SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

yonggoh
post Oct 2 2009, 09:26 AM

1,314 posts

fourzee,

my proposed area of 14ft (l)x 11ft(w) x 9ft(h) will be perfect for the PB12-Plus...which i an contemplating on purchasing.
yonggoh
post Oct 2 2009, 05:46 PM

1,314 posts

i bit the bullet and put some down for a PB12-Plus... kinda an impulse purchase but from what i've been reading... a good one smile.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 4 2009, 07:18 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Oct 4 2009, 02:20 PM)
How cum not new post & pic? sad.gif  All very busy setting & testing subby arrr?  smile.gif  I suppose lotsa of BOOOM BOOOM & PIANG PIANG over in the western front!  rclxms.gif  While over here in the eastern front all very quite. sad.gif
My PB12+ is coming next month... smile.gif
we should have a kuching meet sometime to share the joy...
yonggoh
post Oct 13 2009, 05:45 PM

1,314 posts

i was originally happy to go for the PB 13U but for the dimensions of my dedicated area, htkaki suggested the PB12+ instead... me cant wait to crank up the Foo Fighters BD to it smile.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 15 2009, 06:23 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Oct 15 2009, 03:50 PM)
So many new owners lately, but i dun see update HT room pics! Come, please share  biggrin.gif  I wanna see your rooms with the big big tongs and the big big kotaks  wub.gif
waiting for arrival in november smile.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 15 2009, 11:29 PM

1,314 posts

dunno wor... i think hornyangmoh got a PC12 right???

he is from kuching no?
yonggoh
post Oct 17 2009, 08:51 AM

1,314 posts

not going to run in... first thing this thing arrives...some NIN concert and Black Hawk Down at -16db! smile.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 28 2009, 09:19 AM

1,314 posts

htkaki,

Any eta on when some of us down south can rock the richter scale? smile.gif

P.S I am traveling from 15th to 22nd of this month so lemme know if need to complete balance during that time... cheers!
yonggoh
post Oct 30 2009, 10:09 AM

1,314 posts

we need an dedicated thread for the subdude gramma thing...anyone?

i'd be keen
yonggoh
post Nov 5 2009, 10:50 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 4 2009, 11:07 PM)
Have to ask all 12-Plus and 12-NSD owners for a FR on TF2.
Ya Ya... hurry hurry! biggrin.gif

yonggoh
post Nov 6 2009, 11:35 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 6 2009, 10:56 AM)
Please drop by with your cash in hand  wink.gif
htkaki should have an ATM machine within the shop also... almost certain to catch the impulsive smile.gif

P.S but the subs cost way more than daily withdrawal limits anyway tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 6 2009, 11:35 AM
yonggoh
post Nov 6 2009, 02:48 PM

1,314 posts

what SVS...look at that UD9004!!!!

*jaw drops*
yonggoh
post Nov 6 2009, 05:15 PM

1,314 posts

so... with the PB12-Plus soon to arrive at me doorsteps...
just wondering is there any break-in ceremonies recommended by fellow sifu?

Should I refrain from whacking stupidly loud volumes of black hawk down?
Should i block ports...or open up completely?
Frequency sweeps?
Crossover settings?

I know break in a topic discussed to death for centuries..just wanna know what other SVS owners in particular have treated their once-were virgin subs?

*twiddle thumbs*
yonggoh
post Nov 10 2009, 12:08 PM

1,314 posts

ooo... delivery fellas just called to say they have a 70kg box for me that i will recieve later... wonder what that could be... smile.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 10 2009, 11:10 PM

1,314 posts

just a couple hours in in at 33%(10pm) of volume... went over the halfway mark for a couple mins for testing some loud concerts but sensibly set it lower again for extended run in smile.gif

this may sound like a noob question...
but if i wanna block a port... which one of the three holes should i block? tongue.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 11 2009, 12:51 AM

1,314 posts

kiam,

13 is for the big fish.... smile.gif

i have to be content with the PB12-Plus....

Its huge and its loud and the girlfriend hates it... which means its doing its job! smile.gif
Can't wait to move it to the new room when thats finish being built...

Cant really post impressions yet cause not slamming the bass at anything even close to reference levels... but even at low volumes i am hearing stuff i have not picked up on before in some songs
yonggoh
post Nov 11 2009, 10:41 AM

1,314 posts

Hi people, just stealing some time off work to give a brief report with my first evening with the PB12-Plus. I'm no expert with any fancy terminology or descriptions...so if you dont wanna read impressions from a non-audiophile regular joe then move along smile.gif

Blu Rays:
Black Hawk Down - "f***ing Irene"
Cranked up a bit for this famous scene... The troops boarding the blackhawks... the chopper blades sound as if they are right in front of you and going to hit you. Its not earth shaking bass but rather a punchy piercing effect that hits straight at the lungs. I was sitting in front of the sub at the beginning and was surprized by the air physically pushed out. Was like a mini fan at some stage.

Nine Inch Nails Concert
Drums are pronounced as expected but perhaps the most pleasing is the way the sub handles the more "middler" bass. Bass Guitar and keyboards are tight and pronounced with authority and is highlighted a lot more than with my previous set up.

Music (ranging from 192-320kbs mp3s)

Hotel California(unplugged) - Eagles
This one gets the wooden panels in the roof vibrating. And didn't even need to play loud.

Promise - Ciara
Tried this one on one port blocked (16hz) and it digs DEEP. One can feel the bass even though volume is not cranked loud.

Random Album - Deadmau5
If only electro dance music sounded this good at all night clubs smile.gif Continuous and repetitive bass never sounded muddled like in those lesser night spots. Virtually no lag on the up-tempo numbers.

Stacey Kent, Diana Krall, Michael Buble
Its doesn't always have to be about making the loudest BOOM-BOOM-POW with quality subs. The subtlety of the sub proves that the sub can put aside gloves and hammer and suit up with a bow tie for more laid back music.

.mkv

Somehow I was not that able to produce any real nice bass as compared with blurays. I guess the SVS more than ever, highlights the shortcomings of those soundtracks in the 4-8GB .mkvs.... Twilight, Wall-E and GI Joe sounded fantastic tho!

I'll find some pipe organ soundtracks soon and will try with Transformers 2 and some PS3 games sometime this week smile.gif (Sorry no audio CDs to test, not owned a CD player in 5 years)

Gear:
Panasonic BD-60
Marantz Sr6003 (7 speakers - Jamo fronts x 2, Mission centre, wharfadale surrounds x 2, wharfadale rear surrounds x 2)

Audioquest sub cable and QED Y-Splitter Cable.

Previous sub: Velodyne Impact-10
yonggoh
post Nov 11 2009, 03:17 PM

1,314 posts

i never used the audessey for my Sr6003 since my previous experience of it from my Onkyo 606 was less than satisfactory.. found it too conservative to my liking smile.gif

Previously i had set front speakers speaker to Large and the centre, surrounds and surround rears to small...

now with the PB12-Plus i set all speakers to small and let the sub do all the fun stuff. The manual says in most cases that is usually more satisfactory.

Added on November 11, 2009, 3:19 pmwould'nt DIRECT be using the DAC's from source hence bypassing the audio processing capabilities on the receiver...

The PC fellas typically like to use DIRECT mode of receivers to listen to the characteristics of the sound card

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 11 2009, 03:20 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 11 2009, 04:24 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Nov 11 2009, 12:13 PM)
One question, how does a Sub improve the sound quality for music (audio cd/flac/mp3).

I tot music is always stereo and the sound is being output by the floorstanders.

For my digital audio files...I could select stereo mode (as opposed to 5.1 i currently using) from my soundcard control panel. But then i have to goto the receiver setup again to set front speakers to LARGE so that all the frequencies will be sent to the two fronts... mafan hor... tongue.gif

Besides...im having fun now shaking the room with the sub playing my mp3s... i am aware its not very audiophile practice... smile.gif

BTW Soundcard is Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
yonggoh
post Nov 11 2009, 05:46 PM

1,314 posts

fancy bedside table smile.gif