and mkv files play just fine.
For celcom modems (Globe surfer and blue cube) i depends in UMTSmon to connect them to internet. Should work with Huawei modem as well.
and for NTFS support, most distros comes with ntfs-3g so you can read and write to NTFS partitions.

And for microsoft office, I think Open Office's writer is good enough. But Impress(power point) is a bit impossible for me.  cool2.gif  In the case when i need to make nice presentation slides i'll just fire up Windows XP from VirtualBox and launce Office 2007 from there.  rclxms.gif

Open office will open Microsoft Office's documents without problem. But if you wan to open OpenOffice documents in microsoft office, take a look at
"Sun ODF Plugin for Microsoft Office"
Oh, btw, did I forgot to mention I'm openSUSE user?  rclxm9.gif
thanks for the tips... thumbup.gif

for you, which distro suits me best?

p/s: forgot to mention i need kde4 too tongue.gif
mfa333
post Nov 6 2008, 03:33 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(sc4bbk @ Nov 5 2008, 08:43 PM)
If you need KDE4, i suggest you go for Distro with KDE 4.1. Personally i think KDE4.0 is not very useble even in openSUSE. (Ppl say that they have the best KDE4 integration)

So far for the main GNU/Linux distro only Mandriva and Kubuntu officially come with KDE4.1. I installed Mandriva 2009.0 on my friend's laptop before. Quite stable. But I do not particularly like the distro bcuz of its package management & Network Configuration. I haven't tried Kubuntu 8.10 though.

If you dun need KDE4 then I'll say openSUSE 11.0 or Mint 5 (Gnome/KDE). You might need to mount NTFS partition on your own(the point & click in KDE3.5.9 has some problems) and install codecs, driver etc in openSUSE though. Mint 5 is really easy to use. Almost everything work out of the box. But i'm using openSUSE now cuz my laptop works best with it and it's really powerful.

If you wan a lot of community support then go for Ubuntu.  biggrin.gif

The choice is yours  biggrin.gif
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

which should i go.... rclxub.gif

mint is all-rounder for beginner but no kde4.
ubuntu have abit problems with codecs and no kde4 too...
opensuse have prob with ntfs mounting..
kubuntu= same as ubuntu right(with just kde4 instead of gnome)?
mfa333
post Nov 9 2008, 05:11 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Nov 8 2008, 06:03 PM)
amarok..is rock ! heeh...great for music...im just using acs 45.1 and do minor equalizer .adjustment.. produce clean bass...
amarok need KDE based linux right? how to get it working in ubuntu? i'm more into sound tweaking/adjustment than cooler interface...
mfa333
post Nov 9 2008, 11:33 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(ayob99 @ Nov 9 2008, 10:57 PM)
Amarok can run on Gnome Desktop (which is Ubuntu default desktop maanager) too but if you want a KDE based Ubuntu, get Kubuntu.
oh really? i thought it was for only KDE coz after i downloaded it using add/remove program, there's error when installing amarok....

now trying exaile as music player...

what's the best movie player for ubuntu? especially to play mkv high definition movies...
mfa333
post Nov 11 2008, 05:06 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

not sure what error... but after reboot ubuntu can install already...

i tried various players like totem-gstreamer, totem-xine, mplayer and vlc to play mkv 1080p video but all have some stutter problem during playback. Playback on the same rig but in XP was smooth. Its like the players cant maximize my cpu and gpu performance during playback of 1080p. Is there any workaround for this?

0.0172sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:55 AM