Of course a 3.2GHz proc boosts more than a 2.4Ghz proc....
INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V7<<,, The Journey Continues Here!
Apr 21 2009, 08:57 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Of course a 3.2GHz proc boosts more than a 2.4Ghz proc....
Apr 21 2009, 10:13 PM
4GHz on Prescott,not bad ya.Not much ppl can reach 4GHz record here.
Apr 21 2009, 10:38 PM
What board and RAM were you on? Your proc seems worked well with you board.
Apr 22 2009, 08:59 AM
Apr 22 2009, 11:08 AM
Apr 24 2009, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 23 2009, 09:08 AM) @blonely @fylon,going to launch your new project?O/T: ATI supporter spotted. @ooiwbng Yea. That is the OC for old school, just pump FSB. But what i believe is the NB bridge. P31 might be can handle higher FSB in compare with 865/875. But hey, Prescott is shine when its FSB hitting high. P/s: Finally gotten my UD3R back to hand. New OC project start once after i came back from KL trip. QUOTE(blonely @ Apr 23 2009, 11:08 AM) @kabu @fylon,you are correct that newer chipset can support higher FSB but not P4 processor definitely. Nowadays no point to put in P4 to run on high fsb as the entry level celeron dual core can tapao it. thanks. ^^ never try presscott..wonder how well my tuniq can hadle that heat monster. @fylon still head spinning with the updates... still no time to test games or do benchmarking. PS: waiting your OC project. ^^ QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Apr 23 2009, 04:44 PM) @fylon @blonely,long time no see. Hpw's your new toy doing? Project "O" is going to launch soon?O/T:i think i gonna push from 1066 to 1333 soon. @blonely your tuniq is one of the top cooler in 478. shouldnt be any big problem. |
Apr 24 2009, 01:46 PM
@kabu,yup i know. Quoted the wrong message just now.
@fylon,NB does have contribution to clock the proc further.I agree with you. |
Apr 24 2009, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 24 2009, 08:54 PM) Brother,this is of course. QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Apr 24 2009, 10:16 PM) gonna ditch my ancient 2.4B northwood rig soon..gonna get my hands on e8400 n gtx260+ Another guy is moving to the dark.... |
Apr 25 2009, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(dantck @ Apr 25 2009, 01:29 AM) add me on guys, Brother,your proc is Northwood or Prescott?Mobo and RAM?i 'm pentium4 2.8ghz user with ddr1 ram , agp card type msi motherboard still going strong. what is new is my coolermaster black casing and my hyper tx cpu fan. my current gpu is agp ATI 1650. still serve me well . mobo i think is msi -7211 type QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 25 2009, 01:51 AM) add me in also, I have a 2nd rig. P4 HT 3.0Ghz, HD2600xt, I dun have any idea what mobo I'm using and Kingston 2GB ram. Here's the list of games I'm playing with it now. Brother,your proc is Northwood or Prescott?Mobo?COD4, GRID, Gears of Wars, Hawx, PES2009, Fifa2009 and Minesweeper Anyway, I also borrowed this rig to my friend when he participated in Cyberfusion Longest Lan Party Event and it didn't hang even once. QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 25 2009, 06:34 AM) mine makes a difference by 4C , if open side casing The LGA775 thread is there for a moment,just now sure why not much people are gonig to that thread only.so i just leave it open, lol EDIT : there is a lga 775 thread somewhere in here, lol QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 25 2009, 09:54 AM) what i meant was, two diff casings, both open side panels, same hardware. diff temp by 4-5C. Definitely,more air flow is from left and right panel.QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 25 2009, 10:44 AM) Someone just shoot down a CM690.. Who shot CM690? Your mobo lan port kena toto again?Anyways, mesh and non-mesh casing does influence the temp man.. P/s: I burnt my IN9 LAN port again.... QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 25 2009, 10:49 AM) i think interior layout makes the difference. cramped vs spacious. I have a wireless Linksys wireless adapter,it's with a USB cable type.Not bad though.bro, i suggest if u wanna have wifi setup, don't go for USB wifi sticks, those sucks. Get the internal PCI type. but rather than that, u better install Cal-lab instead. |
Apr 25 2009, 02:52 PM
Apr 26 2009, 12:46 PM
Apr 26 2009, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(dantck @ Apr 26 2009, 02:05 PM) Hi,MS 7211 is an LGA 775 mobo.Please refer to the link below.http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec....M8M3-V&class=mb Added on April 26, 2009, 4:28 pm@fylon,zeus likes your board huh? @edmin,guess you will need to help up fylon on this already. Go to his home help him to put on a big lightning rod. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 26 2009, 04:28 PM |
Apr 27 2009, 01:33 PM
Apr 29 2009, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 29 2009, 07:19 AM) how much ram does he have on his system? what vga is he using? I used to run 1080 and 720 HD on my P4 3.0Ghz HT. PM kabukiawie for the 7600GT DDR3, he is letting go @ a very cheap price. QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 29 2009, 10:31 AM) 9200, if the RAM is 64bit and less than 128MB, i doubt it can handle well the HD stuff. 1.5GB ram, is it in dual channel configuration? My crap 9550 is not helping any in HD movies,i watch 720p format and my system is utilized about 70% from my 3.6GHz. software wise, no tweaking needed, just that u need the right codec. i recommend klite mega codec pack. for H.264, preferable use CoreAVC. |
Apr 29 2009, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(dlwl @ Apr 29 2009, 06:08 PM) i also not so sure how to use, is it when a small "Haali Media Splitter" icon comes out means it's using coreavc? installed on my friend's p4, the video lags behind the audio. QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 29 2009, 08:05 PM) I'm using CoreAvc,so far the software runs good on my system. Just that my lousy GC is not contributing on playing HD movies.Added on April 29, 2009, 11:20 pmHere's my CPU usage on HD movie,the Haali Filter is enable during playback. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Apr 30 2009, 08:57 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 30 2009, 08:58 AM
Now only i can attach the screen shot which i captured last night. Streamyx at my home
Apr 30 2009, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Apr 30 2009, 09:14 AM) @ray, @edmin,like that i have no idea how to make my CoreAVC work in WMC. I do try with other file with is 720p,4.4GB file size. My cpu is loading high as 70%. your RE file how come got DRM name one, lol. I have ran the 720p RE H.264 on coreavc with my P4-3Ghz HT, not as high CPU usage as yours (less than 30%). Main reason I can think of: 1. your file not H.264 encoded 2. Windows Media Player instead of Media Player Classic. 3. CoreAVC not running (taskbar shows you are using ffdshow) @kabu, The FF7ACC 1080p is 11GB in size...omgwtfbbqsauce... |
May 4 2009, 09:50 AM
@Jcsy,S478 nowadays is too old to handle new applications...It's good to advice them to shift to LGA775 platform.
May 4 2009, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(edministrator @ May 4 2009, 03:22 PM) X1650 is a bit low end though, u are better off with the 3000 series, or you can PM kabukiawie as he is letting go his 7600GS DDR3 with zalman fatality cooler @ a cheap price. The GC is still with him? Added on May 4, 2009, 5:13 pm@dlwl, i agree that X1650 runs better than 9600SE...9600SE is only 64bits GC...lol...X1650 is 128bits and newer core. To handle today's gaming,not really enough juice also. If want AGP can shift to 7600GS(DDR3) like edmin said. This post has been edited by raymond5105: May 4 2009, 05:13 PM |
May 4 2009, 10:31 PM
| Change to: | 0.0474sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:10 AM |