Apple iPhone (PCT), What does PCT stands for?

TSMasamune
post Oct 20 2008, 04:26 AM, updated 18y ago

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

http://www.ultra-trade.ru/Apple.id99113.html

Russian iphone have this PCT word..
Anyone knows what does it mean?
Fighteden
post Oct 20 2008, 12:17 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

PCK i know la.. tongue.gif
TeK_KeN
post Oct 20 2008, 01:54 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 20 2008, 12:17 PM)
PCK i know la.. tongue.gif
Ph Ch Ka laugh.gif

davidgary73
post Oct 20 2008, 02:05 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Hope this explains PCT.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patent_Cooperation_Treaty

http://www.wipo.int/pct/en/inventions/iphone.html

http://www.wipo.int/patentscope/en/patents...html#who_grants
myxery
post Oct 20 2008, 02:13 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Oct 20 2008, 02:05 PM)
nope, i dun think so caused i works in IP field... for me this PCT maybe mean Purchase with Contract Term... may be..
davidgary73
post Oct 20 2008, 02:29 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@myxery

Ya..maybe as russia is selling it with contract terms.

@Masamune

Just ask the sellers. Hopefully they explain to you.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 20 2008, 02:29 PM
apoc1810
post Oct 20 2008, 02:34 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Oct 20 2008, 05:26 AM)
http://www.ultra-trade.ru/Apple.id99113.html

Russian iphone have this PCT word..
Anyone knows what does it mean?
if PCT = patent cooperation treaty, then it generally means that the iphone is somehow or rather protected from infringements in Russia...
myxery
post Oct 20 2008, 04:21 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(apoc1810 @ Oct 20 2008, 02:34 PM)
if PCT = patent cooperation treaty, then it generally means that the iphone is somehow or rather protected from infringements in Russia...
no lah, totally wrong, lets me explain lil bit about Patent and PCT.

Patent protection actually regional protection, let say u filed ur application for patent in US then it's protected in US only, it's not globally protected. If u want to protect your invention in UK then u need to submit your application at UK Patent Office. Meaning that u need to submit ur application to each country u wish to protect.

So, with PCT introduced, its eliminated the need for submit to every patent offices in each country, meaning that u only submit one application in your home country to get protected in other country too.

i.e: u want ur invention to be protected in US, UK, AU, JP, KR etc

without PCT: required to submit application to US, UK, AU, JP, KR offices
with PCT: just submit application to MY Patent Office, then automatically MY office will distribute ur application to US, UK, AU, JP, KR

That is PCT.. it treaty between MY patent office to other country who participate in this Treaty

Hope, u understand my broken Engrish...

This post has been edited by myxery: Oct 20 2008, 04:27 PM
TSMasamune
post Oct 20 2008, 10:20 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

U see...
The iphones without PCT are more expensive around RM300 than the ones with PCT..
But it cannot be contract term because telco companies like Megafon and MTC are not selling PTC..
It's the resellers that are selling PCT iphones...
Lol

0.0126sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:25 AM