7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

TSuzairi
post May 30 2009, 11:01 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ May 30 2009, 01:17 PM)
hi guys. new here. got an ally snapping turtle last week from pet safari. been wanting to keep one for a long time. currently feeding it feeder fish. seems to be doing ok.
Nice man! At last you are into chelonian brows.gif

After this Mata Mata (Chelus Fimbriatus) brows.gif

TSuzairi
post Jun 2 2009, 01:13 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 1 2009, 02:51 AM)
Haha I wanted to use blue danude at first, but Youtube didn't have the version I wanted.

The missus did quite a bit of shopping yesterday. Bought a big rock, tubiflex worm feed, shrimp feed, cuttlefish bone, a !@#!% expensive UV-B lamp, and a filter. Gonna get an aquarium later this week hopefully.
You are doomed! laugh.gif
TSuzairi
post Jun 8 2009, 05:38 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(cphcphcph @ Jun 8 2009, 01:46 PM)
i own a long tail turtle.....but duno wat the scientific name....will post pict soon....

anyway...a normaly turtle required a UVB light ?
iinm, its Chinese Stripped Neck Turtle Ocadia Sinensis. Assumption made from observations made in LFS in the past weeks.
TSuzairi
post Jun 11 2009, 04:23 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 9 2009, 09:51 PM)
Thanks for the advice. I checked East Aqua in Ikano again but couldn't find it. The plants there weren't labeled, and the pistia photos I googled didn't look like the ones on display.

uzairi, do you think the first page should be updated with this local info?
Updated, thanks for headups! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jun 10 2009, 04:28 PM)
Yup. owner got to be the judge.

Either provide suitable husbandry requirements or don't ever go on long vacation.
They could do without, but do better with one, as heat source would really boost up metabolism, improve appetite and is beneficial to overall health. Especially since RES are naturally sun worshippers.

For ST, the light would help much in regulating humidity
LOL, talking about long vacation its been quite some time ive had a long nice vacation since i started this hobby sweat.gif

QUOTE(Kar @ Jun 11 2009, 02:45 AM)
Hey guys, gonna get my first Armored Reptile by this Saturday. Wondering what type of materials do you guys use as the floor bedding and anyone would like to share their setup for land tortoises? smile.gif

PS : Oh yes not to forget, thanks to all those who have been very helpful, I'm much more confident to take the tortoise in now. smile.gif
For land tortoise, you can try recycled paper pellets. They are very useful at absorbing the pee and liquid from the poo thus reducing the stench odour from it.

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 11 2009, 03:56 AM)
I just saw one of my turtles do the mating ritual!!! Erm, while the other turtle was trying to heave itself underneath a rock. It's so cute. Guess that confirms his gender to be male right?
Too small to sex them, at least 4inch minimum would do, but that depends on their diet too since overgrowth problem is popular on this species.
TSuzairi
post Jun 12 2009, 03:44 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(eddie88 @ Jun 11 2009, 08:08 PM)
uzairi,samperth,camillenior,
do u think feeding hatchling tortoise with small amount of calcium for every meal offered is overdosing?
Yup, even with small amount you would easily exceed their calcium requirement by doing so. Once or twice per week would do just fine.

QUOTE(Kar @ Jun 11 2009, 08:24 PM)
Hi uzairi,

Are you referring to the breeder celect cat litter pellets?
Correct.

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 11 2009, 08:32 PM)
I think so !!

Added on June 11, 2009, 8:42 pm
Ya I think he refering to that

I am using the following now (Dry species like Sulcata , Indian Star , Leopard , Pancake ...)after my supplier (Local pet shop) fail to bring Breeder Celect in

http://www.woodypet.com/

Cheaper than breeder celect and last longer !!
Something that would make me a happy man lol. But i never saw this brand selling around here sad.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 11 2009, 09:27 PM)
Is it a concern if the water turns *slightly* green but otherwise is clear? it looks like someone poured pandan extract into the aquarium.

Does that mean my filter is underpowered? The tank+filter are one week old.
Its not underpowered, but youre lacking something else which is the biological and chemical filter element part to complement the wool filter element.

For biological filter element, you can use crushed coral and chemical filter element you can use charcoal. This 2 combination would make the water clearer and less smell too.

To use them together, just place the crushed coral under the wool filter element and charcoal filter element at the bottom. The water would go from the wool, crushed coral and finally charcoal.

QUOTE(Kar @ Jun 11 2009, 10:22 PM)
Thanks samperth once again, ure really helpful!!

Also, you mentioned that offering calcium powder in hatchlings meal every day is actually overdosing, what is the correct way then? Can you provide some sort of guidelines or something like that? The ST that I'm getting is about 2.5 inches and I'm already all paranoid on how am I going to make sure it survives well. smile.gif
You can pour some of the powder at every alternating meal, or once a week depending on what u feed them. They might not take green foods with sprinkled powder, instead try giving those powder with striking and colorful foods such as the hibiscus leaf or dragon fruit.

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jun 11 2009, 11:38 PM)
I just use newspaper as bedding for my st wink.gif.
This is a cheap and good way but its quite messy and smelly at times if you are not there to change the newspaper bedding often. sweat.gif
TSuzairi
post Jun 13 2009, 03:07 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Jun 12 2009, 08:15 PM)
good thing i got an alligator snapping turtle, no need to bask laugh.gif

but changing the water every few days is kinda tiring, quite a messy eater. but watching it rip fish apart is sorta cool.

pic

Nice ally there bro, about the basking thing they need it too but not that much. Maybe you can just put a drift wood or a big stone so that it can climb out from the water if it wishes to do so.

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jun 12 2009, 10:30 PM)
No experience on 50w heat output. Back in the days when i put my star-studded RES in the office, I use 75w infrared for 2.5' aquarium. Fully negates the ill-effects of air cond. (Uzairi, you still remember the good old days, didn't you?  smile.gif )
nod.gif

QUOTE(pisang @ Jun 12 2009, 10:52 PM)
i heard some said ally need basking oso. just to promote good shell growth.
Correct.

QUOTE(Kar @ Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM)
A silly question here. How do you guys normally bask your tortoises/turtles? Are they suppose to bask on indirect sunlight or direct sunlight? My home has got like bad spots for direct sunlight, most are indirect.
They should never be put on direct sunlight, and you should prepare a hiding place too if its too hot for them so that they can hide inside it.
TSuzairi
post Jun 16 2009, 08:07 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Nice avatar indeed, look a bit gay-ish tho laugh.gif
TSuzairi
post Jul 1 2009, 11:47 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(wadever @ Jul 1 2009, 12:13 AM)
hey I'm looking for an organisation which I have forgotten what is it.
It was on the newspaper few months ago(?)
Something about releasing turtles into the sea PENYU something?
The article had few other charity groups too.

Anybody got any idea what is it? ><
Seatru ?

SEATRU is now known as TRRG

http://www.umt.edu.my/turtle/
TSuzairi
post Jul 14 2009, 07:41 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 12 2009, 10:09 PM)
The missus just decorated our tank.. it looks really Wow now! rclxm9.gif

[attachmentid=1074386]

compared to what it was when we first bought it..

I thought you are the one who should decorate it tongue.gif

TSuzairi
post Aug 3 2009, 01:45 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 30 2009, 10:23 PM)
I think no-one interested thus edited !! Others may help I think
He's away i think, he still need your info if he's back online tongue.gif

Added on August 3, 2009, 1:47 am
QUOTE(ELM0 @ Aug 2 2009, 07:58 PM)
guys

2 of my snappers dont seem want to eat already for 2 days??
im quite worried dont know how??
normally last time they saw me they like crazy starved monkey will climb up the net as high as possible to eat 1st but now they like didnt bother me

is there any related to sun light or water system??
I assume yours is a common snapper, how big are they ? How big is the enclosure ? How's the water quality ? What do you feed them ? What's the water temperature ?

This post has been edited by uzairi: Aug 3 2009, 01:47 AM
TSuzairi
post Aug 3 2009, 10:43 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Aug 3 2009, 12:16 PM)
ya they are common snappers

-from top shell to bottom shell around 8inchs

-just give them a new home last week 4 x 6 pool

-so far the water quality abit bad , coz i think the bios no longer available keep making the water green and always change water for them

-mostly i feel them prawns , apple, oranges, sometimes small finish ikan bilis size , but now i plan to feed them fish or small sotongs to change their

-diet been quite long eating prawns maybe bored already?? coz now like show them in front of their face also duwan bother eating  cry.gif ,have to slowly slowly temp like bait only want eat some time dont even want to eat, temp them until my back hurts and give up wait for next day  rclxub.gif

-water temperature not sure i dont have the tempt tester, but its open air direct sun light
shocking.gif for real ?
TSuzairi
post Aug 16 2009, 01:29 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Nice avatar camille smile.gif
TSuzairi
post Aug 29 2009, 03:41 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Pity this guy sad.gif
TSuzairi
post Sep 9 2009, 05:44 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(yana_adell @ Sep 9 2009, 02:24 PM)
I have 3 RES, about 1 years old edi..
Now, having less space to kept em.. we have no pond/ big pail/ aquarium..
Shud i let em go to tasik or give to someone for adoption??
Put them up for adoption, never release them to any tasik or whatsoever smile.gif

QUOTE(1000 @ Sep 9 2009, 04:51 PM)
Hi~ anyone know how to set lighting for a 13 years old RES?
i'm quite confuse when i try to read through some of the thread here.
Do tell me what brand of light, where to buy & how to set.
Thank you so much!
Exoterra brand, Pets Safari, Ikano Powercentre. How to setup depends on your current configuration.

QUOTE(badguy @ Sep 9 2009, 05:20 PM)
over my area there is a shop selling some (about 20s) STs for RM 80.00 each

but is about 2 inch only

worth to buy one???

easy to die off??? even with proper care??
2 inch is a very fragile size to start, get those 4 incher specimen as they are hardier albeit the price compared to those you mentioned.
TSuzairi
post Oct 13 2009, 07:26 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Oct 12 2009, 02:50 PM)
can anybody Take a picture of ur TTT SETUP ?
so i can take an example on how to make mine?
if Tortoise whud be the BEST.. thanks..
Try to browse previous version of TTT thread, some members posted their setup there.

QUOTE(budblely @ Oct 12 2009, 04:21 PM)
all the sifu in here....just wat to ask..which UVB light is suitable for AST ah? 2.0 / 5.0 or 10.0?
Just get the 10.0, better in the long term as the uvb output will degrade over time.
TSuzairi
post Oct 19 2009, 04:38 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

That's Snail Eating Turtle (Malayemys Subtrijuga)

Awesome specimen bro! What's the SCL measurement ?
TSuzairi
post Oct 27 2009, 11:51 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

nice sam! how about their tails ? still intact ? because from my observations if we keep them in 1 enclosure they are prone to get their tails bitten by other specimen. hmm.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 28 2009, 03:51 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Oct 27 2009, 01:21 PM)
wah so cute..wat species is that? ..amoi mesti suka XD
That's kachuga tecta, indian roofed turtle.

QUOTE(budblely @ Oct 27 2009, 01:35 PM)
My new turtle Tank... ^^ . now searching for the cabinet.

[attachmentid=1274086]

[attachmentid=1274087]
U should relocated the basking lamp to be 90 degree position on top of the basking log. smile.gif

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Oct 27 2009, 06:22 PM)
[FONT=Arial]
[attachmentid=1274447]

You be the judge they the original pair !! Look intact or shorten ??
still intact hmm.gif

maybe i should ask my friend to reintroduce his sub adult AST back together smile.gif
TSuzairi
post Oct 31 2009, 03:24 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(billyer @ Oct 30 2009, 11:07 PM)
Dear sifus, i uploaded some pics, please advice am i feeding sulcata right food (Local Choy Sam)?
Second is do i need to put a plate of water in aquarium to feed my baby sulcata?
Thirdly, do i need to put a shelter for the sulcata?
Please advice thanksss a lot...
Local choy sam is ok but try to give it a variety of food. There's no need to put a bowl of water inside the enclosure, soak it weekly in a lukewarm water would do.

QUOTE(whit3feather @ Oct 31 2009, 12:09 AM)
sifus i wanna ask...
is it normal for ST to rub their eyes ?
Depends, its either your ST got an eye infection or its just too dry for your ST.
TSuzairi
post Nov 12 2009, 02:43 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(emily88 @ Nov 11 2009, 09:34 PM)
you guys can see for yourselves here

http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae330/p...ky/DSC00277.jpg

i cannot upload on LYN dunno y T_T

i showed her to a vet but i think he did not know much abt it, i read abt MBD online and i just figured it would be that. she also suffered from fungal infection but its cleared now... luckily she grew pretty well in these 5 months i kept her, altough sick... always eating, but not eating food that has sunk in the tank, i have no idea why (mayb she is a bit dumbdumb haha)
QUOTE(emily88 @ Nov 11 2009, 09:50 PM)
its an ocadia sinensis i think... anyway may has been like this for pretty long already... so i don't think it risks to die, the damage has been done and now it does not seem to be getting worse... its still active and eating (and growing heavier)... just... i wonder if her pretty face will be like that for ever or if she'll get back her smile (damn i sound corny...)
That's not MBD, its permanent and not reversible.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0476sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:23 PM