[FAQ] Which Distro?, Fedora, Mandrake, Gentoo, SUSE, etc.

beyond_99
post Oct 9 2008, 04:23 PM

1,035 posts

http://damnsmalllinux.org/download.html
Which one should i download?
How, if I wan to make it boot from usb pen drive?
Just extract files into pendrive?

beyond_99
post Oct 12 2008, 02:51 PM

1,035 posts

1.Download the HP-USB Format tool and format your flash drive using the Fat or Fat32 option
2.Download the dsl-embedded.zip and extract the contents using 7-Zip to your "USB flash drive"
3.Download syslinux-3.36.zip and unzip the files to a directory called syslinux on your computer
4.From Windows click start-> run-> cmd
5.From the command window, type cd \syslinux\win32
6.Type syslinux.exe -ma X: (replace X with your USB drive letter) to make the drive bootable
7.Reboot your computer and set your system BIOS or Boot Menu to boot from the USB device. In some cases, you might also need to set the hard disk boot priority to boot from the USB stick if your BIOS lists the device as a hard drive.

I cant understand step 5 n 6.
I think i will try to use uNETbootin to do it.
They are same ,right?
beyond_99
post Oct 27 2008, 06:20 PM

1,035 posts

When Linux is installed, is it necessary to install GRUB?
How to remove it when I am not using LInux anymore?
Can I install Linux on externall hdd n boot from it?
beyond_99
post Oct 28 2008, 06:37 PM

1,035 posts

U mean that if my mobo support USB boot then I could continue to do it?
If GRUB is not present, can Linux be used?
I had went through some webs, and I don know exactly how to remove it.
beyond_99
post Oct 29 2008, 03:52 PM

1,035 posts

So , by default, my pc is using Windows bootloader?
Btw, are all the instalation files same for all Linux(ubuntu, fedora,debian)?

This post has been edited by beyond_99: Oct 29 2008, 10:44 PM
beyond_99
post Oct 30 2008, 03:20 PM

1,035 posts

I mean the installation files of software such as Opera.
Diffent distro need different or same instalation file of software?
I had decided to install on my external hdd(mobo support USB boot)
I dun have problem with partitioning(done it before).
Then, I need GRUB to boot Linux, right?
beyond_99
post Nov 4 2008, 07:48 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Nov 4 2008, 01:07 PM)
Guys, what distro is the best for my needs?

my daily task:
*microsoft office
*firefox
*foobar2000 for mp3
*a player that can run mkv files (high definition video 720p and 1080p)
*can support usb hsdpa huawei e220 modem
*can read ntfs partition

ubuntu 8.10? linux mint?
Foobar do not support Linux.
U have to use windows emulator in order to run foobar and Windows app.
beyond_99
post Mar 6 2009, 01:25 PM

1,035 posts

I want to know what is the difference between KDE n GNOME?

Added on March 6, 2009, 1:27 pmBesides from here, is there anymore?
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/kdegnome
Btw, can i use same packages in ubuntu n kubuntu ?

This post has been edited by beyond_99: Mar 6 2009, 01:27 PM

0.0158sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:47 PM