13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

> Methodist College KL Thread, Scholarships for Alvls/AUSMAT available!

cmteo
post Oct 30 2008, 03:30 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:52 AM)
can i know how much's the fee for a levels arts 4 subjects? for the whole 1 & 1/2 yrs. thx.

hm. actually im pretty interested wink.gif where's the exact location? do you have a map of it? when can i go? weekdays or weekends? around what time? morning? noon? will there be someone to bring me ard to college to have a tour of it?
All the information is on their website... smile.gif

Website ==> www.methodistcollegekl.edu.my

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:40 AM
Sarah0925
post Oct 30 2008, 09:12 PM

120 posts

mm. k. but the fees page can't be viewed.

This post has been edited by Sarah0925: Oct 30 2008, 09:15 PM
neorelated4
post Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM

130 posts

I'm not going there but i have the pamphlet.

A lvl fees for 2009

Tuition fee:(per semester)
-3 subj 4k
-4subj 4.5k
-3 subj(march intake only) 3.2k
-4 subj(march intake only) 3.6k

science lab fees:(per science subject per semester) RM400

ICT lab fees(per semester) RM300

MQA subjects(per subject) RM150

registration fee RM300

student activity fee RM500

academic resource fee RM900

refundable deposit RM500

insurance RM40

Sarah0925
post Oct 30 2008, 11:14 PM

120 posts

thanks^^ for march intake rite, isit 3.6k per semester for 3 semesters?
cmteo
post Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM

190 posts

[url][/url]

This post has been edited by cmteo: Apr 25 2010, 04:36 AM
TSinvinciblebunny
post Oct 31 2008, 06:11 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:14 PM)
thanks^^ for march intake rite, isit 3.6k per semester for 3 semesters?
3.6k is for the 1st sem only.

This post has been edited by invinciblebunny: Oct 31 2008, 06:11 PM
Sarah0925
post Oct 31 2008, 09:27 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cmteo @ Oct 31 2008, 06:05 PM)
As a past scholarship holder, I really would like to see people applying for this, because I felt it was one of the most important opportunities in my life, and I do not regret studying there. I met so many interesting and opinionated people, had inspiring teachers, discovered a passion for a subject I'd never thought I'd like, and experienced a whole different sort of education. That was probably the best thing about having the chance to be part of a small college community.
ooh. hm but actually im wondering...less people=less social life rite?
terrior147
post Nov 1 2008, 08:00 PM

53 posts

is the scholarship alot?... or is it guaranteed if got gud results for my forecast and not bad extra curicular activities? ... past scholarship holder pls giv some info on it thx...
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 2 2008, 10:56 PM

12,696 posts

From MCKL's website:
1. 97% passing rate out of 102 students who sat for their final A-Level examination.
2. 32% of our students scored 3A’s and above

32% with 3A's and above. Very impressive. Have anyone got comparative figures from Taylor or Sunway? My guess is, I doubt not even Taylor or Sunway can match those percentage figures. Even more impressive when you consider the fact JPA do not send their scholar to this college, unlike Taylor.

Added on November 2, 2008, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Oct 31 2008, 09:27 PM)
ooh. hm but actually im wondering...less people=less social life rite?
I knew this college pretty well. If your purpose is to have a unchecked social life and boyfriends and girlfriend etc, then MCKL is probably not for you. Nor is it for you if you wanted fanciful modern facilities to impress your friends, thought this may be changing.

On the other hand, if you wanted a academically focused & friendly & pastoral environment, then MCKL is for you. I doubt there is another similar college with such environment and impressive academic records as MCKL in KL. IMO, that is because they are still 100% owned by the Methodist church but they welcome student from any other religious background and they don't go out to change your belief. Their main focuses are education and character building.

So from a parent point of view and student with enough mature thinking, MCKL should be top choice.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 2 2008, 11:19 PM
Sarah0925
post Nov 3 2008, 12:27 PM

120 posts

ic. cuz imo, a good social life is important also cuz u'll be going out to society working soon and all that, but not as in bf/gf kind =) thx.

btw. does anyone know what's the passing rate & results of taylor's and Help's a lvl?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 3 2008, 12:48 PM

12,696 posts

It does not mean no social life. Think of it as this way. If you are being distracted by bf/gf and your academic results suffers as a result, they will call up your parent.

I have an old Taylor's 2006 newspaper advertisement. It listed 1047A's. 61 with 5As. 71 with 4As. 72 with 3As. I inquired and was told there were about 800 students in that batch. That means <25.5% with 3As and above. I also have a Yayasan UEM newspaper advertisement and I think theirs was also around the 25% region. But bear in mind these 2 college do get very good student to start off with, aka JPA scholars. I don't think JPA send their scholar to MCKL.

Anyone got newer data? It would be very interesting to compare.
TSinvinciblebunny
post Nov 3 2008, 11:25 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 3 2008, 12:48 PM)
It does not mean no social life. Think of it as this way. If you are being distracted by bf/gf and your academic results suffers as a result, they will call up your parent.

I have an old Taylor's 2006 newspaper advertisement. It listed 1047A's. 61 with 5As. 71 with 4As. 72 with 3As. I inquired and was told there were about 800 students in that batch. That means <25.5% with 3As and above. I also have a Yayasan UEM newspaper advertisement and I think theirs was also around the 25% region. But bear in mind these 2 college do get very good student to start off with, aka JPA scholars. I don't think JPA send their scholar to MCKL.

Anyone got newer data? It would be very interesting to compare.
I have an old Taylor's 2007 newspaper ad. It listed 13.2% achieved at least 4As while 18.3% obtained at least 3As. The pass rate for 2007 was 95.3%, an increase from 2006’s 93.5%.

Sarah0925
post Nov 4 2008, 09:20 PM

120 posts

so it's like 31.5% scored 3As and above..
so i guess MCKL's results not bad as well =)
but why TAYLOR has the Name and not MCKL?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 5 2008, 07:14 AM

12,696 posts

Big advertisement budget. Modern facilities like library and banks of computers with big "wow" factors. JPA scholars. The "must be" place for those who fear Kiasu. Of course, must also have good teachers etc. But so many students so how to know each of them well? But they are undeniably a big commercial success with good track records.

MCKL. Old fashion focus on teaching and just as importantly, character building. And of course older facilities with decisively low "wow" factor in comparison. Small in size so can provide friendly environment whereby teacher know their student very well. Pastoral care. Not surprising because this college still belongs to the Methodist church. In the past, they do give 1/2 fee to student of the Methodist faith almost automatically.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 5 2008, 09:19 AM
yongyc
post Nov 5 2008, 07:30 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Sarah0925 @ Nov 4 2008, 09:20 PM)
but why TAYLOR has the Name and not MCKL?
Private education institution operated under the Methodist Church is famous for NOT advertising commercially for their success. Their name is made known through word of mouth.

MCKL sister school Wesley Methodist School is so well known for their outstanding results in PMR and SPM that the number of applicants vying for the 180 seats available has always been increasing every year and I heard this year there were 600 applicants who sat for the entrance exam for entry into form 1 next year.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 5 2008, 07:14 AM)
In the past, they do give 1/2 fee to student of the Methodist faith almost automatically.
They still offer this.

This post has been edited by yongyc: Nov 5 2008, 07:38 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 5 2008, 09:35 AM

12,696 posts

Many of those previously church funded school of the old colonial days, be it Catholic or Methodist or whatever, are often one of the very best school in town all over the country. They often have more students wanting to get in than there are places for. But the reverse is happening to MCKL with not many students wanting to go there.

I believe it’s because students only knew about it via word of mouth and not via newspaper advertisement, hence fewer. A pity because I think MCKL is one of the very few, if not the only, 100% owned by the Methodist church offering pre university courses in Malaysia. And with one of the very best result anywhere. Even the famous Taylor couldn't beat her, despite having JPA scholars as students. And I think MCKL is losing money but still do it with the support of the church. May be money isn’t everything to them but higher calling is. Personally, I am very impressed with MCKL.
neorelated4
post Nov 5 2008, 12:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(yongyc @ Nov 5 2008, 07:30 AM)
Private education institution operated under the Methodist Church is famous for NOT advertising commercially for their success.  Their name is made known through word of mouth.

MCKL sister school Wesley Methodist School is so well known for their outstanding results in PMR and SPM that the number of applicants vying for the 180 seats available has always been increasing every year and I heard this year there were 600 applicants who sat for the entrance exam for entry into form 1 next year.
They still offer this.

I am currently studying in WMS the sister school. good studies wise. but prepare to lose social life and some rules are ridiculous. there is no doubt MCKL provides good education. But for me I think I can jaga my own studies. I'd rather be more exposed and get a life after 5 yrs of almost hell haha. depends on the student. Would advise weaker students to go to MCKL though. it's cheap some more. wink.gif
Sarah0925
post Nov 5 2008, 11:09 PM

120 posts

hm im very very interested =) gonna pay MCKL a visit end of Nov =)
any current MCKL students here?
evanesence117
post Nov 6 2008, 01:46 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(invinciblebunny @ Oct 28 2008, 07:28 PM)
kl sentral is very near klcc lar...
KL Sentral is NOT near KLCC WEI!!!!!

QUOTE(terrior147 @ Nov 1 2008, 08:00 PM)
is the scholarship alot?... or is it guaranteed if got gud results for my forecast and not bad extra curicular activities? ... past scholarship holder pls giv some info on it thx...
as long as u got the required results the scholarship will automatically be given to u. I was a former holder of this scholarship
Sarah0925
post Nov 6 2008, 08:09 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Nov 6 2008, 01:46 AM)
KL Sentral is NOT near KLCC WEI!!!!!
as long as u got the required results the scholarship will automatically be given to u. I was a former holder of this scholarship
ic. how do you ind MCKL? u studied Alvls there?

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 

0.0249sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:48 PM