DotA I need help with DotA, Warcraft 3 Local Area Network
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 07:43 AM, updated 18y ago
Hi, I need help with DotA. When me and my friend start the game and you wait for everybody then you get to the point when you just come in and is gonna select hero, then my friend gets disconnected. This is in my own local area network game. Please help me.
This post has been edited by Ryuz: Oct 30 2008, 07:50 AM
frankieNrosie
Oct 30 2008, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(Ryuz @ Oct 30 2008, 07:43 AM) Hi, I need help with DotA. When me and my friend start the game and you wait for everybody then you get to the point when you just come in and is gonna select hero, then my friend gets disconnected. This is in my own local area network game. Please help me. how do u connect btw the PC..? by using switch or directly btw 2 PCs..?
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 07:58 AM
We have an internet cable that connects to a router.
breaker84
Oct 30 2008, 08:11 AM
try to ping yur friend pc.. to ensure that the connection is smooth.. start > cmd > enter > enter "ping yur_friend_ip -t"
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 08:13 AM
Yea I did that and it's smooth
serigala
Oct 30 2008, 08:25 AM
firewall block ur friend pc..check both..
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 08:28 AM
We aren't using the firewalls atm
serigala
Oct 30 2008, 08:46 AM
ip setting?
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 08:51 AM
What are you meaning ? We can't have same ip since the network isen't allowing it.
serigala
Oct 30 2008, 09:14 AM
yup..same gateway and subnet mask? if both also ok..then dunno where the prob really is..
TSRyuz
Oct 30 2008, 09:16 AM
Maybe it's some lagg or spike :S
yelsew
Nov 1 2008, 07:21 AM

I faced that problem before as well. I just switch to other PC to create the game and it's fine. Still unable to find the cause of the problem...
greatgreedyguts
Nov 3 2008, 03:23 PM
Server splits. Happens often in badly coded scripts in many maps.
Check to see if hosting other maps have the same problem. If it is then there's something wrong with your network settings. If not then it's the server splits.
This post has been edited by greatgreedyguts: Nov 3 2008, 03:32 PM
fadzly
Nov 8 2008, 09:18 PM
alot of possibility but the most common one is 1) uncompatible version of W3 2) user using uncompatible Maphack 3) network issues - Firewall might be, Antivirus also might be
to tackle the issues are 1) copy new warcraft game to the hard disk from ppl that can play w3 2) Use the compatible Maphack - however it's unlikely to happen because not a lot of Maphack release that are compatible with the new version 1.22a..
jason18689
Nov 8 2008, 11:29 PM
if the version is different, your first wont be able to join your game.... so its not caused by different version..
SUSLalaMui
Nov 10 2008, 11:05 PM
still got people play dota meh ?