What to do when contractor runaway?

TSadccs
post Oct 7 2008, 01:19 AM, updated 18y ago

38 posts

well the contractor i engage to build a house have cabut liow...VO also paid liow but work not finish..what to do ah...got any place to complaint them or not ah?
TSadccs
post Oct 7 2008, 01:32 AM

38 posts

got think of that...but will the police go and find them and gari them? the boss already "missing in action" liow

i got think also about filing bankruptcy on the boss....is that possible?...duno worth or not lor in term of time & money spend
TSadccs
post Oct 7 2008, 02:07 PM

38 posts

i pay full for the VO coz that time the contractor are in full swing....so most of the things complete liow...but some are incomplete....the incomplete part estimate around RM5K.

hmm...really can't do anything meh...so easily can let them go ah..haiz
TSadccs
post Oct 8 2008, 11:21 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(speed7791 @ Oct 8 2008, 08:53 AM)
can try the consumer tribunal
how to report in consumer tribunal? i tot the tribunal is for small claim and furthermore the contractor already runaway.... how to claim from them?
TSadccs
post Oct 11 2008, 12:01 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(speed7791 @ Oct 9 2008, 01:01 PM)
if its a freelance contractor then of course difficult. those with sdn bhd or enterprise its worth the try. u ask for answers, this is one option you can consider. of course the amount you want to claim also needs to be worth the time n effort otherwise take it as a lesson n move on....
I'm wondering...is my case (engaging a contractor to build a house) fall under the category of "homebuyer" which i could report to Tribunal for Homebuyer Claims?
TSadccs
post Oct 16 2008, 08:09 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Tctf @ Oct 14 2008, 06:05 PM)
Erm. how about u got take any retention from the contractor?
and 1st place u paid full $ for ur VO works is wrong..
mean u buy a car without looking the shape or condition..
since u are lyn member, and i can give u free advise... bec i from QS firm tongue.gif
u got any resit for the $ u pay to contractor?
Yes, the contractor did gv me resit for the payment i paid to them. Now i'm trying to get back the retention $$ to finish up the incomplete works. But still unable to cover the VO $ paid the contractor.

0.0138sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:08 PM