Bad things happen to unlicensed Windows users, Study by Microsoft

TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM, updated 18y ago

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Microsoft claims that companies that rely on unlicensed copies of Windows are more likely to experience system failures and lose customer data:
From the article:

"..43% more likely to have had a critical system failure lasting more then 24 hours,
28% more likely to lose customer data and
73% more likely to lose their own data."

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/arti...dows_users.html

Shah_15
post Oct 6 2008, 01:25 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

SO this is the way microsoft threathen us to use their ori software?
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 01:26 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Haha yeah I guess so. The study was commissioned by them, so take the findings with a grain of salt..
s@ni
post Oct 6 2008, 01:40 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

to those company,just move on to open source software.there's plenty of free software.

tongue.gif

pengiranijam
post Oct 6 2008, 02:12 AM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 6 2008, 02:25 AM)
SO this is the way microsoft threathen us to use their ori software?
I don't think so...
Using ORI is the safest way to avoid more losses, not just being get virusus, but your business profitable from it... blush.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:15 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
Microsoft claims that companies that rely on unlicensed copies of Windows are more likely to experience system failures and lose customer data:
From the article:

"..43% more likely to have had a critical system failure lasting more then 24 hours,

It does makes sense, coz Ori users gets to call and use their technical support when problem happens...
aspire2oo6
post Oct 6 2008, 02:22 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

they claim to cover their a**. Got such thing just because of a cd key your computer crashes.
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 02:23 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 6 2008, 02:15 AM)
It does makes sense, coz Ori users gets to call and use their technical support when problem happens...
Yup, and they get program updates too. Aspire - sure lor, that's prolly one reason they comissioned the study =p

This post has been edited by zer0hour: Oct 6 2008, 02:24 AM
Aria_Sacho
post Oct 6 2008, 02:46 AM

41 posts

wooo... lucky i get my xp and vista for free XD
jihchuan
post Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM

:)
528 posts

I hv my xp oem but crashed for som program frequently oso..does oem diff frm buy one?
memkingdom
post Oct 6 2008, 03:49 AM

529 posts

just a trick !
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 6 2008, 06:17 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(jihchuan @ Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM)
I hv my xp oem but crashed for som program frequently oso..does oem diff frm buy one?
I dont think got different, it's still the same, just different customer support only, any problem you must refer to the oem manufacturer if im not mistaken
navilink
post Oct 6 2008, 08:03 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

man talking bad about their own products... the facts applied to their windows WITHOUT the update laugh.gif
zx7177
post Oct 6 2008, 06:23 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

solution , get windows with a super l337 crack to update laugh.gif
ronho
post Oct 6 2008, 10:09 PM

1,356 posts

hey bros...if company one better not use ahem windows...ori not so expensive...can also deduct from expenses-- no ??
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 11:31 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Well it's not advisable to use non-original Windows for companies. Microsoft tolerates personal pirated use, but a company doing it is asking to get sued..
ChayimT
post Oct 7 2008, 07:17 AM

90 posts

Yes, don't use pirate stuff in businesses.

We do not know if the research indicates that companies that do not use Windows at all, experience even lower rates of system failures and data loss.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 7 2008, 09:22 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
From the article:

I have to admit, I've used pirated Windows XP but have never encountered any problems listed. Currently dual-booting XP Professional SP3 and Vista Home Premium SP1 (OEM). Worth the money rather than having the crack/hack WGA. I know there are things to do it for you (don't have to tell me, no software if perfect).
haya
post Oct 7 2008, 12:01 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Toyota and Honda claims that using China-knockoff replacement parts for their cars will reduce its life and increase the chance if you getting into an accident.

Take a look at the nearest car scrapyard and have a look closely at the twisted metal.

My point is, even if it increases the chance of you getting viruses, going bankrupt, contracting STD, having a marriage breakdown, people will still try to circumvent the whole thing and stick to a pirated copy.
FarCry3r
post Oct 7 2008, 05:53 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 7 2008, 09:22 AM)
I have to admit, I've used pirated Windows XP but have never encountered any problems listed. Currently dual-booting XP Professional SP3 and Vista Home Premium SP1 (OEM). Worth the money rather than having the crack/hack WGA. I know there are things to do it for you (don't have to tell me, no software if perfect).
me too in the past. I've been using pirated Windows XP since the first gold release back in 2001. No virus whatsoever, I repeat, NO VIRUS WHATSOEVER, it just gimmick. And believe or not, I even called Microsoft support to ask about my pirated Windows problem, and they just help me, no question asked. whistling.gif But using original is worth the time and money since you didn't need to apply some 1337 crack everytime WGA updates, also the packaging and media is so nice, so, get original thumbup.gif
tcchuin
post Oct 7 2008, 05:59 PM

511 posts

wait..im using Windows server datacenter..erm..pirated...well...windows update able to work..no need scare WGA..just because the SN is legal and working
zorex
post Oct 7 2008, 06:04 PM

1,186 posts

unless their WGA crash the system on purpose if not, its juz a treat to scare ppl.

For companies don't use pirated software bah. They are making $$ from selling their software, you making $$ frm using their software. Paying them is definitely worth while.

You wouldn't want to see ppl sell imitation products of yours also.

ps: my windows is VLK
FarCry3r
post Oct 7 2008, 06:10 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Oct 7 2008, 05:59 PM)
wait..im using Windows server datacenter..erm..pirated...well...windows update able to work..no need scare WGA..just because the SN is legal and working
lol, that doesn't count as pirated. as long the product key used is legal, there's nothing wrong using pirated media, unless you're skeptical of what the media contain...
zx7177
post Oct 7 2008, 06:18 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 7 2008, 05:53 PM)
me too in the past. I've been using pirated Windows XP since the first gold release back in 2001. No virus whatsoever, I repeat, NO VIRUS WHATSOEVER, it just gimmick. And believe or not, I even called Microsoft support to ask about my pirated Windows problem, and they just help me, no question asked. whistling.gif But using original is worth the time and money since you didn't need to apply some 1337 crack everytime WGA updates, also the packaging and media is so nice, so, get original thumbup.gif
on the contrary , i know of one that makes your copy completely look original from the time you implement it onwards tongue.gif

ps : zorex posted a clue biggrin.gif
FarCry3r
post Oct 7 2008, 06:28 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Oct 7 2008, 06:18 PM)
on the contrary , i know of one that makes your copy completely look original from the time you implement it onwards  tongue.gif

ps : zorex posted a clue biggrin.gif
lol, if you can find any, that is... if not, stick to 1337 crack or just get original brows.gif btw, I do have access to VL keys, but it's for WinXP, since I don't use WinXP anymore, it's no use lor... sweat.gif
safone
post Oct 7 2008, 06:57 PM

5 STAR only..huhu
976 posts

Hhm..dun think so..coz this prblm is sometime happen too at my workplace although using ori OS..
nimrod2
post Oct 8 2008, 11:58 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(safone @ Oct 7 2008, 06:57 PM)
Hhm..dun think so..coz this prblm is sometime happen too at my workplace although using ori OS..
original or pirated, will still crash wan ler.

so pls dont believe all their crap.
SUSMatrix
post Oct 8 2008, 12:42 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Use OEM key...never worry about WGA ever. I didn't. tongue.gif
FarCry3r
post Oct 8 2008, 12:47 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 8 2008, 12:42 PM)
Use OEM key...never worry about WGA ever. I didn't.  tongue.gif
OEM key won't protect you from WGA if the key is shared with others and activated. the solution is volume license key, period.
dopodplaya
post Oct 8 2008, 12:50 PM

2,280 posts

don't compare your experience with others... majority of illegal Windows XP users out there had the same experiences. btw, you are paying for the phone bill when you call the help line. laugh.gif

this just show your immoral darkside. it's embarassing... doh.gif
nimrod2
post Oct 8 2008, 01:24 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 12:50 PM)
don't compare your experience with others... majority of illegal Windows XP users out there had the same experiences. btw, you are paying for the phone bill when you call the help line. laugh.gif

haha can we complain about them sucking out the money off our wallets?

damn those microsofts!
dopodplaya
post Oct 8 2008, 01:31 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Oct 8 2008, 01:24 PM)
haha can we complain about them sucking out the money off our wallets?

damn those microsofts!
it's legal business - you prefer jail or a quiet and peaceful days at home?
keeping things legal is the only way in any kind of business, even the dirtiest one.

it's give and take, you want to use their software, you pay the license, so don't brag if you are "safe" when you are using the software illegally...
nimrod2
post Oct 8 2008, 01:54 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 01:31 PM)
it's legal business - you prefer jail or a quiet and peaceful days at home?
keeping things legal is the only way in any kind of business, even the dirtiest one.

it's give and take, you want to use their software, you pay the license, so don't brag if you are "safe" when you are using the software illegally...
true. i guess the only choice we have is to support other open source software.
there's pretty much no other way.
ulun64
post Oct 8 2008, 02:17 PM

49 posts

Pathetic. Pirate windows also comes from the original!!!

It's like claiming their own product got problem smile.gif
dopodplaya
post Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(ulun64 @ Oct 8 2008, 02:17 PM)
Pathetic. Pirate windows also comes from the original!!!
It's like claiming their own product got problem smile.gif
wrong - with pirated software - you won't be able to update your system and receive support.
yes, the system flawed, but Microsoft delivers patches and updates to genuine Windows users only.

even other operating systems have flaws doh.gif
FarCry3r
post Oct 8 2008, 03:07 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 12:50 PM)

even legal customer pay for phone bill when contacting the help line, what's the different actually?

i think you got the wrong idea, if you read my post before carefully, i said BEFORE this I used pirated one, but after realizing the worthy of genuine products, I start buying them. It's not too late to repent don't you think? doh.gif

Added on October 8, 2008, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM)
wrong - with pirated software - you won't be able to update your system and receive support.
yes, the system flawed, but Microsoft delivers patches and updates to genuine Windows users only.

tbh, that's utter bullshit doh.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Oct 8 2008, 03:09 PM
dopodplaya
post Oct 8 2008, 03:11 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 8 2008, 03:07 PM)
even legal customer pay for phone bill when contacting the help line, what's the different actually?

i think you got the wrong idea, if you read my post before carefully, i said BEFORE this I used pirated one, but after realizing the worthy of genuine products, I start buying them. It's not too late to repent don't you think? doh.gif
you don't have to be proud of using pirated software... read the R&R and understand why you don't have to show off even though you successfully ran Windows illegally.

even though it is "before", your statement denotes that using illegal software is OK. that's embarassing just like saying "stealing is ok as long as the product is not broken and when I have the money I'll pay back the shop for what I steal".
Kagaya
post Oct 8 2008, 03:23 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

What Virus got to do with non-ori Windows? Their concept is non-ori = unable to perform Windows update = unable to plug vulnerability loopholes = susceptible to worm & virus attack... that's the idea.

As for Microsoft Tech Support, they got policies on what issue entitled for FREE SUPPORT and what for PAID SUPPORT.

Apparently issues concerning VIRUS, WGA & Windows Update-related problem are entitled for free support.

Original Windows (FPP - Full Package Product) are entitled for FREE SUPPORT for the first 90-days upon activation or FIRST INCIDENT within the first 2 weeks (grace period) after the 90-days activation.

First time installation (FPP as well) also entitled for free tech support guidance on installation. Reinstallation not entertained or if you wished to pay for it, then they will forward your call to Tech Support.

+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+

I'm using VLK Windows XP Pro too and I can tell you even that also not the ETERNAL solution for WGA; your VLK might have been blacklisted. Any product with the PID like 76487-64x-0011903-00101 where the second 3 digits combination of 64x (640~649) tells you that you are on a Volume License Key. Not same for Vista and Office 2007 though.

+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+

The one and only way to actually allows you update while at the same time save yourself from the WGA clampdown is to be picky.

Here are some steps which I believe might educate you all on this:

zx7177
post Oct 8 2008, 08:45 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

some people can get to use vlk and everything as if it was a normal original version . even wga happily acknowledges it
FarCry3r
post Oct 8 2008, 09:14 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Kagaya @ Oct 8 2008, 03:23 PM)
What Virus got to do with non-ori Windows? Their concept is non-ori = unable to perform Windows update = unable to plug vulnerability loopholes = susceptible to worm & virus attack... that's the idea.
don't just see that one only, there's lots of older article microsoft said that pirated copy of Windows may contain viruses, spywares etc

Added on October 8, 2008, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 03:11 PM)
you don't have to be proud of using pirated software... read the R&R and understand why you don't have to show off even though you successfully ran Windows illegally.

even though it is "before", your statement denotes that using illegal software is OK. that's embarassing just like saying "stealing is ok as long as the product is not broken and when I have the money I'll pay back the shop for what I steal".
well, then, I am sorry for my stupidiness showing I'm a proud illegal Windows user, make peace no war icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Oct 8 2008, 09:15 PM
TechnoDude94
post Oct 8 2008, 09:57 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

C'mon guys, what is this? All the flaming and such. icon_rolleyes.gif I was using pirated disc because I lost my original disc but genuine serial number. Currently don't use so much of Windows, more on Mac. icon_rolleyes.gif
macpolian
post Oct 8 2008, 10:01 PM

sigh....
unknownsubject
post Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM

form blazing sword...
895 posts

pure bs..

im also using a *ahem* copy of windows.
for 3+ years i have not formated my os, only updates on the latest service pack.like sp3.
it's not the windows which causes errors...ITS THE USER of the windows.
i work in the IT line so i KNOW how to maintain my windows.

nimrod2
post Oct 9 2008, 10:24 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

i think he's just trying to say that using pirated software is illegal lor.
how oso, if get caught will kena wan.

no big deal.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 9 2008, 10:40 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(macpolian @ Oct 8 2008, 10:01 PM)
sigh....
And the reason of this post is? shocking.gif
crapp0
post Oct 9 2008, 05:41 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(unknownsubject @ Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM)
pure bs..

for 3+ years i have not formated my os, only updates on the latest service pack.like sp3.
Rather shameful to the profession that you still have to use pirated software to do your work or even study.

If your in the IT line, if you dont want 2 pay for windows. Then why dont go open source since your more then cheap enough 2 use pirated software.
nimrod2
post Oct 9 2008, 05:43 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 9 2008, 10:40 AM)
And the reason of this post is? shocking.gif
to add post count. doh.gif

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 9 2008, 05:41 PM)
Rather shameful to the profession that you still have to use pirated software to do your work or even study.

If your in the IT line, if you dont want 2 pay for windows. Then why dont go open source since your more then cheap enough 2 use pirated software.
pwn'd, and kinda true. sorry ah whistling.gif
crapp0
post Oct 9 2008, 05:50 PM

4,414 posts

There are so many open source OS out there, any capable IT person would at least have tried out some of it b4 resorting to pirated goods.

Even big firms are going open source such as google and even notebook manufacturers like asus and dell which have ubuntu linux os in it instead of always offering the standard windows OS coz.

Yunan546
post Oct 13 2008, 08:09 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jihchuan @ Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM)
From what i heard OEM comes with the pc, no packing, no cd, only serial no. Buy one (retail), got box and cd, inside software same thing, much more expensive, not much different for users (software wise). If you intend to format your pc yourself go for retail, OEM only have cd key, normally they don't give you the CD (correct me if i'm wrong)
FarCry3r
post Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 13 2008, 08:09 PM)
From what i heard OEM comes with the pc, no packing, no cd, only serial no. Buy one (retail), got box and cd, inside software same thing, much more expensive,  not much different for users (software wise). If you intend to format your pc yourself go for retail, OEM only have cd key, normally they don't give you the  CD (correct me if i'm wrong)
you're not quite right. Usually OEM branded PC gives out a "recovery" disc so you can reformat your PC, the difference is you cannot transfer your OEM license to another PC. It's for PC you bought it with...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM)
you're not quite right. Usually OEM branded PC gives out a "recovery" disc so you can reformat your PC, the difference is you cannot transfer your OEM license to another PC. It's for PC you bought it with...
so OEM is just for a single pc....what if i want to use it on other pc?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM)
I've heard of people calling Microsoft telling them that they changed HDD and their allowed to activate/validate their Windows.

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM)
You can't.
FarCry3r
post Oct 15 2008, 05:46 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM)
I've heard of people calling Microsoft telling them that they changed HDD and their allowed to activate/validate their Windows.
can be done, but that's not ethically legal...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 05:47 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM)
You can't.
what about retail?can i switch to other cpu with this?what if i want to use this on different computers at the same time, if not, does Microsoft provide different versions for this purpose? (always wanted to know)
FarCry3r
post Oct 15 2008, 05:51 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 05:47 PM)
what about retail?can i switch to other cpu with this?what if i want to use this on different computers at the same time, if not, does Microsoft provide different versions for this purpose? (always wanted to know)
you can move the license to other PC if needed and can call Microsoft if you have reactivation issue(s). You cannot use it on more than one PC, if you still want to use it on more than one PC, you're required to buy an additional license, unless your license is VL (volume license) typically used in corporate environment...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 06:08 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 15 2008, 05:51 PM)
you can move the license to other PC if needed and can call Microsoft if you have reactivation issue(s). You cannot use it on more than one PC, if you still want to use it on more than one PC, you're required to buy an additional license, unless your license is VL (volume license) typically used in corporate environment...
thanks for the info biggrin.gif
bsmohd
post Oct 15 2008, 06:19 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM)

i'm using pirated software, and still i can update to service pack 3.. it's just that u dont need to install wga when it ask u to. But once u install WGA, that's it, you no longer able to install updates / patches on ur pc. Basically we can still receive and install update, but have to make sure we dont install wga.
xcen
post Oct 15 2008, 07:57 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(bsmohd @ Oct 15 2008, 06:19 PM)
i'm using pirated software, and still i can update to service pack 3.. it's just that u dont need to install wga when it ask u to. But once u install WGA, that's it, you no longer able to install updates / patches on ur pc. Basically we can still receive and install update, but have to make sure we dont install wga.
If you know what to do, WGA can be anywhere on your computer and it still wont detect it is pirated.
arzz
post Oct 16 2008, 04:17 PM

92 posts

Ori is the best , i using two windows for my computer
1)xp professional
2)vista home basic
arzz
post Oct 16 2008, 04:19 PM

92 posts

i using two windows for my comp.
1)xp professional
2)vista home basic
atomica
post Oct 16 2008, 08:10 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM)
OEM version won't allow you to do that because the activation will fail.

anyway, even with the retail edition, you are only supposed to use Vista on one PC at any one time. the difference here is that you can uninstall it from one machine and install it in another.
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:34 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(unknownsubject @ Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM)
pure bs..

Share ur ways on how to maintain windows since u said it is users' problem.
U work min IT line ,yet u use pirated Windows....
Why don u select open source software?

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 16 2008, 08:10 PM)
OEM version won't allow you to do that because the activation will fail.

anyway, even with the retail edition, you are only supposed to use Vista on one PC at any one time. the difference here is that you can uninstall it from one machine and install it in another.
Retail version does not need activation?

FarCry3r
post Oct 16 2008, 08:36 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:34 PM)
Retail version does not need activation?
daa... it still need activation, but the license can transferred to another machine... doh.gif
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:40 PM

1,035 posts

Wat is the Windows called which is preinstalled in laptop n run recovery tool to reformat?
That one does require activation, right?
Can I install(transfer) the Windows to another com?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 08:47 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:40 PM)
Wat is the Windows called which is preinstalled in laptop n run recovery tool to reformat?
That one does require activation, right?
Can I install(transfer) the Windows to another com?
That's called OEM. NO it CAN'T BE TRANSFERRED to another computer.
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:59 PM

1,035 posts

U mean that i canot transfer or not suppose to transfer even my previous pc break down?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:59 PM)
U mean that i canot transfer or not suppose to transfer even my previous pc break down?
YES, that is what I mean. You can't transfer the license to a new computer, example, new motherboard. If you'd really have to transfer the license, you can call Microsoft and tell make some crap up so that they'll allow you to activate it. Sometimes they let you activate and sometimes they don't. So please buy OEM and activate it a few times on a few different computers @ your own risk.
atomica
post Oct 16 2008, 10:37 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM)
YES, that is what I mean. You can't transfer the license to a new computer, example, new motherboard. If you'd really have to transfer the license, you can call Microsoft and tell make some crap up so that they'll allow you to activate it. Sometimes they let you activate and sometimes they don't. So please buy OEM and activate it a few times on a few different computers @ your own risk.
having said that it will tolerate minor upgrades, such as changing graphics card, adding hard drives, adding ram, etc.

but i believe it will never allow you to change the mobo.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 16 2008, 10:37 PM)
having said that it will tolerate minor upgrades, such as changing graphics card, adding hard drives, adding ram, etc.

but i believe it will never allow you to change the mobo.
I've been forumming here in LYN Forum for about 2 years and I've heard of reported cases that people who changed their motherboards were able to reactivate. Not allowed everytime though.
FarCry3r
post Oct 17 2008, 12:20 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
I've been forumming here in LYN Forum for about 2 years and I've heard of reported cases that people who changed their motherboards were able to reactivate. Not allowed everytime though.
same brand of mobo perhaps? with only addition to extra RAM slots, USB etc etc?
atomica
post Oct 17 2008, 12:28 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
interesting. have not been so lucky cause every time i change mobo, vista would fail the activation.

i have to call up to do phone activation to get it working again.
beyond_99
post Oct 17 2008, 06:53 AM

1,035 posts

So, u can activate ur Vista?
U call microsoft n tell them?
They give new serial or somethngelse?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 17 2008, 06:23 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 17 2008, 12:20 AM)
same brand of mobo perhaps? with only addition to extra RAM slots, USB etc etc?
Sorry but don't really understand what you mean. blush.gif

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 17 2008, 12:28 AM)
interesting. have not been so lucky cause every time i change mobo, vista would fail the activation.

i have to call up to do phone activation to get it working again.
Dude, read the previous posts. doh.gif Not asking you to read all the previous pages. That's the issue that we've been stressing on. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 17 2008, 06:53 AM)
So, u can activate ur Vista?
U call microsoft n tell them?
They give new serial or somethngelse?
They'll allow you to reactivate but sometimes not. You understand?
beyond_99
post Oct 17 2008, 06:43 PM

1,035 posts

Yea, I get it.
Thanks for all of your explanation.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 17 2008, 07:00 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 17 2008, 06:43 PM)
Yea, I get it.
Thanks for all of your explanation.
No problem man, that what LYN Forum is for.
narien
post Oct 18 2008, 01:11 PM

115 posts

i'm wondering those who take pride in using ori windows, do they also listen to mp3 from legitimate source, watching ori dvd's, pay their taxes, quit rent, assessment fee, give money to their parents??
atomica
post Oct 18 2008, 02:48 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(narien @ Oct 18 2008, 01:11 PM)
i'm wondering those who take pride in using ori windows, do they also listen to mp3 from legitimate source, watching ori dvd's, pay their taxes, quit rent, assessment fee, give money to their parents??
wow. loaded question :-)
crapp0
post Oct 18 2008, 08:33 PM

4,414 posts

There are. Then they are those prefer pirated stuff coz they dont need to goto the pain of purchasing something which they need but just dont want 2 pay for it or have a cheaper or free alternative but still choose the pirated goods since they are stubborn enough to not wanting to learn how to use the free software and complain about why the free software isnt like the pirated software which they are so used to.

I used to do that but now i either go open source or i buy my CD's or just listen to music online through last.fm since i'm connected to the net constantly. There are ways to beat the pirated addcition, the only thing is whether you want 2 and if you are willing to for go the luxury of pirated goods.

Nearly everything i used is either freeware or open source from openoffice to 7zip to thunderbird and firefox. Photo editing i use gimp which is also open source.

If you want non pirated platform, go for fedora, ubuntu or red hat OS since most of the apps for those OS are either freeware/open source. The future of computing is open source as google as demo quite extensively with their apps.

As for watching US tv shows, i just goto the their own website which provide free viewing like NBC's heroes.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Oct 18 2008, 08:39 PM
TechnoDude94
post Oct 18 2008, 08:38 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

You should ask them yourself and I doubt they'll answer you but I think that you'll get flamed.

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 18 2008, 02:48 PM)
wow. loaded question :-)
Point of this post is pointless. doh.gif
kyoshilang
post Oct 19 2008, 01:34 AM

54 posts

i dont mind using ori if its not so cekik darah lor
crapp0
post Oct 19 2008, 01:38 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kyoshilang @ Oct 19 2008, 01:34 AM)
i dont mind using ori if its not so cekik darah lor
How much is cekik darah?

For some, even RM100 is oledi cekik darah and they so used to pirated stuff, when they see the price of adobe dreamweaver or microsoft office, they just resign themselves to using pirated software since its beyond their means but they dont mind being a thief since they need it rather then want it.

And this wont change until they change.
jayzac
post Oct 19 2008, 04:59 PM

225 posts

i haven encouter this b4 ...
karhoe
post Oct 19 2008, 05:30 PM

6,238 posts

I use pirated Vista, and there has been more PC that I service using original XP all together compared to myself in 1 year.

In the end, it's the usage~ be smart user
jasjas
post Oct 20 2008, 09:48 AM

221 posts

problemnya i m using ori on laptop and pirated on desktop, i find both also crash for most of the same reasons, of course putting aside from those online support and features.
ericpires
post Oct 20 2008, 09:55 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Using Jack Sparrow XP for few years, no crash whatsoever other than 1 time kena virus or reinstall to have fresh copy.
M1X
post Oct 20 2008, 02:51 PM

2,334 posts

How actually they detect ori or not. When we dl some stuff from Microsoft website it will demand us to check our OS, right? I using *ahem* one but why pass all the check... LOL!
tachlio
post Oct 20 2008, 02:55 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

Then does MS does the analysis if using Ori compare to Pirated??

maybe the result will be the same...

At last.. this all depend on User... Window ori or pirated not the issue~
FarCry3r
post Oct 20 2008, 03:05 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Oct 20 2008, 02:51 PM)
How actually they detect ori or not. When we dl some stuff from Microsoft website it will demand us to check our OS, right? I using *ahem* one but why pass all the check... LOL!
because you have validation files hacked to bypass the check, D'OH!
M1X
post Oct 20 2008, 03:12 PM

2,334 posts

Woh donno wor, I bought that *ahem* CD long ago 2005 maybe... No matter what new softwares from MS also can run.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Oct 20 2008, 03:13 PM
Ilyich
post Oct 20 2008, 06:11 PM

Been using pirated winXP for 2 years at least. Never experience computer crashing before, and im able to download stuff from microsoft after verifying.

seldom get any viruses, but then I'm using AVG8.0, maybe there's some lurking inside undetected. Windows Defender also didn't detect any malware.

Never used an original before, maybe its better in performance compared to mine...
beyond_99
post Oct 20 2008, 07:09 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Oct 20 2008, 03:12 PM)
Woh donno wor, I bought that *ahem* CD long ago 2005 maybe... No matter what new softwares from MS also can run....  sweat.gif
QUOTE(Ilyich @ Oct 20 2008, 06:11 PM)
Been using pirated winXP for 2 years at least. Never experience computer crashing before, and im able to download stuff from microsoft after verifying.

seldom get any viruses, but then I'm using AVG8.0, maybe there's some lurking inside undetected. Windows Defender also didn't detect any malware.

Never used an original before, maybe its better in performance compared to mine...
Bith of u patch the Win or sthelse?
There is fake WGA which can bypass the verify process.
Btw, AVG 8.0 can not a keylogger that is ravmone.exe.
The virus spread easily through pendrive.
M1X
post Oct 21 2008, 02:42 PM

2,334 posts

Nope I didn't ever update the windows (do I really need those update?! Since my pc not go online)
beyond_99
post Oct 21 2008, 04:48 PM

1,035 posts

update does not seem to have a lot of effect. So, i do not update although it is available.

0.0447sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:56 AM