Food Best place for steaks

hfi
post Jan 29 2011, 09:33 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(ZeppelInk! @ Jan 26 2011, 06:29 PM)
I heard a bit about Suzi's... heard very good things!

My question is: I only eat my steak rare (Ya lah, I like it almost uncooked lah), but some restaurants precook their meat a bit first, then sear it to heat it up before serving. 

Where can I can actual rare steak?  (you know, when you cut it, it bleeds).
Why dont you just grill it yourself ? Its so easy, takes 3-4 mins for medium rare. Less if you want it more rare. Then let it rest for few mins to let the juice settle. Profit!
hfi
post Jan 30 2011, 11:02 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 30 2011, 03:58 AM)
I use the 'thumb meat' way to tell once the steak is medium or medium rare (i.e. hold your thumb to your finger, and the 'hardness' of the flesh below the thumb corresponds to how hard the steak should be). problem is, (i) can't find good beef and (ii) using a griddle doesn't give the same flavor as a real grill.
True you wont get the full flavor of restaurant grill but these days i get by with just pan frying my steak with a bit of oil and then basting it with butter. Just have to make sure to season it properly and get that nice crust on the steak. I live in Ampang and there's this specialized meat outlet which sells high quality beef cuts. A bit too expensive for me, so normally i just settle for those oz rib-eyes.

0.0273sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:07 PM