Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

[FAQ] Which Distro?, Fedora, Mandrake, Gentoo, SUSE, etc.

views

mayhammer
post Apr 28 2012, 11:14 AM

Getting Started
123 posts

as a newbie, I find opensuse 12.1 most Windows Friendly..
Quite intuitive and any queries is easily found on the web

I also tried a few other distros, but I find OpenSuse most polished and bug-free...
mayhammer
post Jun 29 2017, 07:03 PM

Getting Started
123 posts

just to share

i am not a linux guru. linux is something that I wanted to use coz of deluge torrent application. at the time of my linux adventure, deluge was able to punch thru whatever rubbish tm was doing.

long story short, i realized that linux has it own set of problems. i wont say linux is perfect, for me, far from perfect. when i tried ubuntu and its parent/derivatives, I had issues with ppa. sometimes the stable stream has really freaking old package which irritated me a lot.

then i tried fedora/redhat/centos and etc. i end up downloading rpm packages from rpmsource and etc for the stuff i need. As the advise go, always install from original repo, but I am not because the original repo doesnt have the software!

so i covered the. deb and .rpm ones and i find myself thinking linux world sucks.

then i ontinued to tinker around and I found bodhi linux, which for whatever reason, i feel the learning curve is low. so i was with it for a while, until some upgrades killed it. Maybe I screwed up something, but heck, I dont have time to go figure out what went wrong. Despite a few hours effort to revive it, I was still stuck with a dead linux box. Luckily it was a VM. Spun another Bodhi and remounted the disk drives.

off then i went to opensuse, which yast2 and zypper was awesome. but opensuse didn't feel quite right and i had issues with old packages as well. Had issues with conflicting updates and not sure which packages to choose.