Water pressure

TSKronenZerg
post Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM, updated 18y ago

393 posts

Single story house .. do you think the water pressure would be strong?
My plumber recommended me to install a pressure pump, ard RM1200 .. name is Grundfos. This from Denmark
But the place where i bought my basins/ etc, recommend another brand cost ard Rm900 .. name is Davey, from Aust.

Any idea which is better cos this is the first time i heard both names.
aaronpang
post Oct 16 2008, 04:23 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Oct 16 2008, 04:16 PM)
Single story house ..  do you think the water pressure would be strong?
My plumber recommended me to install a pressure pump, ard RM1200 .. name is Grundfos. This from Denmark
But the place where i bought my basins/ etc, recommend another brand cost ard Rm900 .. name is Davey, from Aust.

Grundfos is an established reliable brand for such pumps...

btw why ask here is your water pressure strong? Better you check the taps for yourself hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Oct 16 2008, 04:26 PM
No1n$anE
post Oct 16 2008, 04:23 PM

365 posts

your house is located up a hill?

B4 u Install a pump why dont you check the pressure 1st?

TSKronenZerg
post Oct 16 2008, 05:27 PM

393 posts

Not hit but the tank is 10ft from the ground only. Therefore, the pressure would be lot. So, Grundfos is the most reliable one lah?
I guessed the cost speaks for itself.
hanif444
post Oct 16 2008, 06:02 PM

1,523 posts

normally water from tank for sure pressure abit low...if u want high pressure water taip,then use the main water pipe from the meter to ur taip...for sure is enough already
aaronpang
post Oct 16 2008, 06:19 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Oct 16 2008, 05:27 PM)
Not hit but the tank is 10ft from the ground only. Therefore, the pressure would be lot. So, Grundfos is the most reliable one lah?
I guessed the cost speaks for itself.
IMHO a friend has a Grundfos pump installed in his house... what I like is it's quiet cool.gif

Pumps have a noticeable whirring sound shakehead.gif when they're working but his has minimal noise, fan noise is louder than the pump thumbup.gif
gkl83
post Oct 16 2008, 06:19 PM

8,377 posts

is it need the water pressure for ur water heater while u bath?
myhat
post Oct 17 2008, 08:58 AM

804 posts

look for water heater with built-in pump....

single storey i dun think would be a problem with water pressure...
normally double storey would have such thing...especially the top floor....
sordanny
post Oct 17 2008, 11:01 AM

3,009 posts

Actually that will depend on the external water reticulation plan for the area also. If the pressure is low in the whole area it is no use installing whatever pump because the situation will just be improved just slightly only. THERE WILL STILL BE NOT ENUF WATER IF THE WATER FROM THE MAIN PIPES REACH YOUR HOME SLOWLY.

For me I think forget about the pump. Better use the money to install a solar heater.
hanif444
post Oct 21 2008, 09:10 AM

1,523 posts

How much for the Solar heater nowaday?
aaronpang
post Oct 21 2008, 10:31 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

The last time someone quoted me for a big name solar water heater was RM14k... Piping installation RM6 to RM8k sweat.gif I think I need a cold shower laugh.gif

I googled for a cheaper alternative and came to this site...

http://solarlightsmalaysia.com/solar_water_heater.php

Do remember that if your house doesn't have the necessary hot water piping you'll need to rip it all out sad.gif
hanif444
post Oct 22 2008, 09:40 AM

1,523 posts

Ecosolar Water Heater

EcoSolar Water Heater does just that. It will provide you with hot water for very many years, at minimal energy costs, because the free sun’s energy will supply most of the energy needed.

It will reduce your utilities bill, and will also avoid the production of many tonnes of greenhouse gasses. Grenidea’s EcoSolar Water Heater is simple, economical, and efficient.

* No electrical supply needed
* No controller or pump needed
* Easy to install, may be installed on the roof or at ground level
* Reliable and durable; no moving parts, stainless steel tank and frame
* Efficient; as high as 55% annual efficiency - far superior than flat plate

Price :
130 Liter - RM 3,000.00 USD 790.00
200 Liter - RM 4,200.00 USD 1105.00
300 Liter - RM 5,000.00 USD 1300.00
manda
post Oct 24 2008, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(hanif444 @ Oct 21 2008, 09:10 AM)
How much for the Solar heater nowaday?
Well if your looking for good water heater i think u should go for alpha brand, its a bit costly but its recommended.my plumber said its also one of the best.

am_eniey
post Oct 24 2008, 01:26 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

My laundry uses a water pump but if you shower with the water pump switched on, you might die out of the water pressure !
myhat
post Oct 28 2008, 09:05 AM

804 posts

any suggestion on good water pump for budget less than RM1k (without installation), please?
mleong
post Oct 29 2008, 10:33 AM

27 posts

Get the Grundfos. They are good and quiet. I had 1. Install the pump at the outlet from the water tank, before going into the house. There are many different pump size, the installer should recommend the correct capacity for the house.

Make sure you build a enclosure to house the pump and the electric supply. I can recommend someone if you want.

Note: you will need to do a bypass valve, just in case when there is no electricity, can still get water direct from tank or main. You will need to close the valve when you use the pump so that the pressure from the pump won't cause the water to back-flow.

This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 29 2008, 10:43 AM
myhat
post Oct 29 2008, 10:52 AM

804 posts

please recommend me then....
need to know total cost....
and also details for each part....item..installation....etc....

yours what model of grundfos?
mleong
post Oct 29 2008, 11:11 AM

27 posts

I have use it since I got the house renovated, gone thru 2 groundfos(approx 4 years each). Now using a different brand recommended by the installer.
(Kejuruteraan Pumpfield S/B, 019-3126407 Asmi, 21 Jln Permai 3/2 Subang Jaya).

This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 29 2008, 11:14 AM
myhat
post Oct 29 2008, 11:20 AM

804 posts

price in total?

Added on October 29, 2008, 11:50 amanyone heard of Calgon Automatic Booster Package System?
recommended by this Mr. Asmi (suggested by mleong)....

he said that the performance is similar to Grundfos....
but cheaper coz Malaysian made....
i went to their website and its recognised by Syabas

This post has been edited by myhat: Oct 29 2008, 11:50 AM
mleong
post Oct 29 2008, 12:14 PM

27 posts

Oh, if can, get 1 of the rocket filter (install right after the Water Meter). Should prolong the life of the pump.

Added on October 31, 2008, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(am_eniey @ Oct 24 2008, 02:26 PM)
My laundry uses a water pump but if you shower with the water pump switched on, you might die out of the water pressure !
Reroute the water supply to the Washer direct from mains.

This post has been edited by mleong: Oct 31 2008, 04:46 PM
myhat
post Nov 3 2008, 09:59 AM

804 posts

anyone ever used Panasonic's water pump A-129JXC
saw one of this at Kajang last Saturday...
quoted at RM440 for item only....
said to be sufficient for water pressure problem at DS type house with 2 B upstair and 1B downstairs

anyone can help to give some review, plez?

This post has been edited by myhat: Nov 3 2008, 10:03 AM
jchong
post Nov 6 2008, 11:45 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 21 2008, 10:31 AM)
The last time someone quoted me for a big name solar water heater was RM14k... Piping installation RM6 to RM8k sweat.gif I think I need a cold shower laugh.gif

I googled for a cheaper alternative and came to this site...

http://solarlightsmalaysia.com/solar_water_heater.php

Do remember that if your house doesn't have the necessary hot water piping you'll need to rip it all out  sad.gif
Yup, the expensive part about getting the solar heater is actually the piping works. If you want it to be concealed then have to break the tiles, hack the wall, lay the pipe, replaster and retile back. As mentioned above, this part alone can be 6-8k for a DSL house. If want cheaper then run with exposed hot water piping but it would look ugly.

The solar heater itself is only 3-4k for some brands.
jchong
post Nov 6 2008, 11:48 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Oct 24 2008, 01:26 PM)
You use a commercial strength water pump is it?

For home use you won't die from the water pressure. The pressure is firm, but of course if you turn on full power at the tap it can be uncomfortable.
myhat
post Nov 6 2008, 05:35 PM

804 posts

can please define home and commercial use?

u seems have knowledge in this...
mind helping me to choose one within RM1k budget?

thanx
jchong
post Nov 6 2008, 07:07 PM

5,989 posts

I'm not really that knowledgeable about pumps.

Anyway, for pumps Grundfos is a well established brand. Why don't you call one of their distributors like this place: http://www.megaseven.com.my/automatic.php and ask for a quote or recommendation. Note: I'm not affiliated with them.
myhat
post Nov 7 2008, 09:04 AM

804 posts

thanks bro....

but i'm expecting opinions and feedback from user point of view...
if call directly distributor etc...
for sure...
they will promote their product and telling all the good thing about it...
well....profit making maaa

but if user give feedback...
then its more transparent....
and honest description...
so easier to choose and evaluate which to buy and install....

i did contact one distributor of Grundfos located in my area earlier....
and they sell other brand as well...
but my 1st Q didn't mention at all about Grundfos...
just mention my water pressure problem and my budget....
and the answer i've got....for sure...."go for Grundfos lorrr"
when i said my budget is limited...
they say cannot do anything lorr..
if want good one....
go for Grundfos...
sure can describe every wonderful thing about it on the phone
but if want other brand...within my budget...
just come over lorr...
see for yourself...."but surely other brand not good lorrr..."

sigh.....

p/s: well established doesn't mean thats the only choice...

This post has been edited by myhat: Nov 7 2008, 09:04 AM
jchong
post Nov 7 2008, 09:40 AM

5,989 posts

Of course if you call a distributor for one brand they will always push that brand first. As you said it's part of their profit making to do so.

Certainly Grundfos isn't the only choice. I know a few other brands have entered the Malaysian market in the last few years. But I'm familiar with Grundfos because my parents house use it and I know it's been in Malaysia for many years, so servicing isn't a problem. With other brands if the distribution network isn't strong then service might be an issue.

I know you're seeking user reviews but so far not many people have replied about other brands. Anyway, for my own use in future I'm also getting a Grundfos.

In the end a pump is a fairly simple device. For me the main thing is: does it work reliably and is it quiet? If I need service are there many technicians who can service it?

The TS mentioned Davey. Here is their website: http://www.davey.com.au/products/household.aspx But I don't know much about this brand.
Another brand sold in Malaysia: http://www.ktstrade.com.my/nocchi/index.php

This post has been edited by jchong: Nov 7 2008, 09:49 AM
jootat
post Nov 7 2008, 12:18 PM

1,994 posts

i had a water pump install at the tangki area, and the water came out from the tangki have enough water pressure, but the ground floor which the water came directly from outside seems like the water pressure is not enough. can we install the water pump outside?
jchong
post Nov 7 2008, 12:53 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Nov 7 2008, 12:18 PM)
i had a water pump install at the tangki area, and the water came out from the tangki have enough water pressure, but the ground floor which the water came directly from outside seems like the water pressure is not enough.  can we install the water pump outside?
Normally in a house the ground floor kitchen tap is connected to the mains. All other taps are connected to the tangki (which in turn is connected to the mains).

If you feel that ground floor tap with the mains supply is not powerful enough, you can connect another water pump to it (then you have 2 pumps in the house) or the other solution is connect that tap to the tangki (so you still only have 1 pump).
K for Ketamine
post Nov 7 2008, 01:32 PM

1,188 posts

i not expert in this field, alternative from water/booster pump

my old house use to located high pressure area for main pipe.

my uncle replace bathroom with large diameter & thicker tube. i get better flow rate. no need pump assistant. btw is direct from the main pipe to shower heater only. there is valve switch to the water-tank(when low pressure) make sure get valve flow single way. so the water-tank won't over flow.

**not recommend route entire main pipe to bathroom utility, afaik most house construct using thinner pipe, once the pipe bust, bye bye to bathroom/bedroom. cry.gif

for low pressure area,
best replace water-tank to large (e.g. 100L -> 250L), height play important row too or get extra water-tank. from the lowest part of water-tank to bathroom, use large diameter & thicker tube to shower heater only
shortest route & less turn is always the best

i'm using p@n@sonic water heater with pump booster RM4xx, is BS the bottleneck internal pipe *** love my old house, i can still feel the pain, coming out from main-pipe rclxm9.gif

btw install water/booster pump, where u need the most **too far & alot of turn (back to square one)
Amanda99
post Nov 7 2008, 09:43 PM

185 posts

for me, water pressure very important....
if no pressure, shower not nice....
if shower not nice, mood not nice....
if mood not nice......face black black.....
if face black black....dad calls me Ms. Bao... sweat.gif

smwah
post Nov 10 2008, 11:54 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(Amanda99 @ Nov 7 2008, 09:43 PM)
for me, water pressure very important....
if no pressure, shower not nice....
if shower not nice, mood not nice....
if mood not nice......face black black.....
if face black black....dad calls me Ms. Bao... sweat.gif
True I absolute agree.
Hi, jootat, how much you install the pump?
My case is tangki located outside, so if put pump the wiring must do well bcoz exposed to rain and sunshine.
jootat
post Nov 11 2008, 12:16 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 7 2008, 12:53 PM)
Normally in a house the ground floor kitchen tap is connected to the mains. All other taps are connected to the tangki (which in turn is connected to the mains).

If you feel that ground floor tap with the mains supply is not powerful enough, you can connect another water pump to it (then you have 2 pumps in the house) or the other solution is connect that tap to the tangki (so you still only have 1 pump).
ok ... got it. That means we can still add another water pump in fron the house from the main ... Let me consider about that ... Thanks smile.gif
Because putting additional pipe from the tangki to kitchen need hacking of walls again or we need to add additional pipe outside the wall which is visible (then not so nice di)
hanif444
post Nov 17 2008, 03:37 PM

1,523 posts

i think the panasonic 1 good enough..
myhat
post Nov 17 2008, 04:00 PM

804 posts

received feedback from other forums...

that panasonic is enough to give sufficient pressure (they dun say good)...
good shower....

BUT....

please dun turn ON other tap or water outlet when u shower...
or else....
one of the outlet will die out of water...
either the shower will pour no more water...
or perhaps u spray nothing from ur sprinkler when u wash ur car...
etc...

coz most of the user claimed that....
its good if we use one outlet at at time...
if concurrent...
then sorry....

no wonder price is cheaper....
compared to Grundfos and the gang...
am_eniey
post Nov 20 2008, 01:38 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

I'm using that brand for my laundry !
jchong
post Nov 23 2008, 06:56 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(myhat @ Nov 17 2008, 04:00 PM)
received feedback from other forums...

that panasonic is enough to give sufficient pressure (they dun say good)...
good shower....

BUT....

please dun turn ON other tap or water outlet when u shower...
or else....
one of the outlet will die out of water...
either the shower will pour no more water...
or perhaps u spray nothing from ur sprinkler when u wash ur car...
etc...

coz most of the user claimed that....
its good if we use one outlet at at time...
if concurrent...
then sorry....

no wonder price is cheaper....
compared to Grundfos and the gang...
This means that Panasonic model is a low power version that isn't sufficient for multiple taps being on at the same time. Every brand has several models from low power to high power.
myhat
post Dec 1 2008, 08:38 AM

804 posts

yup....

well...
as an update...

lucky me...
i've called Syabas to check my water pressure (surely at meter outdoor only)
and it seems like the pressure is at good level...
so they assumed that it has something to do with my piping system internally....
i've called my developer....
and they sent people to rectify....
they did something yesterday...
and i can see some significant improvement on the pressure for all my bathrooms....
except...i have'nt installed shower...
so cannot comment on the pressure for that particular part...
so far..only checked for taps...
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 1 2008, 10:21 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

the last time my house didnt have enough pressure, instead of adding a water pump like my neighbours i just made a new piping from the main pipe to my garden and that solved all my problems
am_eniey
post Dec 1 2008, 05:19 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(mleong @ Oct 29 2008, 12:14 PM)
Oh, if can, get 1 of the rocket filter (install right after the Water Meter). Should prolong the life of the pump.

Added on October 31, 2008, 4:46 pm
Reroute the water supply to the Washer direct from mains.
nope, the waer is pumped out of the water tank. it is impossible to increase the pressure from the main.
Par@dox
post Jan 16 2009, 10:37 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

QUOTE(myhat @ Nov 3 2008, 09:59 AM)
said to be sufficient for water pressure problem at DS type house with 2 B upstair and 1B downstairs

My contractor also recommended this model to me.. he has installed a lot of pumps and according to him, the quality of Grundfos pumps is not as good as it used to be. He suggested that I go with this pump instead coz it's cheap and does a sufficient job for my master bedroom rainshower. There is also another model A-130JTX.. apparently that one is quieter but slightly more expensive. If you noticed, these 2 pumps are rated at 125w and 130w respectively.. a far cry from Grundfos pumps. But for the price, it's quite good value.. in fact, if you try to search for these pumps now, you will find most places are out of stock. I found a place in Jln Ipoh though that sells them at a reasonable price.. A-130JTX = RM380 and A-129JXC = RM330.
DarkChocolate
post Jan 17 2009, 10:20 AM

25 posts

Hi All biggrin.gif ,

Actually it is equally important to learn the impact of booster pump . In many cases booster pump causes visible and invisible leakage to piping works to our house. If you spend a day looking at how a plumber fix those piping at a construction site and i believe you will think twice before install a booster pump. Of course ultimate water pressure during shower is enjoying, me too like massage and wash off foam around me without using my hand, but as someone mention above, almost all brand of the eletric shower system come with build in pump which is good enought for regular shower. If pump is really required, then choose and consult few people before installing. Not " i want the highest water pressure one ....." ok ? drool.gif
Infinity2
post Feb 12 2010, 06:34 PM

[quote=Par@dox,Jan 16 2009, 10:37 PM]
My contractor also recommended this model to me.. he has installed a lot of pumps and according to him, the quality of Grundfos pumps is not as good as it used to be. He suggested that I go with this pump instead coz it's cheap and does a sufficient job for my master bedroom rainshower. There is also another model A-130JTX.. apparently that one is quieter but slightly more expensive. If you noticed, these 2 pumps are rated at 125w and 130w respectively.. a far cry from Grundfos pumps. But for the price, it's quite good value.. in fact, if you try to search for these pumps now, you will find most places are out of stock. I found a place in Jln Ipoh though that sells them at a reasonable price.. A-130JTX = RM380 and A-129JXC = RM330.

[If you are considering Panasonic, you might as well consider this Hitachi pump. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...achi+water+pump]
qsil
post Feb 17 2010, 06:25 AM

129 posts

y nobody use DAVEY ?? i am using this anytime better than grundfos tongue.gif

mie77
post Feb 18 2010, 08:52 PM

19 posts

What Davey model u're using bro n how much?Was quoted RM1480 for XF111 model..tried to find in davey website could'nt locate this model..
Anyone using Calgon pumps?Was quoted RM1100 for HP2-30 model.
Both of these are 304 stainless steel construction only Davey is Australian made n Calgon is locally manufactured.
APPA
post Feb 18 2010, 11:15 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(myhat @ Nov 3 2008, 09:59 AM)

i have this panasonic pump temporary installed when my booster pump sent for repair, this A-129JXC can give u good water pressure @ max 2 tap point, and its quite noisy & it start/stop very frequent rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
mokh
post Jun 22 2010, 09:36 AM

243 posts

hi all..im looking for water pump (silent, auto).

my existing pump died already. so now looking for replacement.

i need the contact person for the calgon. anybody have it?
YILI ENGINEERING
post Apr 16 2011, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(mokh @ Jun 22 2010, 09:36 AM)
hi all..im looking for water pump (silent, auto).

my existing pump died already. so now looking for replacement.

i need the contact person for the calgon. anybody have it?
How many bathroom you have. What's your previous pump model? Never go for Calgon, the pump is noisy. If not you can go to any of the showroom to see it yourself. Looking for replacement can go to this thread. WATER PUMP

Added on April 16, 2011, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(myhat @ Nov 7 2008, 09:04 AM)
thanks bro....

but i'm expecting opinions and feedback from user point of view...
if call directly distributor etc...
for sure...
they will promote their product and telling all the good thing about it...
well....profit making maaa

but if user give feedback...
then its more transparent....
and honest description...
so easier to choose and evaluate which to buy and install....

i did contact one distributor of Grundfos located in my area earlier....
and they sell other brand as well...
but my 1st Q didn't mention at all about Grundfos...
just mention my water pressure problem and my budget....
and the answer i've got....for sure...."go for Grundfos lorrr"
when i said my budget is limited...
they say cannot do anything lorr..
if want good one....
go for Grundfos...
sure can describe every wonderful thing about it on the phone
but if want other brand...within my budget...
just come over lorr...
see for yourself...."but surely other brand not good lorrr..."

sigh.....

well establish mean well trust-able quality product, good after sales guarantee... just like most of the branded things. Good things no cheap, cheap things no good.

This post has been edited by YILI ENGINEERING: Apr 16 2011, 07:12 PM
skng03
post Apr 16 2011, 11:27 PM

1,450 posts

100% agree rclxms.gif

i have a china cheap 1/2 hp pump for garden, cost rm170 and last for 7 years cool2.gif
YILI ENGINEERING
post Apr 17 2011, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(qsil @ Feb 17 2010, 06:25 AM)
y nobody use DAVEY  ?? i am using this anytime better than grundfos tongue.gif
You are lucky with that davey pump. If you got problem with it, better hope there is still have spare parts for it and service back up. Haha...
betaiso
post Jun 10 2011, 06:32 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Jan 16 2009, 10:37 PM)
My contractor also recommended this model to me.. he has installed a lot of pumps and according to him, the quality of Grundfos pumps is not as good as it used to be. He suggested that I go with this pump instead coz it's cheap and does a sufficient job for my master bedroom rainshower.  There is also another model A-130JTX.. apparently that one is quieter but slightly more expensive. If you noticed, these 2 pumps are rated at 125w and 130w respectively.. a far cry from Grundfos pumps. But for the price, it's quite good value.. in fact, if you try to search for these pumps now, you will find most places are out of stock. I found a place in Jln Ipoh though that sells them at a reasonable price.. A-130JTX = RM380 and A-129JXC = RM330.
do you mind to share the location of the said shop that offer such a good price?
kelvyn
post Jun 21 2011, 02:55 PM

3,173 posts

i am using a Grundfos water pump and am satisfied with it. Had some problem with it. Called up the supplier and they send their technician to rectify the problem. There is only a slight humming sound when the pump is running. Nothing noticeable unless you really try to...
if the pump is placed on a concrete slab with the rubber pads, would be better.

0.0347sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:08 AM