PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!

andrekua
post Oct 30 2008, 06:37 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Wah lao eh... shockk really NBTD aaa... compile that list of who posted... dont know spend how many nights there...

Anyway,
Im still waiting for Edifier to release a brand new hi-def series speaker. Edifier gonna stop after S2000? Not gonna released an updated version aa? At least release another update S3000 la. 100w, 1" tweeter 6.5" midbass. Add a sub if can, then even if RM1.5k also quite worth it. My S2000 already 2 years and most likely will last another 2-3yrs before the rubber start giving away.
andrekua
post Nov 23 2008, 09:43 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(mattyl @ Nov 21 2008, 01:42 PM)
anyone could tell the differences between R1900TIII and S2000?
feeling to buy one of these even these speakers are out for quite a long time.
R1900TIII is affordable and kinda cheap also, however S2000 is kinda pricey in sense of 'edifier' brand even i knew edifier is worth for the money...
most likely listening to jazz, vocal, pop...of course need some bass to uphold the music...
i want something which is warm, detail, soundstage feel.
thanks!
Bro,

I suggest you go and try it out. Then come back here and tell if there is any difference.
If you ears cant differenciate the two of them, save your cash and get R1900TIII.

S2000 is something that not even Altec Lansing, Logitech or even Promedia dare to try product. Or if you want to try something similar, try audition in Midi Specialist for ESI Near 06.

andrekua
post Jan 24 2009, 11:32 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 14 2009, 01:18 PM)
ah, yes, i forgot that word. "driver". come to think of it, you are right. some subs have downward facing drivers, some side, some front. but so far, havent seen one facing the back or the top. so i guess it's matter of personal opinion. try a few positions and find out which one is the best. i dont like the bass right in front of me cos i'll have headaches later.
Bass is non-directional... its questionable how you feel the bass is in front of you?
On subwoofer positioning, some people place the sub with the port (air hole) facing the wall. Doing so, the bass sounds slightly more powerful. Just like why you must place sub in a corner vs any other position in the room.
andrekua
post Apr 3 2009, 08:55 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Today I just opened up my S2000 speaker to find out that a capasitor on the xover is bloated. Maybe I should change all of them. Sad cry.gif

andrekua
post Jul 3 2009, 11:30 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I dont think it will affect the performance too much. Thats because only the amplifier chip is connected/glued to the backplate to disperse the heat generated. The louder you turn on, the hotter it will get. Thats it.
andrekua
post Jul 15 2009, 07:21 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 12 2009, 04:43 PM)
If only Edifier could use audiophile grade cables, capacitors and opamps in their S series....

in fact i think that edifier S series could be THX certified as they sound better than most THX certified multimedia speakers. but it's good thing they didnt certify it, lower the cost n use it to improve SQ. nice...
Are you sure you can afford it when they used these stuffs?

I suggest you go out and survey the pricing first and then tell me whether you will upgrade the component inside your EDIFIER speaker. I myself is using S2000 and even with the pricetag of RM1.5k(Retail), they still dont use very good cap nor opamp for it. I did survey the capacitor for the xover nia and to my horror, if I really wanted to upgrade to so called audiophile grade cap (not even the best yet), I have to fork out like RM400~500 for the capacitors, and thats only for one side. I use lousy cable from Belden nia and even that already RM6-7 per metre(not terminated yet), plus a canare F10 plug cost like RM20 or so (F12 cost like RM30+ if Im not mistaken). You still want audiophile grade? Think again...
andrekua
post Jul 16 2009, 07:12 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 15 2009, 09:01 PM)
Okay, nice bashing there. I know u're trying to say u are very financially strong and i'm poor and i cant afford when it comes to high end audio. Correct.

Clearly u don't know what you are talking about. Most edifiers use ST4558 opamps, They could use something like the famous AD8066 or LM4562 that audiophiles use in their external DAC or CMOY. Those opamps are only about few ringgit when you it by piece, if such big speaker producers buy those opamps in bulk, I'm sure the total price will drop significantly.

May i know what caps edifier put in your s2000? And what caps that you are looking at that cost you 400-500 bucks? I think you're quite stupid to consider something that expensive, there are many other caps that are 10 times cheaper and will yield better results than stock caps. Edifier could use better caps and opamps considering your speaker cost 1.5k.

Edifier's analog cables oxidizes quickly if you room has no dehumidifier or air cond, they could provide a medium grade gold plated plugs and wire to come with their speakers...

U are the type of person that thinks using stuff and gears that cost hundreds of ringgits is called "audiophile", you are wrong. Please look up an English dictionary for the meaning of audiophile.

Besides, in my first post i said IF Edifier could use those on the S series, since they already cost quite alot, it would increase their price-performance ratio if they put in opamps and caps just a couple of ringgit more expensive.

U know sometime u go thinking "If i could be a millionaire someday?" It's just a thought.

IF. Oh! Wait, u're the lan si guy with s2000 costing rm1.5k looking at rm400 ringgit caps and canare plugs, why do u even care about best price to performance ratio.

To other in this forum, sorry, its between me and him. If he has stuff to say to me and he is clever, he will reply me by PM.
WTF are you saying? You are the one who are saying audiophile grade and then you got the leisure of having a go at me. The opamp is not that expensive, yes, but capacitor can cost quite a lot. I learned it the hard way too. For your average S series, Im not really sure they got the crossover for the sattelite or just bypass it with a capacitor for the highs. For S2000, they had a total of 7 capacitor, few coils and resistor. 4 of it is those normal electrolytic non polarised and I bought the same type from Mundorf for RM20~30 a piece. They had 3MKP in it and the lowest end from Mundorf cost RM60 a piece. Jump a grade and the cost went up to RM120 per piece for paper and oil. What kind of capacitor you talked about that cost a few ringgit? You cant even find blackgates or elna for that price. Before I go and survery myself, I also though wanna use RM200-300 to upgrade my speaker capacitor, but when asked, not even enough for one side alone when you want your so called audiophile grade stuffs.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 16 2009, 07:14 AM
andrekua
post Jul 21 2009, 06:35 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Most likely RM999 la...
Edifier always sell at this price.. same as when I first bought mine. Was quite reluctant to buy at 1499 but at 999, not a big deal compared to Aego back then which was RM750. Depends on which you prefer, Aego just doesnt sounds good enough to justify the pricetag for me, but everyone has their own preference.

Finding a balanced 2.1 is quite hard because there is no such thing as balanced. The problem with 2.1 is how the bass played out. Always have to play with the bass/treble when switching song. Having said that, 2.0 speaker also has shortcoming especially when playing noisy music. It sounds so annoying after a few songs especially electric guitars and cymbals. Usually I will play some nice voice and then when almost sienz le, then only on 2-3 pop music and then turn it off.

If you want to have extra bass with S2000, took out the speaker driver. Remove all the sponge or reduce them by half. I did that when I was replacing a broken cap in mine and the bass is loose but is much stronger. I didnt like it so I stuffed it back in. Maybe I should stuff in half of it to experiment with it but lazy.
andrekua
post Jul 31 2009, 08:45 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Dont be hilarious. If you can afford S730, dont yell that you cant afford taxi. Express bus will have space at their bottom to store your belongings.
andrekua
post Dec 12 2009, 11:35 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Dec 12 2009, 10:15 AM)
Okay, finally got the Razer Mako in the house. Playing songs now. First impression is... I feel that there's an over hyped on this speakers. Unless the sound will actually improve over time with extensive cooking, otherwise, seriously those who said this speaker can match the Edifier S730D, you might want to get ur ears checked immediately xD

Lesson learnt: You don't need THX certified to actually sound good ^^v
Already told you.

First flaw, there is no tweeter. Secondly, Im personally not against down firing sattelite if they are being done right, like in the case of ATP3. Down firing works to a certain extend but you still need forward facing backup like a tweeter in the case of ATP3. Lastly, the weird looking sub is aiming for exterior superiority or sound quality? Its not easy to design a ported sub with such design as you need to move massive amount of air to create nice sounding bass.

BTW, Im surprised that you would buy something without auditioning it first. I wouldnt do that if I were you. Given the massive pricetag, I wouldnt even give it a second thought. Even though I own S2000, I wouldnt have in the first place had Edifier not having promotion for it at RM999 during the PCFAIR. Some system might be nice sounding but most important is to make sure you are paying the right price for it. I would say Mako is worth around RM500-600 at best. Even at the price, its being considered a huge premium already.

Added on December 12, 2009, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Dec 12 2009, 06:41 PM)
If not comparing to Edifier S730D, I've to say that the Razer Mako, based on its size , the performance is pretty impressive, dunno whether I was tired this morning or what, the speakers sound bad jus now( or may be i shouldn't compare it to the Edifier S730D that has been fully burnt in after all). Just now I left the speakers to play for around 8 hours(with pink noise), now the sound is pretty ass-kicking. Anyway, I shall write a brief review on this speaker together with the comparison to the Edifier S730D when my exam is over xD Stay tuned tongue.gif

P/S: My Soundcard spoiled so rite now I'm connecting the Razer Mako directly to the Mac, wait until my iBasso D1 is fixed then I shall comment on the speakers again smile.gif
Sometimes you do learn to appreciate the system after you acknowledge its shortcoming. I have a couple bad memories with BA7500, MX5021 and ATP3 (newer version).

This post has been edited by andrekua: Dec 12 2009, 11:38 PM
andrekua
post Jan 6 2010, 07:59 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Damn...

I dont even get a warm welcome from lovely gal like this one when buying your flagship S2000. You should have lovely ladies selling flagship model instead on guys.
andrekua
post Jan 7 2010, 08:16 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jan 7 2010, 03:57 PM)
Edifier Booth in CES 2010

Speaker we already bought. Show us the gals... I want to see Edifier logo further downwards.
andrekua
post Apr 17 2010, 10:43 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I think I saw S2000V (or was it S2000) from the above pic. Still got promotion for RM999? Or was it just your own set, Mr Edifier?
andrekua
post Apr 18 2010, 01:03 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Apr 17 2010, 11:43 PM)
sadly they dun let me to listen s2k T_T
Hahaha

Glad they didnt otherwise you will having maggi everyday...

Edited cos mistaken you for someone else...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Apr 18 2010, 01:04 AM

0.0257sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:50 AM