How to remove the UAC icon from the desktop icon?

TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 15 2008, 11:13 PM, updated 18y ago

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

I disable my UAC but the icon is still on the icon on da desktop. How 2 remove it ?? Thanks
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 08:38 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Oct 15 2008, 11:13 PM)
I disable my UAC but the icon is still on the icon on da desktop. How 2 remove it ?? Thanks
How'd you have an icon on your desktop and how'd you disable it (probably wrong method). Please post a screenshot.
TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 16 2008, 09:58 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

Ok screenshort added. Thanks ya

rich79ers
post Oct 16 2008, 10:12 PM

24 posts

looks like a virus to me
eXPeri3nc3
post Oct 16 2008, 10:42 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

That one ah, I think it will only go away when you disable UAC. =\
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 10:49 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:42 PM)
That one ah, I think it will only go away when you disable UAC. =\
Those are not UAC related icons. Those are third-party applications but if you like to remove the message/pop up box when you open the programs:
To disable the UAC, enter the Control Panel and type UAC in the search box.
The first result returned by the search will be User Accounts – Turn User Account Control (UAC) on or off.
Click on it and the UAC window will open. Deselect the option Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer and press the OK button.
Windows Vista will ask you to restart your computer. After the restart, UAC will be disabled and all the confirmation requests will no longer bug you.Source.
TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 16 2008, 10:55 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

I have already turn it off the thing is still there.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 11:05 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

You've already turned it off by following the steps I taught you? Please restart your computer.
TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 16 2008, 11:17 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

So tat means i haf 2 turn it on and then off it back again rite.
BuLaNaR
post Oct 17 2008, 02:56 AM

penyair sepi
777 posts

i dun think u can turn off it unless u on it back the security
TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 17 2008, 11:10 AM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

Ok i followed the method but still the icon is still there.
eXPeri3nc3
post Oct 17 2008, 12:00 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:49 PM)
Those are not UAC related icons. Those are third-party applications but if you like to remove the message/pop up box when you open the programs:
To disable the UAC, enter the Control Panel and type UAC in the search box.
The first result returned by the search will be User Accounts – Turn User Account Control (UAC) on or off.
Click on it and the UAC window will open. Deselect the option Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer and press the OK button.
Windows Vista will ask you to restart your computer. After the restart, UAC will be disabled and all the confirmation requests will no longer bug you.Source.
sleep.gif

So much for saying that.

@TS -- http://www.neowin.net/forum/lofiversion/in...hp/t533531.html
TSxXAaronXx
post Oct 17 2008, 01:39 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

OK i solve the problem d guys. Thanks every1
TechnoDude94
post Oct 17 2008, 07:03 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Oct 17 2008, 01:39 PM)
OK i solve the problem d guys. Thanks every1
Great luck. Thanks "eXPeri3nc3" for helping him, I stand corrected.

0.0158sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:28 PM