Regarding caller ID, with region code

TSMoonflown
post Oct 5 2008, 11:08 PM, updated 18y ago

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I got a question. Why some caller id is displayed with +6 in front and some are not? And my caller ID wont be displayed if the number is not the same even though it's just "+6" in front of the numbers?

for example 6016 888 8888 and 016 888 8888 it's differentiated by iphone.

sugen
post Oct 5 2008, 11:18 PM

1,358 posts

Yes,I faced this issue too.I even log a case toapple support.after going through so many level of support,they come back v the solution by asking me to store 2 format for a the contact.And they say that I m using iPhone in the none supported country.

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Oct 5 2008, 11:08 PM)
I got a question. Why some caller id is displayed with +6 in front and some are not? And my caller ID wont be displayed if the number is not the same even though it's just "+6" in front of the numbers?

for example 6016 888 8888 and 016 888 8888 it's differentiated by iphone.
kmheing
post Oct 5 2008, 11:29 PM

351 posts

u can try using CallerID Fix Collection v1.1.1..available on cydia or installer..
sugen
post Oct 5 2008, 11:54 PM

1,358 posts

I know,till now I still can't see the value of JB at the moment.As I can get all software through app store.If any 3rd party who can offer GPS map v driving direction + voice command.Then for sure I will JB.This the value man
QUOTE(kmheing @ Oct 5 2008, 11:29 PM)
u can try using CallerID Fix Collection v1.1.1..available on cydia or installer..
nokia2003
post Oct 5 2008, 11:55 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kmheing @ Oct 5 2008, 11:29 PM)
depending if TS has JB his iphone or not.

of course they are rumours of number incompatibility with digi users.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 5 2008, 11:55 PM
kmheing
post Oct 6 2008, 12:04 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 5 2008, 11:54 PM)
I know,till now I still can't see the value of JB at the moment.As I can get all software through app store.If any 3rd party who can offer GPS map v driving direction + voice command.Then for sure I will JB.This the value man
then the only way is to add +60 to all ur contacts..or am i wrong? rclxms.gif
sugen
post Oct 6 2008, 12:27 AM

1,358 posts

Guess what,i really did that.Is done in my Ms Outlook n syn over

QUOTE(kmheing @ Oct 6 2008, 12:04 AM)
then the only way is to add +60 to all ur contacts..or am i wrong? rclxms.gif
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 12:29 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 5 2008, 11:33 PM)
p0or n0ob.. they never bother to read pinned thread

doh.gif doh.gif
I read before I post. And dont simply accuse before using your brain. I've searched and there's no specific solution on this other than changing the numbers.

@sugen

Some of my caller ID is displayed without +6 so changing all is not an option for me.

This post has been edited by Moonflown: Oct 6 2008, 12:32 AM
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 12:32 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Oct 6 2008, 12:29 AM)
I read before I post. And dont simply accuse before using your brain. I've searched and there's no specific solution on this other than changing the numbers.
see.. this is what im trying to tell them.. how do u feel as being someone new here? especially when u need to find a solution to your problems.. not welcoming at all right? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 12:34 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Well sometimes I did give solution to new forumers right away so that the topic can be closed asap before people like HIM starting to flame.
ff8ong
post Oct 6 2008, 12:35 AM

2,550 posts

@jakesean

what I can tell you is,those newbie didn't use seach at ALL!
gengstapo
post Oct 6 2008, 12:36 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Oct 6 2008, 12:32 AM)
see.. this is what im trying to tell them.. how do u feel as being someone new here? especially when u need to find a solution to your problems.. not welcoming at all right?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
heh, really? if u do the search/ read pinned thread, how come u didnt came across to THIS thread?
newbie will always newbie..

enuff said.. rclxms.gif laugh.gif brows.gif
ff8ong
post Oct 6 2008, 12:38 AM

2,550 posts

@gengstapo

Agree with you!!
gengstapo
post Oct 6 2008, 12:45 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Oct 6 2008, 12:35 AM)
@jakesean

what I can tell you is,those newbie didn't use seach at ALL!
actually, no need to do SEARCH
its already included in this PINNED topic, Please README BEFORE POSTING...

* credit to friends
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 12:45 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 6 2008, 12:36 AM)
heh, really? if u do the search/ read pinned thread, how come u didnt came across to THIS thread?

enuff said..  rclxms.gif   laugh.gif   brows.gif
First of all. That thread is for those who CallerIDs are not displayed even the number match the contacts details. Stringfellow also suggested to add +6 to all the numbers. The reason I'm opening this thread is to seek for latest solution with latest firmwares. Seriously you shouldn't act like you're a wise person or something before you clearly understand what people are asking. It's humiliating.

This post has been edited by Moonflown: Oct 6 2008, 12:50 AM
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:47 AM

5,786 posts

@ Moonflown

are you a digi customer?
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 12:48 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 6 2008, 12:36 AM)

enuff said..  rclxms.gif  laugh.gif  brows.gif
i hope u get it right.. flaming doesnt make u look any better...
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 12:49 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Digi and Maxis. Swap simcard once in a while.
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:53 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Oct 6 2008, 12:49 AM)
Digi and Maxis. Swap simcard once in a while.
alright this is what i have heard from the people around me (hence it could be a speculation); as the number portability thing is going on right now, it could be the reason why there are problems with digi users.

apparently, for the incoming sms for digi users begin with 01xxxxxx whilst for incoming calls, it begins with +601xxxxxx and hence the confusion for the iphone (again we can bring up the issue of "iphone has not been launched officially in malaysia concept")

to fix this, you have to add two sets of numbers unfortunately for each contact (both 01 and +601)

i'm no digi user and therefore cannot personally experiment this myself.

maybe, you can post up your findings here.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 6 2008, 12:59 AM
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 12:58 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Yea I tried adding 2 numbers to contacts. This happened to me when I use 1st gen iPhone years ago before number protability. Apps support and callerID doesn't fix it thou.

So you're not having such problem so far?
baretta
post Oct 6 2008, 12:58 AM

1,853 posts

this is not telco problem. iPhone just not supporting this country code. Now , you jb or add prefix +60 to all your contact.
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 01:00 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Oct 6 2008, 12:58 AM)
Yea I tried adding 2 numbers to contacts. This happened to me when I use 1st gen iPhone years ago before number protability. Apps support and callerID doesn't fix it thou.

So you're not having such problem so far?
maxis and celcom are good as i use celcom's xpax daily broadband whenever i'm on the go.
TSMoonflown
post Oct 6 2008, 01:07 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I guess I'll do the hard way by using both numbers. Thanks a lot nokia and those who helped.

This post has been edited by Moonflown: Oct 6 2008, 01:26 AM
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 01:43 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

see.. this is what im trying to tell them.. how do u feel as being someone new here? especially when u need to find a solution to your problems.. not welcoming at all right?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Jake..i thought you're suppose to help, not add stupid comments. Banyak cakap, no action does not look good on you.

I have no answers for you Moonflown. Sorry but i reackon both numbers will help as nokia suggested.

Do close the thread if you have found your answers mate.

Cheers
aspire2oo6
post Oct 6 2008, 01:45 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Because of USA regional code.

So its required you to but +60

Iphone is famous for this problem
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 01:50 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 6 2008, 01:45 AM)
Because of USA regional code.

So its required you to but +60

Iphone is famous for this problem
???!!!
TeK_KeN
post Oct 6 2008, 05:36 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

can closed this thread?
kayden
post Oct 6 2008, 09:26 AM

912 posts

I thought u are matured enough not to add small little flames like this doh.gif . Thread has served its purpose its time to close. icon_rolleyes.gif
Ramesh Subaschandram
post Oct 6 2008, 10:33 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:53 AM)
alright this is what i have heard from the people around me (hence it could be a speculation); as the number portability thing is going on right now, it could be the reason why there are problems with digi users.

apparently, for the incoming sms for digi users begin with 01xxxxxx whilst for incoming calls, it begins with +601xxxxxx and hence the confusion for the iphone (again we can bring up the issue of "iphone has not been launched officially in malaysia concept")

to fix this, you have to add two sets of numbers unfortunately for each contact (both 01 and +601)

i'm no digi user and therefore cannot personally experiment this myself.

maybe, you can post up your findings here.
Correction.
For DiGi, incoming calls = 01XXXXXXXX, SMS = +601XXXXXXXX (need two sets of numbers)
For Maxis & Celcom, incoming calls = +601XXXXXXXX, SMS = +601XXXXXXXX (no problem)

davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 11:27 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 6 2008, 09:26 AM)
I thought u are matured enough not to add small little flames like this  doh.gif . Thread has served its purpose its time to close.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, now we all know he is not mature. Jake, jake..caught red handed?? SAD!!!!

@Ramesh

Good find. This will help many here.
ksoonx
post Oct 6 2008, 11:40 AM

62 posts

icon_question.gif Can someone please update the pinned post - Please README BEFORE POSTING with Ramesh's Findings?
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 11:49 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Ramesh Subaschandram @ Oct 6 2008, 10:33 AM)
Correction.
For DiGi, incoming calls = 01XXXXXXXX, SMS = +601XXXXXXXX (need two sets of numbers)
For Maxis & Celcom, incoming calls = +601XXXXXXXX, SMS = +601XXXXXXXX (no problem)
alright! good stuff Ramesh Subaschandram. looks like the rumours which i have been hearing are partially accurate then. thanks for informing us (or rather digi users)

Added on October 6, 2008, 11:51 am
I thought u are matured enough not to add small little flames like this  doh.gif . Thread has served its purpose its time to close.  icon_rolleyes.gif
surely that was done by accident.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 6 2008, 11:51 AM
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 11:57 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Oct 6 2008, 11:27 AM)
Well, now we all know he is not mature. Jake, jake..caught red handed?? SAD!!!!

@Ramesh

Good find. This will help many here.
you have to be really sarcastic must you? i see you seeking help on other forums too.. are you playing god here on the iphone forums coz u think you know alot about it? or is it because you have many other supports?

to be honest, i dont really care whether anyone agrees with me or not.. at least i know that something is wrong and it has to stop ..
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 12:13 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Correct. I did ask questions but i found my answers pretty fast within 5 minutes.

Well, if kayden say you're immature, i'm sure he was right. You flamed and did not help thus makes you look like a fool because whatever you wrote on the other thread say otherwise.

And..I thought you were the GOD here..hahaha. Seem like you have a great admirer yesterday which i missed. He sure like you alot.

Let me add on..i must say if i sound to sarcastic, i'm sorry. I think i will make it up to you. I will send all the noobs to you. First one here. You want change and stop all these nonsense, be the first to set the example. i will send you more.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/748774/+80

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 12:19 PM
Joelles
post Oct 6 2008, 12:28 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

I'm not siding anybody here but I'm dissapointed and sad over this forum, how many thread ends up with flames and arguments over here? Most of every new thread will "kena" flames just because they ask some same old question which have been posted in this forum. I agree that those newbie should have use the search engine in this forum before posting some thread with question that we have heard over and over again, but..can't we direct them in a proper manner without flaming? Just simply ask them to make a search in a polite tone rather than using somekinda harsh words, moreover they're even some other who like "pour petrol into fire" and persuading other to start flaming(I don't want to put those name in here, you'll easily found them in here if you read most of the thread). Of course some will think this is a better way of dealing with newbies as such problem will keep pouring in if we don't do something, but come to think of it..is this a better solution? IMHO, this will never stop but at least we have a friendly environment of iPhone forum rather than flaming and arguments towards the same old thing.."Why can't you use the "search" button".
I words have no intention to hurt anyone in here but I'm sorry if you think I offended you with my words....peace
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:35 PM

5,786 posts

or we can have a dedicated moderator in this subforum of iphone???!!!

oh wait, perhaps i'm still day dreaming again!
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 12:36 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:13 PM)
Correct. I did ask questions but i found my answers pretty fast within 5 minutes. 

Well, if kayden say you're immature, i'm sure he was right. You flamed and did not help thus makes you look like a fool because whatever you wrote on the other thread say otherwise.

And..I thought you were the GOD here..hahaha. Seem like you have a great admirer yesterday which i missed. He sure like you alot.

Let me add on..i must say if i sound to sarcastic, i'm sorry. I think i will make it up to you. I will send all the noobs to you. First one here. You want change and stop all these nonsense, be the first to set the example. i will send you more.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/748774/+80
hehehe.. it'll be cool if you're that admirer.. biggrin.gif .. spooky huh?
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 12:37 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I had this problem too and had to re key-in ALL my contacts !! *siGh* My contacts now read +6012-999-9999 - it works fine with SMS and incoming calls smile.gif

I'm on the Maxis network smile.gif
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 12:40 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Oct 6 2008, 12:36 PM)
hehehe.. it'll be cool if you're that admirer..  biggrin.gif .. spooky huh?
Hahahha..that will be fun. Btw, good explanation on the Aus post.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 12:42 PM
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:44 PM

5,786 posts

though i have to admit, in reality (and not some ideal fantasy world), one can only expect to get smile and rainbow services IF you are a paying customer or some VIP. that is the fact of life (and please spare the naivety issue)

however, if you want a free service instead (at the expense of others), you should be at least be prepared (observe the word prepared) for all these nonsense. this is not a charity establishment for sure (or at least when i have last checked) judging from the endorsement and advertisements popping up like no one's business.

this post is only a representation of myself and i do have a firm solid stand (as i have mentioned affirmatively previously), if i have reckon the TS has done sufficient research and still meets a dead end, i'm all up for helping him and her (and i do try to avoid gender bias).

davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 12:48 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@jakesean

Another one..

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/685137/+380

and another

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/806612

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 12:49 PM
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 12:52 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Oct 6 2008, 12:48 PM)
you may flood the forums with this kind of replies, but it wouldn't even bother me a single bit.. good luck..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 6 2008, 12:52 PM
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:52 PM

5,786 posts

wow awesome chance for jakesean to demonstrate his newly found enlightenment
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 12:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Er.. I think it's about time to call the thread into some order.. Enough of childish/immature arguing please tongue.gif
nokia2003
post Oct 6 2008, 12:55 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Oct 6 2008, 12:52 PM)
you may flood the forums with this kind of replies, but it wouldn't even bother me a single bit.. good luck..
why wouldn't it bother you a single bit? you were the one who openly broadcasted that you felt ashamed for ignoring those in need when you could have helped.
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 12:56 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Oct 6 2008, 12:52 PM)
You are really weird. Hmm..more like immature. You say you wanna help..now you say i flood the forum. Again..this shows that you're not sincere in whatever you say. Good luck to you too.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 12:59 PM
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 01:08 PM

1,361 posts

amazingly unbelievable..
davidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 01:10 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Whatever Jake. Whatever.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 01:19 PM
ff8ong
post Oct 6 2008, 01:55 PM

2,550 posts

I don't think anyone here agree with jake..you still can do what you like.
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 02:22 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Oct 6 2008, 01:55 PM)
I don't think anyone here agree with jake..you still can do what you like.
in what sense? stop the flamings, or helping out newbies?
tinkerbel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

*siGh* Aren't U people sick of all the arguing?! ;P

0.0246sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:56 AM