SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

eye
post Oct 14 2009, 01:33 AM

1,166 posts

Yeah guys, we have similar interest and yes we have different opinions (& different wallet sizes too) and that's OK!!!!

I do not know lightning69 well but the one time i approached him for advice, he helped unselfishly. I am aware that he has very high regards for SVS subwoofers, even at local prices. And i am pretty sure that there is no ill intent.

Cheers!!!!!!
eye
post Oct 14 2009, 10:25 AM

1,166 posts

Best of luck on your Spore expedition Bongo!! I'm going down too, day trip for an av amp .. tongue.gif
eye
post Oct 14 2009, 11:23 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 14 2009, 10:50 AM)
NR1007? or NR5007?
oooo yr expectation very high aaa htkaki ... im looking at a nr807 only, gotta save the $$$ to buy the svs maaa .. maybe in order for me to get the pc12+ i hv to opt for the cheaper sr6004 .. hehehehehe
eye
post Oct 15 2009, 12:51 PM

1,166 posts

eh .. i find different opinions stimulating ... let's not practise any kind of prohibition or censorship .. that's the number one killer of "great forums" ..... it's ok to be different!!!!

back to svs ,,,,, aiya ,,, not enuf budget aaa .. maybe i go for the pc12nsd instead of the pc12+ .... mr htkaki ... pls start a mbb credit card interest free installment plan maaa ... ahahahahahahahh!!!!
eye
post Oct 27 2009, 10:37 PM

1,166 posts

Just went to yr website htkaki .. looks like the pc12+ are in stock biggrin.gif ..... unfortunately ... my bank account still not in stock yet sad.gif
eye
post Oct 29 2009, 02:41 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 28 2009, 05:35 PM)
Okie boss. Will get the price and post them here for svs and to-be-svs owners.
yes, i am also interested to buy one unit .. hehehe
eye
post Nov 1 2009, 10:16 AM

1,166 posts

im loving my pc12+!!!! thank you htkaki & fren for helping me with my setup!!!

thumbup.gif
eye
post Nov 2 2009, 01:08 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Nov 1 2009, 01:20 PM)
what sub u use before?
it was a boston acoustic, arremie. this pc12+ is a major investment for me .. have to ikat perut for the next few months .... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Nov 2 2009, 01:09 AM
eye
post Nov 2 2009, 11:30 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 2 2009, 08:53 AM)
Have you rearrange your setup? Saw your posting on the Onkyo. The Audyysey seems like being erased off hmm.gif . You need to do it again.

Not feeling quite well. Have to see doc later  sad.gif
Will be re-arranging the sub & re-calibrate audyssey tonight.

Take a good rest & get well soon htkaki.

Added on November 2, 2009, 11:38 am
QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Nov 2 2009, 08:58 AM)
Welcome to the club. I'm pretty sure its worth the investment as many others do.

Just to share, placement of the svs sub is very crucial. I've just moved my pc12+ to the back of my listening position and

wow, bass can be felt not heard.  The only set back is that I have to find quite a long cable abt 35'. Any of sifu here can guide

me where to find it.
Thank you maja.

Yeah placement is important. Unfortunately, i dun have a dedicate ht room. So, not much choice, it's either the left corner or adjacent to wall. Wifey will go bonkers if our huge bin is parked some where in the middle of the living room ahahahahah!!

Get the svs woofer cable from htkaki lar .. he has the standard 3m length. For 35feet, maybe he has the roll supply to customise one for u.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by eye: Nov 2 2009, 12:08 PM
eye
post Nov 3 2009, 12:07 PM

1,166 posts

ahahahaha ... aesthetic wise, i prefer and do like the svs cylinder very much. it has a very gheng "phallus" presence in the room. arranging it to the corner is not much of an issue due to its small footprint. and it's different from the box woofers .. ahahaha

Added on November 4, 2009, 1:03 amoh u shud try u571 with yr svs woofer .. spectacular .... ahahahahaha!!!!

This post has been edited by eye: Nov 4 2009, 01:03 AM
eye
post Nov 7 2009, 08:17 PM

1,166 posts

oooo sweet ... congrats on yr pc ultra, kiam .. the svs is spectacular for home theatre when u tune it "hot" .. for music .. hv to turn down the gain abit .. hehehe
eye
post Nov 11 2009, 02:31 PM

1,166 posts

Pure Audio mode (in my nr807) disables the display & video circuitry only. With my subwoofer configured ON, pure direct mode does not disable the subwoofer. I have a choice 2.1, 3.1 or 5.1 speakers config. Same for Direct and Stereo mode too.
eye
post Nov 11 2009, 04:28 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 11 2009, 02:52 PM)
Pure mode will not carry out any crossover settings in the Audyssey as such only 2 channel shd be present. Are you sure that if u send a proper audio signal to the Onkyo (ie, CD 2 channel stereo) you are getting output from the subwoofer. If it is, something is wrong. However, if the audio does have .1 information (ie, SACD, DVDA) it will be output as such but without any crossover settings.

Direct is different, if it receives a 5 channel it will output 5 channel.
ooo im not entirely sure ... i was just quoting from the manual .... ahahahah!! That's why i like this forum so much, it's a learning adventure for me ...... thank you all!!

i do recall that for pure/direct 2 channel stereo source, the output shud be confined to FL & FR speakers. if that is the case perhaps the front speakers wud auto back to full range. but im more of a casual music listener these days and hey the multichannel outputs for PLII, 5.1stereo and thx music coupled with the SVS Woofer is not bad to my unlearned ears. depending on the music genre, some are pretty good actually, they are very enveloping tho the pure hifi'ists wud say NO that's not a representation of the LIVE performance tongue.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Nov 11 2009, 04:46 PM

eye
post Nov 12 2009, 03:19 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 12 2009, 09:07 AM)
Pure Audio is the same as Direct but with the video circuitry and all processing off. Hence, if u send it a 7.1 signal thru HDMI, then u get all channels. However, if u send a 2 channel signal, u get a 2 channel config out. So bass management and no bass downmixing. The only way to enable the sub for stereo is to use the "Stereo" mode, that way bass management is active and the sub is engaged.
Yeah, anfieldude; i tested with my amp last evening and ...
....... you are absolutely right .... (that is a very "meet the robinsons" statement in a very good way) .. ahahaha!!

Thank you.
eye
post Nov 18 2009, 10:57 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Nov 18 2009, 10:02 AM)
hmm .. so quiet here ..  the  few svs new buyers didnt say much abt their sub.. too bz watching movies?
ahahaha and bz looking for extra $ to fix vibrating false ceiling that wasn't there until svs came rclxub.gif
eye
post Nov 25 2009, 11:45 AM

1,166 posts

Yes .. good, pls do share with us yr report on Oppo bdp83 when the testing is done.

Thank you.
eye
post Nov 25 2009, 06:56 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 25 2009, 11:53 AM)
I have done a brief report in the BD Players thread. It is very well built machine and it is a modded unit. Pops in Reg B and it plays automatically. PQ is slightly better too.
Ahahah thanks i read that.

The oppo costs more than twice a regular bdplayer. Granted tat it is region free, can play mkv, sacd & dvdaudio, much classier built, it's kinda hard to foot out that amt of $$$ for a slightly better pq only .... im resisting ahahahaha!!!!
eye
post Nov 27 2009, 02:01 PM

1,166 posts

Yeah, 3 weeks back, the oppo in spore, going for S$999. By Jan it shud drop further.

Just added a new xbox 360, playing left4dead2, svs goes bang bang bang boom boom boom thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .. lolol .. huge bass on demand (even @ -33db, audyssey dynamicEQ performs spectacularly), whenever, wherever, satisfaction at the flip of yr happy trigger finger ... a great distraction until some "new" bluray titles are available.

mb a ps3 too (ffxiii's round the corner), oppo can wait ... ahahahaha!!!!

ooooo .... gears of war2 has a fantastic LFE track too .... shake shake shake!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by eye: Nov 27 2009, 08:05 PM

0.0444sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:19 PM