Maxis users with iPhone..., Do you have problems making calls lately

TSneverenuff
post Oct 16 2008, 08:07 AM, updated 18y ago

44 posts

OK...this is a genuine problem I'm having and I don't see similar thread opened.

I'm using an iPhone 2G for few months...just upgraded to 2.1 Firmware about few weeks ago. No problems until now...

Past week or so, I've been getting an unusually high number of failed calls with the message "The number you have dialed is inactive" or "Nombor yang anda dial tiada dalam perkhidmatan". I get this message even when calling landlines.

I complained to Maxis and they said it was due to them doing upgrade to their system.

That was almost a week ago. Any upgrade would have been finished. However, I'm still getting these failed calls with higher than normal frequency.

Any other Maxis users with iPhone getting this problem?

Thanks in advance.
Lng
post Oct 16 2008, 08:27 AM

105 posts

Apple brick you Iphone cos it is still not officially available in Malaysia and becos u upgrade the firmware, Apple found out?
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 09:14 AM

11,811 posts

yea, i got this issue abt 2 weeks ago, nowadyas not so serious
nombor yang anda dial tiada dalam perkhidmatan
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 16 2008, 09:14 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

brick? nolah... even maxis now have settings for apple iphone....
check this out
https://maxis.mobilethink.net/wp_maxis_hotl...99-A26D488D82B3

@neverenuff try calling them again and complain about your problems.... im sure they can do something since its network problem, not your phone problem....
try switching sim cards and see if u have any similar problems accured... if other sim card have no problem... then we can assume its network problem....
if not... well.... you can always restore your iphone back to its original settings....

gewd luck
Joelles
post Oct 16 2008, 10:23 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(Lng @ Oct 16 2008, 08:27 AM)
Apple brick you Iphone cos it is still not officially available in Malaysia and becos u upgrade the firmware, Apple found out?
OMG...bro, no offence but you sure you know what you're talking about?
=Hanxz=
post Oct 16 2008, 10:49 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

i think its becuz of the +6 issue thingy yet again, i've encountered that too..i called the phone without the +6 its okay but with the +6 the phone is not in their service

try installing caller fix id from cydia and see smile.gif
davidgary73
post Oct 16 2008, 11:00 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

????????????????????????? This is new....hhhahahahha.
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 16 2008, 11:06 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Oct 16 2008, 10:49 AM)
i think its becuz of the +6 issue thingy yet again, i've encountered that too..i called the phone without the +6 its okay but with the +6 the phone is not in their service

try installing caller fix id from cydia and see smile.gif
really? hurm.. i dont have any problem regarding that.... it still dial n i can still recieve call n make calls... guess i have to install it just in case...
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 11:28 AM

11,811 posts

tak boleh pakai the maxis protal
reach email site kneot access liao
twinkles
post Oct 16 2008, 11:31 AM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

im installed the caller fixed id ..sometime problem still same
!
nokia2003
post Oct 16 2008, 11:32 AM

5,786 posts

i LOLed so so so hard that everyone in the library had to give me shut-the-hell-up stares.

this has to be the statement of the year
deadman8836
post Oct 16 2008, 11:55 AM

464 posts

seriously bro, u just made a fool out of yourself.... be smarter next time... thank you~
setoyo
post Oct 16 2008, 12:20 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Until now... i try harder to figure it...
try to figure it using all my strength...
Oppss.. my brain shutting down...

bla..bla..bla...

I need to restart again.. haahh
Acquiesce
post Oct 16 2008, 12:27 PM

355 posts

yupe encountered this prolblem too last 2 week but now *touchwood* tak ada lagi. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSneverenuff
post Oct 16 2008, 12:41 PM

44 posts

I wouldn't be too concerned about this except for the fact that everytime you make a call and you get that message...you're probably being billed for that call.

Maybe 10cents is nothing to you but multiply that by the hundreds of thousands of Maxis customers. Each one of them, pay 10cents, per day...for failed call...adds up to quite a bit.

Anyway, thank you for all the feedback. At least I know my iPhone is not the one's that broken. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by neverenuff: Oct 16 2008, 12:56 PM
rx330
post Oct 16 2008, 12:43 PM

11,811 posts

failed call got billed meh? i tot those 1-2 second call not billed one?
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 16 2008, 12:45 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 16 2008, 12:43 PM)
failed call got billed meh? i tot those 1-2 second call not billed one?
if masuk voice mail kene lah charge... if not free je.... according to my previous experience laa nih...
pillowman
post Oct 16 2008, 12:49 PM

43 posts

I thought i am the only one...i even complained to my friend!!

Symptom: First call after long inactive period (sleep mode) ==> nombor yang anda dial tiada dalam perkhidmatan

Model: Iphone 2G firmware 2.1 carrier settings 2.6

Fix: End the stupid call, and try again and it'll get through.

But i still need a better fix because it's damn annoying to listen to the same line everyday. Yes i have +6 to every number in my phonebook because caller id fix just came out recently.

Installing caller id fix does not fix this problem so far. So you mean editing the whole phonebook list to without "+6" can solve this problem?
TSneverenuff
post Oct 16 2008, 12:55 PM

44 posts

Do call up MAXIS to complain...because if many people call...then they will tend to treat it as more urgent to fix.

Don't accept it as normal.

Update:
Just spoke to Maxis customer service. According to them, you SHOULD not be charged for those calls that do not get thru...those when you get the message that number is not in service etc. You will be charged for those calls that go thru to that person's mail box for instance.

However, I would still advise you to monitor such calls against your bill and make sure they're not charging you for failed calls.

This post has been edited by neverenuff: Oct 16 2008, 12:58 PM
LaskarCinta
post Oct 16 2008, 01:22 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(neverenuff @ Oct 16 2008, 12:41 PM)
I wouldn't be too concerned about this except for the fact that everytime you make a call and you get that message...you're probably being billed for that call.
nope, for messages like "not in service" and "out of coverage area" or "not available" will not being charged. well u don't have to take my words, see for yourself by using prepaid Hotlink.

btw alongside of my iPhone, i'm also using a sony ericsson phone. it also got lots of failed calls. so it seems like the telco's fault.

owww...another thing, u'll only being charged if u reach voicemail.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 16 2008, 01:23 PM

0.0184sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:23 AM