All Things about BLU-RAY | V8, BLU Raya

callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 04:56 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Oct 15 2008, 04:50 PM)
If no brain watch matrix, then won't be able to understand the show.
No brain show = SCARY MOVIE, DATE MOVIE, DISASTER MOVIE, ZOHAN, BORAT
hehe ive written a review on matrix before expressing this and more.. lemme paste it here.. hehe (finding)\

ITS LENGHTY so.. be warn.. lol

part1 = too cool, so easier to accept by the masses, but if u care to read between the lines, its a totally DIFFERENT movie.. hence watching it more than 2x is a good idea.

part2 = is like a poetry, so u either hate it or love it.. they made this movie very complex to grasp and if u miss their chain of thought, then ud just end up bored and lost from start to finish..

part3 = go die la.. haha

This post has been edited by callmevil: Oct 15 2008, 04:58 PM
callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 05:00 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Oct 15 2008, 04:59 PM)
If u want to understand the Matrix, watch Animatrix first. It will explain everything. So buy the boxset u must. laugh.gif
or.. haha ill paste it again.. read this review i made!!

The Matrix in a technological terminology means the "entire sum of all computer communication systems which are connected to one another and can communicate to each other. It comprises of thousands of networks, hundreds of thousands of computers, and many millions of "terminals". A "network" is a computer communication sub-web which has some kind of organizational integrity" (M.L Endicott, 1984). In a recent development, Hollywood have released their version of "The Matrix" and have incorparated humans into the whole equation. This rambling will discuss mainly on the validity of the film's claim to the world we now live in today.

The film uses the original meaning to the word "Matrix" and have replaced computers connected together with brains of humans connected together, and They have made the "Matrix" appear as a server for all the brains connected to it. The film suggest that the world we're living in now is not what it seems. We are all actually in a dream, put to sleep somewhere in a pod, where we are hooked up to wires which feeds us food, extracts our heat for energy, and keep us connected to the Matrix. In the Matrix, humans are made to belive that they are all in the real world, where they go about doing usual things and all the Rule of Physics and Common sense are incorparated into the system so as the human instinct wouldnt suspect any "fishy" thing going on. Making the Virtual world as real as possible. All the five sensors of the human body are controlled directly by the Matrix and is directly linked to the Virtual world to achieve and even greater realism. After watching the movie, people are left to question, if the movie is true or not. If we really are connected to a giant computer and we are all just leaving in a virtual world. Personally, the Movie does go beyond that of simply pointing that we are connected to a computer. It invokes a much deeper question. The question of Societal Inhibitions of Knowledge and Beliefs which were thought on to us since birth.

Societal Inhibitors are that such as Cultural Superstition, Religion, and the Common Sense thought on to us through life experiences, schools and historical instances. Cultural Superstition is that of beliefs in things as karma, where people get what they deserve. This goes against Logic but some tend to believe it still, it may all be true, or just another case of self-fulfilling prophecy where they make what they belive become reality. Religions mostly discuss in the existance of afterlife and that of the existence of heaven and hell, and more prominently, God. Everyone have talked to themselve when no one is around, and anyone in trouble would call for help in his/her mind to a greater being to give a miracle to save him/her from their trouble. People begging their help from a much greater being perhaps. Inately the humans believe in God no matter they admit or not, Every human have made a wish for something before they go to sleep at some point in their life to absolutely noone. Meaning the Basic Instinct of the Human mind have acknowledged the existance of something beyond that of the Natural world which can hear his/her call for help. Both of this Inhibitors have exhibit conditions where The Real world is not the Only world. People inately believe that there is a greater world beyond the world we live in. So if the "Real world" we know today is not the only world, there is another world out there. and if we belive in that world to be governing our fate and future, does that make our world fake in a sense that theres another external world that controls our world without us even knowing about it.

Common Sense if the Inhibitors that goes against the first 2 Inhibitors as it only accepts what it can see, can taste, can feel, can smell, and can hear. Initially that means that Common Sense stands as something that proves The Matrix does not exist. The rabbit's hole goes even deeper as we take a close look at "Logic". Seeing is Believing. To date, there have never been any form of full eye transplant being offered by any hospital in the world (a cornea transplant does not count as it only replaces the front cover of the eye), This means that no one knows exactly what the other person is seeing, but through series of aliasing, both have come to accept something with the same name. For instance colors, there is no proof to man that can tell u the Blue Mr.A see is the same Blue Mr.B sees. Mr.A could be seeing the Green to Mr.B and Mr.B could be seeing the Yellow for Mr.A but both call it Blue because that is what they were told to call it from the first time they saw it. Like in the movie where the taste of chicken was put to question. The same idea could be put to all the other sensors in our body. It differs from person to person, but we all name them the same. Someone, some being or something started the whole aliasing of senses to a name in the first place. It cant be human instincts because if it is, then it would have evolve to a greater state as time goes on. All this suggest that a Common Sense is a generic logic which have been instilled in our minds even before we're born to keep all humans in agreement with one another on the simpler things in life which we shouldnt question much and should just accept.

Truth is what ever the mind accepts. On that basis is what Reality stands upon. May it be superstitious, biblical, or as simple as the law of gravity, If the mind can accept it with enough reasoning, then the mind will take it as the Truth no matter what others may say against it which stands very true especially in terms of Religion. On the other hand, what ever the mind cannot accept will be not True. This will then create fear and possibly hate as Humans are naturally afraid of things they do not understand. So reality differs from person to person. Humans, though however diverse in beliefs and practise, manage to live together still due to respect of one another and acceptance. In some cases, War happens between people with different point of view of "Reality". Both trying to establish their truth on the other people beliving on a different set of reality. Some wars even occur due to the fear that the reality of some may catch on further. In the rapidly Globalising world we're living in now, we have become more knowledgeable of the Reality that others may belive in and the reasons for them beliving it. With more and more ignorance removed through globilisation, hopefully a greater level of respect and acceptance is achieved. Lesser fear, and lesser hate.

The Matrix film, may depict a world of machines over humans, but it is actually opening our eyes to the Reality we all came to belive in. Establishing that all humans govern their judgement on either Common sense, Religion, or Superstition or even all of them or mix of either two. We do not have any proof or evidence to say Common sense is man made because the basics of logic have not evolve. Religion and Superstition are both entirely the existance of externalities beyond the real world. There may not be machines behind all of this, nor do I belive that we are all plugged to a machine and i am actually virtually typing through my vegitable brain. But i do believe the idea behind The Matrix, that there are a greater reality out there, and we are just playing along with the show set to us by it. We dont question it because our mind can still accept what we have now as the truth. And if its not broken then dont fix it.
callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 05:03 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Oct 15 2008, 05:02 PM)
Haha... also just leave ur brain at the door when come in "All Things about BLU-RAY | V8"... ":P

Just bring ur EYEs, cuz ur brain will tell u to BUY BUY BUY!  doh.gif
i would say, hide ur cc farfaraway when come in "All Things about BLU-RAY | V*"
callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 05:08 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hahaha i loveeeeee my bolster~~ HUGGGG TIGHT SVS~~~ hehehe
callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 10:58 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hot shot 1 & 2 = WIN
callmevil
post Oct 16 2008, 12:41 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

wah just finished reading 3 pages of poisons on this thread hehehe. hmm no idea when my matrix will arrive.. grrr

i just bought a Beyerdynamic dt 880 headset and i tried it for bd movies lastnight.. not bad lah~ but my speakers sounded better.. hehe. maybe amping issue, but silent cinema is 'excellent\' enough.. (gonna get either a denon d2000, senn hd650, or a beyer dt770 next.. hehehe)

Q, the pioneer elite, would this require any avr since it comes with the 7.1 analogue out? or can this beast solo it all?

another Q, the THX intro for indy, can i appreciate this if my avr (yammy 663) does not support thx? and i dont think the ps3 supports thx too... or in ur case, can u appreciate the THX since the ps3 does the sound decoding and since it does not support thx, would it drop the THX thing before it transfer it to ur ps3?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Oct 16 2008, 12:44 PM
callmevil
post Oct 16 2008, 01:40 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

ty aimann smile.gif
callmevil
post Oct 16 2008, 08:21 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

my ironman (target ver & steelbook) arrived just now!! but i arrived home when the post closed edi! gaaahhhh, and govt building in brunei close on friday.. so i have to wait till saturday!! damn~~~

ohh well...

k lastnight before sleep i watched 'baby mama' on bd.. comments :

pq : i hated it.. its clear.. but the color is like the simpsons nightmare.. i have no idea how to set the color for this movie.. i dont know if its suppose to be amberish or natural.. when i set it natural, green was predominant even after removing it as much as i could.. i set it at d65 mode and it looked burnt.. had to tune rgb to full, which added hues at places.. so.. if ur picky about color calibration.. u just have to power it through this one..

aq: nothing to boast about.. dtshdma 5.1.. but.. its quite useless..

storyline: WELCOME TO SNOREVILLE~ its not exciting.. characters are annoying.. and.. meeeahhhh.. i bought it solely cause of that 30rock chic.. but without glasses, she kinda look freaky..

extras: the lamest extra in bd to date! all it had was commentary....

advice: borrow.. dont buy.. now its going to the back of my cabinet never to be opened again...
callmevil
post Oct 16 2008, 08:57 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Oct 16 2008, 08:44 PM)
btw,any good recommended online store to order HK movies?

Added on October 16, 2008, 8:46 pm

i oledi watched the BD,pinjam from fren,PQ ok only,AQ some scenes very good,i like the story,also Zhang,Takashi and Andy  thumbup.gif
i bought my chinese odessey from yesasia as its much cheaper than playasia..
callmevil
post Oct 17 2008, 06:10 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:48 PM)
for me both  brows.gif
yea right... LoL
*cough* *speedracer* *cough cough* *sleeping beauty* *COooughhhh*

Added on October 17, 2008, 6:14 amill be honest and say.. i buy blurays with good story line / pq / aq / hype .. having more than 1 of that feature in a bd is a bonus smile.gif

and i keep all my BD hehe!

This post has been edited by callmevil: Oct 17 2008, 06:14 AM
callmevil
post Oct 17 2008, 12:39 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Oct 17 2008, 08:09 AM)
Question to 663 owners.

When accessing menus, must the menu always appear on tv/screen? Is it because of the hdmi connection from receiver to screen?

It's quite irritating, can't change settings without interrupting the movie.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For PS3 to 663, I understand PCM is the way to go.

But I find PCM is a little flat (no uumph).

Anyone compare bitstream vs PCM?
its all placebo..
callmevil
post Oct 19 2008, 12:55 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

http://www.yesasia.com/global/the-incredib...-0-en/info.html

yesasia got the new hulk edi..
callmevil
post Oct 19 2008, 11:20 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
callmevil
post Oct 19 2008, 01:40 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Oct 19 2008, 11:38 AM)
congrats bro! finally arrived huh?
looks cool! nice for collectibles.  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
thank you smile.gif it arrived 4 days ago, i just picked it up yesterday hehehe <3 <3
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 19 2008, 12:23 PM)
Nice mask.. but cheap plastic. IMO, not worth the extra US$10~$15 more just for this exclusive
package.  If you put in your shelves.. it is pretty out of place with other BD collection.
I think I prefer the standard 2 discs version with the slipcover instead.
yes it is a nice mask. about it being cheap plastic, if u based that on how the looks and not actual / physical then ok.. if u hold it in ur hand and actually have it infront of u, im sure ull say something else.. the plastic used for the case is more quality than the ones used as the normal bd jewel case. and did u see the back label? its MARVEL! hehe is ur jewel case made / endorsed by MARVEL? of curz not smile.gif

now about it being out of place.. not at all.. it compliments my potc/avp/spidyman/encounter of the 3rd kind nicely.. if uploading isnt such a b****, i wouldnt mind pasting how it looks arranged amongst the other bds smile.gif

QUOTE(ferricide @ Oct 19 2008, 12:37 PM)
I think there's a slipover/sleeve case ala TF, provided as well, see the pics again.
And if the sleeve is plastic vs the card board version we all have, its more durable (ala TF again).

Good stuff!
there is 2 option on displaying the case.. either 1, placing the mask in the clear plastic case that it came with (it may look like cheap clear plastic.. but its actually hard and quite durable), or u can just do away with the clear case and hang the Mask on the wall or somewhere.. which is actually MUCH cooler.

ehehe steelbook ironman incoming. will post pics when i have it smile.gif

This post has been edited by callmevil: Oct 19 2008, 01:41 PM
callmevil
post Oct 20 2008, 07:15 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 20 2008, 02:41 AM)
Of course I see the back label.. it is right in front of me.. Yeah.. Marvel. Big deal.
Did you see the fine print: Made in China that is.

Take a look at this:
With box

Without box

Don't you think it is out of place?  hmm.gif

I think I'll get rid of this and get the standard slipcover version or steelbox instead.
Haha u be-littled having the Marvel imprint behind the case?? for fans, and those who appreciates 'collectibles' it is gold..
Whats wrong with things being made in China? are u such a bigot that u classify all things made in China to be Inferior? Wake up to the present dan.. Almost everything is Made in China now, It does not make it Generic.. 2 words for you to consider.. Globalization and Quality Control..

BTW, I hope your not claiming those pictures u posted yours.. I pasted the same photo a few weeks ago.. Lai, post pics of YOUR copy?

Now about placement again.. asking if its out of place from those pic is a big 'duh' placing the ironman case along normal jewelcase (in the middle of them summore) may not be the best idea and seeking aesthetics from it is just daft.. its even more daft to unbox the case and place the faceplate inbtween the jewelcase..

here is MY iron man..
out of place? haha

here is a tip, the back of the faceplate is FLAT for a reason.. if you want to keep it unbox, then it should lay flat on its back. either be stuck to a wall/or anything upright, or.. just lay on flat surface..

fyi: close encounter of the third kind case is longer than all other bd case, chinese odyssey case is even longer than close encounter's case.. the ironman clear case cover is just as long as a normal DVD case.

Added on October 20, 2008, 7:25 amwhere've u been RX? uve been gone long! training is it???

-- watched Iron Man yesterday.. comment:
PQ: so good.. sighh dunno how to comment.. very pretty things on my screen smile.gif
AQ: at 0db calibrated @75db, ironman is LOUD.. it kept my bolster very busy.. fav scene was when he flew to go to the desert from his house.. Sonic BOOM!
story: i can watch it more than once.. No Problem..

----
any of u seen Max Payne??? did u see the amount of Particles in that Movie??? and did u notice that the screen is Very active? like actions arent centered to the middle of the screen.. there are various activities going on each side / corners of the screen! add the fact that the movie is quite dark... i am expecting a 5star bd incoming... drool.gif

This post has been edited by callmevil: Oct 20 2008, 07:25 AM
callmevil
post Oct 22 2008, 09:58 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

getting We are marshall, I know who killed me, Silent Hill, Blood & Chocolate, Underworld 1,2 from the b2g1..
callmevil
post Oct 22 2008, 10:17 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

sighh when can we see Spirited Away and Princess Monoke on Blu-ray!??!? grrrrrrrrr
callmevil
post Oct 24 2008, 05:59 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

mega getting bolster?? hah!!
callmevil
post Oct 24 2008, 06:53 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hills-Have-Eyes-Em...844696&sr=1-280

anyone care to explain the price?
callmevil
post Oct 24 2008, 07:30 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 24 2008, 07:19 PM)
I think he's trying to point out that a not so great title is selling for nearly 30 pounds sweat.gif
haha exactly.. hills have eyes for 28+pounds!! zomg! how much was spidey trilogy again??? haha

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:58 AM