Electric Guitar + Amp, which 1 to choose?

TSSeng_Kiat
post Oct 29 2008, 07:01 PM, updated 18y ago

5,580 posts

I am looking for electric guitar and amp for my bro birthday. He is just beginer and play for hobby only. My budget is less than RM1000. From my reading, I found that Roland Micro Cube is quite a good amp and it is just cost me around 400++.

Do you guys have any suggestion on guitar and amp? which 1 should I go to? which brand?

I am noob in this field. Is it enough to buy guitar + amp? or do I need any other extra stuff to make it works? thanks in advance. smile.gif.

Added on October 29, 2008, 7:10 pmand, where is the shop that provide good service and price? smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Oct 29 2008, 07:10 PM
pitinn
post Oct 29 2008, 09:02 PM

261 posts

Your bro is new to guitar...?
MicroCUbe is definitely a good practice amp.....no doubt....
FOr guitar ,
Nid to see wat type of guitar your bro like....
azrinarizz
post Oct 29 2008, 09:15 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

What guitar shape you like? Les Paul? Strat? smile.gif
x-crusader
post Oct 29 2008, 09:31 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Oct 29 2008, 07:01 PM)

I am looking for electric guitar and amp for my bro birthday. He is just beginer and play for hobby only. My budget is less than RM1000. From my reading, I found that Roland Micro Cube is quite a good amp and it is just cost me around 400++.

Do you guys have any suggestion on guitar and amp? which 1 should I go to? which brand?

I am noob in this field. Is it enough to buy guitar + amp? or do I need any other extra stuff to make it works? thanks in advance. smile.gif.

Added on October 29, 2008, 7:10 pmand, where is the shop that provide good service and price? smile.gif.
hope i have a bro like u.. tongue.gif
get a squier + roland microcube is gud already..
TSSeng_Kiat
post Oct 30 2008, 07:46 AM

5,580 posts

what is the different strat and les paul?

how much for a squier?
blacktrix
post Oct 30 2008, 09:29 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

All the info you need here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/169463
kenetix
post Oct 30 2008, 02:03 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 30 2008, 09:29 AM)
All the info you need here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/169463
cube + squire/low end ibanez/les paul copies (some are quite cheap and good!) = win
TSSeng_Kiat
post Oct 31 2008, 11:26 PM

5,580 posts

where is the right place to get a guitar? can get around 300-400? .. biggrin.gif
sarcast
post Oct 31 2008, 11:32 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

that price.. can get SX or stagg
mushimushi88
post Nov 1 2008, 03:40 AM

293 posts

below RM500 get stratocaster, LP cost more than 500+
TSSeng_Kiat
post Nov 1 2008, 07:14 AM

5,580 posts

I think, I will get ck music starter package. Looks a good deal. smile.gif.
Kelvw
post Nov 1 2008, 08:44 AM

1,591 posts

You can get the microcube for less than 400 at TheGuitarStore too. It's pretty cheap. smile.gif
Otherwise look out for the Peavey Vypr, not sure it's available in Msia yet... but it's pretty versatile. Thought of getting one myself.

zariqcools
post Nov 1 2008, 11:30 AM

Kerr
711 posts

just buy sx packs
TSSeng_Kiat
post Nov 1 2008, 11:55 AM

5,580 posts

Starter pack from ckmusic looks good. RM900 can gs200 craftsman, korg tuner, line6 spider III 15w, and also the goodies such as bag, cable and strap.
mushimushi88
post Nov 1 2008, 03:04 PM

293 posts

well.. pick which ones suits u and DUN complain later xD
mumeichan
post Nov 2 2008, 09:26 AM

4,152 posts

I got my Kustom amp for 300+ from Guitar Collection in Midvalley, it's much better than the MicroCube.

You can get a decent Squier Strat for 600 from any guitar store in town or you can go for an SX for about 500.

Make sure you change the factory strings to gauge 8 or 9 strings since you brother may lose interest if he finds the strings to hard to play. Normally happens when kids get excited but end up abandoning the thing cause it's too hard to play.
blacktrix
post Nov 2 2008, 01:59 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

I have to disagree about the Kustom. I use the same Kustom during my Guitar Lessons and they suck. A microcube can blow away any low-end Kustom any day of the week.

The Kustom only has a semi-decent clean and a god horrible dirty channel...... no built-in reverb or anything like that. At least the Microcube can handle a few amp simulations and a few effects thrown in for good measure as well.

Added on November 2, 2008, 2:56 pmForgot to mention......... the only low-end Kustom worth getting is the small Tube Kustom. That sounds much richer, but it's basically a one-trick pony.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Nov 2 2008, 02:56 PM
mumeichan
post Nov 2 2008, 06:26 PM

4,152 posts

It could be just a matter of preference, I find the the microcube fails terribly at on the clean channel and on the gain/distortion (not sure what they call it on the micro), it sounds extremely unnatural, almost like it's coming out from a computer synthesizer. True the Kustom I have lacks alot of effects found on the microcube, but it has reverb and delay and 3-band EQ which is more than enough for a beginer who I doubt will be needing any fancy tones before he can even play a simple piece well.
sean392
post Nov 2 2008, 07:44 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

Both amps lack headroom, so they sound like they're squeezed to the end of the earth.

But regarding the microcube sounding like a synth.... well.... it's a fully solidstate amp with digital modelling, its not gonna get more digital than that tongue.gif (runs away from the hordes of ppl who are extremely biased to the microcube)

sean392
post Nov 2 2008, 07:52 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Nov 2 2008, 07:46 PM)
Your kustom tube amp is not even a real tube amp. (That's assuming it's the kustom tube12a we're talking about).

It's just a 12ax7 at the preamp section and your power amp is still solid state.
You talk about digital sounding tune but you're a beginner my goodness.

How would a beginner differentiate true tube tone from a digital sounding one?
Jeeezzz... are you sure you're not biased and judging based on your eyes and not your ears?
Perhaps you don't know how to play with the cube's settings.

You don't even know what they call it on the microcube and you said the micro sounds digital.

I am wondering if you've even really tried playing with a real microcube before.

My guess is you've not and you try to sound like a tube snob but the truth is you don't even have a real tube amp to make enough of that comparison between the microcube and the kustom 'tube12a' fake tube amp.
Now now, be nice. Don't have to start a firefight out of it.
While you may be right about many parts, I have to agree that the Microcube is can get extremely digital, but thats just me. =p
But I haven't had the privilege to play with a Microcub for more than an hour (ppl chase me out of shop already), but during that period, most of the sounds were lacking warmth. But that would be too much to ask for, for the 380 MYR you'd be paying. It does its job and it does it well.
Having said that, I couldn't stand even 5 minutes with the tube12a. Way too harsh sounding, I left after strumming 3-5 chords, with that fella having a pissed look on his face, with this expression "wtfudge? "

0.0201sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:55 AM