TSthunder_kiat
Oct 20 2008, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Oct 20 2008, 01:55 PM) crossover set to full pass if u are using passive crossover bass - 0 treble - 0 totally dun understand what u mean here. can u answer by number? eg 1. answer 1 1a. answer 1a 1b. answer 1b 2. answer b.....etc
pisces
Oct 20 2008, 02:24 PM

Even if you are running passives, you still need to set to HPF, unless you want your comps to play down as low as 20hz by setting to FULL. And I have never come across any comps that can play so low. For the sub, set to LPF.
TSthunder_kiat
Oct 20 2008, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(pisces @ Oct 20 2008, 02:24 PM) Even if you are running passives, you still need to set to HPF, unless you want your comps to play down as low as 20hz by setting to FULL. And I have never come across any comps that can play so low. For the sub, set to LPF. so normally the front door component are set to HPF rite? for sub defintely LPF.
howiechoo
Oct 20 2008, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Oct 20 2008, 03:38 PM) so normally the front door component are set to HPF rite? for sub defintely LPF. in ur case, yes
jimmylim85
Oct 20 2008, 04:27 PM
Is usual component set uses HPF setting.
For my setup, i've set HPF at 80Hz to eliminate low bass distort from front door. Leaving my 6x9 to LPF to get the bass sound job done.
If set to Full Pass then you have no sound stage effect.
TSthunder_kiat
Oct 20 2008, 05:33 PM

sound like most of u all set to FULL for HPF for front 6.5 component. then how bout its bass and treeble? got any setting for that? i mean for front component
ckmoy007
Oct 21 2008, 12:31 AM
amps i think normally got bass boost and adjustable gain(volume) onli, no bass and treble config. if u use component, then u juz set full pass and let the passive x-overs do the job.
hushymushy
Oct 21 2008, 12:37 AM
let me put in simple words
front comps on passives xover...go HPF range within 60Hz to 80Hz, depending on xover order and component character
sub is alwiz on LPH with d xover at regions of 80hz and below.
good amps do not have bass/treble settings only gain control and xover top ends prolly dont even have xover and gain...hahahahaha
Gary1981
Oct 22 2008, 08:47 AM
Btw, for mine, i set my amp to full range with gain at 7o'clock, use HU xover(80hz@18db)...but now im subless....previously using also HU xover for sub(100hz).....
pisces
Oct 22 2008, 06:05 PM

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Oct 22 2008, 08:47 AM) Btw, for mine, i set my amp to full range with gain at 7o'clock, use HU xover(80hz@18db)...but now im subless....previously using also HU xover for sub(100hz)..... What comps are you using?? Check the FR and if possible, reduce the HPF to 63hz at 18db/oct. This would give you more ooommmmp in the front stage..
TSthunder_kiat
Oct 24 2008, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(pisces @ Oct 22 2008, 06:05 PM) What comps are you using?? Check the FR and if possible, reduce the HPF to 63hz at 18db/oct. This would give you more ooommmmp in the front stage.. what is FR?
jimmylim85
Oct 24 2008, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Oct 24 2008, 01:10 AM) Wrong info This post has been edited by jimmylim85: Oct 24 2008, 01:45 AM
pisces
Oct 24 2008, 01:39 AM

FR=frequency response. Normally for comps, the manufacturer will state the FR, for example, 50hz-20,000hz.
TSthunder_kiat
Oct 29 2008, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(pisces @ Oct 24 2008, 01:39 AM) FR=frequency response. Normally for comps, the manufacturer will state the FR, for example, 50hz-20,000hz. ok. ya. mine oso stated 50hz-20,000hz. what relation FR and the compo?
hushymushy
Oct 29 2008, 06:48 PM
FR rating means ur comps runs best at that range
example:
Frequency response 50hz to 20,000Hz....meaning to say ur comps works best within that range
craziechild
Oct 29 2008, 09:20 PM
i set my hpf at 63hz @ 12db.
distortions? well probably installations problems.
TSthunder_kiat
Oct 30 2008, 10:05 AM

ok, ysdy i borrow my fren's ear.
i am using 4 channel amp, using 3 stereo method mean ch1 and ch2 for my component set and ch3 and ch4 bridge for subwoofer.
this is what is did: ch1 and ch2 - HPF ch1 and ch4 - of coz LPF
all the bass coming out from rear....then can listen the songs more clearly and the sound stage much better.
but sometimes, listening to different song got different tuning....
eg: if i tune nicely to listen soft type (oldies, love songs) then when i switch to techno/rock....it doesnt suit.....
mayb i need to tune until generally can support all range of songs
pisces
Oct 30 2008, 11:47 AM

QUOTE(thunder_kiat @ Oct 30 2008, 10:05 AM) ok, ysdy i borrow my fren's ear. i am using 4 channel amp, using 3 stereo method mean ch1 and ch2 for my component set and ch3 and ch4 bridge for subwoofer. this is what is did: ch1 and ch2 - HPF ch1 and ch4 - of coz LPF all the bass coming out from rear....then can listen the songs more clearly and the sound stage much better. but sometimes, listening to different song got different tuning.... eg: if i tune nicely to listen soft type (oldies, love songs) then when i switch to techno/rock....it doesnt suit..... mayb i need to tune until generally can support all range of songs What are your HPF and LPF settings??