I've had tenderloin, they are tender but i always feel that they lack flavor. It take a great chef to bring out the full potential of a tenderloin steak. Sirloin/striploin/NY have great flavor but its a bit lean.
For my review i'm just gonna focus on rib eye bcoz this is the cut that i think you dont need a lot of money to enjoy. Its tender, juicy, and the flavor mwaaaaah!!!!
For place i would say i prefer
Tony Romas, TGIF, The Ship, San Fran, Chillies in that order from best to worst
All of the rib eye steak cost around RM 50, pretty much standard price for a juicy rib eye and I always order it medium rare.
From experience, Tony Romas haven't dissapoint me yet but for some reason think Sunway Pyramid Tony Romas is the best compared to The Curve and Mid Val. Very good, friendly service. If your steak arrive not in your prefered doneness they will make you a new one. The steak is 10 oz, big and thick. There's no gravy, so might not be to your liking if you're a gravy freak. But for me, i prefer the pure taste of the rib eye instead of gravy or any other sauce. Every rib eye i had from Tony arrive perfectly, medium rare. Brown n charred outside, pinkish to redish inside and not bleeding. just nice. The extra fatty bits from the steak seems to melts in my mouth adding more flavor to the cuts of meat.
TGIF - The curve, i had JD steak, 10 oz, Big Juicy and tender. but the sauce taste a bit like taucu + teriyaki and too sweet. I dont like the sauce. But I do like the steak. So when i had it i pretty much toss the sauce away and just enjoy the jack daniel marinated steak as is. The steak was smokey, oakey, and a bit sweet. My main complain, i can't choose my side dish. The grill zuchini's was not that great. But the steak was nice.
The Ship, for a rib eye steak with a price range of around 40 - 50. i expect it to be at least 10 oz. But the ship's rib eye steak is thin, dissapoiting in term of size. But it is tasty. It comes with no gravy. But the taste of the meat is good. As with Tony n TGIF the chef did a great job cooking my steak medium rare. nothing worse than an over cooked or under cooked steak right? But for the price The Ship is stingy
San Fran - mid val, my rib eye steak comes at the right doneness. the taste is well... good but i had better (see above), sumhow the fatty bits just doesnt melts in my mouth like tony or tgif or the ship. it feels more like eating a piece of cartilage or sumthing, rubbery. doesn't help with the flavor department at all. so might wanna seperate those extra fatty bits if you wanna enjoy the steak. Also everytime i eat there the steak gets cold quite fast. kinda ruin the experience since i had to finish it quickly. The steak here comes with minimal salt n pepper so that u can add it to your own preference. so if u feel the steak need a bit of salt n pepper please feel free to add to taste. also for the price it is not as big as tony's or TGIF's JD. San Fran is also a stingy place. i dont feel like i had enough bang for my bucks.
Chillies - Mid Val, this is the worst rib eye steak for me
I'm still looking for other outlets to pursue my craving for rib eye steak. How i rate my steak might not be to your liking. But this is how i prefer my steaks. I dont eat my steaks with gravy or sauce so it might also not be to your liking. I feel that a great steak should showcase the taste of the meat and not be overpowered by mediocre black pepper sauce, mushroom gravy or whatever. Also i haven't tried any of the wagyu or kobe beef. coz its way too expensive lah, I wanna be able to enjoy a good steak once in two weeks not once a year.
Jul 20 2009, 03:38 AM
0.0294sec