Home Theatre Wharfedale Speakers Owners Thread, Britain's Most Famous Loudspeakers

neo_lam
post Aug 11 2015, 12:01 PM

Player
1,921 posts

hi guys....where can find good deal of wharfedale speakers in KL?

i would like to choose from Diamond 220 and 10.2....which one nicer?

i mostly for movies and jazz....
neo_lam
post Aug 11 2015, 10:38 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Aug 11 2015, 09:30 PM)
You can contact Desa Home Theater Kepong branch, try ask price, should be around 1.5K max...I think another good distributor is Double GT, Mr Tan
so 10.2 or 220 better? Double GT is shop name?
neo_lam
post Aug 11 2015, 11:57 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Aug 11 2015, 11:05 PM)
Never tried 220. But I used to have 10.2, which surely good for movies~  thumbup.gif
thanks for the info....

wanna know marantz or yamaha avr will pair nicely with 10.2??
neo_lam
post Aug 12 2015, 09:51 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Aug 12 2015, 01:40 AM)
Bass handling on 220 I expect to be more flexible and controlled, more easier for placement, also they always enhance their products, though I would not say much difference if compare to 10.2, some people prefer the look of the classic 10.2. Double GT Sdn Bhd is company name. You try search. These speakers I would not say they are entry level or high end, just feel that it sound right, not the perfect sound and never will, for that price, you get to enjoy more than enough, I advise you choose based on outlook preference, and better yet go audition with guarantee assurance. Normal amp like Marantz and Yamaha will work just fine, though I have some problems with Class D amp like Topping, with some exceptions like Class D Audio power amp, which I currently use to driver Wharfedale Denton, sound wonderful enough for me
thanks for the info man....

may i ask if i using an AVR is there any necessarily to get an extra amp?
neo_lam
post Aug 12 2015, 11:18 AM

Player
1,921 posts

i read some forums said tht 10.2 its quite hard to drive on basic AVR...they claim the it hard to get a proper listening volume out of it.....

guys any idea on this?
neo_lam
post Aug 12 2015, 04:36 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 12 2015, 04:08 PM)
my opinion is like this, the avr amp can drive 10.2 to full blast. but bad sounding whenever u turn down the volume, become not focus and more dull (wharfedale diamond is not a forward sounding to begin with).
what if i use it alot with movies?

music wise i love jazz so warm soundings suits it well.....
neo_lam
post Aug 13 2015, 10:30 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Aug 13 2015, 12:38 AM)
yup, what he said. I can understand this as I own both Diamond 122 and Denton 80th Anniversary, one can sound harsher with some less than perfect recording, but the Diamond is more immune to dynamic and power, while Denton is kinda power hungry, it will not sound good if insufficient power feed to it, Denton sound very forgiving while still able to bring the music details, with decent bass punch cool.gif
so bro diamond 122 hows it sounds like? suit for movie and jazz?
neo_lam
post Aug 14 2015, 10:09 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Aug 13 2015, 09:05 PM)
Yes, suit movie and jazz, basically most genre lah, it's consider a good speakers, just that the craftsmanship is not so good for Diamond 100 series, look for Diamond 200 series, it solve the cabinet issue. Also for movie purpose, suggest you add a sub lol, Diamond goes down to around 45hz, which is enough for most music listening. The sound on Diamond 100 tend to airy, flexible bass, more emphasis on drivers instead of cabinet, so I think the weakpoint on the cabinet. Better you have a look first, Diamond 10 series could be better looking to you.
i mostly aiming diamond 10.2.....sunday maybe will go desa kepong audition....any suggestion?
neo_lam
post Aug 14 2015, 02:31 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 14 2015, 12:39 PM)
You are asking what suggestion ?
anything wanna take note during audition time?
neo_lam
post Aug 14 2015, 03:43 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 14 2015, 02:47 PM)
Just listen to the sound if is to your liking. Nothing in particular. It might suits me and not you. So your ear should be the judge
thanks man....
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 11:37 AM

Player
1,921 posts

guys...i called desa and wanna ask do they got Diamond series...they said now no more stock....any idea where can get Diamond series in KL area?
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 01:17 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Nov 26 2015, 12:36 PM)
You can contact Wharfaudio & Visual Sdn Bhd, they got Facebook page
thanks bro....any idea suggestion on a decent bookshelf speaker? my budget is within 3k....
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 01:27 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Nov 26 2015, 01:20 PM)
You can bring your gears to audition at Wharfaudio show room, lol, easy, prepare as much songs as you can cool.gif
i totally new into speaker world....so i got very less knowledge on this...
i wanna buy a pair of bookshelf to pair with TV....may I know is it need a AV receiver?

Diamond 121 and 200 which one is more worth??
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 01:39 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 26 2015, 01:34 PM)
definitely you need something to power the speaker. AV receiver is one of it.
ya....any nice and cheap suggestion to power this pair??
as a beginner i think i will not aim too high end model....

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Nov 26 2015, 01:31 PM)
If you are choosing between these 2, go for the 200, better cabinet and finish, the 100 does not impress me in finish and build, one advice though, be careful of the bottom pcs of board, I accidentally cause a small crack on one corner of the bottom board when I put it down on some uneven floor
ok good...i am reading review for 220.....will take note also
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 03:11 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 26 2015, 02:57 PM)
AV receiver may not be the cheapest to power up speakers...

if the major usage is music listening, a proper stereo amp is still better....

marantz and NAD entry levels are quite affordable....

not to mention entry level tubes from China.....
i want it to connect with TV....and i cant afford to buy AVR and an amp together now...
so is it AVR is the best choice??
neo_lam
post Nov 26 2015, 04:07 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 26 2015, 03:51 PM)
if you want to connect TV and use HDMI ARC feature, then an AVR would be a better choice.

so here's the thing..... AVR is also an amplifier, more feature and home theater intended

a stereo amplifier is more suitable for music purposes.

so either one works....
thanks....so i will aim an AVR first....amplifier is next year target dy....
neo_lam
post Nov 27 2015, 02:07 PM

Player
1,921 posts

whafaudio quote me 1.9k for diamond 220....how you guys think??
neo_lam
post Nov 27 2015, 02:43 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 27 2015, 02:19 PM)
Is reasonable
oh ok....
may i know what brand AVR best suit with Wharfedale sounds??
neo_lam
post Nov 27 2015, 02:56 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 27 2015, 02:49 PM)
Really no specific brand. Any will do but don't go for denon and marantz as their distributor is gone from Malaysia.
which in another way they both would be pricier right?
neo_lam
post Nov 27 2015, 03:19 PM

Player
1,921 posts

i think i mostly go with yamaha....because cheaper.....
just i dunno is it suit diamond 220......

0.0355sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:28 AM