15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Alienware Area-51 m15x, M15X Smart Bay Battery+HDD Kit Post #212

TSstringfellow
post Oct 22 2008, 06:04 PM, updated 17y ago

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thus begins my first journey with Alienware, with my newly ordered Alienware Area-51 m15x laptop. Here are the specs:-

The Unboxing

Alienware Area-51® m15x

Design & Display: Silver Skullcap Design
Display: 15.4" WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 LCD (1200p) with Webcam
System Lighting: Alienware® AlienFX® System Lighting - Aqua
Operating System: Genuine Windows® Vista Home Premium - English
Graphics Processor : 512MB NVidia® GeForce® Go 8800M GTX
Processor: Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme X9000 2.8GHz (6MB Cache 800MHz FSB)
Memory: 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 2048MB
Turbo Cache Memory: None
System Drive: Single Drive Configuration - 320GB 7200 RPM SATA with Free Fall Protection
CD/DVD/RW: 2x Dual Layer Blu-ray Disc Writer (BD-RE, DVD±RW, CD-RW)
Sound Hardware: Intel® High-Definition Audio (24-bit, 192Khz) with surround sound
Keypad: Alienware® Area-51 m15x AlienFX® Keyboard - English
Wireless Network Card: Internal Intel® Wireless 4965 a/b/g/Draft-N Mini-Card
Warranty: AlienCare 1-Year Free Phone 24/7 and Collect & Return
AlienContact: Added Bonus with any AlienSupport Selection
AlienContact - Remote Alienware Support
AlienRespawn: AlienRespawn v2.0 Recovery DVD – Windows Vista Edition
Monitor: (None)
Alienware Gear: Alienware® T-Shirt - Black - XL
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Mesh Cap
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Personalised Nameplate
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Mousepad
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Owner Identification Card
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Keyboard Diagram Overlay
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Smooth Mylar Touchpad
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Protective Cloth Sleeve
Window Style: Default Vista Window Style
Mouse Pointers: Standard Mouse Pointers
Wallpaper: Alienhead Glow (Widescreen)
Wallpaper: Alien Cyborg (Widescreen)
Wallpaper: Alien Schematic (Widescreen)
Power Plan: Balanced
Automatic Updates: Automatic Updates On

However, the process from the moment your card is charged, to the time you finally have it in your hands, is fraud with many phases and possible setbacks. Just ask these guys at this link:- http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=229217 . He basically got his unit ONE MONTH later! But thankfully the QC is in place so the one month wait of patience is rewarded with excellent build quality.

There are NINE (9) phases that your Alienware laptop have to go through before it reaches your hand. Mine is still in Phase 1.

October 21st 2008 - Your Order is Currently in Phase 1 -

Phase 1: (Order Confirmation)
Your order has been received and is awaiting order confirmation. As part of our security procedures, all orders must be confirmed before they can be processed.

October 23rd 2008 - Order moved to Phase 3!

Phase 3: (Payment Processed)
Payment has been received and the order is now in queue for production.

October 24th 2008 - Order moved to Phase 4!

Phase 4: (Pre-Production)
The inventory that will be used to custom build the PC is being pulled and inspected. In the rare occurrence that a PC component is not readily available, you will be notified via email.

October 25th 2008 - Order moved to Phase 5!

Phase 5: (Production Phase 1 - Assembly)
Your system is being hand-built by an Alienware Assembly Technician. Alienware takes great pride in building our systems, as our motto reflects, "build it as if it were your own." The assembly stage can take some time, as all the components and cabling in the system is carefully installed for greater upgrade flexibility and thermal airflows. Every Assembly Technician has been trained and qualified to Alienware standards. We pride ourselves on giving you a high performance computer system!

October 28th 2008 - Order is shipped! Phase 9! rclxm9.gif

Phase 9: (Order Shipped)
Congratulations, the order has been shipped. We only hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed building it for you.

FINALLY!

[cool.gifExpected arrival date and time to my doorstep - October 30th 5pm!
rclxm9.gif

What I had done is made a call twice to them confirming that they have received the supporting documents towards the purchase that they needed. It is as per quoted in the following email:-

These are the rest of the phases:-

Phase 2: (Billing/Finance) 
Your order has been validated and is waiting payment processing. While in this stage we are confirming any credit card and/or payment information for security purposes. Please understand that this phase is necessary as it will protect you the customer from any fraudulent transactions. We observe very strict security guidelines and hope you will appreciate our efforts. Note: Your method of payment and other factors may influence how quickly we can build your PC.

Phase 3: (Payment Processed) 
Payment has been received and the order is now in queue for production.

Phase 4: (Pre-Production) 
The inventory that will be used to custom build the PC is being pulled and inspected. In the rare occurrence that a PC component is not readily available, you will be notified via email.

Phase 5: (Production Phase 1 - Assembly) 
Your system is being hand-built by an Alienware Assembly Technician. Alienware takes great pride in building our systems, as our motto reflects, "build it as if it were your own." The assembly stage can take some time, as all the components and cabling in the system is carefully installed for greater upgrade flexibility and thermal airflows. Every Assembly Technician has been trained and qualified to Alienware standards. We pride ourselves on giving you a high performance computer system!

Phase 6: (Production Phase 2 - Integration) 
This stage includes the installation of the operating system, drivers and any applications that are specific to the system you ordered. Our Alienware Integration Technician will also install any demos, benchmark utilities, and burn-in software necessary to correctly monitor your system’s performance. These functions are performed by AlienFactory, a proprietary software designed by Alienware for our valued customers. This is also the first stage of the Alienware 200-Point Quality Control Process.

Phase 7: (Production Phase 3 – System Testing) 
Your system is undergoing the second stage of the Alienware 200-Point Quality Control Process. This is the most crucial stage. We perform a series of grueling tests that push the hardware components in your system to the very limit. This phase is especially important because it is here where the system either passes or fails. If it does fail, it will automatically go to one of our Diagnostic Technicians to identify and correct any problems before we ship it to you. The system may need to go back to an earlier production phase to meet stringent Alienware performance standards.

Phase 8: (Production Phase 4 - Quality Control/Shipping Prep) 
The system is undergoing the final stage of the Alienware 200-Point Quality Control Process. An Alienware Quality Inspector is in charge of inspecting your system from top to bottom for any obvious or latent defects. Our Inspectors are seasoned technicians/engineers and are very experienced in the art of perfection. Note: If the system does not pass any of our performance standards, the system may have to go back to an earlier production phase and it may slightly delay your order.

Phase 9: (Order Shipped) 
Congratulations, the order has been shipped. We only hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed building it for you.

So what I'll do is chronicle it as how those guys at the NotebookReview forum does it , to compare if it does indeed takes that long. I'm praying that it does not.

Otherwise, this may be a loooooong journey.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 15 2008, 05:25 PM
qkchuah
post Oct 22 2008, 06:11 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 22 2008, 06:04 PM)
Thus begins my first journey with Alienware, with my newly ordered Alienware Area-51 m15x laptop. Here are the specs:-
Alienware Area-51® m15x

Design & Display: Silver Skullcap Design
Display: 15.4" WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 LCD (1200p) with Webcam
System Lighting: Alienware® AlienFX® System Lighting - Aqua
Operating System: Genuine Windows® Vista Home Premium - English
Graphics Processor : 512MB NVidia® GeForce® Go 8800M GTX
Processor: Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme X9000 2.8GHz (6MB Cache 800MHz FSB)
Memory: 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SO-DIMM at 667MHz - 2 x 2048MB
Turbo Cache Memory: None
System Drive: Single Drive Configuration - 320GB 7200 RPM SATA with Free Fall Protection
CD/DVD/RW: 2x Dual Layer Blu-ray Disc Writer (BD-RE, DVD±RW, CD-RW)
Sound Hardware: Intel® High-Definition Audio (24-bit, 192Khz) with surround sound
Keypad: Alienware® Area-51 m15x AlienFX® Keyboard - English
Wireless Network Card: Internal Intel® Wireless 4965 a/b/g/Draft-N Mini-Card
Warranty: AlienCare 1-Year Free Phone 24/7 and Collect & Return
AlienContact: Added Bonus with any AlienSupport Selection
AlienContact - Remote Alienware Support
AlienRespawn: AlienRespawn v2.0 Recovery DVD – Windows Vista Edition
Monitor: (None)
Alienware Gear: Alienware® T-Shirt - Black - XL
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Mesh Cap
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Personalised Nameplate
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Mousepad
Alienware Extras: Alienware® Owner Identification Card
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Keyboard Diagram Overlay
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Smooth Mylar Touchpad
Alienware Extras: Area-51® m15x Protective Cloth Sleeve
Window Style: Default Vista Window Style
Mouse Pointers: Standard Mouse Pointers
Wallpaper: Alienhead Glow (Widescreen)
Wallpaper: Alien Cyborg (Widescreen)
Wallpaper: Alien Schematic (Widescreen)
Power Plan: Balanced
Automatic Updates: Automatic Updates On

However, the process from the moment your card is charged, to the time you finally have it in your hands, is fraud with many phases and possible setbacks. Just ask these guys at this link:- http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=229217 . He basically got his unit ONE MONTH later! But thankfully the QC is in place so the one month wait of patience is rewarded with excellent build quality.

There are NINE (9) phases that your Alienware laptop have to go through before it reaches your hand. Mine is still in Phase 1.

October 21st 2008 - Your Order is Currently in Phase 1 -
Phase 1: (Order Confirmation) 
Your order has been received and is awaiting order confirmation. As part of our security procedures, all orders must be confirmed before they can be processed.

What I had done is made a call twice to them confirming that they have received the supporting documents towards the purchase that they needed. It is as per quoted in the following email:-

These are the rest of the phases:-
So what I'll do is chronicle it as how those guys at the NotebookReview forum does it , to compare if it does indeed takes that long. I'm praying that it does not.

Otherwise, this may be a loooooong journey.
Can i know where are you from? US or Malaysia? Alienware does not ship international. I envy you for having the system.
mych
post Oct 22 2008, 06:13 PM

2,068 posts

wah.. very long process indeed...
keccik
post Oct 22 2008, 06:19 PM

Vaporist
583 posts

QUOTE(mych @ Oct 22 2008, 06:13 PM)
wah.. very long process indeed...
yeah i guess its worth waiting. blue-ray rom... damn its tempting. happy.gif
TSstringfellow
post Oct 22 2008, 06:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(qkchuah @ Oct 22 2008, 06:11 PM)
Can i know where are you from? US or Malaysia? Alienware does not ship international. I envy you for having the system.
Alienware does ship international, Alienware UK does. In fact, that's where I configure this unit from, from www.alienware.co.uk. I could wait until I get back to the States and get mine, but the cost of double shipping basically makes it the same. (Double shipping = Alienware ship to my place in CA., then ship second time to KL). The fact that the recent economic meltdown also means that the Euro denomination is at its weakest, and makes it cost-friendly enough, in my books, to get it done from UK.

I've recently got back from Melbourne, and have personally tried out an almost max-specced out Alienware m15x there, and can vouch for its excellent build quality, and sterling performance.

The waiting continues.......

P/S: This was partly thanks to the recent disappointing Apple Macbook Pro keynote announcement, for having wrap the almost same spec-ed Macbook Pro, but only in a fancier unibody shell and glass trackpad. I've also personally fondled the new Macbooks in Melbourne, and my gut feeling still says the same: Once you get past the tacky glass trackpad and the shinier shell, the new Macbook Pro hold no significant specs.

Added on October 22, 2008, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(keccik @ Oct 22 2008, 06:19 PM)
If you read my specs, mine's the Blu-ray Writer as well, not a Blu-ray Reader/DVD Writer drive. nod.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 22 2008, 06:26 PM
hazardcradle
post Oct 22 2008, 08:02 PM

77 posts

^ do you apply for alienfinance?
TSstringfellow
post Oct 22 2008, 08:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hazardcradle @ Oct 22 2008, 08:02 PM)
^ do you apply for alienfinance?
No I did not. Are purchasers outside UK eligible for this?
mdzaboy
post Oct 22 2008, 08:43 PM

CuChee MunK KuK
2,061 posts

how much u bought? in RM tongue.gif
fcuk90
post Oct 22 2008, 08:54 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(mdzaboy @ Oct 22 2008, 08:43 PM)
since the proc and gpu so powerful.. really want to know how much it cost
TSstringfellow
post Oct 22 2008, 08:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mdzaboy @ Oct 22 2008, 08:43 PM)
After added shipping, it is EU3460.
amduser
post Oct 22 2008, 09:09 PM

5,542 posts

RM18k?? shakehead.gif
zHo3
post Oct 22 2008, 09:14 PM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

ohmigawd!! means it's around 15.5k?!?! holy toott!! shocking.gif
TSstringfellow
post Oct 22 2008, 09:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It's in Euro, not British Pound Sterling. Euro dropped to 4.6 today which makes it even cheaper. RM15,000 is the figure you're looking at.

It may seem a bit too much, but if I just want a "typical" laptop, I could have just get the Dell XPS or Asus. No point spending so much online when it is locally available. If you want to get something with more ooomph in it, go all out. If you cab live with mediocre or above-decent specs, then it makes more sense financially to get them locally. When the specs being offered here no longer excites you, it's time to look for more exotic solutions.

In my case, it is simple. I wanted portability with power. 17inch is not portable, 15 is. Otherwise I'd just get an XPS 1730, max out the specs and be done with. But the 1730 is not portable enough for me, and the design is butt-ugly. So which manufacturer makes the most powerful 15inch laptop? Sager and Alienware. Sager's design, personally, looks like 2 paper folders glued together to me, just aesthetically bland and dull. What's left then? wink.gif
mdzaboy
post Oct 22 2008, 11:25 PM

CuChee MunK KuK
2,061 posts

15k++? OMG shocking.gif better take care of ur new "baby". Dun left it inside the car or else..say tata to ur "baby" wink.gif
keccik
post Oct 23 2008, 08:35 AM

Vaporist
583 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 22 2008, 09:24 PM)
When the specs being offered here no longer excites you, it's time to look for more exotic solutions.

Sager and Alienware. Sager's design, personally, looks like 2 paper folders glued together to me, just aesthetically bland and dull. What's left then? wink.gif
Im impressed bro... if u have the money, why not? im sure that spec would last you for quite sometime ya? rclxms.gif At the end of the day, its satisfying.. im sure its worth every single cent buying an alienware.

QUOTE(keccik @ Oct 22 2008, 06:19 PM)
If you read my specs, mine's the Blu-ray Writer as well, not a Blu-ray Reader/DVD Writer drive.

doh.gif Oops didnt see that. blu-ray writer... omfg!
thumbup.gif

Vodoo2k
post Oct 23 2008, 10:28 AM

1,365 posts

string... u did it again heheheh.... superb purchase btw.. i had to settled on just the xps hehehehe

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:36 amstring... u did it again heheheh.... superb purchase btw.. i had to settled on just the xps hehehehe

This post has been edited by Vodoo2k: Oct 23 2008, 10:36 AM
jayzac
post Oct 23 2008, 10:41 AM

225 posts

wow alienware... my dreamlappy.... i dream to have 1 sad.gif
cymon
post Oct 23 2008, 11:48 AM

digital artist regenerated
758 posts

great notebook.
i love boxx and alienware, but do they cover warranty in malaysia?
what if anything wrong? sent back to uk ? smile.gif
Miyabi
post Oct 23 2008, 01:48 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

oh nice, but but..why not getting this one, which is Area-51 m17x? since your notebook cost is real expensive, might as well get the most updated. the interior is far more superior.
pain first, ease later tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Oct 23 2008, 01:49 PM
azrinarizz
post Oct 23 2008, 02:34 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Holy ****! 15k. Crazy
You mush have saved up to buy alienware and the kidn fo specs
I know i wont. But good job for you smile.gif

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top